Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Bristol Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1055 First Ave., San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Bristol Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Q lady
Business
San Francisco
Dec 22, 2013

Ear plugs

Foe the price, it's a good choice for san Diego downtown hotel. You will see a pair of ear plugs waiting at bedside table, use them, cause the sound proof at the hotel room was not good and you can easily hear next room ppl caughing or something else :p

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesco
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 9, 2013

Convention/business stay

This hotel was amazing, in all aspects! Their bed was comfortable that the moment I hit the bed I went to sleep. The room was clean. Staff was great! Very accommodating. I stayed at this hotel because I had a meeting at the San Diego Convention Center, and it is about 15 minutes walking distance--depending on how fast or slow you walk! I just wish they would have complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport to set this hotel the best of all the others. Also it is within walking distance from Gaslamp quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Giants Fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 2, 2013

Quick San Diego Getaway

Overall a great experience at The Bristol Hotel. The person that checked us in was very helpful and everyone was quick to respond to a couple of requests we had. The location is perfect as it's a short walk from the hotel to Horton Plaza and the Gaslamp District. There's also a few brunch places within a 5 minute walk if you wanted to get breakfast as well. Our one complaint is the parking situation. If you go out far enough you will find street parking but we didn't feel safe leaving our car in any of the areas where parking was available overnight. Valet parking for $26 is available at the hotel and that's pretty reasonable when compared with other lots in the area, but it's also higher than what we are use to paying. Our main complaint though is that it took the valet's more than 20 minutes to retrieve our car. We had given them our ticket before a large group that checked out after us but everyone else got there car first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel location is perfect for exploring downtown on foot.

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie P
Business
Rancho Mirage, California
Nov 18, 2013

Smooth business trip

Great location near the gaslamp quarter with friendly helpful staff and the valet parking was much cheaper than other hotels in the area. The room was lovely, very comfortable with free wi-fi. Perfect for a business trip and I will definitely be going back. I noticed that they are also a pet friendly hotel so next time I am in San Diego for pleasure I will be bringing my little dog. Really enjoyed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
on world tour
Business
memphis, tn
Nov 2, 2013

nice stay

I was in San Diego for a conference and opted to stay at this hotel rather than the more expensive conference hotel. I really enjoyed my stay. The room was very nice and clean. It is located within short walking distance of the Gas Lamp district. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Payge
Business
Ventura county California
Sep 22, 2013

Trip to the ballpark

The location was perfect for a day at petco park. It is in walking distance to the Horton plaza which was awesome and of course the gaslamp district where we spent our day. Easy to find off the freeway . Loved it so much that will be our hotel anytime we go to San Diego !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KinaM
Business
California
Aug 18, 2013

Great time!

Met up with some friend for the weekend. The hotel is nice and the location is good. Everything is in within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aggie Fan
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 5, 2013

don't bother mentioning your Stash rewards program....

Don't waste time at check-in advising discounted hotel customers about your rewards program since we didn't prepay the full cost of the room, only a discounted amount! We do NOT want to be on your email list for rewards that require payment for the rack rate cost of the room. It is obvious we went to the discount hotel sites because we were trying hard to save some money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to great restaurants and the ballpark in the Gaslamp District and also to the bayfront (cruise port, Sante Fe Amtrak Depot, USS Midway/museum, and Seaport Village)!!

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RN Tee
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 24, 2013

Perfect Getaway

You are never too far from places to see and things to to do with The Bristol being located in Downtown Sa Diego. The staff was super friendly and our room was super cute and super comfortable! I would most definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liberty Keith
Business
Statesboro,Ga
Jun 22, 2013

Fantastic stay

Meet at desk by friendly,efficient staff. Great food with discount for guests! Beautiful rooms. Will visit again if ever in the San Diego area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Discounts to guests. Wife loved the nail salon around the corner!

Back to menu Return to top