Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

The Bristol Hotel

3 stars
1055 First Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
156 reviews
Great hotel

Large, clean rooms right in Gaslamp...perfect! Can't ask for much more. See full review

  • Devon22
  • Aug 25, 2014
fantastic birthday celebration!

We decided to celebrate my cousin's birthday with a trip to San Diego and this hotel was perfect!... See full review

  • giveme
  • Aug 18, 2014
Modern boutique hotel with California cuisine near Gaslamp District
Situated in the heart of downtown San Diego, just blocks from the Gaslamp District, the Bristol Hotel offers modern boutique luxury. The property, owned and operated by Greystone Hotels, features complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and first-run pay-per-view movies in rooms. The top-floor Starlight Ballroom is the only meeting space in Southern California with a retractable roof. The on-site restaurant, FIRST avenue bar & grille, offers a delicious, casual and convenient San Diego dining experience.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Conveniently located in the heart of San Diego's downtown
  • Enjoy fresh California cuisine at on-site restaurant
  • Ballroom features retractable roof
Rooms

The 102 rooms at the Bristol Hotel are spacious and spotless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, MP3 docking station, plush robe and in-room safe. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome.

Features

The Bristol Hotel was one of a handful of hotels in California to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating from Audubon International. It is a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests receive complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. The hotel also offers first-run pay-per-view movies (fees apply) and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). What's more, the top-floor Starlight ballroom, a popular site for meetings and events, is the only meeting facility in Southern California with a retractable roof.

Enjoy relaxed dining ambience with great food and drinks at FIRST avenue bar & grille, the on-site restaurant, open seven days a week.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (3 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/6 km)
Business
  • Public computer terminal located in lobby
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Starlight ballroom features retractable roof, seats up to 400 guests
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Bristol Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Sitting area-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning
Superior Two Double
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning
Superior King
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Bristol Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7165 -117.1635
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
Lindbergh Field Airport
Area description
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, the Bristol shares sidewalks with fine dining and entertainment in the Gaslamp Quarter, world class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal and the San Diego Convention Center. Just a short drive away you will find sunny California beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Seaport Village and Petco Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Call us to see if these rooms will work for your meeting or convention. 1.800.662.4477 1) Starlight Ballroom 2) City Scene

Dining

FIRST avenue bar & grille
Enjoy a delicious, casual and convenient San Diego dining experience at The Bristol Hotel. FIRST avenue bar & grille in The Bristol Hotel offers a relaxed ambiance for great food and drinks, seven days a week. FIRST avenue bar & grille also offers a select menu for In-Room Dining. Our knowledgeable staff can also offer recommendations for other restaurants in San Diego that are located near our Gaslamp Quarter-area hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for The Bristol Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runner Reggie
Business
Cerritos, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Great Hotel

i had wonderful time at the hotel. very clean and friendly staffs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler G
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 25, 2013

Great location

Hotel is at Great location. Close access to most of the attractions in San Diego. Hotel is clean, staff are friendly. The restaurant at the hotel as well as most of the restaurant closes at 10 so if you arrive late, you will have tough time finding good place to eat for the night. Hotel is few blocks away from the pacific highway and Midway Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp Quarter

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hootis
Business
Texas
Feb 11, 2013

San Diego Convention

Very good location...2 blocks away from gaslamp and only a few minutes from airport. Staff was friendly and hotel was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
covettemd
Business
colorado springs, CO
Jan 27, 2013

best bang for the buck

This hotel is walking distance to the mall, restaurants, bars. The rooms are always nice and clean. I checked prices at other hotels around the Bristol and they are more expensive with same or fewer amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JGCG3
Business
Boston
Dec 7, 2012

Brief review

Great stay, very clean. Close to downtown. I would recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AaronPasadena
Business
Pasadena, CA
Nov 26, 2012

Very clean, stylish, good location

The Bristol was very clean and stylish, nice size room, very comfortable bed. Our room faced the metro train that passes by every few minutes, but it must have stopped during the night and the noise didn't bother us at all. They gave us $1 drink coupons for the bar when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KidneyMD
Business
Englewood, NJ
Nov 5, 2012

More than met my needs for my convention in San Diego

About a 5 block walk from the convention center. Well appointed room. Free use of computer and printer handy to print airline boarding tickets。Very close to Westfield Horton Plaza (typical mall) and Gaslamp Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the action and dining at Gaslamp Quarter.

