Rate based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
282 reviews
Great golf getaway

Great location to experience the Gaslamp area. They have a fantastic breakfast place "Mary Jane's",... See full review

  • Guy's golf getaway
  • Sep 7, 2014
Great Gaslamp Hotel

Hotel was great. Very modern. Clean and comfortable. If you're they're to party and have a good... See full review

  • chriogenix
  • Jun 23, 2014
Hip hotel with nightlife and music history

Situated at the official entrance to the Gaslamp Quarter, the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego is hip, cool and anything but ordinary. The rooftop bar has been voted the best in San Diego. Views from rooms below the bar aren't too bad either--most offering views of San Diego Bay. The hotel boasts a rooftop pool with cabanas, a full-service spa and two choices for unbeatable nightlife. Even the on-site sushi restaurant, Nobu San Diego, is chic.

Highlights
  • Two choices for unbeatable nightlife
  • Stellar views from the rooftop pool deck
  • Relax in the full-service spa
  • Nobu San Diego serves fresh sushi seven days a week
Rooms

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego offers 420 rooms, including 16 suites varying in size and configuration. Each rooms boasts cantilevered furniture, rock posters and memorabilia. Basic rooms include a flat-screen TV, ceiling-mounted rain shower, refreshment center and in-room safe. Suites add sitting areas, coffee tables and mini-kitchenettes. All guests receive two VIP passes to the two on-site clubs, 207 and Float. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego has received AAA's four diamond award, as well as numerous accolades for its environmental programs.

Guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the heated rooftop pool. Visitors also receive VIP treatment at 207 and Float, the two clubs onsite. The hotel boasts a modest fitness center with Cybex equipment and offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The real highlights of the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego are the restaurants onsite. Nobu San Diego serves some of the freshest sushi around, while Maryjane's is a trusted, upscale diner that specializes in comfort food.
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 block)
  • Petco Park (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/12 km)
  • Sea World (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Parking fee is $40 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego Rooms

Rock Star Suite
Rock Star Suite with 1 king bed, separate living room and pool views. Fully integrated multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player. Sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Studio with Two Queen Bed
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Hard Rock Suite with Two Queen Beds
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Studio King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HISA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Hard Rock King Suite
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hard Rock Hotel San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7075 -117.16
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport 3 miles
Area description
The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Gaslamp, in walking distance to the convention center, PETCO Park, San Diego Trolley and all of Gaslamp nightlife and shopping. The San Diego International Airport is only 3 miles away and freeway access is also very close.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.8 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.6 mi
  • Legoland: 30.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's 40,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Highlights include an expansive urban garden with bird's-eye views of the Gaslamp Quarter, a boardroom with 16-foot floor-to-ceiling glass walls, a 750 square foot glass-enclosed boardroom that overlooks a 5,000 square foot live concert venue and a stylish 9,100 square foot main event room capable of accommodating up to 1,000 guests. Meeting planners receive extreme Rock Star service including a backstage pass that allows them uninhibited 'back of the house' access anytime during events. And from the moment groups arrive to the second the last limo leaves, our staff will be on hand to anticipate and fulfill every need.

Dining

207
Located in the lobby. Decor features a wood bar with black leather accents and padded bar stools upholstered with white crocodile. Specially designed tables include individual beer taps, allowing beer aficionados to choose their own brand and serve themselves. Open late afternoon to late night.
Nobu
Japanese cuisine with Peruvian influences. The menu includes signature dishes such as Fresh Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno and Broiled Black Cod with Miso. Dinner is served each evening in the sushi bar or the dining room; drinks are available in the lounge.
Maryjane's Coffee Shop
Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a laid-back atmosphere. Menu includes American and regional dishes, such as L.A. Sticky Buns, Chopped Cobb Salad, and Chicken Pot Pie. Indoor and outdoor dining available. Open early morning to late evening; late-night hours available on the weekend.
Float
Rooftop pool bar with private poolside cabanas and outdoor leather lounge seating. Flat-screen TVs and minibars. Fire pits are surrounded by sectional seating and opium beds. Open late afternoon to late night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2009

Rock Star living on small budget

I was in San Diego attending a wedding over this past weekend, but the wedding didn't compare to my wonderful experience at the Hard Rock. The Hotel was immaculately clean. They had ample amount of staff on hand to get me what ever i needed. Housekeeping was very timely and efficient. I wouldn't have wanted to say at any other hotel. The next time i visit San Diego, i'm booking my room at The Hard Rock!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the Hard Rock is just a short walk to any of the hoping bars located in the Gas Lamp district.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NW Doubler
Business
Olympia WA
Feb 28, 2010

