Rate based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
1430 SEVENTH AVENUE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
212 reviews
Birthday Weekend

The hotel was very accomodating. We ended up getting an extra room so they comped us parking for 1... See full review

  • weekend room
  • May 13, 2014
Amenities

The main reason we chose this hotel was the convenient location to downtown San Diego. Also, we... See full review

  • Palmguy
  • May 20, 2013
Efficiency hotel near Gaslamp District with free breakfast
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown is located on the edge of the Gaslamp District, arguably the city's most happening neighborhood. The hotel is a short walk from a number of attractions including Petco Park, the San Diego waterfront and more. Rooms are designed for efficiency. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access, as well as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the airport, train station and cruise terminal.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Walk to restaurants and bars in the Gaslamp District
  • Free shuttle service to airport, train station, cruise terminal
Rooms

The 136 rooms (including 8 suites) at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and in-room safe. All rooms feature spacious work desk and guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. In-room video games are also available (fees apply).

Features

 The property is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have complimentary access to the pool, located in the center of the hotel's courtyard. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Guests can stroll next door to the Indigo Café that serves home-cooked meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can also order room service off the menu at the café.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (5 mi/8 km)
Attractions
  • Petco Park (10 blocks)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Torrey Pines Golf Course (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • 9,450 square feet of meeting space
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7204 -117.1587
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.20, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.9 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.7 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118 mi

Dining

Sole Luna
Italian restaurant located across the street from hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooke Johnson Traveler
Ft. Collins, Co.
Mar 22, 2010

Good Location

The location was great, there were a ton of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We originally got a room that was backed up against a window so we went and asked to trade and the day staff was extremely rude!! There was a helpful staff member who told us to wait till morning and the girls in the morning would help us out and that they would be a lot nicer. In the morning we went down and sure enough the morning staff was extremely helpful and upgraded us to a room with a patio that overlooked the downtown area. The pool is really small but its quiet. The maids are extremely loud even if you have a sign on your door. Despite the set backs I would stay again because of the location and the price was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The house of blues was a five minute walk and is surrounded by tons of restaurants. If you go a few more blocks you will get to an outdoor mall and even more restaurants.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
pearland,tx
Mar 8, 2010

funeral made easier to bare

Sad to say was there for a funeral. But the stay at this hotel made it bearable. Everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
pearland,tx
Mar 8, 2010

funeral made easier to bare

Sad to say was there for a funeral. But the stay at this hotel made it bearable. Everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoCal visitor from the Midwest
Michigan
Mar 2, 2010

Good location, great price

Good location, well within walking distance to downtown, the waterfront, public transportation, etc. The staff was very friendly, the free breakfast was excellent, the hotel offered a free shuttle to and from the airport, and several major city destinations. Overall I was very pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoCal visitor from the Midwest
Michigan
Mar 2, 2010

Good location, great price

Good location, well within walking distance to downtown, the waterfront, public transportation, etc. The staff was very friendly, the free breakfast was excellent, the hotel offered a free shuttle to and from the airport, and several major city destinations. Overall I was very pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 24, 2010

Great hotel & value

Great location & value. The hot breakfast was awesome and it saved the us a meal each day for our family of four. Parking was tight but much cheaper than other downtown hotels. They had cookies each night we stayed. The staff was friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 24, 2010

Great hotel & value

Great location & value. The hot breakfast was awesome and it saved the us a meal each day for our family of four. Parking was tight but much cheaper than other downtown hotels. They had cookies each night we stayed. The staff was friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Ill
Jan 25, 2010

great location

We were able to walk to the harbor, from our hotel. We were picked up at the airport by the shuttle bus and taken directly to our hotel, short drive to airport. We also had the shuttle return us directly to the airport, this was very convenient, friendly driver. The front desk staff were friendly, and helpful. we enjoyed the breakfast included in our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Ill
Jan 25, 2010

great location

We were able to walk to the harbor, from our hotel. We were picked up at the airport by the shuttle bus and taken directly to our hotel, short drive to airport. We also had the shuttle return us directly to the airport, this was very convenient, friendly driver. The front desk staff were friendly, and helpful. we enjoyed the breakfast included in our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 3, 2010

Great deal, great location!!

This hotel was in a great location in downtown San Diego - just a few blocks from all the action which made it easy to walk to the harbor and gaslamp district. The amenities were fabulous - with the free drinks, free cookies, hot breakfast and free computers in the lobby. And the staff was always friendly and ready to assist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top