Rate based on Check-in: Nov 19, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

4 stars
509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
154 reviews
Fantastic downtown locale by the Gaslamp

So I live in San Diego but pretty far East. When I knew my sister was coming, I wanted to introduce... See full review

  • tonithetiger
  • Sep 9, 2014
Awesome!

The staff and customer service were outstanding from the moment we pulled up in our car, they were... See full review

  • Christine1989
  • Jun 22, 2014
Boutique hotel with free Wi-Fi near the heart of Gaslamp District
Sophisticated and swanky, the Hotel Indigo San Diego sits on the edge of the city's most exciting neighborhood: The Gaslamp District. This modern hotel is within walking distance to restaurants, bars and a variety of other attractions. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, 509 Bar & Kitchen, serves locally sourced cuisine.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Walk to shops and restaurants in the Gaslamp District
  • Featuring the Level 9 Rooftop Bar overlooking PETCO Park and the downtown skyline
Rooms

Hotel Indigo San Diego offers 210 rooms, including five suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 37" flat-screen HDTV, a spa-like bath with glass-enclosed shower, sleek hardwood floor and a work station with speakerphone and voicemail. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and wired high-speed Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply). Hotel Indigo has no pet fee or deposit, so you can feel comfortable bringing your companion along with you.

Features

Upon opening in 2009, the Hotel Indigo received the first LEED hotel certification in San Diego. The hotel's 4,000-square-foot green roof is planted with native draught-tolerant plants. The property also purchases organic and fair trade products, promoting a healthy environment and fair wages.

All guests enjoy complimentary access to a fitness center with LifeFitness equipment. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

For fresh meals with locally-sourced produce, try the on-site restaurant, 509 Bar & Kitchen. Level 9 Rooftop Bar, located on the ninth floor, offers sweeping views of the San Diego skyline. The terrace also overlooks PETCO Park.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • PETCO Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/6 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/8 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 1,500 feet of flexible meeting space
  • 2,000-square-foot outdoor terrace available for events
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • 6,200 total square feet of event space
  • iPads available for guest use complimentary
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7104 -117.156
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.40, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.4 mi
  • Legoland: 30.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

Table 509 Bar & Kitchen
Dining at our Gaslamp Quarter hotel offers so many delicious choices in our open air style Table 509 Bar and Kitchen. Table 509 is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Chef Curtis and his team have a well seasoned menu with many items being locally
Asti
Italian Food
Searsucker
Unique American Restaurant
Zanzibar
Zanzibar Cafe is now open in the East Village neighborhood of Downtown San Diego. Please visit us for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or stop by our Gourmet Market for a delicious meal to go and to see our vast selection of gourmet products.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
papolina
Business
las vegas
Sep 18, 2010

Great Place

I wrote this review to encourage everyone to stay there. The hotel is gorgeous. It is not located on the beach and it does not have an ocean view, instead it is located in downtown area. If you are looking for nightlife or sports it is walking distance from Petco Park and all the night clubs. I did travel with a bay so I was in neither of these categories but it was perfect for us. The rooms were great, the bed super comfortable for "3". The room is a nice size. I would like to point out that there is no self parking, only valet. The guys however were very nice and treated us very well. Housekeeping was spotless. The hotel has a restaurant and a lounge on the 9th floor, both very nice, the food was good. However with all that being said, the staff at the lounge and the restaurant was bad. Very lousy service, I am not picky but if you are you won't like it. We had to chaise our waiter for service. We did not mind because we were there to have good time not to complain. I do think that a hotel with this quality should train their wait stuff better though. Bartender lady at the lounge was terrible too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Sep 16, 2010

Great Stay in San Diego

You can't go wrong staying here - great value for money and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 28, 2010

Stay at Indigo Hotel in San Diego

Hotel was very conveniently located near the Freeway, room service was excellent due to the cooks and waiting staff. Hotel was clean, modern and had a great atmosphere. Didn't care for the valet parking only but ended up as a small inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2010

Birthday in San Diego

WE received great service from the moment we walked in from the valet to the check in process. The rooms were very clean and stylish and the bar area was cool and hip. WE had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Operacaffe...great food and service.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single seeker of service
Business
Australia
Aug 18, 2010

The modern small Indigo

The rooms were largish with modern decor and furniture. You may need lessons to drive the coffee machine. The elevators are addicted to room key cards when going up. They need to go to rehab. A decent Breakfast can be had near the bar at reasonable cost. A plethora of eateries are close by especially in the very popular 5th Avenue area. The waterfront is a long walk away but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Join the happy crowd in the unique 5th Avenue.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario CA
Aug 12, 2010

Hotel Indigo

We visited Balboa Park and toured the museams, went over to Coronada which was very pleasant. We loved Little Italy the dining was great as was the atmosphere. We really would have enjoyed a pool and spa. It was as probably as nice as our trip to San Diego last year. There are always so many things to do. We also stopped at Del Mar for a few races.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Phi dining at the hotel was great both the food and the atmosphere.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peacefuldragon
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 11, 2010

Hip and Luxurious

The Indigo has a lovely, modern decor. The rooms are beautifully appointed, and thoughtfully designed to block noise and light. Though the hotel was in the heart of downtown, it was one of the quietest places I've ever stayed. I was disappointed that the rooms don't come with refrigerators, as I was staying for 5 days. I requested one be put in the room and they did accommodate that request, but it was on a first come, first serve notice. There is a great workout room and rooftop restaurant. Free computer use in the lobby was a plus. On the downside, the parking is $32 a night! This seems exorbitantly high, even for downtown San Diego. I found plenty of cheap, and free, street parking very close by. I had also requested, on 3 different occasions, a high floor, but was assigned to the 3rd floor upon check-in. Lastly, the housekeeping was inconsistent. Each day, the bed was made up in a different fashion, and the bath room linens were not restocked, dirty glasses were not removed, and things like the hair dryer and ironing board were not put away after I left them out. Overall, it was a lovely room, and a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
STL
Aug 5, 2010

Great Stay At Indigo

Overall a great experience at this hotel! Great view from the roof top lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Phi the hotel restaurant has great food. The Thai chicken salad and fries topped with blue cheese are fantastic. Just a few blocks down the street is Sushi Itto, which has some great rolls.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babykatt
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 2, 2010

Loved the hotel

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The parking was very expensive but it was better than the alternative of walking from an outside lot. The room was beautiful and the shower!!! Fantastic!!! It was really cool to be able to watch the Padres from our room...Great view. I will be back to the Hotel Indigo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sasha de Manzana
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Nice boutique hotel

The hotel was very nice, the furnishings were top notch and the service was great. The location was great as we were frequently walking to the Convention Center, which was approx. a 10 minute walk. The only issue I had was there was no bathtub, only a shower. It would have been nice to know that beforehand as my husband and I were traveling for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top