Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 16, 2016

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
olia
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Good hotel for those who doesn t want to spend too much money

Porto Vista is a great place for a cheap stay in SD! Very good location, close to Gaz lamp district and just a block away from little Italy! Roomas are pretty big and comfortable.. I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Moreno Valley, CA
Apr 18, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The shuttle driver was excellent and informative. The room was too small for two people. People at front deak were most helpful. The person that checked us in forgot to give us a breakfast voucher. When we ask the front desk, as we were going out for the evening, he said he would have them ready for us when we got back and they were. They have a very refreshing water with orange slices that is at the front desk where you check in. Nice touch. I definitely would stay there again. Gerald Motto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is located in the Little Italy area of San Diego. Food is excellent in Little Italy . Take it from me, I am a picky Italian.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brian o.
Couples
N/A
Jul 20, 2015

Weekend Getaway

Pretty decent hotel at an affordable price. Can't complain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerome H.
Friends
N/A
Dec 21, 2015

Visiting family

Have stayed at the Porto Vista at least 5 times. Always an enjoyable experience. Located in my favorite part of the city. It's also close to my family. The staff is always friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iszycharlie
Family
Chatsworth
Apr 20, 2014

San Diego Trip

The location of this hotel was perfect! Surrounded by delicious restaurants & coffee shops. The room was clean, bathroom was also very clean, & the room did not have a weird smell. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. The price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is not found easily. But much to see & due at just walking distance.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steve2
Business
virginia
Aug 2, 2012

visit san diego

good basic no frills place to stay in little italy part of san diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Oct 25, 2010

Porto Vista Hotel Stay

This hotel is a remodeled Hotel 8. They did a rather good job re-styling it, but the room was small and the bathroom needed some updating (the shower head was full of water calcium buildup and had a hole in it). The staff including the valet personnel, were incredibly nice, very helpful and professional. Location is great, right near I-5, car rental, airport and near Little Italy. Unfortunately, the location gives way to younger people partying in Little Italy. My first two nights were wonderful, but the last night, the room beside me decided to party all night long. They woke me up at 12:30 a.m. and were still going strong at 2 a.m. I finally, had to call the front desk, who immediately sent a security guard. They did not listen to the guard and were still going strong when I had to get up at 3:30 a.m. for my flight - I only had two hours sleep due to these thoughtless, foul-mouthed, drunken people. Ultimately, this is not the hotel's fault, but I wish the security guard would have been more focused on respect of the other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frump
Couples
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 12, 2011

OK

Good, but we did not like the clogged bathroom sink, no tops on the bathroom to put our things. Toilet paper holder is breaking off. Also, they charged me for failed attempts to make long distance calls. They also charge for the hotel shuttle to the airport. It feels like they just want to nickel and dime you for everything. There are just so many hotels that if I ever go again to San Diego, It will be worth it to use another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minute walk to Ralph's Supermarket to get groceries so that you can get an excellent salad or other deli things to take to your room so that the Gaslamp alligator restaurantscan't eat up all your dough with their expensive menus and mandatory 15% tips.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy
Couples
N/A
Jun 9, 2015

Couple get away!

The stay was great for the night. Hotel still under renovation as per front desk. We didn't have a closet to hang clothes, small trash can for a suite, and we're towels old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Delbert D.
Couples
N/A
Oct 11, 2015

concern

The Porto vista Hotel was ok for the cost and the location was great. My concern was the parking. On the Cheap tickets web site it stated Parking available. It is true there is parking available but it is valet parking only at a cost of $25 per night. This info should be stated on the web site because it impacts the cost/ benefits decision.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top