Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

1 star
View map of 1546 2nd Ave, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue/Front St, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tri A.
Business
Tempe, Arizona
May 30, 2012

Great Experience

The hotel/staff overall was very good. The location is great! Close to the freeway, downtown and little Italy. The room was a little bit small, but clean. The experience was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan R
Business
Rancho C
May 29, 2012

Good budget motel

Motel 6 is located near key attractions, USS Midway, Little Italy, and Gaslamp. I never needed to drive anywhere! The room was small, but they maximized the space with the furniture they used. Overall a good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wonder Buns
Business
Boron,Ca
May 28, 2012

Motel 6

Room was beyond small. The decor was left over from the 50's. The room smelled like stale smoke. The parking was the biggest annoyance. Very little space for hotel guests. I had to use public parking close to the street which did not make me happy. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danni1027
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Apr 17, 2012

perfect spot to unwind

The staff was amazingly friendly felt very welcomed! The location was better then we expected! We were able to go to clubs on foot and check out sites without much effort! Then to top it off when we did go out for a drive it was so easy to find our way back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night life was awesome! Each night we were. Able to walk to and from!

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DplusO
Business
New Haven, CT, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Didn't expect much, weren't disappointed

The motel experience is what it is, but I think what's lacking in this particular one is consistent management. The individual staff members we dealt with were unfailingly kind, but this is not enough to make the overall operations work well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lin Lu
Business
Emporia, KS 66801, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Worthy for staying a night

The one-bed room is pretty small but clean. So it is worthy for the price. The motel is near Little Italy. It's a good location to have a meal! All the motel 6 don't provide free wifi. That sucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
In love with San Diego
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Ballin' on a Budget

It's cheap and has the basics. Clean. Comfortable. Great location. All you need if you're just planning on sleeping and washing your bum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head over to Ocean Beach and have one of the best burgers ever. Hodad's doesn't disappoint and the milkshakes are heavenly!

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bleucollar
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

A Great Value

This Motel 6 is a bit of a walk of 8 blocks or so from Downtown but a great value; The new rooms are similar to a cruise ship's stateroom well designed and a pleasure to stay in; the staff could not have been more helpful or efficient. I will stay here again anytime I am in San Diego

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDubs
Business
Glendale, CA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

good deal

This Motel 6 is like staying in a private room at your average European hostel -- which I like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stan in seattle
Business
Seattle, wa
Jan 14, 2012

As Expected, nice room, great value

I choose this motel because of all the positive reviews, (many more good than bad). It did not disappoint. It's a Motel 6 so if you don't expect grand amenities and large rooms but do expect a clean room with friendly and helpful staff in a great location right downtown, you can't go wrong. On top of everything else, its less than $60 a night! What more could you want?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay in the summer, parking may be an issue. If you plan to use public transportation, the location is very good.

Back to menu Return to top