Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Bristol Hotel

3 stars
1055 First Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Excellent hotel

Good location. Friendly staff. Family friendly. Recommended See full review

  • Tim and the family
  • Apr 7, 2014
Convention/business stay

This hotel was amazing, in all aspects! Their bed was comfortable that the moment I hit the bed I... See full review

  • Cesco
  • Dec 9, 2013
Modern boutique hotel with California cuisine near Gaslamp District
Situated in the heart of downtown San Diego, just blocks from the Gaslamp District, the Bristol Hotel offers modern boutique luxury. The property, owned and operated by Greystone Hotels, features complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and first-run pay-per-view movies in rooms. The top-floor Starlight Ballroom is the only meeting space in Southern California with a retractable roof. The on-site restaurant, FIRST avenue bar & grille, offers a delicious, casual and convenient San Diego dining experience.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Conveniently located in the heart of San Diego's downtown
  • Enjoy fresh California cuisine at on-site restaurant
  • Ballroom features retractable roof
Rooms

The 102 rooms at the Bristol Hotel are spacious and spotless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, MP3 docking station, plush robe and in-room safe. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome.

Features

The Bristol Hotel was one of a handful of hotels in California to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating from Audubon International. It is a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests receive complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. The hotel also offers first-run pay-per-view movies (fees apply) and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). What's more, the top-floor Starlight ballroom, a popular site for meetings and events, is the only meeting facility in Southern California with a retractable roof.

Enjoy relaxed dining ambience with great food and drinks at FIRST avenue bar & grille, the on-site restaurant, open seven days a week.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (3 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/6 km)
Business
  • Public computer terminal located in lobby
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Starlight ballroom features retractable roof, seats up to 400 guests
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Bristol Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Sitting area-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning
Superior Two Double
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning
Superior King
Contemporary bright spacious room-Triple sheeted beds-Complimentary WIFI-Work desk-Fully stocked honor bar-Full bath-Plush terry robes-Luxurious bath amenities-Salon style hair dryer-Coffee maker-Iron equip-CD Clock radio-Key card locks-Windows that open with black out shades-In room movies-Self climate control-Room service-Laundry-Dry cleaning

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Bristol Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7165 -117.1635
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
Lindbergh Field Airport
Area description
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, the Bristol shares sidewalks with fine dining and entertainment in the Gaslamp Quarter, world class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal and the San Diego Convention Center. Just a short drive away you will find sunny California beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Seaport Village and Petco Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Call us to see if these rooms will work for your meeting or convention. 1.800.662.4477 1) Starlight Ballroom 2) City Scene

Dining

FIRST avenue bar & grille
Enjoy a delicious, casual and convenient San Diego dining experience at The Bristol Hotel. FIRST avenue bar & grille in The Bristol Hotel offers a relaxed ambiance for great food and drinks, seven days a week. FIRST avenue bar & grille also offers a select menu for In-Room Dining. Our knowledgeable staff can also offer recommendations for other restaurants in San Diego that are located near our Gaslamp Quarter-area hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for The Bristol Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Marco P
New Haven, CT, USA
Mar 19, 2012

The Bristol Hotel was a great find.

The Bristol Hotel was just what we were looking for. It is very close to the beautiful Gas Light District, within a walking distance to the waterfront, near theaters, restaurants, cafes and great shopping. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the room was quite spacious. We would definitley recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
dpcg
Business
los angeles
Feb 10, 2012

Decent price for a decent hotel in a decent area.

The hotel was on the edge of the gaslmp dist. so you are within walking distance without all of the loud noise. Thats a good thing or a bad thing depending on what you're looking for. There are traintracks right next to the hotel, so you hear that all night long..not cool. Also, we had 2 rooms and both faced a tall ugly concrete wall....and that was it. The decor was cute and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Sarah from Maryland
Business
Maryland, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Good alternative to pricey conference hotel

The hotel was walking distance to the convention center, the Gaslamp Quarter, close to the airport bus, and close to a tram stop. The hotel was very modern looking, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Topanga Mike
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 10, 2012

The Bristol

Pretty good place. Parking charge seems a bit high at $26 a day when you are booking a $100 a day room. However, when the web site that they use to provide discounted zoo tickets to customers was down, they offered compensation by crediting me $10 (which was more than the discount on the zoo tickets I would have received). Location is very good - within walking distance of many restaurants, coffee shops, and the Horton Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Bill the Planner
Lake Worth, FL, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Convenient location and attentive staff make a stay here worthwhile

While my wife and I were planning a Southern California weekend, I wanted a location reasonably close to my son who lives about 40 miles north of San Diego, but also where we could enjoy big city amenities. The Bristol in located a few blocks from the train station that has a decent amount of trips north on the coast and is located near the Gaslamp Quarter so we selected it. It also goes to the major attractions in the area. The staff was exceptionally accommodating and friendly. The rooms were spotless and the bed very comfortable. We had drinks in the hotel bar and dinner in the hotel restaurant and both were fine and served by a great staff. It is right around the corner from the trolley stop. The only negative, which is a community issue, is the significant population of street people and pan handlers in the surrounding area. I travel to big cities frequently and am fairly used to this aspect of city life, but this didn’t quit. Between that and the appalling lack of police presence it was uncomfortable walking at night. As I will be visiting several times a year to the area, I will stay here again and recommend it. The hotel, convenient location and price make it a very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

San Diego Gaslamp Quarter had many nice bars, clubs and Restaurants. Take a cab at night if you are a woman alone or in a small group.

Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
kmoney
Long Beach, CA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Great Hotel!

We stayed at this hotel for a concert, and we loved it! It was within very short walking distance of the venue, and within walking distance of the mall and downtown San Diego. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The only drawback is that parking costs $26, but with how downtown parking it is it was easier than finding parking somewhere else. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
DannyeS
Yuma, AZ, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Halloween Trip 2011

Great Location pretty much in Gaslamp area. Nice modern appearance, super clean room with trendy decor, lots of amenities, reasonably priced valet parking. Only CON: Our room was part of a split divided by doors. I could have literally hear everything that our neighbours talked about. Fortunately, we were all grown ups and at the end got a good night sleep on both sides =). Super friendly staff assured me next morning , that this was one of few rooms with split doors and they're slowly phasing them out. Bottom line: don't get the split door room and you'll love it in Bristol Hotel. Get it and hope for civilized neighbours =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
leilamel
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Nice, confortable room for a weekend trip

All of the hotel staff were extremely helpful. The location was a few blocks from some great restaurants and the mall. The room itself had a nice style with attention to detail. Though it was somewhat small it had everything we needed for a quick weekend trip. Great location, nice staff, and comfortable room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Alabama
Jul 4, 2011

George From Alabama

Parking fee outrageous (got no for-warning of this) and you have no choice. Paid $26 for the privledge of someone taking our car to their parking space. You especially feel violated when you have to tip these guys. AMenities? What amenities? Oh yea, 2 chocolate pillow mints and a coupon for a beer or drink from the bottom shelf. No bathroom ventellation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Las Vegas
May 22, 2011

the bristol exploitation

We booked the room online for a deal advertised at a discount price. I felt really mislead. The hotel is nice place dont get me wrong. But the room service menu has a 20% fee on top of the listed price, then a $3.50 fee more, so the omelet listed on the menu for $16 was actually $24. parking here was $26. Late check out was $45. I feel like the deal got me in the door, and now I paid double to stay here with nothing to show for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Anything above the room key here is not considered good service. It's a price tag.

Back to menu Return to top