Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 13, 2011

Nice hotel, expensive parking!

Hotel is great, but if you include the price of valet parking in the rate, you can probably consider a fancier hotel with free parking...! If you're not parking a car, the hotel is clean, has nice rooms, a great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, FL
May 9, 2011

Great stay

My girlfriend and I stayed in San Diego to party for cinco de mayo while visiting some family. It was a great place with a very central location to the gaslamp quarter. The pool bar was a great atmosphere to hang out in the afternoon. The beds were very

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a great place to stay. Between 5-6 they do a wine tasting.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
May 2, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location!

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. My only complaint would be that the pool area is small for the size of the hotel. They have a huge lounge area next to it and I would recommend that they add more lounge chairs in that area to accomadate the overflow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrazilianNutz
Business
Los Angeles
May 1, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

Nice hotel, not too big and very modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks away from lots of bars and restaurants from Mexican to Italian food.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah the Explorer
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Apr 30, 2011

A hidden gem!

I need just two words to describe Solamar: "Understated sophistication." My husband and I had to endure a 4-hour delay on the Amtrak ride from Santa Barbara to San Diego so we were quite tired by the time we arrived at the hotel. But as soon as we walked through the front door into the lobby, we knew we picked the right hotel. The location is ideal; it took us less than 5 minutes from the Amtrak station by taxi, and it is less than 10 minutes' ride to the airport. It is in the historic Gaslamp Quarter where many shops, restaurants and theaters are within a walking distance. If you enjoy walking, it is an easy walk to the beautiful San Diego waterfront where you will be greeted by numerous attractions including the heart-warming Bob Hope memorial. The hotel decor was stylish without being overbearing, the staff was friendly and efficient, and the room was beautifully appointed. The outdoor pool and lounge on the 4th floor rooftop were refreshing and romantic helped by the fire pits nestled among the comfortable seatings. The wine reception from 5 - 6 p.m. was a pleasant surprise. The hotel restaurant, Jsix, was inviting and clean with good food and reasonable prices, but the menu selection was relatively limited. If I had to point out one flaw, it was the sink in the bathroom. The sink was the type that sits on top of the vanity (rather than undermounted) with a very shallow square basin which almost came up to my chest. Granted, I am only 5'2" but my husband, who is a foot taller than I, also commented that water splashed too much. Finally, if you plan to drive, be sure to ask about the overnight parking as there is a substantial fee. All in all, we loved our stay at Solamar and we highly recommend it. We will definitely stay at Solamar again if and when we return to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P-Town, Indiana
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Apr 11, 2011

Solamar was VERY nice!

Very nice rooms, courteous staff. Great location. 2 blocks from PetCo Park and right in the middle of the Gaslamp District. Plenty of bars, restaurants, & shops. The JSix restaurant located in the hotel is OUTSTANDING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars, Restaurants, Shops are all SUPER close to the Solamar!

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Mar 22, 2011

very good location, nice hotel

I could not book a type of room. So we got a room with 1 king wanted 2 queen. The gave us an extra bed and moved our stuff next day to another room with 2 queen. Very kind of the hotel staff. Hotel bar at the pool is nice, room is nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

club on the other side of the street. Very cool, breakfast in broken yolk 100 foot down the street. Hotel is in the gas lamo district.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Mar 22, 2011

very good location, nice hotel

I could not book a type of room. So we got a room with 1 king wanted 2 queen. The gave us an extra bed and moved our stuff next day to another room with 2 queen. Very kind of the hotel staff. Hotel bar at the pool is nice, room is nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

club on the other side of the street. Very cool, breakfast in broken yolk 100 foot down the street. Hotel is in the gas lamo district.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 20, 2011

Great Hotel

Hotel Solamar was just as advertised. The hotel was very nice, the staff were very helpful and my room was perfect. My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip to San Diego and we wanted a room with a nice hot tube and I found this place online. My girlfriend thought the room was decorated "oh so cuuuute", the bed was very comfortable and big, the couch in our room was comfy and we both fit in it perfectly with room to cuddle and the bathroom was big. The Hot tube was perfect, all the amenities were great and we got a great view of Petco park and downtown. The hotel has a great restaurant inside but is also a cheap cab ride to any great restaurant in the gas lamp district. For all you club goers, it is right across the street from club Styngaree, one the Gaslamp's premier clubs and also has a few bars near by within walking distance. All in all, we had a great time and will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Styngaree is right across the street and the hotel is a cheap cab ride away from all the major bars and clubs downtown

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Mar 15, 2011

Great Stay!

My fiance and I were staying downtown for a concert. I'm super picky about hotel cleanliness, so we don't stay in hotels very often. This hotel was GREAT! The room was clean, smelled fresh, and had an extremely comfortable bed. We enjoyed lounging by the pool and the short walk to bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top