Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baignoire
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Clean, comfortable, classy

We had a great stay at the Sofia. We only stayed one night but the hotel was very comfortable and the staff was friendly and well-informed. My only complaint is that parking is difficult and expensive so be aware if you have a car. I really would have liked to have more time to check out their gym facilities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jadie
Business
Oceanside, CA
Nov 23, 2014

Another wonderful stay at the Sofia!

This was our second time staying and once again the Sofia exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SBR57
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 19, 2014

Great value

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here. The location is close to everything in the gas lamp district of San Diego, the staff is super, and the rooms are well appointed. The gym and yoga studio are very clean and updated. It is also pet friendly, but you can't tell upon room inspection; I have 3 dogs and to keep the rooms that clean with pets traveling through is miraculous. You can't get a better hotel in the area for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hopping Pig is a few blocks away and has a great happy hour

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Road Warrior Princess
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2014

Soft beds, great location, thin walls

The staff was wonderful. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and courteous. They gave me breakfast recommendations, directions, and advice on sightseeing. My room was ready when I arrived well before the check-in time, which was very much appreciated. The bed was soft and very clean. The temperature of the room was easy to control and had central air instead of a window unit present many hotels (especially older ones). The location is fabulous. You can't get any more downtown, and there is plenty to walk to. Parking in the neighborhood is very expensive-- $34 per day at the hotel, though you do have in-and-out privileges and the valets are some of the nicest people I've ever met. They're also super fast. As you leave your room, text your ticket number to them, and your car will be waiting when you get to the curb. My only complaint is that the walls are thin. You can hear plenty from the rooms around you and the hallway. Certainly, this is the result of it being a historic older property, but I really wanted to sleep at 5am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jadie
Business
Oceanside, CA
Nov 2, 2014

Great location, wonderful value!

We stayed at The Sofia on Halloween and had a wonderful time. It's right in the gaslamp so going out is just a few minute walk, our room was clean and recently updated. The hotel staff was prompt and polite. We'll definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peetz
Business
San Diego
Oct 18, 2014

Comfortable & convenient

Comfortable, cute boutique hotel with modestly-sized yet cared-for rooms. Sofia is located right at the top end of San Diego's night life area. Walking distance to the waterfront, Little Italy, Balboa Park, Petco Park. Plenty of choice nearby for food, drinks. It is a winner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spike Africa's - Fresh fish grill & bar

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaz.
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 13, 2014

Great location

Location was perfect, we we're able to walk to Gas Lamp district and Little Italy for great food and entertainment. Just a couple of blocks to San Diego bay for a bike ride to Sea Port Village. The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The air conditioner was a bit noisy but I'm a very light sleeper so it may not bother most people. Breakfast was really good at the Currant and the bar was nice. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Decutlas
Business
Australia
Oct 12, 2014

San Diego for work

Hotel was good value, in a good location and staff were very friendly. Only surprise was the extra $9 service charge per day charged on top of what was pre-paid, and a $34 valet charge per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank the tank 1
Business
Downey, CA
Oct 10, 2014

A good place to stay at.

Everything is good about this hotel except the walls. They are a bit thin and you can hear loud noice from the room next door. Other than that everything is good. The hotel is very pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gaslamp Lou and Mickeys has great steaks.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Lawer
Business
Casper WY
Sep 24, 2014

A lovely hotel with a great restaurant

I called and had no problems with a late arrival. The room was not particularly spacious and for two people it would have been a bit crowded, but the bed was oh so comfortable - the shower was amazing with a rain shower head directly from the ceiling. The amenities are amazing with free yoga classes, free bicycles, tours on the weekends. The restaurant attached had amazing food. - Really a very nice stay - Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LUcky SR
Business
Ca
Sep 8, 2014

Hotel review

The hotel is a few blocks from the main area of the gaslamp which is nice. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance from cheap to expensive. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. The staff was all very helpful and welcoming. They bicycles you an borrow for 3 hours which was great to ride down to the ships and museum along the harbor and not worry about parking. We went to the farmers market in little Italy about 4 blocks away and had some good food and people watching. Yes the room are comfortable, but they are small. They do a good job with designing it so you have what you need all within that space. The hotel area is Great but our "city view" room looked out onto the courthouse which was not so wonderful. The hotel offers complimentary yoga a few times a week and has a yoga room and gym available to guests. I loved that! I will definitely stay here again. We got a great last min deal too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Other reviews said valet and self parking were the same price but it was actually $10 difference and the lot is right next to the building.

Back to menu Return to top