Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

The Pearl Hotel

3 stars
1410 Rosecrans, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
101 reviews
great cute hotel

We had great experience staying here staff is super nice and attentive. It's a perfect place for... See full review

  • tamaraj
  • Jun 1, 2014
Sweet spot!

I loved this hotel! I visit San Diego regularly and will definitely check for availablity at the... See full review

  • Happy Traveler 17
  • Mar 29, 2014
Retro-chic accommodations with lively vibe in Point Loma

The Pearl has been made over in the style reminiscent of 60s Palm Springs, The Rat Pack and 70s Los Angeles. Relish the hip and lively alfresco drinking and dining scene around the vintage oyster shell saltwater swimming pool. The Wednesday night 'Dive In' movie is the highlight of the week. Alternatives for those seeking extra-cozy ambiance are the Pearl's semi-private poolside cabanas, the intimate bar or the restaurant that presents exciting and eclectic dishes with seasonal, local ingredients.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Intimate and hip boutique hotel in historic Point Loma

  • Close to the San Diego Airport, Gaslamp Quarter and Mission Beach

  • Lively alfresco drinks and entertainment scene around the pool

The Pearl Hotel Rooms

All of the 23 non-smoking rooms reflect the contemporary quietness of Point Loma and the bustling urban scene of nearby downtown San Diego. The Pearl guest rooms are jewel-inspired and classified as Strand, Jewel or Gem. Many rooms sport a poolside view that complements colorful and soothing interiors. Rooms are furnished with vintage-meets-modern furniture, comfortable platform beds, and unique lamps and light fixtures. Bathrooms boast tiled floors, chrome fixtures, cast-iron bathtubs and freestanding showers.


Top-of-the-range Strand rooms feature patios and balconies, king-size beds with English walnut and steel fittings, Sealy Posturpedic Dynasty CSS pillow-top mattresses and high thread-count sheets. The 17 deluxe or Jewel rooms also feature king -size beds. Funky Bachelor/Bachelorette Pads have queen-size beds and mirrored ceilings. All rooms at The Pearl provide complimentary Wi-Fi access, an iHome or Roku SoundBridge, as well as a flat-screen television. Quirky features include slinky toys and classic board games. Do not forget to look for the tropical fish inhabitant in each room.

Things to do
  • Ocean Beach Park (3.1 mi/5 km)

  • Maritime Museum of San Diego (3.7 mi/6 km)

  • Old Town San Diego State Historic Park (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

  • SeaWorld (4.2 mi/6.8 km)

  • Mission Beach (4.9 mi/7.9 km)

  • Gaslamp Quarter (5.3 mi/8.5 km)

  • San Diego Bay (12.2 mi/19.6 km)

  • Torrey Pines Golf Course (14.5 mi/23 km)

The Pearl Hotel Rooms

Jewel
Featuring a king platform bed, extensive casual furnishings, 32-inch LCD television, and superior storage space. Several of these deluxe-size rooms sport outdoor patios, adding more pleasure to the already comfortable and casual accommodations. Room is approximately 250 square feet.
Strand
Featuring a king platform bed, seating area with casual furnishings, 42-inch LCD television, and a vast assortment of upscale features. Select units include outdoor patios with dining furniture, making this our largest room and a really big winner among guests. Room is approximately 250 square feet.
Gem
Featuring a queen platform bed, mirrored ceilings, free standing shower, and a 42 inch LCD television. This bachelor-class room sports bold and sassy ways to go toe-to-toe with its roomier siblings. Room is approximately 112 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pearl Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7253 -117.229
Area served
San Diego Point Loma
Nearby airports
Lindberg Field Airport (SAN)- 2 miles, Palomar Airport - 33 miles.
Area description
Area Location - The Vibrant Gaslamp Quarter and 2 miles from the Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Sea World: 2.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Sea World: 2.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.3 mi
  • Legoland: 28.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant at the Pearl
Dining Restaurant at the Pearl - Restaurant at The Pearl features California Coastal cuisine, friendly table service, and award-winning interior design. Our Executive Chef Spencer Johnston calls upon his background in a variety of regional styles to create exciting and eclectic dishes from seasonal, local ingredients. Prepare to be treated to menus that invite you to indulge culinary whims from simple to sophisticated or classic to contemporary. Food and drink service extends to the pool area, where guests can dine in the poolside cabanas or enjoy time at our intimate bar. Culinary events include beer pairing dinners, weekday happy hours, and our signature Dive-In Movie experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for The Pearl Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glendale, CA
Oct 26, 2009

Worst Hotel Ever Don't ever stay here !!

