Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

2 stars
1631 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
74 reviews
Overly satisfied

For what I paid I have to admit I was extremely impressed with my stay here. Out room had a mini... See full review

  • Awesome gf
  • Feb 19, 2013
Family vacation

The hotel was over-all good for price. If they improve a little on towels, bed covers etc, they can... See full review

  • fasi
  • Jan 1, 2014
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle is located close to Sea World and the San Diego Zoo, easy access off I-8 and minutes to Convention Center, Downtown San Diego and beaches. In the heart of Mission Valley in Hotel Circle. Howard Johnson Express Inn San Diego is only few minutes away from the San Diego Airport, Balboa Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park and the beach. At the Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle we strive to offer our guests a home away from home with a Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet and Cable TV with over 70 channels including 5 HBO channels and Showtime.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7587 -117.1785
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Sea World: 2.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Legoland: 26.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Overall score

2.4 / 5
74 out of 74
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.9

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
chancy
iowa
Apr 29, 2012

GREAT SLEEPING ROOM!

good for three older adults - BUT FAR AWAY FROM ELEVATOR and not much on breakfast.... BARE MIMIMUM BUT HAD NECESSITIES. More "surfaces" for three adults to put personals on, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

C Level is great restaurant on Harbor Island. Great restaurant in Del Mar is Poisidon.......

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
Hollivander
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 10, 2014

Great Price, Ok Room

The staff are friendly and the amenities are good. Love the free parking, the free breakfast in the lobby, and I love having a mini-fridge and a microwave in the room. The bed was also really comfortable. The room didn't smell that fresh, and the bathtub tended to fill partway with water even when I was just taking a shower, but if you're just looking for a cheap place to spend one night, great price and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

3
Chigi
Bellflower, California
Mar 31, 2014

Chocolate Run

This time too many children running around and screaming by my room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
travel the countryside
Phoenix
Mar 15, 2014

Worse hotel we ever stayed at!

Do not stay here. The room smelled, we couldn't get the AC to work for more than 3 min., the hair dryer was hanging by a thread, carpet was disgustingly filthy, beds were so uncomfortable, sheets were cheap and threadbare, vent in bathroom was extremely loud, breakfast was minimal, light all around the door, and it just sucked. The price was low and for good reason. Next time will definitely pay a little more and get something better. I just prayed there weren't bed bugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
Starnightbreez
San diego
Mar 11, 2014

Not worth the money!!

The maids were friendly but only one could speak English and the front staff only spoke Indian from India they also spoke English. So things that needed to be fixed didn’t get done. The water in the shower barley ran and it was very hard to wash my hair or body. It was also extremely hot or cold, there was no worm water. I had to take the ice bucket and fill it with water and pour it on my head or body to be able to rinse myself. I am diabetic so the food was of a very poor quality. It was all sugar and bread and sweet juice. The pool was dirty and the hot tub did not work. The emergency phone by the hot tub was not hooked up in case of an emergence. One night the alarm in my room started going off around 9PM and did not stop for 2 hours. They did not come to look at it for 3 days. When they finely did I had to call the fire department because on the final day it would NOT turn off at all. 3 days later the alarm had NOT been returned and I was told that the problem was only a bad battery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many other places to stay that are better

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

3
Chrisrbusby
San Diego
Mar 2, 2014

they treat you almost as a criminal

Was stopped by cops with friends for laughing in parking lot like we are guilty of something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
fasi
Washington DC
Jan 1, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel was over-all good for price. If they improve a little on towels, bed covers etc, they can get better price. The hotel staff was better than anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
precious033
hawthorne, ca
Dec 31, 2013

great location

I loved the location of the hotel. It was close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
Andya
Los Angeles
Dec 30, 2013

Smells

After checking into room we discovered the room had an decaying odor as if there was water damage previously. Apparently the housekeeping was aware of this because the windows had been left open. Upon advising management they acknowledged the room was uninhabitable and issued a refund after no other rooms were available. Unfortunately this was a Saturday evening in a popular area and I was forced paying (3) times the cost for a room with vacancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
Angu
Everett, WA
Dec 26, 2013

Worth for the money

i stayed with my family for a day. we faced water problem in bath tub..but immediately they gave another room and it wasn't a problem... to my surprise they had iron-box along with microwave oven and refrigerator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
LookUp1
OR
Dec 21, 2013

Filthy

Anywhere else would be better. A tent would be better. Absolutely the dirtiest room I have ever seen. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

94th Aero Squadron; yummy food, great ambiance, fair pricing, terrific wait staff.

Back to menu Return to top