Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
530 reviews
A trip to the good life

From the moment we drove up the half circle driveway and entered the main lobby we knew we had... See full review

  • MDB Traveler
  • Jul 17, 2014
Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a... See full review

  • Suz Loves to Go
  • Apr 9, 2014
The recently renovated Lafayette, Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows offers travelers a true sense of San Diego culture and history. Located in the trendy and up and coming neighborhood of North Park, the hotel is only 1 mile from Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and a short drive to both downtown and the beaches. With an eclectic collection of rooms, dining options and neighborhood haunts, the Lafayette is not your typical California boutique hotel but certainly one of San Diego's best kept secrets. Free internet. While on vacation spend your money on things you want, not need. Fitness Center features Life Fitness Equipment w/TV's Treadmills, Elliptical, Bicycle, free wieghts and pullup bar.

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (530)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
530 out of 530
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
77ale77
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great stay in SD

I was a little worried about having booked at this hotel from the few negative reviews I read online but from the moment we got there it was awesome. We were allowed to check in early and headed straight to the room, no problems. room seemed a little small but had all the essentials especially soft comfortable beds, I was VERY pleased with that. Room had a fridge and microwave which came in handy. Overall it was a pleasant experience and would definitely stay there again if I am in the area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fabby Guillen
Santa Ana, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

party

Hotel was under construction the staff was not very helpful and requested iron which stated they had on website but they ran out. Yet we had an ironing board. When asked about taxis they stated here are the numbers they do not assist in getting you one. Also they were not very friendly or helpful when asking about area or food places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Taxi only 5 minutes and 5 dollars you can fit 5 people. Lips dinner and entertainment.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a.rose
San Fernando, CA, USA
Aug 30, 2011

21st Birthday Trip

This was my second time at the hotel, I didn't stay in a poolside room this time but the room was still nice with an ok view. I did get stuck in the elevator for about 10 minutes while going to my room for the first time but other then that I still enjoyed my stay. It's a short drive from the hotel to Old Town and an even shorter drive to the zoo. Although I would recommend to put a mirror in the room other then the one in the bathroom everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book a Haunted Tour ahead of time.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a.rose
San Fernando, CA, USA
Aug 30, 2011

21st Birthday Trip

This was my second time at the hotel, I didn't stay in a poolside room this time but the room was still nice with an ok view. I did get stuck in the elevator for about 10 minutes while going to my room for the first time but other then that I still enjoyed my stay. It's a short drive from the hotel to Old Town and an even shorter drive to the zoo. Although I would recommend to put a mirror in the room other then the one in the bathroom everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book a Haunted Tour ahead of time.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kidd
Thousand Oaks
Aug 24, 2011

Overpriced

Staff was not helpful at check in, just stared at me. Unable to use pool due to DJ party with locals laying out and drinking. Room had no refrigerator, one trash can, no blow dryer. Had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs since their elevator was broken. No bell boy for assistance in carring our belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kidd
Thousand Oaks
Aug 24, 2011

Overpriced

Staff was not helpful at check in, just stared at me. Unable to use pool due to DJ party with locals laying out and drinking. Room had no refrigerator, one trash can, no blow dryer. Had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs since their elevator was broken. No bell boy for assistance in carring our belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
andrealeaf
Long Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2011

The good and the Bed

The Good:The room is great, the service is good! The Bad: Breakfeast is very bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It's very close to the Zoo and Balboa Park

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
andrealeaf
Long Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2011

The good and the Bed

The Good:The room is great, the service is good! The Bad: Breakfeast is very bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It's very close to the Zoo and Balboa Park

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torrance, CA
Aug 1, 2011

too noisy to sleep

The hotel didn't look as bad as some of the reviews made it out to be. I think they were further along in the remodeling phase. My room had an LCD TV, some new furniture, and modern wall paper. The pool was good enough to jump in for a little while to cool off. Everything fell apart however when night came. Noise from the street came into the room without hesitation. I checked the window a number of times to make sure it was closed. You could head people talking on the side walk as if they were in the room. Since it's on a major street, there were trucks driving by all night. Even after I fell asleep, I kept waking up with the symphony of street life. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iwaz
san jose, ca
Aug 1, 2011

Too bad, so sad... I remember you when

I remember the Lafayette from the late fifties as a child. We spent many summer weeks here visiting with relatives locally and from the front it has changed little. It obvious that some renovations are occurring, but if the changes seen are indicative of the overall goal of restoration for this beloved hotel, then the owners need to consider a redue. The overall impression is of a aged queen, well past her prime, trying to spruce up for a lost love, but its clear she has lost her sense of style in the effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top