Rate based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 25, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
318 reviews
Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a... See full review

  • Suz Loves to Go
  • Apr 9, 2014
Chic hotel

Very friendly staff, great location No Park SD, Clean facility with neat amenities- outdoor... See full review

  • DCJG
  • Nov 29, 2013
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
107 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
Suz Loves to Go
Raleigh, NC
Apr 9, 2014

Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a certain old Hollywood feel. The pool deck was beautiful and accessible just outside our door. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Hotel and restaurant staff were most helpful and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have breakfast at the Mission---it's my favorite spot

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
DCJG
Huntington Beach CA
Nov 29, 2013

Chic hotel

Very friendly staff, great location No Park SD, Clean facility with neat amenities- outdoor pool& Games.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
The indecisive hotel guy
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2013

Good Choice

I was staying the night in San Diego. The Lafayette hotel turned out to be a great option. Considering how fast things can add up in SD the Lafayette was first a price conscious choice. From what I read at the time it was recently remodeled or renovated so it seemed like a good choice. It turned out it was a great choice. It has a real welcoming feel with tons of charm, real character. You feel like you're in your own little world. They have fun things scheduled each day like live bands performing or a movie by the pool. Also there's no charge for parking. Over all it was a great stay. The staff I encountered was helpful, happy and all around nice. I wouldn't compare it to the someplace like the Bellagio or anything super fancy but definitley for the money you get more than you think at the Lafayette. I certainly will recommend it to any friends or family that wish to go to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you have daytime activities planned out but still wish to do something other than stay coupes up in a room then the Lafayette has that as well. I stayed overnight on a Thursday and they had a movie playing on a big projector screen by the pool. They had a calendar with events and live bands were among the things planned each day. Simple but fun enough.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
HEATHER C.
SIMI VALLEY, CA
Jun 25, 2013

FANTASTIC WEDDING SITE

WE HAD A GREAT TIME ATTENDING A FRIDAY WEDDING AND THEN A SATURDAY POOL PARTY. IT WAS VERY COOL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
Dustn
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 3, 2013

Not too shabby for the price, location of room and location in general

I took my fiancé to San Diego for her Birthday and we love old school hotels (if they are maintained properly). We stayed at the Lafayette for 3 Nights and had a great time there. The staff was quite nice excluding when the manager explained to me that I had to smoke completely away from the facility. I know the rules and laws make him want to enforce them (no problem with that), but a small recreation area or at least a butt can near the "smoking area" would have been nice. We stayed right on the Poolside which we thought would be a bit annoying since Fridays they have a Pin-up'esk Big Pool Party. We were wrong. It was fun to see everyone having fun. There is a great Restaurant at the Hotel and an excellent bar across the road that I would totally recommend. All in all, it was a great place and we would probably stay there again if next time I didn't crave being closer to the water. Thanks Lafayette! : O)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great bar kiddie corner from the Hotel (across the road) that had excellent drinks. The Bartender was cool too, if we do stay there again, I'd love to go back and hang out there. They have Pool Tables, Great Music, TV's and a Smoking Patio in the back.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
D1 Traveler
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 16, 2013

Weekend trip

Hotel was cool and it was in a good location, but a bit overpriced. Overall was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
Moderately underwhelmed
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 9, 2013

Great Historical Charm, GREAT Location

We had a very nice stay at the Lafayette. We were initially struck by the great location and history behind the facility. We were so glad that there were two restaurants and a bar basically on site and had planned to dine at them. This did not come to pass however given our plans with others and the multitude of other amazing restaurants and bars that the city offers. Our room was poolside on the first floor with easy access also to the parking lot. We were VERY pleased that parking was included. The room was very plain and could stand some updating. Spartan is the word I would use to describe it. A refrigerator in the room would have been very useful. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean enough but could have been cleaner. The best aspect of the hotel was its location. Very easy access to any part of San Diego you would want to enjoy. We love Hillcrest and North Park and were only a few minutes drive to all the fun. I would definitely consider staying at the Lafayette again and would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hillcrest is just down the road.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
big craig
sacramento
Jan 14, 2013

short drive to everything

Liked the old time hollywood vibe. Very convenient restaurant bar in hotel. Friendly staff. Short drive to everything-centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great simple breakfast at the iMig restaurant in the lobby.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
caligurrl
san diego, ca
Nov 19, 2012

So beautiful, very clean, quiet, and restaurants walking distance

Husband and I stayed at the Lafayette 1 night on November 17, 2012 for my birthday. What a beautiful hotel!!! We parked underground in their private gated entry garage which you walk right into the lobby from your car, so close and convenient if you forget something in the car like I did. The hotel lobby was so pretty and historic. Our room was VERY clean and I loved how it was decorated. We felt like Hollywood starlets from a different era. The bed was very comfortable, I slept amazing and didn't want to leave. The bed linens and pillows were very cozy and comfy. Room temperature was perfect. There were no funky smells or any noise outside or indoors. I didn't hear a thing that would disrupt our stay. I loved the fixtures in the bathroom and everything worked like new. We have zero complaints and it was so cool to be minutes away from places to eat and drink. You can stay here and walk to get something to eat or shop. We will absolutely stay here again. We got a king bed in the manor. I've also visited an out of town friend this summer, staying in the rooms that open out onto the pool and that was a really awesome and clean room too! I definitely found the Lafayette to be a guaranteed best place to stay in this area and I look forward to staying here in the future. And ignore any old negative reviews or complaints prior to 2011, they are completely inaccurate because this hotel has undergone a 6 million dollar historical renovation in 2011. It's a beautiful and impressive stay. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
BudgetTraveler in her 20s
San Diego, CA
Oct 14, 2012

Great stay for the price

Charming hotel. Staff was friendly and warm. The rooms and beds were a lot nicer than I expected. I was hesitant to stay here due to how inexpensive it is. I'm used to getting what I pay for, but at Lafayette, that is not the case!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top