Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mialoves
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 18, 2014

it was okay

the stay was okay, not worth the price. the bathroom was small, the phone didn't have a speaker option(old phone) you could see the bathtub had been worked on the soap dish tray was loose by the sink. friendly staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take lyft and go to the house of blues! cost only $5.00

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kool Trish
Business
Palm Springs CA
Aug 16, 2014

Perfect Location

I have stayed here on several occasions Perfect for all my needs The staff at the Glass Door could use some manners female bartender very rude when we came in at 9:30 pm. Never came over to ask us if we needed anything. She also was complaining about her hours worked, I don't go somewhere to hear other peoples problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLMNO
Business
Washington DC
Aug 4, 2014

Great find!

Very convenient location, good staff, good value. 1 block from restaurant row in Little Italy, walking distance to a LOT. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thuggerthugger
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 14, 2014

Fantastic little Italy

Very nice, very clean, lovely stay. Close to the bay. Super close to air port. Little Italy is very beautiful and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VivianR
Business
Anaheim, California
Jul 8, 2014

Good Location

Location is good, in downtown SD. The rooms are very old. And it is expensive for this kind of 'hotel'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derfbag
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 8, 2014

4th of July

Roof party on the 4th. We did not go, but the good view of the Bay was enough to have a standing-room-only crowd (much younger than us). Hotel is a good value - the location is great - quiet neighborhood (other than the airplanes) with easy walking to many in-town activities. Valet-only parking is $22. Glass Door restaurant on 4th floor was a lovely spot to have our breakfasts. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IDon'tNeedANickname
Business
Vegas
Jul 6, 2014

Only if you have no other option...

Washing machine was running late at night on the other side of the wall. Parking garage was right outside the door, so as we were trying to sleep doors were being shut and car alarms armed right outside the door. Overpriced restaurant on level 4. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

7 eleven right down the street.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sneaky13
Business
Fremont, ca
Jun 26, 2014

Got less than promised

I arrived and the sent us to the wrong room. Booked a deluxe two queen, sent us to a single queen. That room was nice and upgraded. I called to get this fixed, I took them 25 minutes to find us another room and kept asking if we touched anything in the first room as if they would not help us if we did. Finally they got us a room, however it was like an old m-6 or s-8. Not upgraded and definitely not deluxe. The hotel said they could help us no more as they had no more rooms and that we were lucky to get this one and because we paid though orb they would not compensate the price thus they stole and gave us less than we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sierra03
Business
San Bernardino, Ca
Jun 24, 2014

Too expensive

The hotel staff was average upon checking in. Don't know if the hotel didn't have a pool but again I didn't bother to ask since it wasn't visible. The room was spacious and clean, it had a microwave & coffee maker which was broken. A bit too noisy since all rooms face the inside hallway which is outdoor. Overall the price we paid was too much for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab to Gas Lamp instead of taking your own car. Parking is expensive & we heard police are very active.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gonz76
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 23, 2014

Wknd getaway

The staff was very nice there. The restaurant on the 4th floor has a beautiful view over looking the waters of San Diego. The drinks that were made were great. The shuttle driver who took us to the Dodgers vs Padres game was very nice and had a good sense of humor. I will definitely stay again at Porto Vista.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top