Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

2 stars
View map of 1631 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
104 reviews
Work

It is exactly what I expected. For the value it is comparable in its services provided. I would... See full review

  • Chrisrbusby
  • Feb 9, 2015
excellent

had a wonderful stay, the hallways are a little uneven and sideways but other than that I thought... See full review

  • CHARISMA CASH
  • May 29, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle off Interstate 8 near San Diego International Airport, University of San Diego and San Diego Convention Center. Spend an exciting day at SeaWorld San Diego, or explore Balboa Park with museums and the famous San Diego Zoo and Safari Park. Drive just three minutes to historic sites, museums, fiestas and restaurants in Old Town San Diego. Find family-friendly dining at many restaurants within three miles of this lodging. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and stay up to date with the complimentary newspaper and wireless Internet access. The friendly 24-hour front desk staff can help plan an exciting day. Relax in our outdoor pool and spa, stay productive in the business center, and enjoy guest laundry and on-site ATM. Comfortable guest rooms include pillow-top bedding, microwave, refrigerator and TV with HBO. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult at this smoke-free lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7587 -117.1785
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Legoland: 26.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chancy
iowa
Apr 29, 2012

GREAT SLEEPING ROOM!

good for three older adults - BUT FAR AWAY FROM ELEVATOR and not much on breakfast.... BARE MIMIMUM BUT HAD NECESSITIES. More "surfaces" for three adults to put personals on, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

C Level is great restaurant on Harbor Island. Great restaurant in Del Mar is Poisidon.......

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cinwil
Business
san diego
Feb 20, 2015

overnight stay

i stayed here for two nights, the price was cheap, so i guess i cant expect too much. you get what you pay for. its an older hotel and hasnt had any renovations done to it, in a very, very long time. the staff was friendly, and they have a continental breakfast that i never ate at, however i heard another guest complaining that all the food was gone and it hadnt been open for breakfast very long. the one thing that concerned me was all of the police activity in the middle of the night. not sure why there were so many police officers and all of there police cars in the parking lot early in the morning,but i was told this happens on a regular basis at the howard johnsons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrisrbusby
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Work

It is exactly what I expected. For the value it is comparable in its services provided. I would stay there again if need be. In a city like this, sometimes cost is the most attractive part of the stay. It was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandpa R
Business
West Jordan
Feb 9, 2015

Great trip lousy hotel

1st room ceiling leaked from a broken pipe. 1st and 2nd rooms had broken furniture, intermittent success with wifi and an unpleasant smell. The wifi worked off and on, mostly off. The free breakfast was lousy, mini Danish, cereal and juice was all they offered. We went to the store to buy breakfast and kept it in our fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit San Diego but not Howard Johnsons

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arthur C.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

temporary stay while house is remodeled

I have been staying here the last few days the place is clean fridge and microwave is a big plus! free continental breakfast with delicious pastries this place is worth every penny. legitimate, clean, and cozy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G from the SEA
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 1, 2014

Dissapointed

Rooms smelled like Mold, not very clean or nice. Very old and run down. It was a bed, decent location. Could have found better just driving around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDF51
Business
SF
Oct 23, 2014

room,

the wifi was so weak, you couldnt be online in your room, the toilet didnt refill most of the time, and the energy saver light switch over the sink didnt work right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Singel traveler
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 21, 2014

Price is good, staff friendly, but very scary rooms!

I lead this review by saying, yes I got a great price , and the front hotel clerks were very kind, but the hotel in itself was really scary. As I walked to my room each room had lighters , cigarette ashes, and butts on the ground, and what looked like spit bottles or cups for chewing tobacco all outside on each room's window seal (even though they were supposed to be non smoking rooms.) The first room they put me in had nasty dark stains on the couch, tears in the curtains, and my toilet overflowed. Again, the hotel clerk was very kind and told me he would get a repair man upstairs immediately, but after waiting I called back and he moved me to a new room, which unfortunately had the same stained decor, and a huge damaged hole in the wall. I ended up sleeping head to toe covered in fear of bed bugs. Again, I got a great deal on the room and there are many other reputable hotels beside this hotel, and a lovely restaurant up the street (The Village Inn Diner) but I won't stay at this hotel ever again. So sad, I tried to leave a tip for the maid and the clerk had no money in the drawer to break my 20.00. Also, the continental breakfast ends before 10am too I believe. If you can handle the run down state of the rooms, and the hallways with cigarettes butts and ashes, for a good price - then go for it! The staff was friendly as well, but I encourage the owners to upgrade the look of the rooms and the nasty hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be careful for too good of deals. Find the balance as usually if its too cheap there is a reason for that.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swedeboy
Business
Marana, AZ
Sep 25, 2014

My stay at Howard Johnson's

The hotel is located near Sea World and the San Diego beeches. This was perfect for me. The hotel is average but the room was clean and the staff were friendly. If you seek a cheaper room in a location near to San Diego beeches and the downtown area, then this is a good option. D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I dined at a restaurant some 7 blocks west of the hotel. I do not recall the name but the food was good and the service excellent. D

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDinsider
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 15, 2014

It's inexpensive for a reason

The staff was friendly but the room had old stains and a lot of wear and tear on the furniture. We were glad to have a working air conditioner in the room. The hotel is older and run down but it was inexpensive so it is hard to complain too much; you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dnsims123
Business
san diego
Sep 8, 2014

nice place to stay

Friendly staff. Wish u had weekly rates. Nice clean place and fairly quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top