Rate based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2014 Check-out: Apr 18, 2014

San Diego Downtown Lodge

2 stars
1345 10th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
16 reviews
One nigher

Came here for my birthday weekend, this place was good for the limited amount of time we were... See full review

  • Missbea3s
  • Mar 31, 2014
Day in San diego

Great room with two TVs and a couch and table. Very comfortable. See full review

  • Lz lizzie
  • Apr 10, 2012
Newly remodeled hotel in the heart of Downtown San Diego. Minutes from the motel are San Diego's finest attraction hotel has to offer. All of rooms have private bathrooms in the rooms. All of rooms provide Free Cable TV, Free Wi-Fi & Free Parking. The hotel has no smoking policy.

San Diego Downtown Lodge Rooms

Queen - Motel
Queen Motel offers Two Queen Beds can accommodate up to maximum of 4 occupancy. All of the rooms have private bathrooms in the room. The room offer free Wi-Fi, free parking, free local calls & Cable TV with HBO.
Queen - Motel
Queen Motel offers one queen Bed can accommodate up to maximum of 4 occupancy. All of the rooms have private bathrooms in the room. The room offer free wifi, free parking, free local calls & Cable TV with HBO

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Diego Downtown Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7195 -117.1554
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport (SAN) is Located 3.3 Miles.
Area description
Located in Downtown San Diego, located minutes from the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, San Diego Airport,Tijuana, Beaches and walking distance to Gaslamp, Convention Center, San Diego Bay, Little Italy. The hotel is located in the heart of San Diego Downtown.

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.8 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Downtown Lodge

Overall score

2.3 / 5
16 out of 16
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.3

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
Hank87
Chestnut Hill, Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Good

Booked a hotel room with a extra bed and we got a big room with a bed sofa. The staff was really good. The bad thing is that the did the cleaning at around 5pm and we were always there then. It was only a 10 min walk then u were in down town san diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

4
Missbea3s
La puente ca
Mar 31, 2014

One nigher

Came here for my birthday weekend, this place was good for the limited amount of time we were there. Found that our destinations where nearby so it was above all a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
Teddy6627
Bakersfield, CA
Mar 3, 2014

Not booking again

Not the worst hotel I've been but it was still bad. Staff was great but stay was not good, found women hair bundles on shower wall, remote didnt work at all, and beds were very uncomfortable, towels stank...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
Moniitaco
San bernardino
Jan 2, 2014

New Years Experience

The manager of the facility was very judemental and rude. He kept pressuring me to getting another room. There were a lot of homeless people outside. Its literally right off the freeway so the cars were a little loud. The room smelled like vomit. We had to air it out for a good while. And the staff made us uncomfortable, a lot of staring. The price was too bad but for the way we were treated and the how badly the room smelled I feel I could have done better. The beds were very comfortable though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It was a long walk away from gaslamp quarter. Not terribly bad but not as close as it should be.

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
MelAK
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 17, 2013

Wake Up Call by Construction

Our stay was ok until we were woken up at 8:30am to a jackhammer sound just outside our door. Shortly after, a leaf blower sound was added. Unable to stand it, we checked out early. Found out it was the hotel doing repairs in the parking lot. They didn't mention anything during check in and the front desk person didn't seem concerned about running a hotel where guests are unable to sleep. Booooo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
Marvelous Mickey
Los Angeles
Dec 10, 2013

Too much for too little.

At least the TV worked, plenty of heat and hot water and a big bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

1
Concerned party of 1
Business
Pa
Aug 5, 2013

Unpleasant stay

Uncomfortable bed with holes in the frame, mold in the bathroom, scratchy towels with holes, and hobos in the backyard make this hotel an overpriced mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the donut bar. Fantastic place with lines out the door. Have to get there early

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous37
not USA
Nov 17, 2012

Convenient

Value for money, and located conveniently: two short blocks from a light-rail stop, and with a petrol station close by for hot coffee and packaged snacks. The wifi worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I went for for the marine attractions: harbour cruise, maritime museum, USS Midway museum. I didn't have a long walk or a short drive: I used the light rail, which isn't an option in this survey.

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

1
Bad wknd gettaway
southern california
Jul 24, 2012

romantic weekend getaway

One of the worst hotel experiences. Arrived 30 mins after check in time and our room was still not ready. Had to come back 30-45 mins later. Went to sleep and was rudely awakend by a drunk woman trying to get into our room. She didn't go away so I called the front desk only for the owner to ask me if I knew her. After I told him no, he finally came up only to allow the woman to pass out on the ground in front of our door. Since we got hardly any sleep, we asked the owner if it would be OK if we checked out an hour late. He let us but laughed and said "no more than that!" Extremely overpriced! Ghetto!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
Makuti
olathe,kansas
Jul 21, 2012

hotel was less than we expected.

We really thought it was better than advertised,but we should have known better,we are used to staying at 4 to 5 start hotels ,so it was partly our fault.so we moved out and went to Courtyard of marriott for $250 a night and it was totally worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
Oracle718
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 9, 2012

Get what you pay for?

The hotel was easily accessible to the trolley and downtown. However, when we asked for a room with 2 beds, they asked for an additional $15 dollars per night. On top of the already $90 spent for this type of accommodation, I thought that was a bit much for this location. But, because the HYATT lost our reservation, we were left with no real choice. Overall, the staff was nice and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Coronado Beach

Back to menu Return to top