Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 1430 Seventh Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Louis, Missouri
Nov 11, 2009

Great Hotel for the Price

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Nice location downtown - just three blocks from the trolley station. Beds were firm and fairly new. Lots of pillows - four on each bed and clearly labeled "soft" or "firm" (loved that). Bathroom was tiny but clean and well-stocked with extra products like lotion and body gel. Good breakfast with real eggs and sausage or bacon (even omelettes once), and they varied it every morning (I was there four mornings). I didn't use the pool, and they didn't have a fitness center (they had passes for one down the street but it had recently gone out of business and they're working on getting another). Just can't say enough good things about the staff and about the value for the money. It IS downtown so it's a little noisy but not terrible, and I kind of liked hearing the sounds of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1) Free airport shuttle both ways - friendly, helpful drivers. 2) Three-block walk to the trolley. Buy a day pass or multi-day pass. I took the trolley to the transfer station and got a bus over to Coronado. Downtown transportation is easy from this hotel. Also - there are tons of restaurants within spitting distance.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 9, 2009

Great Overnight Stay prior to Cruising

Great location for overnight stay prior to cruising. Helpful, friendly staff. Free breakfast and transportation to the cruise terminal. Perfect start to our vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhw
Business
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Nov 4, 2009

Great Hotel

Lovely budget accommodation and a terrific value. Awesome Holiday Inn Express buffet breakfast. Close to Balboa Park. Walk to the waterfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Buy the San Diego travel card. It is a great deal for all the museums and attractions.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carlos the traveling Dad
Business
San Juan, PR
Nov 4, 2009

location, location.location

I went to San Diego for a convention but worked a couple of free days in the schedule. The hotel is about 8 blocks south of Balboa Park (zoo, museums, El Prado restaurant) and about 10 blocks east of little Italy. Stay included hot breakfast and shuttle service to nearby attractions and the airport. Convention center is a down hill 14 block walk. Rooms were spotless and the service friendly. I would stay here again on a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the hotel shuttle to Balboa Park and enjoy the zoo, the San Diego Museum of Art and the Timken Museum next door. Then have lunch or dinner at El Prado. Use the shuttle to get to Little Italy or the Midway carrier museum.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RD from Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 25, 2009

The staff found my purse and held it 4me

We arrived the night before a cruise and with all the excitement I left my purse in the breakfast room and didn't realize until an hour later when I ran back to the dining room and the staff had tucked it away for me safely until I returned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albatross
Business
Switzerland
Oct 11, 2009

Good hotel to stay in

Good place to stay in, while visiting san diego, the price is okay. It is downtown "Gaslamp" where you have an array of restaurants and bars.. otherwise I'd recommend this hotel to a friend One advice, don't leave your valuables in the room while you're away, I've been robbed 300 usd during my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from different restaurants

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Mirage CA
Oct 7, 2009

Holiday Inn Express San Diego

Traveled for meeting to San Diego and the location was walking distance. Arrived Sunday evening and no food at hotel and very few choices unless going six + blocks into the downtown area. Outside of hotel was pleasant. Inside hotel was not as appealing. Room was adequate. (No clock in the room.) I probably would stay there again but it is not a 4 star but most likely a 3 star in this writers opinion. Breakfast was good and included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Oct 2, 2009

Nice rooms for the price

We simply slept there. However, given the location, the cost for overnight parking was exorbitant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque,NM
Sep 29, 2009

The Best Hotel

It was my first time traveling alone and without any kind of transportation organized but when I got there the staff was so helpful and the Hotel had a free shuttle to take me to all the attractions and every question I had they answered it.Compared to my previous trips I would give it 5 stars.I had everything in the room and the price was reasonable.I arrived early @ 9am and when I called to ask for early check in I didnt have any problem immediately the lady who was helping me told me Yes there's a room and I can come to the hotel immediately.Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Rockkkkkkkkkks!!!!!!!!!To the Staff Thank You,You are doing a great Job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fire guy
Business
massachusetts
Sep 25, 2009

holiday inn express

As a priority club member they treated me great and I was just down the street from the gaslight district for night time activities. they had free wine and beer of an hour every night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslight district just a short walk and little Italy was about the same distance a way.

Back to menu Return to top