Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

The Bristol Hotel

3 stars
1055 First Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
232 reviews
Excellent hotel

Good location. Friendly staff. Family friendly. Recommended See full review

  • Tim and the family
  • Apr 7, 2014
Convention/business stay

This hotel was amazing, in all aspects! Their bed was comfortable that the moment I hit the bed I... See full review

  • Cesco
  • Dec 9, 2013
Modern boutique hotel with California cuisine near Gaslamp District
Situated in the heart of downtown San Diego, just blocks from the Gaslamp District, the Bristol Hotel offers modern boutique luxury. The property, owned and operated by Greystone Hotels, features complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and first-run pay-per-view movies in rooms. The top-floor Starlight Ballroom is the only meeting space in Southern California with a retractable roof. The on-site restaurant, FIRST avenue bar & grille, offers a delicious, casual and convenient San Diego dining experience.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Conveniently located in the heart of San Diego's downtown
  • Enjoy fresh California cuisine at on-site restaurant
  • Ballroom features retractable roof
Rooms

The 102 rooms at the Bristol Hotel are spacious and spotless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, MP3 docking station, plush robe and in-room safe. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome.

Features

The Bristol Hotel was one of a handful of hotels in California to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating from Audubon International. It is a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests receive complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. The hotel also offers first-run pay-per-view movies (fees apply) and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). What's more, the top-floor Starlight ballroom, a popular site for meetings and events, is the only meeting facility in Southern California with a retractable roof.

Enjoy relaxed dining ambience with great food and drinks at FIRST avenue bar & grille, the on-site restaurant, open seven days a week.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (3 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/6 km)
Business
  • Public computer terminal located in lobby
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Starlight ballroom features retractable roof, seats up to 400 guests
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Bristol Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Sitting area-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning
Superior Two Double
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning
Superior King
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Bristol Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7165 -117.1635
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
Lindbergh Field Airport
Area description
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, the Bristol shares sidewalks with fine dining and entertainment in the Gaslamp Quarter, world class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal and the San Diego Convention Center. Just a short drive away you will find sunny California beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Seaport Village and Petco Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Call us to see if these rooms will work for your meeting or convention. 1.800.662.4477 1) Starlight Ballroom 2) City Scene

Dining

FIRST avenue bar & grille
Enjoy a delicious, casual and convenient San Diego dining experience at The Bristol Hotel. FIRST avenue bar & grille in The Bristol Hotel offers a relaxed ambiance for great food and drinks, seven days a week. FIRST avenue bar & grille also offers a select menu for In-Room Dining. Our knowledgeable staff can also offer recommendations for other restaurants in San Diego that are located near our Gaslamp Quarter-area hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for The Bristol Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsocorro
Venezuela
Sep 26, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

Stayed here while in a convention, it was around 15 minute walk from the SD Convention Center. Good, quiet location just a 5 minute walk to the famous Gaslamp Quarter. Nice King size bed room with, very nice contemporary decoration. Bed was comfortable, clean sheets and pillowcases, good air conditioning, nice TV (although very slow to turn on, I though it was broken), has a nice carpet, desk with its chair and a easy chair, Front desk staff was courteous, speedy and helpful. The bathroom was clean and well equipped including hair dryer, shower water flow was great with almost immediate hot water, lots of towels, and even you get two bathrobes. The bad: Not enough wall sockets, very hard to find a socket to plug your phone and laptop at the same time, couldn't do it, had to unplug a lamp to help myself and it was far from the bed. The bathroom sliding door in my room was kind of stuck inside and there was no way to get it out of there. The other bad thing was (at least for me) when I asked for a razor and shaving cream as I left mine at home, they gave me this 1970's Bic yellow razor together with this Chinese shaving cream, had several cuts on my face, so my advice is for them to give something better and for you better go to a 7-Eleven around the corner and buy your own razor / shaving cream. But overall very nice experience. (Didn't try the restaurant, so can't tell). My two cents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NadiDomi7
La Verne, California
Sep 17, 2012

Just a place to sleep.

