Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JillNorth
Business
Mountain View, California
Mar 6, 2014

One of my Best Business Trip Experiences

Part of my job requires me to find meeting space to conduct trainings. Since I was going to be staying at Porto Vista, I looked into booking a conference room as well. I worked with Jayna (who is AWESOME) to book the room - she made it so easy and flexible. From the moment I pulled up to the hotel, I was greeted with nothing but the most sincere hospitality - these people know how to make you feel special! My room was very clean - had everything I needed. But the meeting space was amazing! There are floor to ceiling glass windows that overlook the harbor. The view is incredible. But I have to mention again, the staff being so helpful and welcoming. I stay at a lot of hotels, this one will be a definite repeat in the future! Thanks Porto Vista!!!!! You are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marwayne
Business
Long Beach california
Mar 29, 2014

great

we enjoyed our stay, room was great , the staff was exceptional at the front desk and valet guys where great. The only thing I would do is in the bathroom I would put a dish in the shower for the shampoo and soap. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lilladyyes
Business
Bloomington, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Great getaway.

Very nice hotel and walking distance from Little Italy. The restaurant upstairs has good prices, a great happy hour, and an amazing view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bluecraby2k
Business
Oceanside CA
Apr 16, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

Room was small but big enough to comfortable. We were there just to sleep. What I liked best about the hotel was that there was an outside terrace with couches and the rooftop terrace, again with couches. I just wished our stay there was not hampered by the heavy overcast, so I could sit outside and relax. The stafff was attentive. My room had a broken remote. It was replace within 15 minutes after notifying the front desk. I believe for the price and location, it can not be beat. My wife and I decided this is the hotel we will be staying for our weekends in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

About $5 cab ride to GasLamp, short walk to Little Italy

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
letheecya
Business
Phoenix
Jun 10, 2014

Perfect Spot! Close to EVERYTHING!

We were so impressed with this hotel! The room was a bit small but the overall decor and cleanliness was on point! While the only parking available was valet, the convenience of it being charged to the room and the satisfaction of knowing your car is safe was worth it. We were in the heart of little Italy, there were some really great dinning spots all within walking distance and the Gaslamp Quater was only a 7 minute drive! We would definitely stay at Porto Vista again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love fine dinning, little Italy is perfect for you!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sara86
Business
Chicago
Jul 28, 2011

Great location , clean and friendly sta

Clean , friendly staff , great location.... I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jotchamann
Business
Houston
Mar 16, 2010

Great Hotel!

This was a great hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful they recommended great places to shop and dine every time we asked. The rooms are very large, and the atmosphere is very peaceful and fun. It is in a great location, earlier in the trip we stayed at the Westin, I thought this hotel beat the Westin hands down. I will definitely be back to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LibbyMari
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 16, 2010

Fabulous Value Hotel

This hotel was an amazing value. The internet connection was free (wireless), as was the airport shuttle and we got a deal that included breakfast at the fabulous restaurant The Glass Door. Breakfast was gourmet (think rosemary potato frittata)and the service was prompt and courteous. Only (slight) downside was the location was in a quieter, residential area known as little Italy--great pizza, but few attractions or nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derfbag
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 8, 2014

4th of July

Roof party on the 4th. We did not go, but the good view of the Bay was enough to have a standing-room-only crowd (much younger than us). Hotel is a good value - the location is great - quiet neighborhood (other than the airplanes) with easy walking to many in-town activities. Valet-only parking is $22. Glass Door restaurant on 4th floor was a lovely spot to have our breakfasts. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thuggerthugger
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 14, 2014

Fantastic little Italy

Very nice, very clean, lovely stay. Close to the bay. Super close to air port. Little Italy is very beautiful and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top