Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
View map of 3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
405 reviews
Family trip

Great stay at Wyndham Garden. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Very close to Sea World and Mission... See full review

  • Adrian R.
  • May 17, 2015
Good Hotel

The hotel overall was nice. The staff in the lobby were very friendly. I called to the desk to ask... See full review

  • JENNIFER W.
  • Apr 6, 2015

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7539 -117.2152
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport Lindbergh Field.
Area description
Sun-splashed San Diego is packed with fun local activities and so many of them are remarkably close by. Just two miles away you can immerse yourself in all the fun at SeaWorld San Diego. It's the place to see Shamu and all his underwater friends. Or step back in time and stroll through Old Town with its wonderful galleries and museums, then visit Cabrillo National Monument. It's also home to the Old Point Loma Lighthouse. Just four miles from the hotel you'll find even more excitement. Choose from the world-class San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, or the charming Gaslamp Quarter. Kids of all ages will love a chance to see the awe-inspiring and totally fun LEGOLAND. What's more, Valley View Casino Center is just across the street and it's the place to see Cirque du Soleil, Disney on Ice, and so much more. Don't forget, since the hotel is located just four miles from the San Diego International Airport, getting here takes only minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Dining

Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.
Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ashiowa
iowa
Apr 26, 2012

two star

We got to the hotel and it looked like this high class place... it wasn't that fancy! The hosts at the front desk wear ties and nice suits. We walked by the pool and it was a lot smaller than we thought. However nobody was really ever in it, odd since the place is huge. We had to call our second day when we realized that we didnt even have a microwave! Our room was suppose to have a coffee table and desk and chair. I called the front desk and asked about it and she told me she didn't know if they had them! They were in every other room! We never got one. We had 4 people in our room and an almost 2 year old. There is not enough room! There are 2 beds and a fold out couch but the sq footage is too small. We didnt get a crib until the second night, which took up more space, but we needed it. There were 2 tvs but they were different channels because they were trying to upgrade them. The phone would only let you call the front desk. They only ever brought 3 towels for 5 people and one or two wash cloths, so we were constantly calling the front desk. We found the security guard smoking pot! The plus side..... good location, mediocre price, they cleaned our room pretty good, and the pool never had anyone in it. I wouldn't recommend to someone expecting a high class place. Oh and the beds SUCK to say the least. None of us slept very well. We all woke up with sore necks from the pillows and sore backs from the hard beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to sea world. They have $7 off pp at the hotel. But go when its warm. We really wanted to go on the rides but we got wet once and froze our butts off, 65-70° that day! Also coronado beach is the best. Don't go to ocean beach. Go to pacific beach to shop and eat breakfast at kona cafe!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morgan
Business
Scottsdale
May 19, 2015

just a place to sleep

It was a decent location. Staff was okay but waited 30 minutes to check in. Additional fee for parking each night. Rooms were okay but not great. Overall experience was average. We spent most of our time at the beach so it worked out okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adrian R.
Business
N/A
May 17, 2015

Family trip

Great stay at Wyndham Garden. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Very close to Sea World and Mission Bay. Thank you for the hospitality Wyndham we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikhail T.
Business
Vancouver
May 10, 2015

Family vacation

We stayed at this hotel for our visit to SeaWorld and Zoo. The location was convinient but very poor and unsafe looking, at least they had a security guy walking around in the parking lots. Room was clean. The only thing is they advertise that they brew Starbucks coffee but didn't have any with no explanation. They even had a sign in the lobby that they proudly brew Starbucks coffee there was no coffee at all. Other then that the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CIGR
Business
Arleta
May 5, 2015

San Diego theme park vacation

Cons- My biggest complaint about the hotel was the beds. They are very uncomfortable. Also the walls are very thin I could hear the conversations of the people next door including the baby crying all night. Pro- great location its 5 minutes away from sea world and close to many restaurants and stores. Target and Ross are less than 5 mins away which is great if you forget to pack something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guy P.
Business
ames
Apr 29, 2015

family get away

The room was a junior suite and it was small. The bathroom was small the shower curtain was failing apart and to short so the floor got wet anytime we showered. The furniture including appliances had not been cleaned properly. We won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin W.
Business
N/A
Apr 28, 2015

Good value and great location

The staff was friendly and the location was great. The pool was heated and even though there were a lot of screaming college kids, the noise wasn't bad in our room. The only downside is no breakfast or even coffee offered and the Wifi was too slow to be useful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
james b.
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Average hotel for a five star rate.

Not the Wyndham experience I was looking for at this price, plus they changed me to park my rental on top of the nightly rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dwayne g.
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Fake Wyndham

Unsafe Mold smel as soon as you check in,l no safe I'm rooms, needs to be gutted

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marcus G.
Business
durango
Apr 21, 2015

group trip

We need a room that would fit 7 people. This room worked. However getting at less a breakfast discount coupon and free coffee, would have made this a better place. The breakfast restaurant on site was slow and expenaive. Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gdigs
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Ok San Diego Stay

the location is great and the price was great. but our hotel smelled a little funky. plus, after the trip was over my friend said she saw a roach in the hotel and didn't tell me in fear of me checking out early. the staff was very friendly and even comp'd our parking because of the weird smell. even though it's scary that there was a roach, honestly, I would stay here again... maybe it snuck in when we left the door open or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top