Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Isabella Marie
Business
San Diego
Sep 15, 2014

Too expensive

We booked the room with a king sized bed and balcony for $160 and it just wasn't worth this much. We were happy with the size of the room but that was pretty much it. The bed and pillows made sleeping miserable. So uncomfortable and the balcony was a joke. It's pretty obvious the "hotel" is just a remodeled motel. Wish we would've known... would've way rather pay the extra $30 to stay at the Sheraton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pinteresque13
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Sep 9, 2011

UPDATED MOTEL

This is definitely not a 3 star hotel. More like an upgraded motel. The layout is actually a motel and they just put a nice lobby. From the nice facade, you may be fooled that it is a nice hotel but it is nothing more than your average motel. The bathroom was dirty because the tub drainage didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Local visitor
Business
Riverside ca.
Aug 22, 2010

Great location but the roomwas musty

The hotel was in a great lication near little italy, but the room really smelled when we went in, had to run exhaust fan in restroom all day and all night then it was a little better. The $14 per day for valet parking was a surprise;, no other parking available, visitor parking was only $7 per day but they charged $14 for registered guests????????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
49erPhil
Business
LA CA
Jan 27, 2014

Family getaway

No on demand movies or pool. And the parking price per day was high compared to other hotels. Other guest coming back from the bar at the hotel kept waking us up all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy was a shot walk.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mashup
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 9, 2014

Great Location, Friendly Staff

The good: Free shuttle service, restaurant on site, excellent location in a completely walkable neighborhood, staff was top notch, extremely friendly and helpful. Free WiFi. The bad: It's basically a motel which isn't evident from the photos. It's noisy. Our room was over a parking lot and we heard people, doors opening, etc for the bulk of the evening. Small TV. Couldn't get room to cool. What could be better: Free breakfast, a better TV reception (HD!), better WiFi, soundproofing. We typically don't travel to stay in hotels, we travel to experience the city. So if you're looking for a comfortable place to crash, this will fit the bill. If you're looking to be pampered, maybe not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Influx for a great breakfast and coffee. One black walk.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ForMyca
Business
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Feb 18, 2014

Good location

This is a decent little hotel for the price. The rooms were clean, reasonably sized and the staff were all really really nice. It's located really closely to the airport, Balboa park, and some great restaurants. We were here right around the time of Valentine's day so it was really nice to walk around the neighborhood. There is an onsite restaurant but we didn't check it out. It seemed pretty lively on Valentine's night. I would have been more inclined had the restaurant probably offered a discount maybe. The parking is $20 a day for valet which was super prompt and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

India street has some great coffee shops and some great little Italian restaurants. Pappalecco also has some phenomenal gelato.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRWhite
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Mar 5, 2014

Fire Alarm

Not a bad hotel and we like to location. You could walk to many restaurants. The Fire alarm went off twice on the last day of our visit and at 1:30 a.m. in the last night of our stay. It lasted about 20 minutes. The hotel staff were very apologetic and reduced our parking bill by $22. Excluding the fire alarm issues we had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TommysGRL
Business
Fontana, ca
Mar 5, 2014

Taste of Italy

I love that its a block from Little Italy. Its so close to everything such as night life, the marina with ships, trolley, airport, and the metro link.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huei
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 18, 2014

Friendly staff, small room

Stay only one night, location is OK, room is small but clean, staff is friendly, no parking space, need to pay $22 valet parking per night including internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jam ihrsa
Business
tempe az
Mar 16, 2014

IHrsa

The front desk upon arrival gave poor information and didn't inform us about the shuttle. Because of these two things I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Marriott has a nice roof top bar over looking the ball park and the water.

Back to menu Return to top