Rate based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 25, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
318 reviews
Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a... See full review

  • Suz Loves to Go
  • Apr 9, 2014
Chic hotel

Very friendly staff, great location No Park SD, Clean facility with neat amenities- outdoor... See full review

  • DCJG
  • Nov 29, 2013
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
Jenniferandkids
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Adequate

If you set "Motel 6" in mind, you won't be disappointed. If you expect more, you will certainly feel let down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Memory Line

When my husband and I first saw the hotel from the outside we were very excited as it brought back memories of a place that we lived at for 2 years. Walking into the lobby was great. The greeting the first day of arrival was great. There to help and serve. Our room was large and very comfortable. The TV was another thing as the remote control volume did not work. Then the next day it was replaced and the volume button changed the channels and the channel button change the channel to a tune of skipping 5 channels at a time. The next day we turn in the remote a work order was to be place and well we couldn't watch TV as the work order was not done, the adittude of the night desk clerk was rude and was of no help to getting our TV fixed. On check out the next morning the night desk clerk wanted to argue over it not being his responsibility and that it was the day clerks responsibility. Over all our stay was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa Park was great to see. Star bucks is right down the road with Internet. The restaurant The Red Fox was great.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 21, 2008

Ok for $$$ Big bucks

Several Families vacationing and utilizing the pool. Crowd was a little loud for my taste. Room was nice, staff friendly. It was just okay, and not the most cost effective place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was Great.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Williamsville
Jun 15, 2008

Not a good for the money

The impression we had was, it was a remodelled hotelto current standards. To start with; the elevator (only one available for the clients and the hotel maintenance/maids) was dirty with old carpet on the elevator floor. The ancient room air conditioner was found to be turned off when we checked into the room - the temperature in the room was almost 80 degrees with sun shinning through the windows. The old air conditioner unit took several hours before it brough the temp down to a comfortable 71 degrees. The bath room was NOT remodelled and room was less than adequately clean. Whilw taking shower, the temperature of the water kept changing every 10 to 15 seconds making it a uncomfortable shower on both days of stay. The toileteries were cheap and there was no lotion. Ice was only available on the first floor in a poorly lighted hidden place behind a patio bar.The sticker they provided at the time of checking said the they offer a free breakfast buffet - giving us an impression that there would be hot made to order items and freshly cooked eggs, sausage, bacon, etc. But there was only regular contnental breakfast items; instead of pasteries they had waffle makers for use. The front desk staff were courteous - the bar staff charged one evening one price for premium drink and the next day another tender charged three times regular charge after dispensing the drink!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Fargo, ND
Apr 21, 2008

good location

the pool are was nice but the room itself was very old looking, run down,etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

it was very close to everything we wanted to do in San Diego

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Apr 17, 2008

Great

Lafayette Hotel satisfied all my expectations, it is very well located in San Diego for every purposes (close to everything), the staff are great, the service is pretty good, very clean the whole hotel, nice amenities and probably they will improve the continental breakfast in terms of varieties, I spend a beautiful time there and I will strongly recommend for people who travel to san diego for family or business purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to Balboa Park

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC
Apr 15, 2008

Great location and kid friendly

We stayed at the Lafayette for 7 nights. (2 adults and boys 6 and 9 years of age) Our first room's airconditioning did not work and staff was happy to move us to a similar room. We had a pool side lanai and enjoyed the 2 queens and pull out couch(matress could have been smoother, but 9 year old son did not complain). Fridge and microwave were very usefull. Hotel was in quiet location, lots of kids to play with in huge pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We could have walked to Balboa park. Fashion valley just down the hill. Great access to all freeways. Great mexican and lebanese food short walk

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 2, 2008

My review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

We had a great time, meeting neighborhood folks that use the hot tub on a regular basis. The room was very comfortable and cleaned daily, though our sink drained slowly and there was no fan in the bathroom. I would've liked to have had a small desk in the room on which to work. The front desk folks, while pleasant, were not very offering in terms of letting us know of discount tickets, locations of things, bus schedules, etc. We did track all of this in the small 2-computer business center, where there was not paper or pens with which to work. Breakfast was ok, in a rather dark area used as a bar in the evening. Would love for the breakfast to be served in the well-let couch/chair area. The light was beautiful!. Not enough waffle makers...line every morning. Coffee very weak until the last day! More fruit and yoghurt would be nice. Has anyone approached this hotel about using utensils and plates that are recyclable? Overall, the location was great for getting to lots of different places. A few too many sirens at night (indicating the neighborhood) but we were given a room on the back side which was quiet. Loved the hotel/pool/hot tub (which was not entirely working!) and layout of hotel. It could stand a little 'deep cleaning' on the hotel stairs hallways etc. The rooms and house staff were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful Georgian restaurant across the street, MacDonalds and Denny's also within walk.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Mar 29, 2008

Very nice pool.

THIS IS A OLD HOTEL THAT IS GOING THROUGH A RENOVATION PROCESS. I HAD A GROUND FLOOR POOL SIDE ROOM. IT WAS GREAT TO WALK OUT THE FRENCH DOORS DIRECTLY TO THE POOL. WE PARKED OUR CAR DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF THE ENTRY DOOR TO OUR ROOM. THIS WAS GREAT! THE MAJOR PROBLEM WAS THE BEDS WERE VERY OLD AND UNCOMFORTABLE. OVERALL IT IS A GOOD VALUE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SHOPPING AND DINING AT HOTEL CIRCLE NEARBY.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 29, 2008

bad area

this hotel was just ok! not really worth the amount of money i paid for me and my girlfriend. the area was a bit sketchy and is just in the middle of small run down buisness'. Not a bad hotel beds comfterable and the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to zoo

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
Mar 13, 2008

Would Love To Stay There Again!!

I was somewhat skeptical about staying at this hotel based on prior reviews, but for the price decided to give it a try. Check-in was great. We came in late and the staff was extremely friendly and much to our surprise we were put into a HUGE suite!! The suite was clean and comfortable...In addition to being enormous! The staff was always very kind and when I called downstairs for extra pillows because I had knee surgery that morning they were brought up to my room in maybe 2-3 minutes. The hotel is an older hotel, but that adds to the charm. Some areas need a little repainting, but no more than many other exclusive and much more expensive hotels that I have stayed at. The breakfast was a nice addition and the outdoor areas were beautiful. As far as the area...it is not the least bit bad. It is in an older part of town but I felt extremely safe. I will definitely stay at this hotel again whenever I need to stay in the San Diego area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top