Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
530 reviews
A trip to the good life

From the moment we drove up the half circle driveway and entered the main lobby we knew we had... See full review

  • MDB Traveler
  • Jul 17, 2014
Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a... See full review

  • Suz Loves to Go
  • Apr 9, 2014
The recently renovated Lafayette, Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows offers travelers a true sense of San Diego culture and history. Located in the trendy and up and coming neighborhood of North Park, the hotel is only 1 mile from Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and a short drive to both downtown and the beaches. With an eclectic collection of rooms, dining options and neighborhood haunts, the Lafayette is not your typical California boutique hotel but certainly one of San Diego's best kept secrets. Free internet. While on vacation spend your money on things you want, not need. Fitness Center features Life Fitness Equipment w/TV's Treadmills, Elliptical, Bicycle, free wieghts and pullup bar.

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (530)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
530 out of 530
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jenniferandkids
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Adequate

If you set "Motel 6" in mind, you won't be disappointed. If you expect more, you will certainly feel let down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 13, 2010

Past It's Prime

In my first room, there was no TV remote, no internet service until the next morning, and not much concern from the desk. A/C had bad rattle (that eventually quieted down), one of the two phones did not work, the couch had torn upholstery and there was only decaf coffee for the coffee pot. No one thing that big, but a bad pattern. I asked for and was given a new room the next morning; no help in moving. In my second room, that afternoon A/C took 15 minutes to start cooling, hot/cold water controls in showers were backwards. Room was supplied with regular coffee for first day, but was not replenished for second day. Rooms are spacious and quiet. I left my cell phone charger in first room when I moved, and staff did retrieve it and return it to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChriJa
Richfield,Utah
Apr 12, 2010

nice for couples

The staff was super nice and friendly, food was easy and varied in the area. First it looks like it's a "questional" area, but the underground gated parking and gated hotel area make for a quite stay. Really nice pool and spa area with hotel provided music

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Both Sea World and San Diego Zoo within 10 minute drive. Easy drive to each. Word of advise though... In house eatery "The Red Fox Room" should be skipped.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChriJa
Richfield,Utah
Apr 12, 2010

nice for couples

The staff was super nice and friendly, food was easy and varied in the area. First it looks like it's a "questional" area, but the underground gated parking and gated hotel area make for a quite stay. Really nice pool and spa area with hotel provided music

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Both Sea World and San Diego Zoo within 10 minute drive. Easy drive to each. Word of advise though... In house eatery "The Red Fox Room" should be skipped.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura, Ca
Apr 5, 2010

Not very good...

Great location, and the hotel has a lot of potential. However, it rained our first day...and low-and-behold there was a hole in the roof that leaked on my bed. The hotel gave us a different room, but not a credit for that miserable, cold night. So, I had a chance to sleep in 2 different rooms. They were big, but very dirty and in some cases disrepair. The carpets are from the 1970s or early 1980s. I'm not being unfairly critical, but there is now way to overlook the shape the rooms are in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Both the Zoo and Sea World are nearby.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 5, 2010

Spring Break Getaway

We were able to check in early. Staff was nice but did not explain about hotel or the flyers they had with places near hotel. Room was small but worked for us. The room slept 4 people but they only left enough towels for 2, was not happy having to keep requesting extra towels. The beds were uncomfortable. The breakfast was nice but was disappointed that there was not a selection of fruit or pastries. They only had apples, sliced bread & plain bagels. They also served the same cereal for 3 days in a row, which was Raisin Bran. The waffles were good but took along time as there was a huge line (had to make yourself & only two waffle makers)The fitness room was a joke. It had 2 pieces of equipment that were out dated and falling apart. I asked and they stated that is all they had. The hotel had a lot of history and was neat to look at the pictures and read the articles. The hotel was close to the freeways and a great location to stay at. We had a good time overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

They gave a list of the local restaturants that were close along with the nearest stores (grocery. pharmacy, wal-mart), malls and attractions. They included detailed directions or maps which were very helpful. We dined at a few of the restaturants on the list and were impressed with the food. However, they did not tell us about the Steakhouse located on the property, I found it by accident. Didn't eat there though.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura, Ca
Apr 5, 2010

Not very good...

Great location, and the hotel has a lot of potential. However, it rained our first day...and low-and-behold there was a hole in the roof that leaked on my bed. The hotel gave us a different room, but not a credit for that miserable, cold night. So, I had a chance to sleep in 2 different rooms. They were big, but very dirty and in some cases disrepair. The carpets are from the 1970s or early 1980s. I'm not being unfairly critical, but there is now way to overlook the shape the rooms are in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Both the Zoo and Sea World are nearby.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 5, 2010

