Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derfbag
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 8, 2014

4th of July

Roof party on the 4th. We did not go, but the good view of the Bay was enough to have a standing-room-only crowd (much younger than us). Hotel is a good value - the location is great - quiet neighborhood (other than the airplanes) with easy walking to many in-town activities. Valet-only parking is $22. Glass Door restaurant on 4th floor was a lovely spot to have our breakfasts. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IDon'tNeedANickname
Business
Vegas
Jul 6, 2014

Only if you have no other option...

Washing machine was running late at night on the other side of the wall. Parking garage was right outside the door, so as we were trying to sleep doors were being shut and car alarms armed right outside the door. Overpriced restaurant on level 4. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

7 eleven right down the street.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sneaky13
Business
Fremont, ca
Jun 26, 2014

Got less than promised

I arrived and the sent us to the wrong room. Booked a deluxe two queen, sent us to a single queen. That room was nice and upgraded. I called to get this fixed, I took them 25 minutes to find us another room and kept asking if we touched anything in the first room as if they would not help us if we did. Finally they got us a room, however it was like an old m-6 or s-8. Not upgraded and definitely not deluxe. The hotel said they could help us no more as they had no more rooms and that we were lucky to get this one and because we paid though orb they would not compensate the price thus they stole and gave us less than we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sierra03
Business
San Bernardino, Ca
Jun 24, 2014

Too expensive

The hotel staff was average upon checking in. Don't know if the hotel didn't have a pool but again I didn't bother to ask since it wasn't visible. The room was spacious and clean, it had a microwave & coffee maker which was broken. A bit too noisy since all rooms face the inside hallway which is outdoor. Overall the price we paid was too much for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab to Gas Lamp instead of taking your own car. Parking is expensive & we heard police are very active.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gonz76
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 23, 2014

Wknd getaway

The staff was very nice there. The restaurant on the 4th floor has a beautiful view over looking the waters of San Diego. The drinks that were made were great. The shuttle driver who took us to the Dodgers vs Padres game was very nice and had a good sense of humor. I will definitely stay again at Porto Vista.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimberly K Lovin SD
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 23, 2014

Business & Pleasure!

Valet is great, super fast moving and concerned you get where you need to go ASAP! Check in was smooth, and the room was good. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Love the farmers market!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TakeFive
Business
Tucson
Jun 13, 2014

Expensive dogs !

Everything was ok but even if the dogs are allowed, 2 little dogs will pay $75 each. Thats more that we payed for humans. We should have been advised this in bold during reservation... We could recommend the hotel if not accompanied by pet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kapuni
Business
Orange, CA
Jun 11, 2014

Last Minute Get-Away

It was a very nice quaint place away from the hustle and bustle yet still close enough to the Gas Lamp district. The staff was very friendly!! The rooms were so-so but clean :) My hubby and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
letheecya
Business
Phoenix
Jun 10, 2014

Perfect Spot! Close to EVERYTHING!

We were so impressed with this hotel! The room was a bit small but the overall decor and cleanliness was on point! While the only parking available was valet, the convenience of it being charged to the room and the satisfaction of knowing your car is safe was worth it. We were in the heart of little Italy, there were some really great dinning spots all within walking distance and the Gaslamp Quater was only a 7 minute drive! We would definitely stay at Porto Vista again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love fine dinning, little Italy is perfect for you!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaxyY
Business
New York City
May 27, 2014

Perfect for your basic hotel needs

Great location one block away from the Little Italy strip of restaurant/bars. This hotel offers a nice space to come home to after a day of being out in the city. Just be forewarned that the only parking available is a valet garage for $20 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Craft and Commerce is a unique bar with fantastic cocktails and interesting decor.

Back to menu Return to top