Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh PA
May 17, 2010

good hotel

work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realtor Jim
Business
Boise, Idaho
May 11, 2010

Great couple get away

Great location, very clean comfortable rooms. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joiephilly
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 9, 2010

As Expected...

The hotel was nice, clean and efficiently run. Free coffee and tea every morning in the lobby and free wine/beer at night during happy hour. Perfect location in the Gaslamp - blocks from the convention center, and only a $12 taxi ride from the airport. The staff is on the young side and not the most client-oriented. One front desk woman in particular was mildly condescending when asked various questions ranging from locations of certain restaurants to where the closest drug store was. Sort of ironic, as the word "like" surfaced in her sentences more frequently than actual nouns or verbs. On Friday nights, the place turns into a club of sorts and passed out drunk people were peppering the hallways - a little disconcerting if you are there with young children. However, in the hotel's defense, when we made a phone call from our room regarding said sleepers, the staff thanked us profusely and it was handled quickly and quietly. The "fitness center" had two treadmills, one elliptical and some dumbbells. A little surprising given the fact we are in downtown San Diego and not a European B&B. If nothing else, a day pass to any one of the multiple gyms that are nearby would have been a much better and classier option. Overall, I would stay here again for the location, cleanliness and price. NOT a luxury hotel, but it sufficed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good-to-great restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Healthcare IT
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 22, 2010

Exquisite Hotel

The staff of this hotel are wonderful. They are kind, very helpful, courteous, and it's very obvious that they interested in your having a great stay at the hotel. Was a tad disappointed that there was a charge for use of the internet, but that didn't impact my enjoyment of the hotel. Be prepared, the patio is quite lively and you will probably hear the exuberant guests from your room, again, this didn't negatively impact my stay. There is a complimentary wine hour everyday from 5-6 and yes, they refil your glass and that's complimentary too : ) There is also a complimentary coffee bar every morning. Love this hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

TONs of night life is within walking distance; the hotel is located smack in the middle of the Gaslamp district. Lots of places to eat and shop. Best location for a hotel!

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Apr 4, 2010

Great place to stay but pricey

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful. We rented a car witch was not needed because everything is right outside the hotels front door. And if it wasn't it was a cheap cab ride away. Breakfast was expencive in the hotel the Broken Yolk is less then a block away and has great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of good places to eat try as many as you can.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Mar 30, 2010

Nice hotel

Wasn't around long enough to review everything the hotel had to offer, but the staff was friendly, parking is expensive (pay for the lot across the street--it's cheaper)and the location is great! There are tons of shops and restaurants nearby to shop and eat at and lots are in walking distance. This is a wonderful location to stay if you want to see downtown SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vivster
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Solamar- Exemplary service

although our room was not ready until about 1 hour and a half past check in time (and we had gotten there about more than an hour before), they more than made it up to us with excellent perks. i'm grateful to the staff for turning things around for a birthday! rooms were a bit small, but clean and beds were super comfy. pool scene was nice. overall, i loved our stay here and this will likely be my choice next time i'm in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego local
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2010

Perfect for a young couple

Loved the room, the location, and the free wine hour. Such a cute, botiquey-type hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Water Grill

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines
Mar 3, 2010

Very nice and environmentally responsive

Very well appointed,comfortable, functional room. Truly practices what it professes environmentally--recycling trash can in room, really doesn't change sheets/towels unless requested, etc. Parking at hotel is pricey ($35!), street parking is free 6 pm-8am, but carefully read the street sweeping restrictions or risk a $40 ticket!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vegetarians will be please to know about Pokez vegetarian restaurant about a 10 minute walk at 10th and E. Funky, good food, not for those freaked out by servers with tats.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billikenpt
Business
Memphis
Feb 25, 2010

Easy convention stay

The staff was always friendly and helpful. ALso this was a great location in the gaslamp district. I was attending a convention at the convention center and had an easy 5 minute walk. I did notice the HVAC was pretty quiet--not one of those usual noisy ones that drown out hall noise and neighbor noise. Luckily, my floor did not have any kids. We almost took our kids, but it would've been rough trying to keep them quiet. Workout room is tiny--couple of treadmills and 1 elliptical. Not even a bike. But good value overall for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese Shop

Back to menu Return to top