Rate based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 25, 2014

Lafayette Hotel and Suites

3 stars
2223 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
318 reviews
Charming resort setting

We truly felt the Southern California experience. The Lafayette was clean, comfortable and has a... See full review

  • Suz Loves to Go
  • Apr 9, 2014
Chic hotel

Very friendly staff, great location No Park SD, Clean facility with neat amenities- outdoor... See full review

  • DCJG
  • Nov 29, 2013
Colonial-style mansion epitomizes elegance next to San Diego Zoo
Dating back to 1946, the Lafayette opened as a popular spot for celebrities and movie stars to socialize for nights at a time. With live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar, the property still celebrates its Hollywood roots today. The Lafayette is the closest hotel to the San Diego Zoo. Guests receive free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and on-site parking is also available. The on-site L Bar & Grill overlooks the hotel's Olympic-sized, Terrazzo-tile swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Historic property dates back to 1946
  • Closest hotel to San Diego Zoo with free shuttle
  • Listen to live music in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Lafayette Hotel & Suites offers 131 small but elegant rooms, including four suites. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and an in-room safe. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the Lafayette Hotel & Suites spent its first few decades as a popular spot among celebrities and movie stars. In addition to an impressive guest list, several prominent local figures have been permanent residents, including clothier Bill Solof, restaurateur Ray Lubach and San Diego Padres manager Lefty O'Doul.

Despite extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010, much of Lafayette's historic grandeur still exists today. One highlight of the San Diego property is the original, Olympic-sized Terrazzo-tile pool.  Guests and locals flock to the Red Fox Room & Piano Bar, which still hosts nightly entertainment. Guests also receive complimentary access to an on-site fitness center and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the lobby. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply) and parking is also available on site.

All guests receive complimentary shuttle service to the San Diego Zoo.

The on-site restaurant, the L Bar & Grill, sits in the hotel lobby and overlooks the pool. Guests can order light snacks in the Red Fox Room and Piano Bar as well.

Dining

The Red Fox

Sample a delectable fusion of mouth-watering steak varieties and creativley prepared seafood favourites alongside refreshing cocktails.

Hours:
Monday – Thursday  (11am – Midnight)
Friday – Saturday (11am – 1:30am)
Sunday (4pm – 1:30am)

Imig's Kitchen & Bar

Start the day with a modern twist on breakfast and brunch served in a relaxing and open setting.The restaurant also serves mid-day cocktails.

Hours:
Everyday (7am – 3pm)

Holidaymakers at Lafayette Hotel and Suites can also try out sumtuos cuisines, craft beer and local homecooked meals at North Park neighbourhood restaurants nearby. The hotel front desk can arrange for recommendtions and reservations.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Petco Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (5 mi/9 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Courtyard for outdoor events
  • 24-hour business center

 

Lafayette Hotel and Suites Rooms

Manor King - 1 King Bed
Pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet . Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer. Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Manor Queen - Two Queen Beds
Two pillow top Queen mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. Desk. Smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 37-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. Hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Poolside Room - 2 queen beds
Two pillow Top Queen Mattresses , triple sheeting with duvet. French doors opening directly onto or overlooking the famous Weissmuller Pool. Desk. Smart power with 3 power outlets & 2 USB charging ports, iPod/MP3 Ready AM/FM Clock Radio. 40-inch LCD television with expanded cable including 4 Showtime channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Laptop-compatible safe. Coffee Maker. Traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. hair dryer, Air conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Suze Suites
Two private bedrooms separated by French doors each with its own bathroom, traditional shower/tub combination featuring Speakman showerhead. One room offers a twin over full bunk bed, multi-purpose dining table, 4 chairs, chalk board wall, smart power with 3 outlets & 2 USB charging ports and a 32-inch LCD television. Separate and private parents' bedroom has a pillow top California King mattress , triple sheeting with duvet, built in desk, microwave, refrigerator, laptop-compatible safe, I-Pod/MP3 ready clock radio, 40-inch flat screen TV, complimentary wireless internet and expanded cable including 4 Showtime stations. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lafayette Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7547 -117.1407
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located in North Park area of San Diego. One mile from San Diego Zoo, one mile from Mission Valley and minutes to downtown, SeaWorld and all San Diego Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 6.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 27.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,116.1 mi

Dining

Red Fox Steak House
The quintessential steakhouse that doesn't just reach for the lounge vibe, it helped define it. The entire interior was shipped to the United States for blonde cinema actress, Marion Davies, and was dismantled (again!) and installed at the Lafayette during the 1950's. If the history and nightly piano doesn't get you, the stiff cocktails, steak, and seafood surely will. Hours: Monday - Thursday (11am - Midnight) Friday - Saturday (11am - 1:30am) Sunday (4pm - 1:30am)
Imig's Kitchen & Bar
Loved by locals and guest alike, Imig's serves up a modern, casual and honest twist on breakfast and brunch. The relaxed and open setting gives guests the perfect space to gather daily for breakfast, brunch (or both, after all you're on vacation) or a mid-day custom cocktail overlooking the historic Weissmuller Pool. Hours: Everyday (7am - 3pm)
North Park Neighborhood Restaurants
Quickly becoming nationally recognized for it's culinary diversity and appreciation for craft beer, the neighborhood offers Lafayette guests an incredible opportunity for food exploration. We encourage you to dine with us once (ok, maybe twice) and then experience the local cuisine within our wonderful neighborhood! Our front desk can assist with recommendations and reservations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
miss_mlb
Business
san diego
Oct 3, 2010

run down dream

The best thing about this hotel is the pool- big enough for laps. Apparently they usually open it to the public on the weekends, which would have been a nuisance I'm guessing. They are suspending that right now since they are "renovating"...but for now it's great for laps. I saw someone reviewing it as terrible green water- not the case when I was there. Aside from the pool, though...this hotel is very low rent. The rooms, beds felt like a bad motel, stained carpet, cracked walls. The "breakfast buffet" was down a long hallway and in a room that felt like a bad conference room with low ceilings and a few tables set up. Cold cereal and bagels were the offerings. And, well, the coffee sucked. It wasn't a room I wanted to spend any time in. I guess the rates here are cheap, and I have heard there are better rooms by the pool. But I looked at 3 on the 3rd floor and they were all depressing. The location is near the 805, but as far as going out and walking anywhere, it's not that kind of neighborhood. Lots of cops out on a Sat. night. I was glad to have a frig and microwave, but the room just didn't have a comfortable vibe to it, so staying in it and eating food just wasn't ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Jill the frequent traveler
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 3, 2010

