Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
334 reviews
LOVE!

Was a quick trip, one night, and I wish we could've stayed longer. At check in I was surprised to... See full review

  • lolo917
  • Sep 2, 2014
Would be perfect if the location was a little better!

Upon arriving at the hotel, 15/20 mins from the airport by taxi we were greeted by two very... See full review

  • michael711
  • Aug 24, 2014
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Not what I expected.

This hotel should lower their rates. Rooms and furniture are very old, dirty and it smells. No wireless, breakfast is the worst I've had or seen because I did not eat there. Customer service is not the greatest. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 13, 2010

Past It's Prime

In my first room, there was no TV remote, no internet service until the next morning, and not much concern from the desk. A/C had bad rattle (that eventually quieted down), one of the two phones did not work, the couch had torn upholstery and there was only decaf coffee for the coffee pot. No one thing that big, but a bad pattern. I asked for and was given a new room the next morning; no help in moving. In my second room, that afternoon A/C took 15 minutes to start cooling, hot/cold water controls in showers were backwards. Room was supplied with regular coffee for first day, but was not replenished for second day. Rooms are spacious and quiet. I left my cell phone charger in first room when I moved, and staff did retrieve it and return it to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BTRAVELER3
Business
LI, NY
Feb 17, 2011

UGH!

Under renovation and needs it. I believe it could have potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Homeopath
Business
Calgary, AB
Jun 8, 2009

Interesting, but...

It's old and run-down, so interesting but not modernized. My phone in my room was dead and internet was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
none
Jun 19, 2011

to old- under renovation

went to San Diego to see ball game at Petco Park. Hotel staff nice the place was under renovation, so that was a minus. the red fox restaurant was very nice. would go there again. thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Feb 8, 2011

You get what you pay for

It was average, except that two pint glasses may have been taken from our room by housekeeping. We never did find them, so I'm fairly certain they were removed by hotel staff. Either stolen or taken by mistake. When we talked to the front desk about it they seemed to not believe us or not care. The furnishings in the room were old and the carpet was very worn and needed a good shampooing. The view of the pool was great and the lobby of the hotel looks like it will be great once they finish it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

I highly recommend checking out the Red Fox! The steak was good, the atmosphere was great, the drinks are VERY strong, and they have a live piano player. Wonderful!

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florence, AZ
Aug 19, 2009

not a 3 star hotel

The hotel looked charming when we drove up. It seemed great when we checked in, the clerk was very nice and perky. Unfortunatly the room was in dire need of a makeover. The beds were very stiff, some of the lights were not working. The blow dryer did not work. The counter in the bathroom was on a tilt, because it was falling down, so I couldn't put anything on it. We had a room right outside of a parking lot, and I could hear honking, doors slamming, and car alarms go off all night. This was not a 3 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
miss_mlb
Business
san diego
Oct 3, 2010

run down dream

The best thing about this hotel is the pool- big enough for laps. Apparently they usually open it to the public on the weekends, which would have been a nuisance I'm guessing. They are suspending that right now since they are "renovating"...but for now it's great for laps. I saw someone reviewing it as terrible green water- not the case when I was there. Aside from the pool, though...this hotel is very low rent. The rooms, beds felt like a bad motel, stained carpet, cracked walls. The "breakfast buffet" was down a long hallway and in a room that felt like a bad conference room with low ceilings and a few tables set up. Cold cereal and bagels were the offerings. And, well, the coffee sucked. It wasn't a room I wanted to spend any time in. I guess the rates here are cheap, and I have heard there are better rooms by the pool. But I looked at 3 on the 3rd floor and they were all depressing. The location is near the 805, but as far as going out and walking anywhere, it's not that kind of neighborhood. Lots of cops out on a Sat. night. I was glad to have a frig and microwave, but the room just didn't have a comfortable vibe to it, so staying in it and eating food just wasn't ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iwaz
san jose, ca
Aug 1, 2011

Too bad, so sad... I remember you when

I remember the Lafayette from the late fifties as a child. We spent many summer weeks here visiting with relatives locally and from the front it has changed little. It obvious that some renovations are occurring, but if the changes seen are indicative of the overall goal of restoration for this beloved hotel, then the owners need to consider a redue. The overall impression is of a aged queen, well past her prime, trying to spruce up for a lost love, but its clear she has lost her sense of style in the effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torrance, CA
Aug 1, 2011

too noisy to sleep

The hotel didn't look as bad as some of the reviews made it out to be. I think they were further along in the remodeling phase. My room had an LCD TV, some new furniture, and modern wall paper. The pool was good enough to jump in for a little while to cool off. Everything fell apart however when night came. Noise from the street came into the room without hesitation. I checked the window a number of times to make sure it was closed. You could head people talking on the side walk as if they were in the room. Since it's on a major street, there were trucks driving by all night. Even after I fell asleep, I kept waking up with the symphony of street life. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top