Rate based on Check-in: Feb 20, 2016 Check-out: Feb 21, 2016

La Pensione Hotel

2 stars
View map of 606 West Date St, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
5 reviews
Weekend Getaway

I stayed at the La Pensione with my boyfriend (this was his first visit to San Diego). As a native,... See full review

  • PSU College Kid
  • Dec 30, 2014
Perfect location

Small room, but cozy. Well organized and with all the necesary amenities. Garage small, youll put... See full review

  • Delia1
  • Jul 7, 2013
Downtown San Diego.rooms have one or two Queen Beds bathtub and-or shower cable TV desk hairdryer refrigerator phone with voicemail-data port with wifi in lobby and courtyard some rooms have refrigerator.Location is perfect-San Diego s Little Italy neighborhood-Just blocks to airport train trolley Convention Center Civic Center Gas lamp district Horton Plaza Petco Park and Seaport Village.Trolley to Old Town Qualcom Stadium or Mexican Border.Ferry to Coronado Island.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Pensione Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7232 -117.1686
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 1.50, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for La Pensione Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAstranger
Couples
Danville, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Good location

We stayed at the hotel for our New Year trip for three nights. The hotel is located in Little Italy which is close to the harbor. There is walking distance to downtown, Balboa Park and Gaslamp quarter. We were able to park our car in secured garage for $10 charge per day. The room was quite small and might be dusted better. It was also noisy enough. Furniture in the room was outworn. The refrigerator in the room was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Balboa Park

Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOYROD
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

In the heart of Little italy!

Cozy place to stay. However, hotel room is small and there's no coffeemaker in case you want to sip coffee right away. I would not suggest hotel for longer stay but for a week-end getaway, it is a sure place to go. Close to all amenities especially the Gaslamp District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is more convenient to take a cab if you want to go to the Gaslamp District even if trolley walking distance. Italian restaurants and cafes' are everywhere.

Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delia1
Couples
Ventura county
Jul 7, 2013

Perfect location

Small room, but cozy. Well organized and with all the necesary amenities. Garage small, youll put your parking skills to the test. But is better than a ticket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSU College Kid
Couples
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Weekend Getaway

I stayed at the La Pensione with my boyfriend (this was his first visit to San Diego). As a native, I have to say this hotel was in the perfect location. It's 2 blocks down from the bay in Little Italy and about a 15 minute walk down to the Gaslamp Quarter. Plus, there are so many cute shops and small delicious eateries that I've never been too. The only downside is that the rooms were a little small but, we only stayed for a night and for the price we paid, I'd say it was worth it. The staff was extremely friendly too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Grand Canyon, AZ
Aug 14, 2011

excellent price, location, and quality

at first I was apprehensive to book this hotel because, really, 99 bucks a night? There's gotta be something wrong with it, right? Wrong. This place was amazing. Yeah, the room was small, but really, if all you're going for is a nice getaway by yourself or with a significant other, what more do you need? The bed was amazingly comfortable, the cafe downstairs had delicious coffee and pastries, the restaurants all within walking distance were top notch. I loved it. I will definitely make this my hotel of choice when I stay in San Diego from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top