Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
263 reviews
Great location, great price!

I stayed here for the weekend and loved it! For the rate, it was more than i expected. Thr location... See full review

  • Lady T0328
  • Aug 26, 2014
Fantastic little Italy

Very nice, very clean, lovely stay. Close to the bay. Super close to air port. Little Italy is very... See full review

  • Thuggerthugger
  • Jul 14, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7244 -117.1672
Area served
Downtown San Diego Boutique Hotel In The Heart Of Little Italy
Nearby airports
Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
Located in the heart of San Diego's historic Little Italy neighborhood, with fabulous views of the San Diego Harbor Walking distance to dozens of eclectic local restaurants, authentic shops, and art galleries Minutes from famous local attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, as well as the Convention Center and cruise terminal Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN) Transportation (fee) to the airport and many area local attractions

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sea World: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jam ihrsa
Business
tempe az
Mar 16, 2014

IHrsa

The front desk upon arrival gave poor information and didn't inform us about the shuttle. Because of these two things I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Marriott has a nice roof top bar over looking the ball park and the water.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1579
Business
North of Toronto
Mar 14, 2014

Not recommended

Not that there is anything major wrong No parking You get Valet or something on the street somewhere. My room was very noisy. If anything or anybody outside your door at all. You would know it very clearly Now it was reasonably close to major attractions. The zoo the Midway. Sea world I would not use it again. But you can I have done worse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent cruise traveller
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 13, 2014

Good value and relatively good location

Its location in Little Italy provides a relatively good base for San Diego with the light rail a 8 minute walk from the hotel and a 10 minute ride from there to the convention center, Seaport village or the next station transfer point at the AMTRAK in downtown. One can walk (about 20 min) to the USS Midway aircraft carrier museum/Maritime Museum area/cruise terminal where the city bus from the airport also stops. It is a workable alternative to the much higher price hotels in the Convention center and Gastown district if one uses the MTS light rail, else the walk to the convention center can take about 30-35 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JillNorth
Business
Mountain View, California
Mar 6, 2014

One of my Best Business Trip Experiences

Part of my job requires me to find meeting space to conduct trainings. Since I was going to be staying at Porto Vista, I looked into booking a conference room as well. I worked with Jayna (who is AWESOME) to book the room - she made it so easy and flexible. From the moment I pulled up to the hotel, I was greeted with nothing but the most sincere hospitality - these people know how to make you feel special! My room was very clean - had everything I needed. But the meeting space was amazing! There are floor to ceiling glass windows that overlook the harbor. The view is incredible. But I have to mention again, the staff being so helpful and welcoming. I stay at a lot of hotels, this one will be a definite repeat in the future! Thanks Porto Vista!!!!! You are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRWhite
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Mar 5, 2014

Fire Alarm

Not a bad hotel and we like to location. You could walk to many restaurants. The Fire alarm went off twice on the last day of our visit and at 1:30 a.m. in the last night of our stay. It lasted about 20 minutes. The hotel staff were very apologetic and reduced our parking bill by $22. Excluding the fire alarm issues we had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TommysGRL
Business
Fontana, ca
Mar 5, 2014

Taste of Italy

I love that its a block from Little Italy. Its so close to everything such as night life, the marina with ships, trolley, airport, and the metro link.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ali ali
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 3, 2014

Motel

Motel The facade of the building is very misleading. hollow walls, cheap materials. Value: Hotel deal plus a discount got me the room for $80/night. If i didn't have those deals it would have been $300/night. I would have been very mad if I paid 300. Location: little Italy is a very fun, vibrant little area in town. The hotel is a short walk to mission bay. 18$ cab to the zoo... I loved the location Parking: charged 22$/night to keep my car on the lot. As we were leaving I overheard a woman say "you charged me 22 dollars, I was here two nights" and they replied "right, $11 a night" so I guess that's negotiable. Room: the water in the pipes were very loud, the planes overhead were super loud, we ordered a Queen room but they put us in a double bed. Didn't request a change due to the following... Club: there is a rooftop bar with a cool view. I heard many guests complaining about the noise of the bar which we didn't experience in our double room so I was afraid to rectify the fact that they put us in a different room. Staff- they were nice, I guess didn't use them Much and they put us in the wrong room. Summary- worth it if you are on a budget and not picky. Otherwise don't do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diogenes A
Business
Brazil
Feb 26, 2014

Good and cheap!

Good location, cheap, comfortable, clean, organized system, very nice hotel, beautiful room. Just, one observation, internet works but it was lazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks from the trolley station, around 4 blocks from the bus station. It is near to the airport, just take the bus 992 in Harbor Avenue.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zhudfkflr
Business
Honolulu, HI
Feb 26, 2014

great value

We stayed one night before and one night after a retreat held at another hotel. Both times our rooms were clean and the staff EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. The Glass Door restaurant had pretty good food, and Melody's service made the experience even better. The neighborhood is clean and safe, with MANY restaurants, but don't plan to go shopping for souvenirs there. The hotel also had a free airport shuttle, and boasted other amenities of which we were not able to take advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elle53088
Business
Moorpark,Ca
Feb 25, 2014

In love with Porto Vista

From the nice valet guys, to Rob at the front Desk, to the sweet cleaning staff- everything was great. I really enjoyed this hotel. Our room was great and had a beautiful view off the balcony. It also seemed like a great place for dining, but we didn't eat there (only because we couldn't get enough of Little Italy). Kudos to you guys for your excellent remodel. Can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top