Renovation in Process

I can't wait to come back and check the Lafayette out after the renovations are done. The pool area & lobby look beautiful, just couldn't go swimming yet! Will be open Jan 2011. The rooms were spacious, but the beds were kind of hard & needed more pillows (3 smallish pillows for a king sized bed) - but we requested more, and were graciously supplied with our fill of pillows. It is a great central location for zipping around to a variety of destinations - only about 10 min from the airport, but not in a highly tourist area - loved that. We checked out a couple places in University Heights (less than a mile away) for happy hour - great trendy places, good happy hour deals. Also there is free underground gated parking, which is awesome for San Diego area hotels! One of the major downfalls we experienced was the breakfast "buffet". It consisted of one kind of bagel - only butter & jam offered, 2 kinds of cold cereal, coffee, and orange juice. It was set up on folding tables with a small radio in the corner of a dark room. It was kind of a sad little place considering what a great hotel it was. Maybe this should be set up in the lobby area so more people would utilize the gorgeous space, and could sit outside on the beautiful patio with their coffee, etc. A few more breakfast choices would have been nice as well. We visited the USS Midway and MCAS Miramar for the airshow while we were here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
jimmy the wrench
Minot North Dakota
Oct 2, 2010

compferitable----accomidateing

I didn't like the idea the pool was open to the public-----felt I was put into a cheaper room because I reserved my room on line----liked the parking garage----the remodeling was an inconvienance---but look to be doing a nice job---would like to stay again when it is done---the staff were very prfessional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Lafayette

This hotel and the attached Red Fox Restaurant/Bar has some very interesting history. The hotel is being refurbished at this point, but should be finished within the year. Our first evening we spent in a king room, at the front of the hotel. This location was rather noisy, due to traffic. We asked if we could be changed to a quieter room, and for no extra charge, they upgraded us to a two room suite near the back of the hotel. Very nice. The staff for the most part was very friendly and helpful. Although, we did experience one unfriendly latenight front desk gal. But besides her, everything and everyone else was very very pleasant, and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Check out the Red Fox

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca.
Sep 25, 2010

It was ok for the price.

Everything looks very old, however everything seem clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Perth Australia
Sep 19, 2010

Fantastic San Diego Break

Location was fine, not great but nearby restaurants and zoo etc. Fine for what we required as a young family traveling through San Diego. Great idea having maps to shopping Centres, museums etc!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cocos food was great...

Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
NYC Ad Guy in San Diego
New York City
Sep 14, 2010

Loved It for the Price & Experience

This hotel is getting a bum rap, though I will freely admit it is not for hotel snobs and people who want to be pampered and have everything be perfect. But I like places with personality and soul and history and the Lafayette has that and more, because what you get far exceeds the cost you pay. When I first made reservations, I went out of my way to ask for a refurbished room, since that's what many of the reviewers on these sites suggested. The room we got on the second floor was small and simple but nice and clean, with new beds, new bathroom, fresh paint, flat screen plasma TV, etc. It was $79/night. But after touring the hotel, I ended up switching to one of the as-yet un-refurbished poolside rooms for $10 more, because they're huge, have a fridge and microwave, sofa, writing desk and lamps everywhere. They also have a pair of patio doors that open to the pool and jacuzzi area. The room itself needed work, no doubt -- a few spots had peeling paint, the door was rusty, the fridge needed to be defrosted, the beds were a bit lumpy and the TV was smaller and not digital. I didn't care. The atmosphere around the pool was festive and full of people having fun (but in good, clean ways). It was great to step right out the door to an Olympic size pool and swim, and the vibe all around was just healthy and good. Plus, the room was massive, which was good since we were a family of four -- and we had a couple meals in our room because we could store cold cuts and drinks in the fridge. I dealt with three different people at the front desk and they were all friendly and helpful. The game room was limited, but my son and I had a good time. There is much to explore. The front desk has a short history of the hotel, which is very interesting and worth checking out. For many years, this was one of San Diego's Three Top Hotels. Yes, it needs work, but it reeks of history and soul, and I'd gladly stay again if I go back to town. Again, if you're the type of person who needs to feel like royalty when they go to a hotel, this ain't the place. But if you're looking for a good deal and a real taste of what old San Diego used to be, I can't say enough about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
PENELOPE PITSTOP
stockton
Aug 30, 2010

surprisingly charming

such a quaint old place undergoing a facelift will love to see it when its done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Brisbane, Australia
Aug 30, 2010

San Diego Hospitality - Southern Style

Great service and a cool historic vibe at The Lafayette. Ask for a refurbished room - the beds are great! Doesn't really matter not having Tea/Coffee/Fridge etc in the new rooms, but no Wi-Fi sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Lafayette Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
San Diego
Aug 29, 2010

Nightmare on El Cajon Blvd.

Scary looking tweeker couple yelling at each other all night in next room. Found used condom under the bed. Kept a $57.50 deposit on my debit card without refunding it, even after I complained 6 days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top