Rate based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 3, 2014

Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

4 stars
509 9TH AVENUE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
143 reviews
Great view of ballpark

Great location, staff extremely helpful. Fastest elevator I have ever seen. Room clean and... See full review

  • Ballpark fan
  • Apr 15, 2014
Terrific Staff - Comfortable Room

Some of the best staff ever! Very comfortable bed and pillows. Great location within walking... See full review

  • PrescottKaryl
  • Jan 15, 2014
Boutique hotel with free Wi-Fi near the heart of Gaslamp District
Sophisticated and swanky, the Hotel Indigo San Diego sits on the edge of the city's most exciting neighborhood: The Gaslamp District. This modern hotel is within walking distance to restaurants, bars and a variety of other attractions. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, 509 Bar & Kitchen, serves locally sourced cuisine.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Walk to shops and restaurants in the Gaslamp District
  • Featuring the Level 9 Rooftop Bar overlooking PETCO Park and the downtown skyline
Rooms

Hotel Indigo San Diego offers 210 rooms, including five suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 37" flat-screen HDTV, a spa-like bath with glass-enclosed shower, sleek hardwood floor and a work station with speakerphone and voicemail. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and wired high-speed Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply). Hotel Indigo has no pet fee or deposit, so you can feel comfortable bringing your companion along with you.

Features

Upon opening in 2009, the Hotel Indigo received the first LEED hotel certification in San Diego. The hotel's 4,000-square-foot green roof is planted with native draught-tolerant plants. The property also purchases organic and fair trade products, promoting a healthy environment and fair wages.

All guests enjoy complimentary access to a fitness center with LifeFitness equipment. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

For fresh meals with locally-sourced produce, try the on-site restaurant, 509 Bar & Kitchen. Level 9 Rooftop Bar, located on the ninth floor, offers sweeping views of the San Diego skyline. The terrace also overlooks PETCO Park.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • PETCO Park (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/6 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/8 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 1,500 feet of flexible meeting space
  • 2,000-square-foot outdoor terrace available for events
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • 6,200 total square feet of event space
  • iPads available for guest use complimentary
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7104 -117.156
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.40, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.4 mi
  • Legoland: 30.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

Table 509 Bar & Kitchen
Dining at our Gaslamp Quarter hotel offers so many delicious choices in our open air style Table 509 Bar and Kitchen. Table 509 is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Chef Curtis and his team have a well seasoned menu with many items being locally
Asti
Italian Food
Searsucker
Unique American Restaurant
Zanzibar
Zanzibar Cafe is now open in the East Village neighborhood of Downtown San Diego. Please visit us for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or stop by our Gourmet Market for a delicious meal to go and to see our vast selection of gourmet products.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Overall score

4.2 / 5
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Jul 12, 2010

Indigo

The hotel was absolutely gorgeous. Awesome friendly staff and great food at the Phi restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 19, 2010

Unique Hotel

We were given a room on the11th floor which had a great view. The 1st 2 nights were good. On the 3rd night we had just come back to the room after watching a baseball game and we experienced an earth quake which freaked me out since I haven't been in one in over 20 yrs. Given that we were on the 11th floor we felt it more. I asked to be moved to a lower level and they accomodated us very quickly which was nice. However the housekeeping on the 2nd floor was terrible. I think all they did for the 5 nights we were there was make our beds. Actually, one of the days the beds weren't even fully made and I'm not sure they even changed our bedsheets. The TV was malfunctioning in the room, but because we didn't watch much tv we didn't ask them to repair it, we just made them aware of the issue. At checkout no one even asked us how everything was or how the trip went. I was asked how I would like to pay for parking and that was it. I was disappointed with the staff and housekeeping especially since I read so many good reviews. Believe me, in no way are we picky, but after you spend $1340 for a week you expect a little something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaport village offers a trolley tour around all the popular spots. It's better than walking or driving.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
MNM
Seattle, WA
Jun 14, 2010

GREAT LOCATION!!!

It is the perfect location to visit Petco Park. We were visiting from Seattle and got to watch our home team play. The hotel is walking distance to most everything or just a short taxi away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
San Mateo, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Nice facility

As a newly built hotel, Hotel Indigo has one of the nicest facility I have ever seen. Beautiful lobby, seating area, restaurant and bar. Our hotel room was modern and sleek as well. This hotel's location can't be beat either. Guests are within walking distance to the Gaslamp district, downtown, the Petco Park, Harbour Drive (if you feel like walking a bit further), and plenty of restaurants and nightlife. Certain problems come with the location though. While my boyfriend and I were at the hotel, we didn't feel like paying for the steep valet fee. Therefore, finding street parking was our biggest issue. There were plenty of parking garages around; however, there were plenty of event-goers as well. While we were looking for parking spots, many people going to the Jazz festival or the ball game were also hunting spots down. Even parking garages were full... But we did ok at the end. Parked 2 nights nearby for $15+$5 rather than $32x2. Overall, I'd like to see that the valet fee come down. However, it was still a great hotel in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
Super Internet Marketer
Business
Clearwater, fl
May 31, 2010

Unbeatable Deal!

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Very modern, chic and comfortable rooms. Close to everything that's happening but just far enough away to not hear the noise if you don't want to. I would recommend to anyone, although it is more geared towards non-families, (didn't have a lot for kids to do in the hotel) it's not a singles club either. Just a good hotel for professional people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard rock only a 5 minute walk.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

2
future_engineer
San Tan Valley, AZ
May 31, 2010

Not very impressed with the Hotel Indigo

The Hotel Indigo was very up-to-date and chic in its interior design, bu that's all it really has going for it. The staff is fairly helpful, but not to the degree that they should be. The location of the hotel is convenient for shops and attractions, but one must realize that it is located in the downtown area of San Diego so parking is very limited. All parking costs money, and not being familiar with the area, I was unaware of this. I figured, as with most hotels, there would be a self-serve parking lot. Not the case here. Valet parking is required at the hotel and costs $32 A NIGHT. It was an unexpected expense in our case. It is a good hotel if you are willing to spend the money. My wife and I were spending the weekend together for our first anniversay together. We're both college students so the added expense was inconvenient at the least. There is free wi-fi, so that's a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lot to do.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Vail Colorado
May 25, 2010

san diego may 21

clean, easy, helpful, welcoming, attentive. Fabulous time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are so many easy directions to try out. Nothing was difficult or bad.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

5
Padres fans in Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
May 17, 2010

Great Location and Awesome Service

Hotel staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was wonderful from start to finish!!! Great experience....will be making another trip soon! And great location if you are going to a Padres game!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Queens, NY
May 8, 2010

Indigo proved to be a good experience

Close to public transportation to get to the San Diego Zoo. Right down the street from Petco Park. One thing I wish they did have at the hotel was a complimentary breakfast, other than that it was a good experience. We had a King bedroom, and the actual size of the room was great...and the size of the bathroom was just as good!! This hotel is worth the money...would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broken Yolk Cafe is GREAT for breakfast! Cheaper than the hotels and you get a great sized portion for the money! About a couple of blocks from Indigo hotel.

Review of Hotel Indigo SAN DIEGO-GASLAMP QUARTER

Reviewer score

3
Jessicakes
Los Angeles, CA
May 3, 2010

Fair deal

Great location, but hotel lacks amenities. I didnt see a pool and the staff wasnt as helpful. I asked for two champagne glasses to be delivered to my room and they said they didnt have any. I couldnt imagine how they didnt have any since the bar downstairs had at least half a dozen glasses just sitting. I expected something a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top