Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
256 reviews
Great location, great price!

I stayed here for the weekend and loved it! For the rate, it was more than i expected. Thr location... See full review

  • Lady T0328
  • Aug 26, 2014
Fantastic little Italy

Very nice, very clean, lovely stay. Close to the bay. Super close to air port. Little Italy is very... See full review

  • Thuggerthugger
  • Jul 14, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7244 -117.1672
Area served
Downtown San Diego Boutique Hotel In The Heart Of Little Italy
Nearby airports
Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
Located in the heart of San Diego's historic Little Italy neighborhood, with fabulous views of the San Diego Harbor Walking distance to dozens of eclectic local restaurants, authentic shops, and art galleries Minutes from famous local attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, as well as the Convention Center and cruise terminal Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN) Transportation (fee) to the airport and many area local attractions

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sea World: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 256
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexan J.
San Diego, CA
Sep 22, 2014

A Gem In Little Italy

Quaint hotel literally a minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Little Italy. Our queen room was decent - clean, spacious enough for 2, cable on a flat screen TV, and an AC unit that worked well. My only complaint is that there was no conditioner in the bathroom? All in all, worth every penny since the location is excellent! I would stay here again. Next time, I'd like to try their rooftop restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Filippi's pizzeria!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nate A.
AZ
Sep 22, 2014

Dirty room and SHEETS!

Dirty room and dirty sheets; enough said. Never have I inspected a bed at a hotel room but upon immediately entering the room I knew I should. Found either BLOOD or some other red stain on the sheets, asked them to be changed and they were within a few hours. Again checked the new sheets and found the same color stain on the new sheets. Never will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deziko
San Diego
Sep 18, 2014

Awesome Deal!

It was really nice to have AC and it is in an amazing area! Little Italy is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is really close to the trolley!!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derfbag
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 8, 2014

4th of July

Roof party on the 4th. We did not go, but the good view of the Bay was enough to have a standing-room-only crowd (much younger than us). Hotel is a good value - the location is great - quiet neighborhood (other than the airplanes) with easy walking to many in-town activities. Valet-only parking is $22. Glass Door restaurant on 4th floor was a lovely spot to have our breakfasts. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gonz76
Los Angeles, California
Jun 23, 2014

Wknd getaway

The staff was very nice there. The restaurant on the 4th floor has a beautiful view over looking the waters of San Diego. The drinks that were made were great. The shuttle driver who took us to the Dodgers vs Padres game was very nice and had a good sense of humor. I will definitely stay again at Porto Vista.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kapuni
Orange, CA
Jun 11, 2014

Last Minute Get-Away

It was a very nice quaint place away from the hustle and bustle yet still close enough to the Gas Lamp district. The staff was very friendly!! The rooms were so-so but clean :) My hubby and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
letheecya
Phoenix
Jun 10, 2014

Perfect Spot! Close to EVERYTHING!

We were so impressed with this hotel! The room was a bit small but the overall decor and cleanliness was on point! While the only parking available was valet, the convenience of it being charged to the room and the satisfaction of knowing your car is safe was worth it. We were in the heart of little Italy, there were some really great dinning spots all within walking distance and the Gaslamp Quater was only a 7 minute drive! We would definitely stay at Porto Vista again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love fine dinning, little Italy is perfect for you!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thunder Cloud
Covina California
May 19, 2014

Weekend Getaway !!!

Drove into the hotel and valet were very welcoming !!! Checked in and was greeted by Robert who confirmed my reservation and upgraded me to a suite and comp drinks. What a way to start my day. I toured the hotel and found a great place to view the city from the rooftop overlooking Little Italy and view of both the ocean and the planes landing at the airport. Overall, I will consider staying here again since is just a walk into little Italy easy access to the freeway and before I forget close to the gas lamp district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Located just up the street from Little Italy

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikkermik
Los Angeles
May 19, 2014

Great, unique hotel for a decent price

The Porto Vista was comfy, clean, quiet, and perfectly located for strolling around Little Italy or hiking to Gaslamp. The Glass Door restaurant & bar is located within the hotel. It's a great place for watching the sunset and sharing a glass of wine and some apps. Parking is valet only for $22 per day (or street parking), but that's comparable to the parking costs at the large chains down by the convention center. Definitely recommend for short to medium length stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Queenstown Public House is a terrific place to get brunch!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bluecraby2k
Oceanside CA
Apr 16, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

Room was small but big enough to comfortable. We were there just to sleep. What I liked best about the hotel was that there was an outside terrace with couches and the rooftop terrace, again with couches. I just wished our stay there was not hampered by the heavy overcast, so I could sit outside and relax. The stafff was attentive. My room had a broken remote. It was replace within 15 minutes after notifying the front desk. I believe for the price and location, it can not be beat. My wife and I decided this is the hotel we will be staying for our weekends in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

About $5 cab ride to GasLamp, short walk to Little Italy

Back to menu Return to top