We booked this hotel for mostly convenience. After a long day of work, 2 hour drive, and a concert in Chula Vista, I knew we needed a place to sleep for a good price and not too far a drive after our concert. It was booked a couple months in advance and called a couple days before and inquired about a few things. I asked if there was parking around the hotel, and the only parking they had was $26 overnight valet parking. Kind of expensive considering the hotel itself was $190, it should have been included. I had booked the room online, and it was set for a King size bed. I also asked the girl if it was first come first serve between a king size bed and two twin beds, and she confirmed that I would be getting what I had booked, which was a king size. We arrived a little after 11, and were told that we got the last room with two twin sized beds. Well, thanks for the lie. I would have come before the concert to get the bed size we wanted. The gentleman was sincere about it and gave us two complimentary breakfast vouchers. That was nice. When we get up into our room, our bathroom sliding door was broken and wouldn’t even close. Well, thank goodness I was with my boyfriend, and it wouldn’t have been awkward taking a shower. My bf and I are taller than average, and was quite uncomfortable sleeping on a smaller bed (hence the king size being longer). After our mediocre breakfast with not so great service, we went back to shower and head home. Our shower looked like a public shower and our shower head was broken as well. It was just a place to sleep I guess and shouldn’t have expected anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Matthews
Riverside, Ca
Sep 9, 2012

It was comfortable here

San Diego is a nice city, fist time I was able to really explore. My room was perfect. Bed & pillows were extremely comfortable. No complaints at all, except for the $26 valet charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the left of the building, is a sushi place called SushiDeli. Inexpensive and delicious!!!

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerrie Conference
Business
New York, New York
Aug 14, 2012

Wonderful stay!

Very attentive staff. Close to transportation and removed from the noise of the main Gaslight strip; although, close enough to walk to the historic area. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Quiet hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Currant American Brasserie located at 140 W. Broadway is an excellent restaurant.

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris LA
Los angeles, ca
Jul 25, 2012

Perfect location.

Close to everything we wanted. The mall, Gaslamp, Hillcrest and Balboa park. Perfect space for our intimate getaway and the bed was one of the most comfortable we had ever slept on. The only set back we had was the hotel doesn't have a pool. Something I should have looked into before booking but I thought a pool in southern California was standard. Regardless, would stay again, maybe in the winter time :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisArtie
phx, az
Jun 27, 2012

Fun Birthday

We were pleased with the staff as they checked us into our room. The room was clean and had what we needed.Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sailing Sam
Scottsdale, AZ
Jun 25, 2012

You use a 3rd party to book the room....

My only complaint is upon arival at checking I was told all they had left were kig beds, no doubles. I called and confirmed my resv. was for two beds. My travel partner is a sailing buddy, but were not that close! She told me "well you did book with a 3rd party" I said "I dont care and you did accept my money"...we were given a room with double beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mya Green
Azusa CA
Jun 20, 2012

Charging you without telling you

I booked this hotel based on the customers' reviews. I thought since most people gave it a nice review and the price is not too outrages, it is ok to book for a night. When I checked in, the valet guy is also the bell boy, so since I parked valet, I had to move my luggages myself. Then, I was asked to provide my ID and credit card but no one told me that they are charging $51 for deposit. When I got my room and checked my bank balance, I found out that I was charged already. I called the front desk to ask what 51 dollars are for, they said that it was deposit for the room. I explained that no one told me about the amount, she gave me a huge attitude as I was wrong to ask the question. The bed is smelly and staff was rude. Never never never will I go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoshuaG
Michigan, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Good place good staff crew

This place is about 3 blocks away from the convention center. Neat place. Staff crew is very friendly. They have a mini bar in every room just to allure you to buy their super expensive alcohol, but if you can control yourself, its is a good place to be in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marco P
New Haven, CT, USA
Mar 19, 2012

The Bristol Hotel was a great find.

The Bristol Hotel was just what we were looking for. It is very close to the beautiful Gas Light District, within a walking distance to the waterfront, near theaters, restaurants, cafes and great shopping. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the room was quite spacious. We would definitley recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top