Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
137 reviews
Best place to stay

Love erything their will stay again on my next visit See full review

  • Smitty2kool
  • Apr 10, 2014
Wow... just wow!

This may be my first time staying in this class of hotel, but wow was this place awesome. Anytime a... See full review

  • TJ Awesome
  • Dec 16, 2013
Hip boutique in Gaslamp District features wine hour
In-room spa treatments and a complimentary evening wine hour highlight the experience at the Hotel Solamar, a boutique hotel located in the heart of the Gaslamp District. Part of the Kimpton chain, the hotel rooftop also features a pool deck and LOUNGEsix bar, both of which offer sweeping city views. Rooms come with gourmet organic honor bars and include complimentary overnight shoe shines (upon request). The on-site restaurant, Jsix, serves California coastal cuisine in a modern and inviting setting.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hosted nightly wine reception
  • Located in the heart of the Gaslamp District
  • Rooftop pool deck and LOUNGEsix bar offer sweeping views of the city
  • Dine on fresh seafood at on-site restaurant Jsix
Rooms

Hotel Solamar offers 235 rooms, including 6 suites, decorated in aqua blue and chocolate brown. Each room boasts a flat-screen TV, iron with ironing board, hair dryer and Gilchrest & Soames bath products. Rooms also include gourment organic honor bars. Guests receive complimentary overnight shoe shines (upon request). Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available. Pets are welcome, and Hotel Solamar provides complimentary use of food and water bowls and pet beds.

Features

The Hotel Solamar is part of Kimpton's Eco Program, which means it subscribes to a number of sustainable and eco-friendly practices. The hotel received Green Seal Silver certification in 2010.

All guests have complimentary access to the on-site rooftop pool and on-site fitness center. The wellness program includes Pilates and power walks with the hotel staff. Guests also are invited to participate in the complimentary nightly hosted wine reception. The hotel offers 24-hour valet laundry service (fees apply). Passes to a nearby independent fitness center also are available (fees apply).

The Holel Solamar offers in-room spa services that range from skin treatments to full-body massage.

Enjoy fresh seafood at Jsix, the on-site restaurant. LOUNGESix, a rooftop bar and lounge overlooking the pool, serves food as well--mostly small plates.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (8 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp District (1 block)
  • Petco Park (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • 5,009 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Hybrid vehicles pay half-price parking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Chrgrphr 1 King Bed
Accessible Choreographer 1 King Roll-In 725 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Deluxe Guest Room 2 Queen Beds
Deluxe Guest Room with 2 Queen Beds 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Spa Corner Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Corner Guest Room with 1 King 420 sq ft, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views of East Village, frette linens, robes,
Choreographer Suite 1 King Bed
Choreographer Suite with 1 King Bed 725 sq ft, private furnished patio, wet bar, views of pool, living area with sofa sleeper,
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, accessible tub, comm features ,
Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Spa Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Guest Room with 1 King Bed 420 sq ft, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, frette linens, animal print robes,
Virtuoso Suite with 1 King Bed
Virtuoso Suite with 1 King Bed 480 sq ft, living room with sofa sleeper, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views East Village
Accessible Master 1 King Bed
Accessible Master Suite 1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Masters Suite with 1 King Bed
Masters Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft, corner, living room, sofa sleeper Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views of Gaslamp,
Accessible Dlx 2 Queen Roll-In
Accessible Deluxe 2 Queen Roll-In 340 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7103 -117.1594
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW; General Abelardo L. Rodriguez, (TIJ), 21.80, MI, N; Palm Springs Regional Airport, (PSP), 142.00, MI, SW; Long Beach Airport Daugherty Field, (LGB), 106.00, MI, S
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.2 mi
  • Sea World: 5.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.4 mi
  • Legoland: 30.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

LOUNGEsix
LOUNGEsix on the fourth floor rooftop deck is a tropical urban oasis overlooking downtown and the bay. Plush fireside seating and a casual lounge surround the pool and cabana-bordered patio . Soak in the sun in the day and lounge in style at night.
JSix Restaurant
Chef Christian Graves menu features Coastal California cuisine showcasing fresh innovative foods inspired by seafood flown in every day and ingredients of nearby farms. The dining room offers an ambiance blending different cultural influences of the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
vivster
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Solamar- Exemplary service

although our room was not ready until about 1 hour and a half past check in time (and we had gotten there about more than an hour before), they more than made it up to us with excellent perks. i'm grateful to the staff for turning things around for a birthday! rooms were a bit small, but clean and beds were super comfy. pool scene was nice. overall, i loved our stay here and this will likely be my choice next time i'm in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines
Mar 3, 2010

