Rate based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 1430 Seventh Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rio good value for price
Business
Bozeman, Montana
Dec 23, 2009

Concerned about security of hotel

This hotel was economical and offered free shuttle from the airport, and a free hot breakfast. However, there was street access directly to the elevators leading to our rooms, and there was a large population of homeless sleeping in the doorways less than a block from this hotel. The rooms were large and seemed to have been recently updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, California
Dec 13, 2009

Would NOT Recommend

My husband damaged his truck when he got stuck in the parking garage that is too small to accommodate a full size pick up truck. Later we were told that an attendant was SUPPOSED to be on hand to assist larger vehicles but there was no one in the booth when we arrived. $16.00 parking fee waived will not compensate for the $500.00 repair. Our standard King room was ridiculously tight for 2 average size adults. No place on the vanity area in the miniscule bathroom. No closet. Beware of rooms adjacent to the glass enclosed catwalk. Patrons using the elevators can see directly into your rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Nov 18, 2009

Great weekend trip!

Hotel was perfect for what we needed. San Diego is a beautiful city with plenty to offer. We didn't need to spend a whole lot of time in the hotel. The beds were comfortable, the room was great, the balcony was a bonus. Although it says Gaslamp District, the hotel is actually a few blocks away...which is actually nice because it makes the nights a little quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stingaree is close enough to walk. Actually, pretty much all of the bars, clubs and restaurants are within walking distance.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Independence, Mo.
Nov 18, 2009

Great Stay

The hotel was great. Very accomadating. Very clean. Went out of their way to make us happy from the minute we arrived. Arranged transportation, food was good, offered choice of rooms, staff was friendly. I guess if I had to complain about anything it was that the shower was a little slick but realizing that we were just careful. Ended up not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Downtown Trolly Tour.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Inland Empire, CA
Nov 13, 2009

Not Quite What I Expected

The rooms were way smaller than we were expecting. The bathrooms were especially tight and narrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Louis, Missouri
Nov 11, 2009

Great Hotel for the Price

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Nice location downtown - just three blocks from the trolley station. Beds were firm and fairly new. Lots of pillows - four on each bed and clearly labeled "soft" or "firm" (loved that). Bathroom was tiny but clean and well-stocked with extra products like lotion and body gel. Good breakfast with real eggs and sausage or bacon (even omelettes once), and they varied it every morning (I was there four mornings). I didn't use the pool, and they didn't have a fitness center (they had passes for one down the street but it had recently gone out of business and they're working on getting another). Just can't say enough good things about the staff and about the value for the money. It IS downtown so it's a little noisy but not terrible, and I kind of liked hearing the sounds of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1) Free airport shuttle both ways - friendly, helpful drivers. 2) Three-block walk to the trolley. Buy a day pass or multi-day pass. I took the trolley to the transfer station and got a bus over to Coronado. Downtown transportation is easy from this hotel. Also - there are tons of restaurants within spitting distance.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 9, 2009

Great Overnight Stay prior to Cruising

Great location for overnight stay prior to cruising. Helpful, friendly staff. Free breakfast and transportation to the cruise terminal. Perfect start to our vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhw
Business
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Nov 4, 2009

Great Hotel

Lovely budget accommodation and a terrific value. Awesome Holiday Inn Express buffet breakfast. Close to Balboa Park. Walk to the waterfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Buy the San Diego travel card. It is a great deal for all the museums and attractions.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carlos the traveling Dad
Business
San Juan, PR
Nov 4, 2009

location, location.location

I went to San Diego for a convention but worked a couple of free days in the schedule. The hotel is about 8 blocks south of Balboa Park (zoo, museums, El Prado restaurant) and about 10 blocks east of little Italy. Stay included hot breakfast and shuttle service to nearby attractions and the airport. Convention center is a down hill 14 block walk. Rooms were spotless and the service friendly. I would stay here again on a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the hotel shuttle to Balboa Park and enjoy the zoo, the San Diego Museum of Art and the Timken Museum next door. Then have lunch or dinner at El Prado. Use the shuttle to get to Little Italy or the Midway carrier museum.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RD from Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 25, 2009

The staff found my purse and held it 4me

We arrived the night before a cruise and with all the excitement I left my purse in the breakfast room and didn't realize until an hour later when I ran back to the dining room and the staff had tucked it away for me safely until I returned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top