This is the Worst Hotel, Don't ever stay here. These people have stole $65 off me. [...] the hotel is awful it's dirty and the staff is the worst you can imagine!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
One nation under God
Southern, California
Oct 9, 2011

Fine for the college student

If your looking for a cheap place to stay for the night, this will work. Not the cleanliness of places...mold and hair in the bathroom, gum on the floor, dusty counters, old curtains...and you can hear everything going on outside.....Plus you have to pay $10 to park per night if you can get one of their 10 spots! Really, your staying at the hotel, you have to pay to park there too! And if you cancel a night, you have to go through whatever site you booked from, the hotel has nothing to do with it..whaat a hasel. The idea of the place is cute, lobby, pool, bar and resturant. Great location. Just hope you get one of the newer rooms. Good luck, I will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 20, 2009

Just don't expect to sleep before 2am

I was swayed by the discount and decided to stay here instead of a real hotel down the street. What a mistakeā€¦ This would be a WONDERFUL place to have dinner and hang in a very trendy cool place... BUT..the hotel is a COMPLETELY different matter. The rooms all smell of paint (strong chemical order), the staff is completely pre-occupied with the restaurant, and the night I stayed there was movie night where they hung a giant screen in front of one of the rooms and blasted the speakers until midnight. There is no safe parking...to park on the property costs an extra $10 a night and even then you're on the street...It's a total rip-off. The poor girl handling the rooms also doubled as cashier and phone receptionist and I repeatedly had to go back down stairs to follow up on the simplest of request to find her on the phone taking reservations or handling restaurant matters. The rooms were nice and very eclectic... and smelled of toxic paint. The Pearl is a "W" wanna-be" but is more like the "FU". They didn't even provide simple things like a cork screw for the rooms - I had to take my own bottle of wine down to the restaurant to be opened because they didn't have any openers to share with the rooms. The TV is high on the wall and un-adjustable, so you can't turn it to watch from anywhere else in the room except the bed and the beds are down so low that you get a kink in your neck trying to watch it. Very "cool" but totally dysfunctional. I had a flight out the next day at 4:30am. I didn't get to bed until 1am because of the noise from the restaurant and movie and there was NO room in the entire place that could have avoided the noise. You're literally right on top of the restaurant. This is NOT a hotel for business travelers or people who need to sleep. Period. Bottom line - very cool restaurant, but they should NOT be in the hotel business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try ANY of the other hotels in the area that are NOT a restaurant first. I should have spent the "special discount" and stayed at a REAL Hotel.

Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Escondido, CA
Aug 3, 2008

My review of The Pearl

We live in San Diego. When we arrived, the outside looked like a motel. We had to park two blocks away and walk with our luggage, as there were only four parking spaces in front of the building, which were taken, not to mention that the neighborhood was definitely questionable. My wife was concerned about leaving our vehicle parked on the street but there was nothing we could do. The inside lobby was full of smoke. Don't stay here. You'll totally regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 20, 2009

