Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
532 reviews
Great hotel

If you love nostalgia and a great place to stay you will love this place. Updated with all the... See full review

  • Sleepy worker34
  • Jul 25, 2014
A trip to the good life

From the moment we drove up the half circle driveway and entered the main lobby we knew we had... See full review

  • MDB Traveler
  • Jul 17, 2014
The recently renovated Lafayette, Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows offers travelers a true sense of San Diego culture and history. Located in the trendy and up and coming neighborhood of North Park, the hotel is only 1 mile from Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and a short drive to both downtown and the beaches. With an eclectic collection of rooms, dining options and neighborhood haunts, the Lafayette is not your typical California boutique hotel but certainly one of San Diego's best kept secrets. Free internet. While on vacation spend your money on things you want, not need. Fitness Center features Life Fitness Equipment w/TV's Treadmills, Elliptical, Bicycle, free wieghts and pullup bar.

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (532)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 532
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bassetsforever
Portland, OR
Jul 25, 2014

A hip non-chain alternative

This hotel has a lot of charm and is a quick drive to many awesome North Park bars and restaurants, as well as the Zoo. Staff was genuinely nice; they quickly found a room for us when we checked in a few hours early. Clientele was young and hip. We heard a lot of partying going on in nearby rooms (especially from an adjoining room). My boyfriend and I didn't mind, but it may be something to think about if you're traveling with kids or like to sleep relatively early. Aside from that, the only other drawback that we encountered was that the ice machine was almost always empty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MerchandiseGuy
Los Angeles, CA. 91606
Jun 30, 2014

Old Hollywood Charm

This hotel reminded me a lot of "Old Hollywood Glam" It doesn't look like its been updated in a decade or two, but it's held up well. The staff are hit and miss, some love their job while others clearly do not. There is a very unique charm to the place. Best advice, engage the staff that smile and steer clear of the grumpy looking ones and you should have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can UBER down to University Ave for about $5

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suz Loves to Go
Raleigh, NC
Apr 9, 2014

Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a certain old Hollywood feel. The pool deck was beautiful and accessible just outside our door. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Hotel and restaurant staff were most helpful and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have breakfast at the Mission---it's my favorite spot

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCJG
Huntington Beach CA
Nov 29, 2013

Chic hotel

Very friendly staff, great location No Park SD, Clean facility with neat amenities- outdoor pool& Games.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The indecisive hotel guy
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2013

Good Choice

I was staying the night in San Diego. The Lafayette hotel turned out to be a great option. Considering how fast things can add up in SD the Lafayette was first a price conscious choice. From what I read at the time it was recently remodeled or renovated so it seemed like a good choice. It turned out it was a great choice. It has a real welcoming feel with tons of charm, real character. You feel like you're in your own little world. They have fun things scheduled each day like live bands performing or a movie by the pool. Also there's no charge for parking. Over all it was a great stay. The staff I encountered was helpful, happy and all around nice. I wouldn't compare it to the someplace like the Bellagio or anything super fancy but definitley for the money you get more than you think at the Lafayette. I certainly will recommend it to any friends or family that wish to go to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you have daytime activities planned out but still wish to do something other than stay coupes up in a room then the Lafayette has that as well. I stayed overnight on a Thursday and they had a movie playing on a big projector screen by the pool. They had a calendar with events and live bands were among the things planned each day. Simple but fun enough.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HEATHER C.
SIMI VALLEY, CA
Jun 25, 2013

FANTASTIC WEDDING SITE

WE HAD A GREAT TIME ATTENDING A FRIDAY WEDDING AND THEN A SATURDAY POOL PARTY. IT WAS VERY COOL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dustn
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 3, 2013

Not too shabby for the price, location of room and location in general

I took my fiancé to San Diego for her Birthday and we love old school hotels (if they are maintained properly). We stayed at the Lafayette for 3 Nights and had a great time there. The staff was quite nice excluding when the manager explained to me that I had to smoke completely away from the facility. I know the rules and laws make him want to enforce them (no problem with that), but a small recreation area or at least a butt can near the "smoking area" would have been nice. We stayed right on the Poolside which we thought would be a bit annoying since Fridays they have a Pin-up'esk Big Pool Party. We were wrong. It was fun to see everyone having fun. There is a great Restaurant at the Hotel and an excellent bar across the road that I would totally recommend. All in all, it was a great place and we would probably stay there again if next time I didn't crave being closer to the water. Thanks Lafayette! : O)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great bar kiddie corner from the Hotel (across the road) that had excellent drinks. The Bartender was cool too, if we do stay there again, I'd love to go back and hang out there. They have Pool Tables, Great Music, TV's and a Smoking Patio in the back.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D1 Traveler
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 16, 2013

Weekend trip

Hotel was cool and it was in a good location, but a bit overpriced. Overall was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moderately underwhelmed
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 9, 2013

Great Historical Charm, GREAT Location

We had a very nice stay at the Lafayette. We were initially struck by the great location and history behind the facility. We were so glad that there were two restaurants and a bar basically on site and had planned to dine at them. This did not come to pass however given our plans with others and the multitude of other amazing restaurants and bars that the city offers. Our room was poolside on the first floor with easy access also to the parking lot. We were VERY pleased that parking was included. The room was very plain and could stand some updating. Spartan is the word I would use to describe it. A refrigerator in the room would have been very useful. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean enough but could have been cleaner. The best aspect of the hotel was its location. Very easy access to any part of San Diego you would want to enjoy. We love Hillcrest and North Park and were only a few minutes drive to all the fun. I would definitely consider staying at the Lafayette again and would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hillcrest is just down the road.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big craig
sacramento
Jan 14, 2013

short drive to everything

Liked the old time hollywood vibe. Very convenient restaurant bar in hotel. Friendly staff. Short drive to everything-centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great simple breakfast at the iMig restaurant in the lobby.

Back to menu Return to top