Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EStra
Business
Corona, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Awesome location to Petco Park

My husband and I drove down to San Diego for the night to see the Dodgers play the Padres at Petco Park on opening day. Hotel Solamar is located two blocks away, which is perfect walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. We were running late and they had us checked in within minutes and we were off to the game. We will definitely stay here again, even with the our kids. This is a hip, fun, and family hotel. Loved it! Pet friendly too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kirsten7
Business
London, UK
Apr 7, 2012

Great hotel

Very good stay at the Solamar. Large, comfortable room with spa bath. Friendly staff. Excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iren2012
Business
Michigan, USA
Mar 6, 2012

It was business trip

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are gorgeous. The people that work there are very nice. I had everything in the hotel so there was no need to go elsewhere. Highly reccomend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe K
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Nice hotel for a family gateway

The hotel was very nice, not that clean. The stuff was very good and helpful. Best value for money in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O.D.
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Solamar

Spent 5 days and four nights with the wonderful staff at the Solamar. It was a great experience. They had us covered from morning to dancing at night by the pool. Right in the center of great restaurants and entertainment. Would do it again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent hotel, great location

Was in town for business. Hotel was in a great location for post-business entertainment. Staff provided great customer service for restaurant recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 13, 2011

Nice hotel, expensive parking!

Hotel is great, but if you include the price of valet parking in the rate, you can probably consider a fancier hotel with free parking...! If you're not parking a car, the hotel is clean, has nice rooms, a great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, FL
May 9, 2011

Great stay

My girlfriend and I stayed in San Diego to party for cinco de mayo while visiting some family. It was a great place with a very central location to the gaslamp quarter. The pool bar was a great atmosphere to hang out in the afternoon. The beds were very

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a great place to stay. Between 5-6 they do a wine tasting.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
May 2, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location!

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. My only complaint would be that the pool area is small for the size of the hotel. They have a huge lounge area next to it and I would recommend that they add more lounge chairs in that area to accomadate the overflow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrazilianNutz
Business
Los Angeles
May 1, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

Nice hotel, not too big and very modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks away from lots of bars and restaurants from Mexican to Italian food.

Back to menu Return to top