Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

2 stars
1631 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
109 reviews
excellent

had a wonderful stay, the hallways are a little uneven and sideways but other than that I thought... See full review

  • CHARISMA CASH
  • May 29, 2014
Overly satisfied

For what I paid I have to admit I was extremely impressed with my stay here. Out room had a mini... See full review

  • Awesome gf
  • Feb 19, 2013
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle off Interstate 8 near San Diego International Airport, University of San Diego and San Diego Convention Center. Spend an exciting day at SeaWorld San Diego, or explore Balboa Park with museums and the famous San Diego Zoo and Safari Park. Drive just three minutes to historic sites, museums, fiestas and restaurants in Old Town San Diego. Find family-friendly dining at many restaurants within three miles of this lodging. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and stay up to date with the complimentary newspaper and wireless Internet access. The friendly 24-hour front desk staff can help plan an exciting day. Relax in our outdoor pool and spa, stay productive in the business center, and enjoy guest laundry and on-site ATM. Comfortable guest rooms include pillow-top bedding, microwave, refrigerator and TV with HBO. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult at this smoke-free lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7587 -117.1785
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Sea World: 2.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Legoland: 26.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chancy
iowa
Apr 29, 2012

GREAT SLEEPING ROOM!

good for three older adults - BUT FAR AWAY FROM ELEVATOR and not much on breakfast.... BARE MIMIMUM BUT HAD NECESSITIES. More "surfaces" for three adults to put personals on, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

C Level is great restaurant on Harbor Island. Great restaurant in Del Mar is Poisidon.......

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Can Do Man
PHX, AZ
Jul 24, 2014

Dissatisfied in San Diego

The room was pretty compact which I can accept but nothing drained, the lavatory, the tub and sometimes the toilet. The times I went down to the office there was someone else there before me with a complaint. The rudeness of the staff in the office was unacceptable. The mildew on the ceiling in the bathroom the poor job of caulking around the toilet the old paint, I could go on and on. Let me just say it was not a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Can Do Man
PHX, AZ
Jul 22, 2014

Disappointed

The staff was rude, nothing drained, just a run down old hotel with too many problems. bad experience all around. Nothing good to say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KD1976
Tucson, AZ
Jul 12, 2014

You get what you pay for

The front desk staff were very nice. Hard to get a hold of by phone. Previous reviews said there was a charge for parking, I was not charged. Room was small and dated, very run down. Location was close to Seaworld and the zoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thisgirlfromtexas
El Paso, TX
Jun 19, 2014

You get what you paid for

Is it a 5 star hotel, no. But, it is clean and convenient to the attractions we went to see. Honestly for 57 dollars a night and only being in the hotel to sleep and get ready, I would say it is worth the booking. I did not experience the bad reviews that other people wrote. It really was not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In Old Town, there is a restaurant called Coyote Café. Best place for Mexican food hands down! Plus, margaritas come in huge pitchers.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Live to travelssss
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 14, 2014

Great value but....

First off, let me say, I paid 46.00 per night. Now with that, My room is on the top floor and to add, the elevator is on the opposite side of the building. So I finally get to my room and slide the room key into the slot and it doesn't work. I left my suit case at the door and walked back around the building to the elevator and back down to front desk. They gave me a new key and an apology. Now back I go to the room. The key works, great. Now its time for the shower I'd been looking forward to. Great water pressure and temperature. Wonderful! I get out of the shower and reach for a towel. NO TOWELS? I had to use the face towels near the sink to dry half my body. For my back I pulled back the bed spreads and, like a dog on his back, I wiggled until I was dry. The bad room key was nobody's fault but not supplying a room with body towels well...... I called about the towels and the guy came up in less than 5 minutes. Apart from the remote on the TV needing new batteries, everything less was fine. Had I paid 100.00 or more for this service, I would have been upset. But for 46.00 a night, I'd do it all over again. I just check to see if I had towels first before I got wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you Love BBQ, go to Phil's BBQ. Its outstanding.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chelsea B.
Tucson, AZ
Jun 10, 2014

Great location, needs some work

The location was awesome but the hotel room I had was in need of some work. The walls had some water stains to it and the paint in the bathroom was bubbled. The room was very small and crammed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach and other attraction was a short drive.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corporate Co.
Business
Temecula, ca
Jun 8, 2014

Stay over

Looking for a place to bed down, clean up, and have quite. Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHARISMA CASH
SAN DIEGO
May 29, 2014

excellent

had a wonderful stay, the hallways are a little uneven and sideways but other than that I thought it was nice and I felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chev the man
San Diego
May 24, 2014

Close to the trolley great location

A good hotel for the bargain if ever you need a central location where you can walk to trolley and sight seeing in old town this is the place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irvine traveller
Business
Irvine, CA
May 24, 2014

Clean room friendly staff and and close to tourist destination

I came here for my busiess visit and stayed 3 nights. I had given a queen bed room. The room was clean and smelled good but the fridge in the room was not cold enough and I had some food that would have spoiled. On requesting the room service they were immediately able to send a techinician to look at it and found the fridge was not serviceable. They immediately changed my room and apologize for inconvenience. I was satisfied with their service since they acknowledged issue and immediately fixed it for me and I cant be more happy. They are centrally located in hotel circle and best value for money. They even have food delivery from a restaurant nearby which was a plesant suprise. Overall I really enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top