Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

1 star
1546 2nd Ave, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue/Front St, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
96 reviews
Perfect location for exploring San Diego

We stayed for one night at this hotel. The lady at the reception was very friendly and checked a... See full review

  • Niki68
  • Mar 14, 2014
san diegio

got a good night sleep little over price for motel 6 See full review

  • zim1
  • Aug 5, 2013
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown is located within walking distance to area dining. Marina Park Beach is 1 mile. Ride the San Diego Trolley to popular San Diego destinations, 1.6 miles. Enjoy our modern rooms. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms for a fee.

Motel 6 San Diego Downtown Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 San Diego Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7215 -117.1632
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 2.20, MI, SE; Montgomery Field, (MYF), 6.70, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.7 mi
  • Sea World: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.6 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.7 mi
  • Legoland: 29.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

Sunsets American Bar and Grill
Walking distance
Plaza Coffee Shop
Walking distance
Opera Cafe
Walking distance
Mediterranean Cafe and Lounge
Walking distance
Johnny Browns
Walking distance
Fifth Ave Grill
Walking distance
Central Cafe
Walking distance
Brothers Restaurant and Deli
Walking distance
Al Treatro Panini Grill
Walking distance
Antonios Mexican Food
0.3 mile

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
In love with San Diego
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Ballin' on a Budget

It's cheap and has the basics. Clean. Comfortable. Great location. All you need if you're just planning on sleeping and washing your bum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head over to Ocean Beach and have one of the best burgers ever. Hodad's doesn't disappoint and the milkshakes are heavenly!

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bleucollar
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

A Great Value

This Motel 6 is a bit of a walk of 8 blocks or so from Downtown but a great value; The new rooms are similar to a cruise ship's stateroom well designed and a pleasure to stay in; the staff could not have been more helpful or efficient. I will stay here again anytime I am in San Diego

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDubs
Glendale, CA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

good deal

This Motel 6 is like staying in a private room at your average European hostel -- which I like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stan in seattle
Seattle, wa
Jan 14, 2012

As Expected, nice room, great value

I choose this motel because of all the positive reviews, (many more good than bad). It did not disappoint. It's a Motel 6 so if you don't expect grand amenities and large rooms but do expect a clean room with friendly and helpful staff in a great location right downtown, you can't go wrong. On top of everything else, its less than $60 a night! What more could you want?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay in the summer, parking may be an issue. If you plan to use public transportation, the location is very good.

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tawnee
Encinitas, CA
Dec 12, 2011

Great value

Our room was small but spotless and the bed was really comfortable. We were within walking distance of downtown and there was freeing parking. A great value for a one-night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yosef
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 8, 2011

At least the TV and AC/heating worked

Was to far from most attractions, had roaches in bathroom, when you flushed toilet had so much force usually legs got wet, shower got entire bathroom floor wet, bed was like a couple of springs in your back. Staff was cool but thats about it. Wouldn't recommend to any of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to save money and be away from all attractions and nitelife this is it. If you have back problems don't stay more than 1 night.

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacoPin
Cuernavaca, MOR, México
Oct 31, 2011

Good hotel at good price

I was pleased with staff service, the hotel is close by San Diego Downtown and it´s perfectly communicated for people traveling either by public or particular transportation. The hotel amenities were ok, it´s a good hotel to stay in a clean, safe enviroment. For me, this porperty worked fine because i went to san Diego for shooping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fabio
Fano, Italia
Aug 29, 2011

Great location. Comfort to be improved

Perfect getaway for the city center, maintenance should be improved in order to guarantee an ordinary comfort. WC was misfunctioning and we managed to repair (it was an easy thing) F&G alarm was broken and ringing but we managed by our selves. In any case it is clean enough and warmly suggested for the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fabio
Fano, Italia
Aug 29, 2011

Great location. Comfort to be improved

Perfect getaway for the city center, maintenance should be improved in order to guarantee an ordinary comfort. WC was misfunctioning and we managed to repair (it was an easy thing) F&G alarm was broken and ringing but we managed by our selves. In any case it is clean enough and warmly suggested for the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 31, 2011

close to downtown

Great location. Hotel was clean, rooms were small, but it was perfect for a one/two night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is within walking distance to Gaslamp district, however I would recommend a cab at night (about $5). During the day it's a perfect short walk.

Back to menu Return to top