Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
405 reviews
fun family time

Its a great place to stay super clean and roomy we love the privacy wall between our bed and the... See full review

  • curlyqt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Traveling cali to md--couthern route

This hotel was 5 minutes from the beach. The heated pool and hot tub was my favorite. It was... See full review

  • Essiebum
  • Mar 3, 2014
Intimate hotel located near Mission Bay with pool
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive free parking, as well as discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space

 

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7539 -117.2152
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport Lindbergh Field.
Area description
Sun-splashed San Diego is packed with fun local activities and so many of them are remarkably close by. Just two miles away you can immerse yourself in all the fun at SeaWorld San Diego. It's the place to see Shamu and all his underwater friends. Or step back in time and stroll through Old Town with its wonderful galleries and museums, then visit Cabrillo National Monument. It's also home to the Old Point Loma Lighthouse. Just four miles from the hotel you'll find even more excitement. Choose from the world-class San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, or the charming Gaslamp Quarter. Kids of all ages will love a chance to see the awe-inspiring and totally fun LEGOLAND. What's more, Valley View Casino Center is just across the street and it's the place to see Cirque du Soleil, Disney on Ice, and so much more. Don't forget, since the hotel is located just four miles from the San Diego International Airport, getting here takes only minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Dining

Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.
Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (405)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ashiowa
iowa
Apr 26, 2012

two star

We got to the hotel and it looked like this high class place... it wasn't that fancy! The hosts at the front desk wear ties and nice suits. We walked by the pool and it was a lot smaller than we thought. However nobody was really ever in it, odd since the place is huge. We had to call our second day when we realized that we didnt even have a microwave! Our room was suppose to have a coffee table and desk and chair. I called the front desk and asked about it and she told me she didn't know if they had them! They were in every other room! We never got one. We had 4 people in our room and an almost 2 year old. There is not enough room! There are 2 beds and a fold out couch but the sq footage is too small. We didnt get a crib until the second night, which took up more space, but we needed it. There were 2 tvs but they were different channels because they were trying to upgrade them. The phone would only let you call the front desk. They only ever brought 3 towels for 5 people and one or two wash cloths, so we were constantly calling the front desk. We found the security guard smoking pot! The plus side..... good location, mediocre price, they cleaned our room pretty good, and the pool never had anyone in it. I wouldn't recommend to someone expecting a high class place. Oh and the beds SUCK to say the least. None of us slept very well. We all woke up with sore necks from the pillows and sore backs from the hard beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to sea world. They have $7 off pp at the hotel. But go when its warm. We really wanted to go on the rides but we got wet once and froze our butts off, 65-70° that day! Also coronado beach is the best. Don't go to ocean beach. Go to pacific beach to shop and eat breakfast at kona cafe!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eperaza
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 13, 2014

My girls and I enjoyed our stay. They loved the swimlng pool. Wi-fi, candy mints in the lobby , etc

Just Right For us. Close to sea world and a wide choice of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk right next door or drive if you prefer.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1keys1
Rocky Ford
Jul 12, 2014

Seaworld visit

Just found a long dark hair. Next to our sink. I'm bold and my wife is redish blonde. So was not ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cuban food down the road was real good place to eat.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
honeyvin
Riverside ca
Jul 11, 2014

trip to San diego

Overall satisfactory..able to sleep with the coolness of the room. Need to have a continental breakfast for people who sleep late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serena1234
california
Jul 1, 2014

Awesome

It has a wonderful pool and cozy gym next to the hotel which you can use for free. The most important thing is that the location of the hotel is just across of Phill's bbq which i love

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nikkim227jilly
Santa Clarita, California
Jun 23, 2014

Horrible hotel

The hotel is nothing like it looks in the pictures online. It was just an expensive motel 6. On the second day the sink backed up with toilet water and over flowed. The manager did not do anything about it. They just made us check out early. He did not offer a refund, a discount, or even an apology. The pipes in the walls are so noisy it woke up my husband and I several times. Worst hotel experience I have ever had. I will never book through this website again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sreech
san jose, california
Jun 21, 2014

Value for your Stay

I bought this to visit SeaWorld nearby, and i get this hotel only for little cheaper than other hotels, very close to all restaurants, shops, malls and hotel rooms are very convinient except little bit of stains on the carpet..inside room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Valley View Casino is very close by and you can walk there..just in minutes.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
krzymom
highland, ca
Jun 20, 2014

lack of services

checked in on monday, housekeeping did not come on tuesday. talked to someone at front desk they said they are short staffed. tried to call numerous times on tuesday evening and front desk never answered. ran out of towels and toilet paper. had to go to front to ask for these things. it took 30 minutes for them to arrive. when housekeeping did come on wednesday night at 5 pm. they brought 2 towels for party of 4. very upset with service. Also no towels at pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Concerned Bay Traveler
Business
Oakland, CA
Jun 1, 2014

Very Shady Activity Happening in this Hotel

I arrived at 11 pm, there was a shocking amount of shadiness - a security guard arguing with cars that were screeching out in parking lot that they were not authorized to be there. Very shady people loitering outside my room until 2 am. I was traveling for work, and I literally felt unsafe here. I carry expensive gear for work, I left it in the trunk. I woke up at 7 am the next morning, left and checked in at a different hotel. There were 2 shattered cell phones on the floor of the elevator as I rode down to my car in the morning. Very much not recommended. Not sure what is going on with this place, but stay away. I'm shocked that this site is listing a place like this, I always thought they vetted their hotels before listing. I will say that the gentleman at the desk who checked me in was a very lovely and professional person, but it doesn't change the fact that this place is clearly a playground for some people who are up to no good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mini stay
Utah
Jun 1, 2014

Family Vaca

The stay was good. The bathroom smelled of urine and there was visible yellow staining around the calking of the toilet. Bathrooms are old and need updating. Because of the pictures, price, and rating of others, I thought I was booking into a really nice hotel. I stayed at holiday inn express in LA the last night of my trip and was extremely impressed with he entire experience and quality of hotel compared to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Forres495
Long Beach, CA
May 31, 2014

great location

Have stayed her before and enjoy the location to many San Diego locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top