Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
49erPhil
Business
LA CA
Jan 27, 2014

Family getaway

No on demand movies or pool. And the parking price per day was high compared to other hotels. Other guest coming back from the bar at the hotel kept waking us up all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy was a shot walk.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mashup
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 9, 2014

Great Location, Friendly Staff

The good: Free shuttle service, restaurant on site, excellent location in a completely walkable neighborhood, staff was top notch, extremely friendly and helpful. Free WiFi. The bad: It's basically a motel which isn't evident from the photos. It's noisy. Our room was over a parking lot and we heard people, doors opening, etc for the bulk of the evening. Small TV. Couldn't get room to cool. What could be better: Free breakfast, a better TV reception (HD!), better WiFi, soundproofing. We typically don't travel to stay in hotels, we travel to experience the city. So if you're looking for a comfortable place to crash, this will fit the bill. If you're looking to be pampered, maybe not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Influx for a great breakfast and coffee. One black walk.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ForMyca
Business
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Feb 18, 2014

Good location

This is a decent little hotel for the price. The rooms were clean, reasonably sized and the staff were all really really nice. It's located really closely to the airport, Balboa park, and some great restaurants. We were here right around the time of Valentine's day so it was really nice to walk around the neighborhood. There is an onsite restaurant but we didn't check it out. It seemed pretty lively on Valentine's night. I would have been more inclined had the restaurant probably offered a discount maybe. The parking is $20 a day for valet which was super prompt and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

India street has some great coffee shops and some great little Italian restaurants. Pappalecco also has some phenomenal gelato.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRWhite
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Mar 5, 2014

Fire Alarm

Not a bad hotel and we like to location. You could walk to many restaurants. The Fire alarm went off twice on the last day of our visit and at 1:30 a.m. in the last night of our stay. It lasted about 20 minutes. The hotel staff were very apologetic and reduced our parking bill by $22. Excluding the fire alarm issues we had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TommysGRL
Business
Fontana, ca
Mar 5, 2014

Taste of Italy

I love that its a block from Little Italy. Its so close to everything such as night life, the marina with ships, trolley, airport, and the metro link.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huei
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 18, 2014

Friendly staff, small room

Stay only one night, location is OK, room is small but clean, staff is friendly, no parking space, need to pay $22 valet parking per night including internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jam ihrsa
Business
tempe az
Mar 16, 2014

IHrsa

The front desk upon arrival gave poor information and didn't inform us about the shuttle. Because of these two things I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Marriott has a nice roof top bar over looking the ball park and the water.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disillusionment Disaster
Business
Birmingham, AL
Apr 1, 2014

Super 8-ish

Despite the description on the website as being "European boutique," turns out it is just a Super 8 with a little flare. Don't let the marketing fool you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iszycharlie
Business
Chatsworth
Apr 20, 2014

San Diego Trip

The location of this hotel was perfect! Surrounded by delicious restaurants & coffee shops. The room was clean, bathroom was also very clean, & the room did not have a weird smell. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. The price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is not found easily. But much to see & due at just walking distance.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Oct 25, 2010

Porto Vista Hotel Stay

This hotel is a remodeled Hotel 8. They did a rather good job re-styling it, but the room was small and the bathroom needed some updating (the shower head was full of water calcium buildup and had a hole in it). The staff including the valet personnel, were incredibly nice, very helpful and professional. Location is great, right near I-5, car rental, airport and near Little Italy. Unfortunately, the location gives way to younger people partying in Little Italy. My first two nights were wonderful, but the last night, the room beside me decided to party all night long. They woke me up at 12:30 a.m. and were still going strong at 2 a.m. I finally, had to call the front desk, who immediately sent a security guard. They did not listen to the guard and were still going strong when I had to get up at 3:30 a.m. for my flight - I only had two hours sleep due to these thoughtless, foul-mouthed, drunken people. Ultimately, this is not the hotel's fault, but I wish the security guard would have been more focused on respect of the other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top