Very nice and environmentally responsive

Very well appointed,comfortable, functional room. Truly practices what it professes environmentally--recycling trash can in room, really doesn't change sheets/towels unless requested, etc. Parking at hotel is pricey ($35!), street parking is free 6 pm-8am, but carefully read the street sweeping restrictions or risk a $40 ticket!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vegetarians will be please to know about Pokez vegetarian restaurant about a 10 minute walk at 10th and E. Funky, good food, not for those freaked out by servers with tats.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Billikenpt
Business
Memphis
Feb 25, 2010

Easy convention stay

The staff was always friendly and helpful. ALso this was a great location in the gaslamp district. I was attending a convention at the convention center and had an easy 5 minute walk. I did notice the HVAC was pretty quiet--not one of those usual noisy ones that drown out hall noise and neighbor noise. Luckily, my floor did not have any kids. We almost took our kids, but it would've been rough trying to keep them quiet. Workout room is tiny--couple of treadmills and 1 elliptical. Not even a bike. But good value overall for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese Shop

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 24, 2010

Sunny San Diego

We loved the evening wine reception, the staff was very friendly and it created a welcoming feeling. I really appreciated the coffee & tea in the morning, too. The location was great - reasonably close to the trolley line, Petco Park, good restaurants and other great downtown sights. Staff was also helpful with dinner reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Bliss
Vista Ca.
Feb 16, 2010

Great Trip, Nice hotel.

Hotel is in a wonderful location, close to the Gaslamp, harbor, convention center and Petco Park. Due to the cost we did not use the Hotels valet, ended up parking in a downtown garage just down the street. Once the car was parked we walked everywhere, shops, resturants and the bay. Staff were all very nice and very couteous. We enjoyed the wine which is served to the guests between 5-6 pm. Our only complaint, which was not the hotels fault was the noisey guests in the room next door. Does make you question the sound insulation used though. Would definitly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Feb 12, 2010

Great Location very accommodating staff

Location in the Gas Lamp Dist. Close to everything. Staff very helpful and accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's Mexican Restuarant (great margarittas) and Blue Point for awesome seafood and service.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
TooTallTraveler
Business
Eastern Washington
Feb 12, 2010

Location, Location and a great Staff

As the title states the location is near perfect for our purpose. We were there for a show at the convention center and the hotel is centrally located in the Gaslamp district just one block off the "main drag" therefore quiet at the hotel. Staff was friendly and courteous for whatever the reason we contacted them. We had a little housekeeping issue with our room upon arrival but is was corrected immediately after we notified the staff. We did not use the amenities or restaurant due to our schedule but everything looked as good as advertised. We received a great discount for our business stay otherwise I would not pay the going rate unless you go for vacation and fully utilize the services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places to eat within walking distance. You may have to step around a panhandler or bum sleeping on the sidewalk. None were aggressive but it tainted the experience. San Diego should keep it clear in the main tourist areas.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New York, ny
Feb 10, 2010

nice but...

Got the king with jacuzzi tub. The room was very comfortable. The hotel has a nice look and feel. My only issue was the automatic 22% gratuity and $3 delivery charge on room service. I Felt nickel and dimed by the hotel. There are other high quality hotels in downtown San Diego. I'd pick another one next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, California
Jan 24, 2010

We enjoyed the much about the hotel

We enjoyed the hotel. It is attractive. The location ONCE found was delightfully close to the Gas Lamp Quarter. If we stay in San Diego again we will consider staying at Solamar. Now that we know how to find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Streets in this area are "one way" so we found it a bit confussing. Entrance to the Hotel is difficult to detect. We very much enjoyed the hosted bar and thought the coffee in the lobby very nice. We would have enjoyed having the coffee service in our room a bit more.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Maggie O
Saint Louis, MO
Jan 22, 2010

THIS HOTEL WAS GREAT!

The hotel was in the heart of the Gaslamp District, with lots of great restaurants and cute shopping for 20-somethings. As this was my first trip to San Diego, the location was perfect and the hotel was very charming. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Would recommend parking in a city lot if you can find one that permits overnight parking.

Back to menu Return to top