Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

La Pensione Hotel

3 stars
606 West Date St, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
94 reviews
Very cozy rooms!

I loved the look of the rooms! Lacking of mirrors but overall nice See full review

  • Swing dancer
  • May 10, 2014
Great San Diego hotel in the heart of little Italy

Located in the heart of Little Italy, this is a perfect weekend getaway. The ocean, great... See full review

  • Bob 'n Jan
  • Sep 11, 2013
Downtown San Diego.rooms have one or two Queen Beds bathtub and-or shower cable TV desk hairdryer refrigerator phone with voicemail-data port with wifi in lobby and courtyard some rooms have refrigerator.Location is perfect-San Diego s Little Italy neighborhood-Just blocks to airport train trolley Convention Center Civic Center Gas lamp district Horton Plaza Petco Park and Seaport Village.Trolley to Old Town Qualcom Stadium or Mexican Border.Ferry to Coronado Island.

La Pensione Hotel Rooms

Standard
Euro 1 Queen Deluxe - Private shower. Air conditioning. Cable TV. Modem connection and desk. Limited Parking. Two person maximum and a no pet policy are enforced.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Euro 1 Queen - Priced From 99.99 New European Contemporary Interiors one queen bed private shower air conditioning flat screen TV cable TV voicemail modem connection and desk Limited Parking. Two person maximum and a no pet policy are enforced.
Standard
Standard Queen - Priced From 89.99 All rooms featuring one Queen bed private bath and shower air conditioning cable TV voicemail modem connection desk and refrigerator limited parking. Two person maximum and a no pet policy are enforced.
Suite
Euro 2 Queen Suite - Two queen beds. Shower. Air conditioning. Cable TV. Modem connection and desk. Limited Parking. Four person maximum and a no pet policy are enforced.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Pensione Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7232 -117.1686
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 1.50, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.3 mi
  • Sea World: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.8 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.6 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

VINCENZOS ITALIAN RESTAURANT
OPEN 7 DAYS
CAFFE ITALIA
Cuisine Type-ESPRESSO BAR OPEN 7 DAYS

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for La Pensione Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Get ready to pay for parking

There was no parking available within three blocks and when I did find a spot it cost me ten dollars and was not 'over night' parking. After complaining the manager did credit me the ten dollars though. There was no air conditioning in the room and even this close to the ocean, opening the door was like walking into a furnace. The room was as small as my walk in closet and the water pressure in the shower barely allowed the stream to trickle down the cracked tub surround. There are many hotels to stay at in San Diego, run from this one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Racer Ex
The hot desert
Aug 3, 2009

Noisy & Small (not 3 star)

Tiny bed, tiny room. Very noisy on the Saturday night I stayed there. But they are located in the heart of the party district, so I'll give them a pass on that. If you want a fairly cheap room & want to go out drinking & don't wanna worry about driving, then this place is ok for a crash pad. If you want to enjoy a peaceful San Diego weekend, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler From LA
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 12, 2011

Pass On This Hotel!

Wanted to write this review while I was at the hotel, but as the woman at the front desk said when I asked about WiFi "Some rooms get it, some rooms don't". Easily the hardest bed I have ever experienced in a hotel. I never have to wonder what it feels like to sleep on a box spring, because I think I experienced it at this hotel. Rooms were tiny, which wasn't a big deal. "Amenities" like a clock or a nightstand were non-existent. Worst part about it was the large amount of hair found in the sheets. Not our hair! This place was awful and I would avoid it at all costs. Only thing going for it was the cute dog in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego ca
Oct 5, 2009

first time stay

We only stayed for one night, The room was so small and was not updated. the walls were chipping and the sink had a nasty stain in it. Also I was not happy to find that there were bugs in my bed. I think they were termites or something like that. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jun 21, 2010

A NIGHTMARISH EXPERIENCE...

When I was looking to book a downtown San Diego hotel with the best bang for your buck, I came across a boutique hotel - La Pensione. It was newly remodeled and got decent reviews, so I decided to give it a shot. When my girlfriend and I arrived, it looked like the best location - right in the heart of Little Italy. After we checked, we walked towards our room and it seemed really small and parts of the hotel were under construction since they were in the process of remodeling, which wasn't a big deal. As we got into our room, it was tiny, but everything looked brand new - newly remodeled bathroom, nice bed, and a 32" LCD. Not a bad room for the price. However, we noticed outside our window was an open air dining area, which was rather noisy around dinner time. We shut the window which helped. My girlfriend told me to lock the door and I told her it automatically locks when you shut the door. She said, "No its not, the deadbolt isn't on!" I was like, "fine. ok!" At around midnight, as we were just laying in bed about to go to sleep, we heard someone trying to open our door with their keycard. We didn't think anything of it as we thought someone had the wrong room. So we tried to go back to sleep. At 2am we heard someone trying to enter our room again! This time we noticed that the door actually opened, but the deadbolt stopped the door from opening. I ran to the peephole, but saw no one. Then around 6am, it happened again! We were pretty shaken up by this. We figured someone had the master key to the room and was trying to break in! We are lucky the deadbolt saved our lives!! In the morning, we wanted to check out of the hotel asap! I informed the front desk what had happened. They were completely dumbfounded and they didn't know who could have done that. But nonetheless, it was a very nightmarish experience and I would never stay there again!!! We were happy to get out of there alive in one piece. DO NOT STAY HERE unless you want to get your room broken into!! And another lesson - Always deadbolt your door!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mountain View, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Terrible hotel, do not go

