Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baignoire
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Clean, comfortable, classy

We had a great stay at the Sofia. We only stayed one night but the hotel was very comfortable and the staff was friendly and well-informed. My only complaint is that parking is difficult and expensive so be aware if you have a car. I really would have liked to have more time to check out their gym facilities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruffo C.
Business
mazatlan
Dec 29, 2014

Awsome friends trip

Nice, Clean, great ubication, but small bed and small toilette

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krista a.
Business
excelsior
Dec 29, 2014

Amazing location and staff!

Great location and staff. Very helpful with information about the city and they even have free yoga classes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimmyJJ
Business
Creede
Dec 17, 2014

A bargain

Very nice, although small, room. Hotel overall is lovely and very well located in the business center and convenient to transportation options. One of the better fitness centers I've experienced in a value priced hotel. On the downside the wi-fi was so unreliable that it was essentially not usable. More comfortable pillows would be an improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruffo C.
Business
mazatlan
Dec 17, 2014

Awsome friends trip

Nice, Clean, great ubication, but small bed and small toilette

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krista a.
Business
excelsior
Dec 16, 2014

Amazing location and staff!

Great location and staff. Very helpful with information about the city and they even have free yoga classes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elfmade
Business
minnesota
Nov 27, 2014

Business trip

Rooms are very small but lovely and comfortable. The shower needs some rethinking - to avoid leakage. I wish there was room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jadie
Business
Oceanside, CA
Nov 23, 2014

Another wonderful stay at the Sofia!

This was our second time staying and once again the Sofia exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SBR57
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 19, 2014

Great value

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here. The location is close to everything in the gas lamp district of San Diego, the staff is super, and the rooms are well appointed. The gym and yoga studio are very clean and updated. It is also pet friendly, but you can't tell upon room inspection; I have 3 dogs and to keep the rooms that clean with pets traveling through is miraculous. You can't get a better hotel in the area for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hopping Pig is a few blocks away and has a great happy hour

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Road Warrior Princess
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2014

Soft beds, great location, thin walls

The staff was wonderful. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and courteous. They gave me breakfast recommendations, directions, and advice on sightseeing. My room was ready when I arrived well before the check-in time, which was very much appreciated. The bed was soft and very clean. The temperature of the room was easy to control and had central air instead of a window unit present many hotels (especially older ones). The location is fabulous. You can't get any more downtown, and there is plenty to walk to. Parking in the neighborhood is very expensive-- $34 per day at the hotel, though you do have in-and-out privileges and the valets are some of the nicest people I've ever met. They're also super fast. As you leave your room, text your ticket number to them, and your car will be waiting when you get to the curb. My only complaint is that the walls are thin. You can hear plenty from the rooms around you and the hallway. Certainly, this is the result of it being a historic older property, but I really wanted to sleep at 5am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jadie
Business
Oceanside, CA
Nov 2, 2014

Great location, wonderful value!

We stayed at The Sofia on Halloween and had a wonderful time. It's right in the gaslamp so going out is just a few minute walk, our room was clean and recently updated. The hotel staff was prompt and polite. We'll definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top