Spring Break Getaway

We were able to check in early. Staff was nice but did not explain about hotel or the flyers they had with places near hotel. Room was small but worked for us. The room slept 4 people but they only left enough towels for 2, was not happy having to keep requesting extra towels. The beds were uncomfortable. The breakfast was nice but was disappointed that there was not a selection of fruit or pastries. They only had apples, sliced bread & plain bagels. They also served the same cereal for 3 days in a row, which was Raisin Bran. The waffles were good but took along time as there was a huge line (had to make yourself & only two waffle makers)The fitness room was a joke. It had 2 pieces of equipment that were out dated and falling apart. I asked and they stated that is all they had. The hotel had a lot of history and was neat to look at the pictures and read the articles. The hotel was close to the freeways and a great location to stay at. We had a good time overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

They gave a list of the local restaturants that were close along with the nearest stores (grocery. pharmacy, wal-mart), malls and attractions. They included detailed directions or maps which were very helpful. We dined at a few of the restaturants on the list and were impressed with the food. However, they did not tell us about the Steakhouse located on the property, I found it by accident. Didn't eat there though.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarah Banana
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 28, 2010

Great location, hotel needs some help

So I had stayed here in September with a big group and didn't really see much of the hotel but I remember it being in an area central to just about everything in NorthPark so I figured I'd stay again. Alright, so the guy at the front desk was a little dry and I didn't get the warm fuzzies from him. Fine, whatever, it happens. I'll live. He gives me this map that doesn't do much in terms of telling me where my room is and even better the parking garage is on the exact opposite side of the hotel from my room even though there's a small lot on the side that is actually very close to my room. That is, if I could get to my room without having to walk halfway across the hotel to backtrack to my room. I understand that there's a bar on that side of the hotel and they probably don't want people off the street being able to wander anywhere near the rooms (at least this is the only reason I can think of). The long and short of this whole rant here is that the hotel isn't laid out too well and check your map because there might be a better parking option. So, the room...I walked into a hot, humid room that smelled like cigarettes and chocolate for some reason (non smoking room mind you). The bed was hard as a rock and the bedding was a standard hotel bedding with an itchy comforter I immediately ripped off. Having to walk all over the hotel to go back up to our room (there's a stair case near the room but the door locks behind you on the way out) was a bit annoying, the front desk guy was snarky each day when we asked for more coffee, and the room smelled. Those are pretty much all the negatives I've got. The Red Fox bar is totally awesome. Cheap drinks, good food, and really great service. The location of this hotel is pretty great. There are so many amazing places to eat in NorthPark that I couldn't really list them all here. I appreciate the history of the Lafayette but I wish they'd update their rooms as the tiny TVs and horrible beds really ruined it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

GOLDEN DONUT. Do yourself a favor and go there before you check in. It's on University and Texas. Buy some apple fritters (they are HUGE, easily split between two people) and let them sit for a few days. They'll get delicious and crispy. The Thai tea and coffee are incredible (albeit super strong). Best donuts I've ever had anywhere. If you were looking for a nice stroll (which you might want I mean it is donuts we're talking about here afterall) I suppose you could walk but you could also drive.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarah Banana
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 28, 2010

Great location, hotel needs some help

So I had stayed here in September with a big group and didn't really see much of the hotel but I remember it being in an area central to just about everything in NorthPark so I figured I'd stay again. Alright, so the guy at the front desk was a little dry and I didn't get the warm fuzzies from him. Fine, whatever, it happens. I'll live. He gives me this map that doesn't do much in terms of telling me where my room is and even better the parking garage is on the exact opposite side of the hotel from my room even though there's a small lot on the side that is actually very close to my room. That is, if I could get to my room without having to walk halfway across the hotel to backtrack to my room. I understand that there's a bar on that side of the hotel and they probably don't want people off the street being able to wander anywhere near the rooms (at least this is the only reason I can think of). The long and short of this whole rant here is that the hotel isn't laid out too well and check your map because there might be a better parking option. So, the room...I walked into a hot, humid room that smelled like cigarettes and chocolate for some reason (non smoking room mind you). The bed was hard as a rock and the bedding was a standard hotel bedding with an itchy comforter I immediately ripped off. Having to walk all over the hotel to go back up to our room (there's a stair case near the room but the door locks behind you on the way out) was a bit annoying, the front desk guy was snarky each day when we asked for more coffee, and the room smelled. Those are pretty much all the negatives I've got. The Red Fox bar is totally awesome. Cheap drinks, good food, and really great service. The location of this hotel is pretty great. There are so many amazing places to eat in NorthPark that I couldn't really list them all here. I appreciate the history of the Lafayette but I wish they'd update their rooms as the tiny TVs and horrible beds really ruined it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

GOLDEN DONUT. Do yourself a favor and go there before you check in. It's on University and Texas. Buy some apple fritters (they are HUGE, easily split between two people) and let them sit for a few days. They'll get delicious and crispy. The Thai tea and coffee are incredible (albeit super strong). Best donuts I've ever had anywhere. If you were looking for a nice stroll (which you might want I mean it is donuts we're talking about here afterall) I suppose you could walk but you could also drive.

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Staten Island,NY
Mar 27, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

Hotel was very nice.Staff was Friendly.May sound cheesey,but the fact that they had a flyer with directions to each atttraction in San Diago was very very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top