Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Wyndham Garden San Diego

3 stars
3737 Sports Arena Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
324 reviews
Great stay

We had a great time. The swimlng pool was clean. Close To stores, eateries, and nice area to take a... See full review

  • Eperaza
  • Aug 10, 2014
fun family time

Its a great place to stay super clean and roomy we love the privacy wall between our bed and the... See full review

  • curlyqt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Intimate hotel located near Mission Bay with pool
The Wyndham Garden San Diego is located within a short drive of Sea World, Mission Bay and just about every other attraction north of downtown San Diego. The property features a heated outdoor pool and hot tub with a large sundeck, as well as Dupar's, a 24-hour restaurant on-site. Visiting children will love the suites with bunk beds. Accommodations boast flat-screen TV and complimentary high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Heated outdoor pool and hot tub with spacious sundeck
  • Enjoy late-night dining at on-site, 24-hour restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access in rooms
Rooms

The 112 regular rooms and 10 suites at The Wyndham Garden San Diego vary significantly depending on room type. All accommodations come standard with flat-screen TV, hair-dryer and ironing board. Suites comprise two rooms and the second room boasts a sleeper sofa, desk and chair, microwave and a mini-refrigerator. One suite even features bunk beds for children. All accommodations include complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Features

Wyndham Garden San Diego has received a Three Diamond Award from AAA. All guests receive free parking, as well as discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also receive complimentary access to a heated outdoor pool and hot tub on a spacious sundeck.

While there is no on-site fitness center, guests have complimentary access to the nearby Victory MMA Gym and Boxing Ring, a full-service facility with cardio equipment, free weights and (as the name suggests) a boxing ring. The hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Dining
Dupar's, the on-site restaurant, is open 24 hours and serves traditional deli food, as well as freshly baked breads and cakes. Wyndham Garden San Diego is also within walking distance to a number of other restaurants and bars on Mission Bay.
Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (7 mi/13 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • More than 2,500 square feet of meeting space

 

Wyndham Garden San Diego Rooms

Double Suite
The room offers two double beds and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom with two double beds, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.
Family Superior Suite
With one king-size bed and one set of bunk beds, these family suites are truly unique. The Kids Mini Suite makes a great choice when you're bringing the whole family along. A half wall gives everyone a little extra privacy. One full bathroom. One Flat Screen TV for family to see from their beds, includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Deluxe Queen
The room offers two queen beds. This newly renovated room consists of two (2) Queen-size beds. Each room has a 32inch flat-panel TV, coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi because the hotel know the right technology is just as important when your hotel room becomes your home away from home. In the bathroom you'll find True Blue Spa Bath amenities for just the right amount of pampering.
King Suite
The room offers one king bed and one sofa bed. These newly renovated smartly laid out hotel suites have a separate living room and bedroom, plus one full bathroom. A sleeper sofa in the living room means you can accommodate even more guests. A second flat-panel TV in the living room area will ensure everyone will be entertained. The hotel think having an extra room is a great option when little ones need to take a nap or if you are entertaining clients. Includes mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in living room area, plus work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7539 -117.2152
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport Lindbergh Field.
Area description
Sun-splashed San Diego is packed with fun local activities and so many of them are remarkably close by. Just two miles away you can immerse yourself in all the fun at SeaWorld San Diego. It's the place to see Shamu and all his underwater friends. Or step back in time and stroll through Old Town with its wonderful galleries and museums, then visit Cabrillo National Monument. It's also home to the Old Point Loma Lighthouse. Just four miles from the hotel you'll find even more excitement. Choose from the world-class San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, or the charming Gaslamp Quarter. Kids of all ages will love a chance to see the awe-inspiring and totally fun LEGOLAND. What's more, Valley View Casino Center is just across the street and it's the place to see Cirque du Soleil, Disney on Ice, and so much more. Don't forget, since the hotel is located just four miles from the San Diego International Airport, getting here takes only minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • Sea World: 1.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Some say it's location, location, location. And at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Hotel Near SeaWorld the hotel could not agree more. The hotel is not only walking distance to more than 100 businesses and restaurants, The property is less than five miles from important military installations. But a convenient address is only the beginning of the story. Here at the Wyndham Garden San Diego Near SeaWorld, a great location is combined with spectacular service to create something truly outstanding. With three Meeting Rooms offering a total of 2,800 square feet of event space, the hotel provide a level of personalized attention you just won't find at larger factory-style meeting venues. What's more, with windows in each and every one of the San Diego Meeting Room, all rooms boast refreshing natural sunlight.

