Rate based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

1 star
1546 2nd Ave, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue/Front St, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Very close to the Gaslamp

Great cost benefit deal, the cheapest hotel in downtown. See full review

  • Doc1986
  • Sep 16, 2014
Perfect location for exploring San Diego

We stayed for one night at this hotel. The lady at the reception was very friendly and checked a... See full review

  • Niki68
  • Mar 14, 2014
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown is located within walking distance to area dining. Marina Park Beach is 1 mile. Ride the San Diego Trolley to popular San Diego destinations, 1.6 miles. Enjoy our modern rooms. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms for a fee.

Motel 6 San Diego Downtown Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 San Diego Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7215 -117.1632
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 2.20, MI, SE; Montgomery Field, (MYF), 6.70, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.7 mi
  • Sea World: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.6 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.7 mi
  • Legoland: 29.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

Sunsets American Bar and Grill
Walking distance
Plaza Coffee Shop
Walking distance
Opera Cafe
Walking distance
Mediterranean Cafe and Lounge
Walking distance
Johnny Browns
Walking distance
Fifth Ave Grill
Walking distance
Central Cafe
Walking distance
Brothers Restaurant and Deli
Walking distance
Al Treatro Panini Grill
Walking distance
Antonios Mexican Food
0.3 mile

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan R
Business
Rancho C
May 29, 2012

Good budget motel

Motel 6 is located near key attractions, USS Midway, Little Italy, and Gaslamp. I never needed to drive anywhere! The room was small, but they maximized the space with the furniture they used. Overall a good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wonder Buns
Business
Boron,Ca
May 28, 2012

Motel 6

Room was beyond small. The decor was left over from the 50's. The room smelled like stale smoke. The parking was the biggest annoyance. Very little space for hotel guests. I had to use public parking close to the street which did not make me happy. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danni1027
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Apr 17, 2012

perfect spot to unwind

The staff was amazingly friendly felt very welcomed! The location was better then we expected! We were able to go to clubs on foot and check out sites without much effort! Then to top it off when we did go out for a drive it was so easy to find our way back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night life was awesome! Each night we were. Able to walk to and from!

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DplusO
Business
New Haven, CT, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Didn't expect much, weren't disappointed

The motel experience is what it is, but I think what's lacking in this particular one is consistent management. The individual staff members we dealt with were unfailingly kind, but this is not enough to make the overall operations work well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lin Lu
Business
Emporia, KS 66801, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Worthy for staying a night

The one-bed room is pretty small but clean. So it is worthy for the price. The motel is near Little Italy. It's a good location to have a meal! All the motel 6 don't provide free wifi. That sucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
In love with San Diego
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Ballin' on a Budget

It's cheap and has the basics. Clean. Comfortable. Great location. All you need if you're just planning on sleeping and washing your bum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head over to Ocean Beach and have one of the best burgers ever. Hodad's doesn't disappoint and the milkshakes are heavenly!

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bleucollar
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

A Great Value

This Motel 6 is a bit of a walk of 8 blocks or so from Downtown but a great value; The new rooms are similar to a cruise ship's stateroom well designed and a pleasure to stay in; the staff could not have been more helpful or efficient. I will stay here again anytime I am in San Diego

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDubs
Business
Glendale, CA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

good deal

This Motel 6 is like staying in a private room at your average European hostel -- which I like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stan in seattle
Business
Seattle, wa
Jan 14, 2012

As Expected, nice room, great value

I choose this motel because of all the positive reviews, (many more good than bad). It did not disappoint. It's a Motel 6 so if you don't expect grand amenities and large rooms but do expect a clean room with friendly and helpful staff in a great location right downtown, you can't go wrong. On top of everything else, its less than $60 a night! What more could you want?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay in the summer, parking may be an issue. If you plan to use public transportation, the location is very good.

Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tawnee
Business
Encinitas, CA
Dec 12, 2011

Great value

Our room was small but spotless and the bed was really comfortable. We were within walking distance of downtown and there was freeing parking. A great value for a one-night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top