Just don't expect to sleep before 2am

I was swayed by the discount and decided to stay here instead of a real hotel down the street. What a mistakeā€¦ This would be a WONDERFUL place to have dinner and hang in a very trendy cool place... BUT..the hotel is a COMPLETELY different matter. The rooms all smell of paint (strong chemical order), the staff is completely pre-occupied with the restaurant, and the night I stayed there was movie night where they hung a giant screen in front of one of the rooms and blasted the speakers until midnight. There is no safe parking...to park on the property costs an extra $10 a night and even then you're on the street...It's a total rip-off. The poor girl handling the rooms also doubled as cashier and phone receptionist and I repeatedly had to go back down stairs to follow up on the simplest of request to find her on the phone taking reservations or handling restaurant matters. The rooms were nice and very eclectic... and smelled of toxic paint. The Pearl is a "W" wanna-be" but is more like the "FU". They didn't even provide simple things like a cork screw for the rooms - I had to take my own bottle of wine down to the restaurant to be opened because they didn't have any openers to share with the rooms. The TV is high on the wall and un-adjustable, so you can't turn it to watch from anywhere else in the room except the bed and the beds are down so low that you get a kink in your neck trying to watch it. Very "cool" but totally dysfunctional. I had a flight out the next day at 4:30am. I didn't get to bed until 1am because of the noise from the restaurant and movie and there was NO room in the entire place that could have avoided the noise. You're literally right on top of the restaurant. This is NOT a hotel for business travelers or people who need to sleep. Period. Bottom line - very cool restaurant, but they should NOT be in the hotel business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try ANY of the other hotels in the area that are NOT a restaurant first. I should have spent the "special discount" and stayed at a REAL Hotel.

Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
marylander12345
Business
Lexington Park, MD
Jan 12, 2013

Unbearably Loud-Beware!

The hotel has a bar/restaurant downstairs, and they play very loud music with base setting on high. Weekdays you cannot sleep until 11pm, and weekends until 12, starting 4:30 pm. The base is so loud that the room is trembling. If your ideal hotel room is one in the middle of a dance club, then this is your place; however if you are an average person expecting rest and sleep, AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Escondido, CA
Aug 3, 2008

My review of The Pearl

We live in San Diego. When we arrived, the outside looked like a motel. We had to park two blocks away and walk with our luggage, as there were only four parking spaces in front of the building, which were taken, not to mention that the neighborhood was definitely questionable. My wife was concerned about leaving our vehicle parked on the street but there was nothing we could do. The inside lobby was full of smoke. Don't stay here. You'll totally regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 10, 2009

Pearl - no place to park - sketchy neigh

Drove up to hotel at 11 pm following 4 hour flight, poorly marked, no place to park, side of building looked unkept. I was not going to spend the night in what I consider a dump. I drove down Harbor Blvd and stayed at a Holiday Inn. I BELIEVE I WAS RIPPED OFF BY YOUR SLOTTING OF THIS HOTEL. I PREPAID, BUT WAS NOT GOING TO SPEND THE NIGHT WONDERING IF SOMEONE WAS GOING TO BREAK IN OR KNOCK ON WHAT LOOKED LIKE A DUMP. TPK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 10, 2009

Pearl - no place to park - sketchy neigh

Drove up to hotel at 11 pm following 4 hour flight, poorly marked, no place to park, side of building looked unkept. I was not going to spend the night in what I consider a dump. I drove down Harbor Blvd and stayed at a Holiday Inn. I BELIEVE I WAS RIPPED OFF BY YOUR SLOTTING OF THIS HOTEL. I PREPAID, BUT WAS NOT GOING TO SPEND THE NIGHT WONDERING IF SOMEONE WAS GOING TO BREAK IN OR KNOCK ON WHAT LOOKED LIKE A DUMP. TPK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pearl Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 6, 2008

Great for the open minded

The decor inside the room and in the restaurant look great. However, it is a old motel with outside entrances that has been renovated in some aspects. At first sight, we thought that this might be a great place to stay, but we realized that was not the case. The corner where the hotel sits is very busy and loud. The size of the room is made for sleeping only since there is not much room to sit and just watch TV unless you are laying on the bed. The carpet in the room is outdoor carpet along with the mat in front of the sink so we would not walk in the room without socks or shoes on at all times. Housekeeping changed our towels and made our bed on the first day but didn't empy any wastebaskes, sweep or clean anything. I even left a tip. On the second day, housekeeping never showed up at all! As far as the bathroom is concerned, they have some great new fixtures but the tub has just been repainted and none of the plumbing has been changed so if someone is using water you will get hot and cold spurts. This place has the potential to be nice but I feel that it is going to turn in to a one night stop that will be run down soon. The restaurant however is very nice with good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is near the airport and attractions.

Back to menu Return to top