Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happily Married24
Business
Colorado
Jun 17, 2012

Anniversary Week

The staff were great at check in. Our room wasn't quite ready, but had express check in. Diana at the desk wished us a Happy Anniversary. That's service. After we got to our room, staff delivered two bottles of wine and a nice card wishing us a Happy Anniversary. Kimpton has it! Now that's service! Atmosphere is great, room is quiet and on the upper floor. Good View of the bay. Will write a review at the end of the week as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark 60s are the new 40s
Business
Albany, NY
Jun 6, 2012

Solamar Hotel - Gas Lamp District

The Solamar Hotel's best features were it's beds, location and free internet access. If you travel with dogs it's the place to stay. San Diegans remind me of the Parisians in their pampering of dogs. Our room was adequate in size, with two double beds (cost $20/night extra) which come with extra pillows and an extra bath robe. The extra charge for a double room is new to me and seems like the hotels are getting into penny pinching like the airlines. There were no amenities in the bathrooms. Shampoo, conditioner and soap were dispensed from bottles affixed to the shower. These only provided meager portions per push. For example, I had to push the soap dispenser 4 time to get enough soap in my wash cloth. The rooms were clean and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The feather down quilts were summer weight, so if you like a warm sleeping environment ask for extra blankets. In the morning the hotel provides good coffee and tea in the lobby and in the evening they serve wine. If you want a great breakfast go to the Cheese Shop or Dublins Square Irish Pub (Opens at 10:30A). The Gas Lamp district has many nice restaurants and bars. It's very safe and walkable. There trains/trolleys that go from Old Town to the Border with Mexico for a couple of dollars. If you plan to go to Tijuana definitely take the trolley and walk over the border. It's the only way to go. Don't park at the hotel. There's public parking that's way less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want good barbeque DON'T GO to Kanas City Barbeque it is a dump and the food is awful.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy having fun
Business
NY
Jun 3, 2012

Nice Stay

Overall this was a great place to stay. We were there for a few days and everyone was friendly. The rooms were nice. Great pool deck on the 4th floor. For the price, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, California
Jun 1, 2012

Great staff, extremely noisy and too expensive

A club across the street has a patio on the roof so that, even from the tenth floor, the noise kept us awake until 3AM... breakfast was $50 and they got the order wrong. The staff, though, was very friendly (although parking was also very expensive and we did NOT get our discount, as stated on our reservation!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for night life -- it's in the heart of the Gaslamp district!

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EStra
Business
Corona, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Awesome location to Petco Park

My husband and I drove down to San Diego for the night to see the Dodgers play the Padres at Petco Park on opening day. Hotel Solamar is located two blocks away, which is perfect walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. We were running late and they had us checked in within minutes and we were off to the game. We will definitely stay here again, even with the our kids. This is a hip, fun, and family hotel. Loved it! Pet friendly too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kirsten7
Business
London, UK
Apr 7, 2012

Great hotel

Very good stay at the Solamar. Large, comfortable room with spa bath. Friendly staff. Excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iren2012
Business
Michigan, USA
Mar 6, 2012

It was business trip

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are gorgeous. The people that work there are very nice. I had everything in the hotel so there was no need to go elsewhere. Highly reccomend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe K
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Nice hotel for a family gateway

The hotel was very nice, not that clean. The stuff was very good and helpful. Best value for money in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O.D.
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Solamar

Spent 5 days and four nights with the wonderful staff at the Solamar. It was a great experience. They had us covered from morning to dancing at night by the pool. Right in the center of great restaurants and entertainment. Would do it again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent hotel, great location

Was in town for business. Hotel was in a great location for post-business entertainment. Staff provided great customer service for restaurant recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top