Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
339 reviews
Fantastic little Italy

Very nice, very clean, lovely stay. Close to the bay. Super close to air port. Little Italy is very... See full review

  • Thuggerthugger
  • Jul 14, 2014
4th of July

Roof party on the 4th. We did not go, but the good view of the Bay was enough to have a... See full review

  • Derfbag
  • Jul 8, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7244 -117.1672
Area served
Downtown San Diego Boutique Hotel In The Heart Of Little Italy
Nearby airports
Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
Located in the heart of San Diego's historic Little Italy neighborhood, with fabulous views of the San Diego Harbor Walking distance to dozens of eclectic local restaurants, authentic shops, and art galleries Minutes from famous local attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, as well as the Convention Center and cruise terminal Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN) Transportation (fee) to the airport and many area local attractions

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sea World: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kurnoolkishore
irvine, california
Sep 6, 2011

Hotel room needs to improve.

The hotel is at a really location in the Little Italy neighbourhood close to the downtown and the harbor but the room is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs, CA
Oct 20, 2010

"Great Location But Poor Room "

I went to San Diego to take a State Exam just a few blocks away, so the location was excellent, but the room was sub-standard. The room was extremely small, the furniture was too large for the room and the bed linen was horrible. I could not get any sleep as the sheets were so stiff and had so much starch that we itched all night and neither of us could sleep and that is why I went the night before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fitmarc
Tucson, AZ
Jul 12, 2011

All "Talk," No "Action"

The location in Little Italy was fantastic! We had easy access to a lot of things to do. The central location allowed us to get to other outside-of-Little-Italy locations easily. The room was clean and served an SSS purpose. Our remote control ceased to work (even with a change of batteries), the valet parking was out of sorts when it got busy (very nice people, though), our fruit at the breakfast was overripe/nasty (we were given half-off on our bill). Workers, including a valet, were in a hallway chatting while his co-worker was getting his butt kicked. Time for the manager/owner to put his/her foot down and expect more from the workers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any of the Italian restaurants on India Street.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Nov 27, 2010

Lackluster

The hotel website was entirely misleading I felt as if, I was staying at a travel lodge, nothing at all spactacular about the room, the small old school tv, the dumpy furniture, the horrid passageways , the customer service or lack there of, they get a 2 for keeping a roof over my head, the slow wifi, the pricy parking , do not waist your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maritime Traveler
Nova Scotia, Canada
Sep 8, 2013

A refurbished Maze

We stayed in this hotel for one night on the 6th of September, 2013. We were quite surprised to find that there was a $5.00 per person shuttle charge from the San Diego airport when the airport was only a 10 minute drive and that the shuttle stopped running at 8:00 PM so be prepared to hire a taxi if you have a late arrival. The front desk staff was not at all friendly and indifferent. The hallways and room locations were totally confusing with poorly signed directions which we found bizarre so expect to get lost until you find your bearings. The standard rooms are roughly 170 square feet and quite small for the more than $100.00 per night cost. They are nicely appointed though with comfortable beds. When we went for breakfast in the morning we were told that they didn`t have coffee because their machine was not working, which is pretty bad when you consider how important coffee is for some folks. All in all it was a very average hotel and over priced which was fine for a short stay and in our opinion not acceptable for longer visits. Of course it has an excellent location in the heart of Little Italy which has some wonderful dining opportunities. We more than likely would not choose this hotel for another visit to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at the Mona Lisa which has excellent Southern Italian cuisine. Again, there are tons of good dining choices just a block from the hotel.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alberta, Canada
Jul 14, 2011

Decent - had better for the same price

This hotel was ok but I had better in San Diego for the same price would not return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allan
Prescott, AZ, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Where's my coffee?

First disappointment of the stay was no refrigerator in the room. I went to the front desk and the clerk said our king room doesn't get one. I told him that was interesting because my sister and spouse and my brother and spouse had king rooms and they each had a refrigerator. We ran out of regular coffee,asked several times, by phone and at desk, for coffee packets (I had only decaf left), never got 'em. We did not have washcloths until third day of stay. Used hand towels, instead. Requested a refrigerator, was told "we'll try to..." It didn't show up. We had brought food with us to save a little money, and we tried to preserve it with ice everynite, but we ended up throwing it out as it got waterlogged. What a waste. We felt like second class citizens and will not stay in your establishment again. Staff at desk was always polite, but apparently swamped, so our requests, except for a cart the morning we were leaving, were not met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Everyday Joe Traveler
Salinas, California
Mar 13, 2013

Family Visit

Hotel located in Little Italy....a great location away from the hustle and bustle of Gaslamp area but with plenty of choices to dine, etc. Hotel was average...a bit disappointed in cleanliness. Lobby area updated, rooms, no so much. Wall ac/htr. was dirty,,,,built up crud on outside, bathroom fan had dust hanging from it...draperies looked as if taken out of pkg. and hung....sheers were dirty. However, bed comfortable. Not sure if I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1579
North of Toronto
Mar 14, 2014

Not recommended

Not that there is anything major wrong No parking You get Valet or something on the street somewhere. My room was very noisy. If anything or anybody outside your door at all. You would know it very clearly Now it was reasonably close to major attractions. The zoo the Midway. Sea world I would not use it again. But you can I have done worse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pickygirl22
Chino hills, CA
Feb 17, 2014

It's cute but needs improvement!!

It wasn't the best obviously its a 3 star for a reason it seemed like the only thing that's been remodeled was the lobby and lounge.. Staff was great!! Room sheets grossed me out they need real comforters and when we walked into our room the first time it looked ok but had a weird smell my husband opened the door to the restroom disgusting!! the bathtub was filled with green water like the pipes or something had broke idk but it was disgusting luckyly we were moved to another room 2nd was ok needs remodeling... The lounge does have a great view its nice well kept and food is good :) I just don't see how they have this cute lounge and rooms are not cute! The lounge sold me should have read more reviews but I guess its worth for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy, gaslamp, downtown all is very close

Back to menu Return to top