Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
1430 Seventh Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
129 reviews
Birthday Weekend

The hotel was very accomodating. We ended up getting an extra room so they comped us parking for 1... See full review

  • weekend room
  • May 13, 2014
Amenities

The main reason we chose this hotel was the convenient location to downtown San Diego. Also, we... See full review

  • Palmguy
  • May 20, 2013
Efficiency hotel near Gaslamp District with free breakfast
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown is located on the edge of the Gaslamp District, arguably the city's most happening neighborhood. The hotel is a short walk from a number of attractions including Petco Park, the San Diego waterfront and more. Rooms are designed for efficiency. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access, as well as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the airport, train station and cruise terminal.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Walk to restaurants and bars in the Gaslamp District
  • Free shuttle service to airport, train station, cruise terminal
Rooms

The 136 rooms (including 8 suites) at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and in-room safe. All rooms feature spacious work desk and guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. In-room video games are also available (fees apply).

Features

 The property is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have complimentary access to the pool, located in the center of the hotel's courtyard. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Guests can stroll next door to the Indigo Café that serves home-cooked meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can also order room service off the menu at the café.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (5 mi/8 km)
Attractions
  • Petco Park (10 blocks)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Torrey Pines Golf Course (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • 9,450 square feet of meeting space
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7204 -117.1587
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.20, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.9 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.7 mi
  • Legoland: 29.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118 mi

Dining

Sole Luna
Italian restaurant located across the street from hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque,NM
Sep 29, 2009

The Best Hotel

It was my first time traveling alone and without any kind of transportation organized but when I got there the staff was so helpful and the Hotel had a free shuttle to take me to all the attractions and every question I had they answered it.Compared to my previous trips I would give it 5 stars.I had everything in the room and the price was reasonable.I arrived early @ 9am and when I called to ask for early check in I didnt have any problem immediately the lady who was helping me told me Yes there's a room and I can come to the hotel immediately.Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Rockkkkkkkkkks!!!!!!!!!To the Staff Thank You,You are doing a great Job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fire guy
Business
massachusetts
Sep 25, 2009

holiday inn express

As a priority club member they treated me great and I was just down the street from the gaslight district for night time activities. they had free wine and beer of an hour every night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslight district just a short walk and little Italy was about the same distance a way.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Great Location

Overall stay was enjoyable, however the staff were not welcoming. If your looking places to eat they have a great selection within walking distances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don the Vacationer
Lake Wylie, SC
Sep 16, 2009

A Wonderful Week in San Diego

Had a wonderful week. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we planned our visits and places to eat in San Diego. The breakfast each day was exceptional. The five o'clock happy hour was great as we met some new friends from England. The garage parking was very tight but with a small car there was no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Welcome center on Harbor Drive near the Midway. You can get many suggestions of places to visit and purchase tickets to the attractions (at discount prices)

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida/NY
Sep 16, 2009

holiday downtown

The hotel its on a hill ,walking to gaslamp area its not easy also at night time dint look very safe,the parking garage its very small so make sure to bring a very small car,the hotel its old but clean ,and the staff was very nice,the breakfast its very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

old town its nice to walk before or after dinner ,restaurants are good here(mexican),lots of small shops

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Yokr, NY
Sep 8, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

taking city tours, bay tour, car rental, driving around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexican food is the best

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TripleTraveler
Business
Akron, OH
Sep 8, 2009

San Diego Conference

Very welcoming for someone on business! The Shuttle was wonderful and they even hold your bag for your last day of business. Could not beat the price for the accomidations. Even though it is an approximate 1.5 mile walk to convention center, the walk seemed quick and a well lit area to walk (Gaslamp District).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, CA
Sep 5, 2009

great location, good value

I was attending a conference. My husband and friend also stayed at the hotel. The rooms were clean, there is a safe in the room. Unfortunately for 2 of the 9 nights that we were there, we had a very noisy group of youths in the room next door. Did not get much sleep for those 2 nights, although when I called reception to complain, they did attend to the problem straight away. Breakfast was satisfactory. The location of the hotel was ideal. The parking charge could be less, especially as it is open to the public for half the daily rate charged to hotel guests. Overall, good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
U. A. G.
Business
Al
Sep 3, 2009

Friendly staff, value for money

Pros: Room was clean, room service was good. Staff was helpful. Cons: Internet sucks.. virtually there was no signal in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E.Ramirez
Walnut Creek,CA
Aug 31, 2009

Good value

Very close to Gaslamp, the Zoo, the beach, and Sea World. Our room was the King Suite. It was very clean and comfortable. Included refridgerator and coffee maker. We did not use the pool, it looked a little small and cramped. The fitness center is off site and not very convenient. Overall a very good deal. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top