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
isaymarco
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 10, 2012

Good price for great location!

Parking is $26/night, valet only. The lobby was neat and spacious (with a piano!), although the front desk is located awkwardly on the left corner as you walk in. Staff was friendly enough and kind enough to grant me late check-out! My room was smaller than I expected, with the luggage on the floor it felt a BIT cramped. The red, white and black decor had a wannabe modern type of feel, but that's okay. The coverlet on the King-sized bed felt dusty/stiff but after I pulled it back and lay down...WHOA. Pretty comfortable bed! Pillows were great too, felt like I was on a cloud. I was very pleased. Wi-fi was free although the connection was a bit spotty. The part of the room that I wasn't too crazy about was the bathroom. The sink seemed old, the counter was dirty (water spots), the shower in the bathtub with shower curtain was a bit old fashioned, but at least the toilet had a cool press button flush? The bathroom was also TINY, literally the size of a closet. Overall, the Bristol Hotel is great if you want the convenience of being in the middle of Gaslamp so you can get your drink on without getting a DUI. Also good for small groups sharing a room with double beds because it's super affordable split among four people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

All the bars/clubs of Gaslamp are within ten minute walking distance!

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsocorro
Business
Venezuela
Sep 26, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

Stayed here while in a convention, it was around 15 minute walk from the SD Convention Center. Good, quiet location just a 5 minute walk to the famous Gaslamp Quarter. Nice King size bed room with, very nice contemporary decoration. Bed was comfortable, clean sheets and pillowcases, good air conditioning, nice TV (although very slow to turn on, I though it was broken), has a nice carpet, desk with its chair and a easy chair, Front desk staff was courteous, speedy and helpful. The bathroom was clean and well equipped including hair dryer, shower water flow was great with almost immediate hot water, lots of towels, and even you get two bathrobes. The bad: Not enough wall sockets, very hard to find a socket to plug your phone and laptop at the same time, couldn't do it, had to unplug a lamp to help myself and it was far from the bed. The bathroom sliding door in my room was kind of stuck inside and there was no way to get it out of there. The other bad thing was (at least for me) when I asked for a razor and shaving cream as I left mine at home, they gave me this 1970's Bic yellow razor together with this Chinese shaving cream, had several cuts on my face, so my advice is for them to give something better and for you better go to a 7-Eleven around the corner and buy your own razor / shaving cream. But overall very nice experience. (Didn't try the restaurant, so can't tell). My two cents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NadiDomi7
Business
La Verne, California
Sep 17, 2012

Just a place to sleep.

We booked this hotel for mostly convenience. After a long day of work, 2 hour drive, and a concert in Chula Vista, I knew we needed a place to sleep for a good price and not too far a drive after our concert. It was booked a couple months in advance and called a couple days before and inquired about a few things. I asked if there was parking around the hotel, and the only parking they had was $26 overnight valet parking. Kind of expensive considering the hotel itself was $190, it should have been included. I had booked the room online, and it was set for a King size bed. I also asked the girl if it was first come first serve between a king size bed and two twin beds, and she confirmed that I would be getting what I had booked, which was a king size. We arrived a little after 11, and were told that we got the last room with two twin sized beds. Well, thanks for the lie. I would have come before the concert to get the bed size we wanted. The gentleman was sincere about it and gave us two complimentary breakfast vouchers. That was nice. When we get up into our room, our bathroom sliding door was broken and wouldn’t even close. Well, thank goodness I was with my boyfriend, and it wouldn’t have been awkward taking a shower. My bf and I are taller than average, and was quite uncomfortable sleeping on a smaller bed (hence the king size being longer). After our mediocre breakfast with not so great service, we went back to shower and head home. Our shower looked like a public shower and our shower head was broken as well. It was just a place to sleep I guess and shouldn’t have expected anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top