Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah the Explorer
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Apr 30, 2011

A hidden gem!

I need just two words to describe Solamar: "Understated sophistication." My husband and I had to endure a 4-hour delay on the Amtrak ride from Santa Barbara to San Diego so we were quite tired by the time we arrived at the hotel. But as soon as we walked through the front door into the lobby, we knew we picked the right hotel. The location is ideal; it took us less than 5 minutes from the Amtrak station by taxi, and it is less than 10 minutes' ride to the airport. It is in the historic Gaslamp Quarter where many shops, restaurants and theaters are within a walking distance. If you enjoy walking, it is an easy walk to the beautiful San Diego waterfront where you will be greeted by numerous attractions including the heart-warming Bob Hope memorial. The hotel decor was stylish without being overbearing, the staff was friendly and efficient, and the room was beautifully appointed. The outdoor pool and lounge on the 4th floor rooftop were refreshing and romantic helped by the fire pits nestled among the comfortable seatings. The wine reception from 5 - 6 p.m. was a pleasant surprise. The hotel restaurant, Jsix, was inviting and clean with good food and reasonable prices, but the menu selection was relatively limited. If I had to point out one flaw, it was the sink in the bathroom. The sink was the type that sits on top of the vanity (rather than undermounted) with a very shallow square basin which almost came up to my chest. Granted, I am only 5'2" but my husband, who is a foot taller than I, also commented that water splashed too much. Finally, if you plan to drive, be sure to ask about the overnight parking as there is a substantial fee. All in all, we loved our stay at Solamar and we highly recommend it. We will definitely stay at Solamar again if and when we return to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P-Town, Indiana
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Apr 11, 2011

Solamar was VERY nice!

Very nice rooms, courteous staff. Great location. 2 blocks from PetCo Park and right in the middle of the Gaslamp District. Plenty of bars, restaurants, & shops. The JSix restaurant located in the hotel is OUTSTANDING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars, Restaurants, Shops are all SUPER close to the Solamar!

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Mar 22, 2011

very good location, nice hotel

I could not book a type of room. So we got a room with 1 king wanted 2 queen. The gave us an extra bed and moved our stuff next day to another room with 2 queen. Very kind of the hotel staff. Hotel bar at the pool is nice, room is nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

club on the other side of the street. Very cool, breakfast in broken yolk 100 foot down the street. Hotel is in the gas lamo district.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 20, 2011

Great Hotel

Hotel Solamar was just as advertised. The hotel was very nice, the staff were very helpful and my room was perfect. My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip to San Diego and we wanted a room with a nice hot tube and I found this place online. My girlfriend thought the room was decorated "oh so cuuuute", the bed was very comfortable and big, the couch in our room was comfy and we both fit in it perfectly with room to cuddle and the bathroom was big. The Hot tube was perfect, all the amenities were great and we got a great view of Petco park and downtown. The hotel has a great restaurant inside but is also a cheap cab ride to any great restaurant in the gas lamp district. For all you club goers, it is right across the street from club Styngaree, one the Gaslamp's premier clubs and also has a few bars near by within walking distance. All in all, we had a great time and will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Styngaree is right across the street and the hotel is a cheap cab ride away from all the major bars and clubs downtown

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Mar 15, 2011

Great Stay!

My fiance and I were staying downtown for a concert. I'm super picky about hotel cleanliness, so we don't stay in hotels very often. This hotel was GREAT! The room was clean, smelled fresh, and had an extremely comfortable bed. We enjoyed lounging by the pool and the short walk to bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 15, 2011

Perfect weekend for a birthday

The hotel was fantastic - we arrived early and they called as soon as the room was ready. While waiting, we had time to wander the Gaslamp District and grab lunch. As we were there for my girlfriend's birthday, we took advantage of the great location as didn't have to drive or use transportation to hit any of the spots we wanted to go to. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelinghappy
Business
atlanta
Mar 14, 2011

Associate Director of Development

Clean, conveniently located, great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 12, 2011

Sleepless Night

4 star staff and accommodations. Very well managed and maintained. Surprise $35 per night valet only parking. 7th floor room with view to two sides, but also Friday night life sounds from two sides until 2:00 a.m. Ear plugs didn't help. If you don't want to go to sleep until 2:00 a.m., it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramona, CA
Mar 10, 2011

Great city experience!

The hotel was beautifully decorated. The rooftop pool and bar were spectacular! The location is close to Petco Park, the convention center, and the gaslamp district. The hotel parking was expensive, so we parked down the street in a public parking lot for half the cost. The only problem we found was the walls were a bit thin. Overall we had a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Went to the Broadway Pier and took a cruise of the bay. They also have whale watching and a dinner cruise.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Mar 7, 2011

Hotel Solamar

Great hotel. Good location, nice staff, nice rooms. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top