I would absolutely NEVER stay at this hotel again. My husband's succint description: "Hot and uncomfortable." There was no air conditioning in the rooms, although there was air conditioning in the hallway. We were forced to choose between privacy (having our door closed) and a comfortable temperature (leaving it open to get some of the cooler air). At the end of the day, the room was hotter than the outside temperature, and there was little or no airflow to alleviate the problem. The cold water was never actually cold, only lukewarm. The rooms are tiny (I mean really, REALLY tiny), with only enough room to clear the bed on either side, and a short walkway past the sink and bathroom. The location of the hotel was not in a particularly noisy area, but our room specifically was quite loud. Even with the doors and windows closed, we could hear people in the neighboring rooms, on the walkways, and in the cafe courtyard beneath us. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The parking situation is terrible as there are not enough parking spaces for even half of the rooms. There is no advance reservation of parking, and they will not call to tell you if a parking space has opened up. We had to stay around the hotel and ask repeatedly from 7 am to 11 am, hoping someone had left. All in all, we had a terrible experience. We would never return, and absolutely NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. The only nice things about the hotel were it's location (only about 1.5 miles from the convention center) and the restaurants in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in Little Italy, and the restaurants surrounding it had FANTASTIC food.

Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mountain View, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Terrible hotel, do not go

I would absolutely NEVER stay at this hotel again. My husband's succint description: "Hot and uncomfortable." There was no air conditioning in the rooms, although there was air conditioning in the hallway. We were forced to choose between privacy (having our door closed) and a comfortable temperature (leaving it open to get some of the cooler air). At the end of the day, the room was hotter than the outside temperature, and there was little or no airflow to alleviate the problem. The cold water was never actually cold, only lukewarm. The rooms are tiny (I mean really, REALLY tiny), with only enough room to clear the bed on either side, and a short walkway past the sink and bathroom. The location of the hotel was not in a particularly noisy area, but our room specifically was quite loud. Even with the doors and windows closed, we could hear people in the neighboring rooms, on the walkways, and in the cafe courtyard beneath us. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The parking situation is terrible as there are not enough parking spaces for even half of the rooms. There is no advance reservation of parking, and they will not call to tell you if a parking space has opened up. We had to stay around the hotel and ask repeatedly from 7 am to 11 am, hoping someone had left. All in all, we had a terrible experience. We would never return, and absolutely NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. The only nice things about the hotel were it's location (only about 1.5 miles from the convention center) and the restaurants in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in Little Italy, and the restaurants surrounding it had FANTASTIC food.

Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jun 21, 2010

A NIGHTMARISH EXPERIENCE...

When I was looking to book a downtown San Diego hotel with the best bang for your buck, I came across a boutique hotel - La Pensione. It was newly remodeled and got decent reviews, so I decided to give it a shot. When my girlfriend and I arrived, it looked like the best location - right in the heart of Little Italy. After we checked, we walked towards our room and it seemed really small and parts of the hotel were under construction since they were in the process of remodeling, which wasn't a big deal. As we got into our room, it was tiny, but everything looked brand new - newly remodeled bathroom, nice bed, and a 32" LCD. Not a bad room for the price. However, we noticed outside our window was an open air dining area, which was rather noisy around dinner time. We shut the window which helped. My girlfriend told me to lock the door and I told her it automatically locks when you shut the door. She said, "No its not, the deadbolt isn't on!" I was like, "fine. ok!" At around midnight, as we were just laying in bed about to go to sleep, we heard someone trying to open our door with their keycard. We didn't think anything of it as we thought someone had the wrong room. So we tried to go back to sleep. At 2am we heard someone trying to enter our room again! This time we noticed that the door actually opened, but the deadbolt stopped the door from opening. I ran to the peephole, but saw no one. Then around 6am, it happened again! We were pretty shaken up by this. We figured someone had the master key to the room and was trying to break in! We are lucky the deadbolt saved our lives!! In the morning, we wanted to check out of the hotel asap! I informed the front desk what had happened. They were completely dumbfounded and they didn't know who could have done that. But nonetheless, it was a very nightmarish experience and I would never stay there again!!! We were happy to get out of there alive in one piece. DO NOT STAY HERE unless you want to get your room broken into!! And another lesson - Always deadbolt your door!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Get ready to pay for parking

There was no parking available within three blocks and when I did find a spot it cost me ten dollars and was not 'over night' parking. After complaining the manager did credit me the ten dollars though. There was no air conditioning in the room and even this close to the ocean, opening the door was like walking into a furnace. The room was as small as my walk in closet and the water pressure in the shower barely allowed the stream to trickle down the cracked tub surround. There are many hotels to stay at in San Diego, run from this one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of La Pensione Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa fe springs, ca
May 10, 2010

Eh

Hotel was very cheap looking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top