Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
253 reviews
Great location, great price!

I stayed here for the weekend and loved it! For the rate, it was more than i expected. Thr location... See full review

  • Lady T0328
  • Aug 26, 2014
Fantastic little Italy

Very nice, very clean, lovely stay. Close to the bay. Super close to air port. Little Italy is very... See full review

  • Thuggerthugger
  • Jul 14, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7244 -117.1672
Area served
Downtown San Diego Boutique Hotel In The Heart Of Little Italy
Nearby airports
Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
Located in the heart of San Diego's historic Little Italy neighborhood, with fabulous views of the San Diego Harbor Walking distance to dozens of eclectic local restaurants, authentic shops, and art galleries Minutes from famous local attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, as well as the Convention Center and cruise terminal Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN) Transportation (fee) to the airport and many area local attractions

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sea World: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady T0328
Los angeles,ca
Aug 26, 2014

Great location, great price!

I stayed here for the weekend and loved it! For the rate, it was more than i expected. Thr location was perfect (1 block from little italy, 5 min drive to gaslamp quarter and 10 min drive to sea world). Their parking was cheaper than most of the hotels i looked up before booking here ($22 a night), all their staff are friendly, courteous & helpful, hotel has a bar & restaurant (good food & drinks) and the rooms are modern amd clean. I'm happy i stayed at porto vista and i highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marwayne
Long Beach california
Mar 29, 2014

great

we enjoyed our stay, room was great , the staff was exceptional at the front desk and valet guys where great. The only thing I would do is in the bathroom I would put a dish in the shower for the shampoo and soap. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teddyf
new york
Apr 2, 2012

i am so happy to stay in your hotel

i will recommended hotel to everyone/location was perfect/i am really happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jotchamann
Houston
Mar 16, 2010

Great Hotel!

This was a great hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful they recommended great places to shop and dine every time we asked. The rooms are very large, and the atmosphere is very peaceful and fun. It is in a great location, earlier in the trip we stayed at the Westin, I thought this hotel beat the Westin hands down. I will definitely be back to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viky197
Irvine,California
Dec 21, 2013

Amazing place

It was a wonderful experience. Myself and my family enjoyed the stay thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nattlebug
Westminster, CA
Jan 25, 2014

Great for the price

Clean, quiet and great location right next to little Italy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue A Trev
Banning, CA
Jul 7, 2013

Awesome place. Love the look.

This place was fantastic and we will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaslamp

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sara86
Chicago
Jul 28, 2011

Great location , clean and friendly sta

Clean , friendly staff , great location.... I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
letheecya
Phoenix
Jun 10, 2014

Perfect Spot! Close to EVERYTHING!

We were so impressed with this hotel! The room was a bit small but the overall decor and cleanliness was on point! While the only parking available was valet, the convenience of it being charged to the room and the satisfaction of knowing your car is safe was worth it. We were in the heart of little Italy, there were some really great dinning spots all within walking distance and the Gaslamp Quater was only a 7 minute drive! We would definitely stay at Porto Vista again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love fine dinning, little Italy is perfect for you!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yeahkhrista
Orange County, CA
Apr 18, 2013

Cute hotel with the BEST customer service!

Our experience at this hotel couldn't have been any better! We were blown away but the customer service not only at the front desk but with the valet, room service & at their restaurant/bar - The Glass Door. This is a cute little hotel, the rooms are cozy and fun. You get a little bar top, fridge & microwave where you can bring your own drinks and food. You even can get a room with a balcony that has a view of the port! The hotel is in the heart of Little Italy, walking distance to night life, restaurants & the coast. It is just a couple of miles away from Gaslamp district. This is now our "spot" whenever we come down to San Diego. If you have stayed with Porto Vista before, you can call and let them know that you enjoyed your stay and would like to book with them again and they will give you a discount when booking! LOVE this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top