Dining

Phil's BBQ - Famous since the 70's in San Diego!
This is a local favorite and worth the wait in line.
Pt. Loma Seafood - Fresh fish daily!
Considered to have the freshest fish in town. Casual outdoor seating and deli style set up. CASH ONLY but worth making a trip.
Old Town Mexican Cafe - Fresh tortillas!
San Diego favorite tourism spot is Old Town and you will have a variety of Mexican flare to choose from.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (324)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden San Diego

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ashiowa
iowa
Apr 26, 2012

two star

We got to the hotel and it looked like this high class place... it wasn't that fancy! The hosts at the front desk wear ties and nice suits. We walked by the pool and it was a lot smaller than we thought. However nobody was really ever in it, odd since the place is huge. We had to call our second day when we realized that we didnt even have a microwave! Our room was suppose to have a coffee table and desk and chair. I called the front desk and asked about it and she told me she didn't know if they had them! They were in every other room! We never got one. We had 4 people in our room and an almost 2 year old. There is not enough room! There are 2 beds and a fold out couch but the sq footage is too small. We didnt get a crib until the second night, which took up more space, but we needed it. There were 2 tvs but they were different channels because they were trying to upgrade them. The phone would only let you call the front desk. They only ever brought 3 towels for 5 people and one or two wash cloths, so we were constantly calling the front desk. We found the security guard smoking pot! The plus side..... good location, mediocre price, they cleaned our room pretty good, and the pool never had anyone in it. I wouldn't recommend to someone expecting a high class place. Oh and the beds SUCK to say the least. None of us slept very well. We all woke up with sore necks from the pillows and sore backs from the hard beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to sea world. They have $7 off pp at the hotel. But go when its warm. We really wanted to go on the rides but we got wet once and froze our butts off, 65-70° that day! Also coronado beach is the best. Don't go to ocean beach. Go to pacific beach to shop and eat breakfast at kona cafe!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous 121
Houston, TX
Aug 24, 2014

Great location, parking is difficult

This hotel is at a very convenient location. There are lots of restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance. The facilities inside the room are quite old but functional, e.g., fridge, microwaves. Nice pool and on-site restaurant. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are very limited parking space in front of the building we are living in, although you can easily find a spot somewhere else. In general, it is decent hotel for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roops
Austin, TX
Aug 20, 2014

Decent Hotel

Good hotel for overnight stay if visiting Sea World.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma of 6
Northridge CA
Aug 19, 2014

Great location for Sea World Visit

It was a fine, acceptable stay except for the ants in the bathtub and around the toliet area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of eateries nearby

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Claws
San Diego, California
Aug 17, 2014

Wyndham Garden Hotel stay in San Diego

The receptionist at the main desk was not very professional or helpful the evening we checked in. The room only had 3 towels and washcloths for 5 guests. We ran out of toilet paper, and had to ask for more. The waste paper baskets were not emptied, the second day. We requested a crib for the baby five different times, and finally got one 18 hours later. The computers in the lobby were working and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great homemade foods and pastries, large servings, clean, good service, and open 24 hours, seven days a week!

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mannynicolas
west Los angeles
Aug 12, 2014

FAMILY TRIP

THIS PLACE IS FANTASTIC! WE GOT TIRED AND VERY LATE, AND THEY WERE READY WITH THE CRIB AND THE PARKING VERY CLOSE TO THE ROOM. JUST ONE THING WHEN WE CALL FOR ROOM SERVICE THE LINE WAS BUSY AND WE NEVER COULD ORDER BREAKFAST, AFTER THAT WE DECIDED TO GO TO THE RESTAURANT NEXT TO THE HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eperaza
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 10, 2014

Great stay

We had a great time. The swimlng pool was clean. Close To stores, eateries, and nice area to take a walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My Back Hurts
San Luis Obispo, California
Aug 9, 2014

Close to Everything, But Offers Nothing

In terms of location to SeaWorld and Old Town, the location is great. But, the neighborhood isn't one you would feel safe walking around in. The pool is okay, on the dirty side. The rooms are a 2 star at best. The beds are small, old, and concave to the middle. Not very comfortable. We stayed in a Jr. Suite with a sleeper sofa. Sleeper sofa's for the most part are not great, but this one was horrible. We ended up putting the sofa back together and sleeping on it in sofa form. This hotel offers no amenities; when I asked for a cup of coffee in the lobby they wanted to charge me $1. I think the coffee experience sums up this hotel. Would not stay here again. On the positive note, we could see the SeaWorld fireworks show every night and the mini fridge was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Location was 3 minutes from SeaWorld, 10 minutes from Old Town (great place to see!), 35 minutes from LEGOLAND.

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carl12
NJ
Aug 2, 2014

Nice Motel

Adequate and very nice motel. Good for short stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geokill
Business
Anaheim
Jul 31, 2014

ok

Hotel ok.. not really worth over a 100 bucks. Very crowded..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronald H.
Ventura, Ca
Jul 30, 2014

Never stay there again.

Spider webs in lights. After walking on carpet for 5 min. feet were black. Stains all over carpet. Staff was friendly at check in and out. Floor was so dirty had to keep grandson on the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Different restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel.

Back to menu Return to top