Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
262 reviews
Great location, great price!

I stayed here for the weekend and loved it! For the rate, it was more than i expected. Thr location... See full review

  • Lady T0328
  • Aug 26, 2014
Fantastic little Italy

Very nice, very clean, lovely stay. Close to the bay. Super close to air port. Little Italy is very... See full review

  • Thuggerthugger
  • Jul 14, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7244 -117.1672
Area served
Downtown San Diego Boutique Hotel In The Heart Of Little Italy
Nearby airports
Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
Located in the heart of San Diego's historic Little Italy neighborhood, with fabulous views of the San Diego Harbor Walking distance to dozens of eclectic local restaurants, authentic shops, and art galleries Minutes from famous local attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, as well as the Convention Center and cruise terminal Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN) Transportation (fee) to the airport and many area local attractions

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sea World: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disillusionment Disaster
Business
Birmingham, AL
Apr 1, 2014

Super 8-ish

Despite the description on the website as being "European boutique," turns out it is just a Super 8 with a little flare. Don't let the marketing fool you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iszycharlie
Business
Chatsworth
Apr 20, 2014

San Diego Trip

The location of this hotel was perfect! Surrounded by delicious restaurants & coffee shops. The room was clean, bathroom was also very clean, & the room did not have a weird smell. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. The price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is not found easily. But much to see & due at just walking distance.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Oct 25, 2010

Porto Vista Hotel Stay

This hotel is a remodeled Hotel 8. They did a rather good job re-styling it, but the room was small and the bathroom needed some updating (the shower head was full of water calcium buildup and had a hole in it). The staff including the valet personnel, were incredibly nice, very helpful and professional. Location is great, right near I-5, car rental, airport and near Little Italy. Unfortunately, the location gives way to younger people partying in Little Italy. My first two nights were wonderful, but the last night, the room beside me decided to party all night long. They woke me up at 12:30 a.m. and were still going strong at 2 a.m. I finally, had to call the front desk, who immediately sent a security guard. They did not listen to the guard and were still going strong when I had to get up at 3:30 a.m. for my flight - I only had two hours sleep due to these thoughtless, foul-mouthed, drunken people. Ultimately, this is not the hotel's fault, but I wish the security guard would have been more focused on respect of the other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Etniesboi83
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 11, 2011

If it weren't for the General Manager

I don't typically review things, but this was interesting: 1. Booked same day, 1 King Balcony room. 2. Checked in and went to room, it was 2 Queens, no balcony. 3. Went back to front desk. Spoke with GM this time (by chance) he booked us in the Balboa Suite, which was very nice of him. 4. We went to the Balboa Suite and it had not been made up, like I was concerned that someone was still staying there. 5. Back to the front desk. Checked us into the Midway Suite. 6. To the Midway Suite. Keys didn't work. By chance I thought to try the suite next door (Harbor Suite) SUCCESS! Well, we got in... Room was big but sparsely appointed. Balcony was large but not private, though the view was divine. THEN, we woke up... To the sound of the restaurant directly above us... Chairs dragging across hardwood floors until checkout. Overall, not bad for the value, and the staff were very accommodating. However, I doubt we'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frump
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 12, 2011

OK

Good, but we did not like the clogged bathroom sink, no tops on the bathroom to put our things. Toilet paper holder is breaking off. Also, they charged me for failed attempts to make long distance calls. They also charge for the hotel shuttle to the airport. It feels like they just want to nickel and dime you for everything. There are just so many hotels that if I ever go again to San Diego, It will be worth it to use another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minute walk to Ralph's Supermarket to get groceries so that you can get an excellent salad or other deli things to take to your room so that the Gaslamp alligator restaurantscan't eat up all your dough with their expensive menus and mandatory 15% tips.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LCarter
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 25, 2011

Good price

Overall, average experience. We basically just needed a place to sleep, we weren't looking to spend a whole lot of time in our hotel room. The rooms were clean but very small. Nice view out the bathroom window. We were on the top floor and had a beautiful view of the harbor just outside our door. For the price, we couldn't pass it up. It's about a mile from the Gas Lamp district, but it's an easy walk. Would we stay here again...? Yeah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff Kolob
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Good value in Little Italy

This was my second time staying at the Porto Vista. It's a cute, little hotel in Little Italy and is a pretty good deal considering the price and location. (Close to freeways/trolley/airport and in a walking neighborhood with plenty of dining, shopping, entertainment options.) Rooms are small, but clean. Comfy beds. TV was a little old and janky, as were the shower and toilet. And $22 for daily parking is quite steep. Otherwise, it's a nice place and I would recommend to other travelers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
burnclean
Business
Bozeman, Mt, USA
Nov 10, 2011

quick break

the location was perfect - close to fun stores and delis in the center of Little Italy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great sandwiches at Mona Lisa - a deli near the hotel

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phile
Business
Maryland
Nov 20, 2011

trying to be hipster but still a motel

Not a bad place to stay. Essentially a motel renovated with some upscale decorations and flair. Room was small, functional and clean (except the ac air filter). Restuarant was ok, they swept the floor around me during breakfast. Upscale menu was ok but limited. Valets were good. Deskstaff acceptable. They don't tell you on the website but valet parking is mandatory and $22 a day as of Nov 2011. Great location if you want to walk to Little Italy or even the bay/Spanish Landing. To far to walk to Gaslamp through downtown and bums sleeping on sidewalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CoolKid
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Very Average, but Great Location

The hotel is in a great location. It is next to the trolly and train stations so it makes traveling to the harbor, TJ, or the gaslamp district a breeze. However, it gets pretty noisy at night. the ac/heater is not centralized and is also pretty loud. The bathrooms are not in the best conditions and yes, you might see a bug or two. This place reminded me more of a motel than hotel. The price, restaurant, and location really saved this hotel from getting a bad review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top