Great price, great hotel, great service

The Hard Rock is in a great location at the edge of the historic Gaslamp District with easy access to downtown and beyond via trolley & light rail, and there are pedicabs readily available for local travel. There are restaurants everywhere and even stage theater. The neighborhood is very clean and seemed very safe. The hotel is decorated in an extremely trendy & hip style and the room was beautiful. It actually reminded me of some of the nicer hotel rooms on the Vegas strip, including the Wynn. Before I booked my stay there I read some online reviews that mention that one could expect a long night of thumpa-thumpa dance music if staying in a room too close to the nightclub, so when I checked in I asked for a room far away from the club. No problem, I was told, my room would be on the 7th floor. That was fine during the week until Thursday (when the weekend starts) when suddenly a huge crowd lined up in the street and the thumpa-thumpa began. It was indeed a bit audible even on the 7th floor since my room was directly above the club and the crowd but it was no big deal. Other than that, my stay at the Hard Rock was extremely smooth. The room was very clean, and the exercise room is free and open 24/7, and actually superior to most I've seen with some really high-tech cardio & weight machines and free weights. Without exception, every employee I encountered was extremely friendly & professional--from the desk staff to the parking valet to the waitress in the coffee shop to the manager himself who was circulating like a regular guy with the guests, and who went out of his way to ask me about my stay and thanked me for choosing the Hard Rock. This was my first visit to San Diego, and I wouldn't stay anywhere but the Hard Rock again in the future. Check it out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the scenic MLK pathway up Harbor Drive, cross Harbor Drive at the Hyatt, and you will find the Seaport Village area. There are some extremely cool shops & restaurants along the waterfront, with a scenic walkway that runs all the way to the Embarcadero Park. Great place to shop, eat, walk & people-watch!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 23, 2008

Great Place to Stay!

Wonderful and fun. Checkout however was a bit slow. Apparently the acct was not set up properly initially. But, I would definitely stay again as it was very convenient to the gaslight and directly across from the convention ctr.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A huge variety of restaurants are a couple of blocks away.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sean Ross
Washington, DC
Aug 10, 2012

Great stay and location

Wonderful rooms, proximity to anything you would want to do downtown, hip but not distastefully loud and tremendous staff. Stayed by accident and loved the surprise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Sep 28, 2008

very modern, great hotel

hard rock hotel was great. overall i love this hotel. check in and out was fast and easy. the only thing i didn't like was the valet parking everyday. you have to pay thirty dollars each day for hard rock valet parking. overall, enjoy my stay. staffs was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

horton plaza mall is within walking distance and there's a lot of clubs and bars you can walk to.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Feb 12, 2011

Amazing!r

We had a wonderful time. Loved the hot tub and pool, as well as the rain shower. We were close to everywhere we needed to get, there was no need to rent a vehicle. Tons of night life, as well as day time entertainment around and inside the hotel. Great experience, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The spaghetti factory was to die for. Also, must check out local bars like Syrah!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Napa Valley, CA
Mar 6, 2011

It Was Awsome!!!

IT was a very nice room. The bed was fantastic, the shower heads were interesting and fun. Since we got the reguler suite not the deluxe it's balcony was nice. The view was not the best but no complaints about that. The more awsome part about this room is that you get VIP in their bar downstairs. Unfortunetly "Float" was closed because of the weather, so that kida affected the trip. But overall it was a very fun trip and an exelent night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Yard House is the one that i reccommend, its a few blocs away but they have their own valet parking. Their prices are a bit high but their food and drinks are fantastic.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach California
Sep 24, 2012

Great Birthday Stay

Loved the hotel! The pool was awesome and the room with the rain shower heads were great as well. We came down for a friend's birthday and the hotel was awesome. They have cool clubs and bars and the location could not be better. Literally in the heart of Gaslamp. The only thing I wished we had was a coffee maker in the room but other than that everything was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bachelorette Babe
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Perfect Bachelorette Hotel

I celebrated my Bachelorette weekend at the Hard Rock – in Style! The location cannot be beat. The staff ensured my stay was perfect! The concierge was extremely helpful. The pool is a non-stop party and Mary Jane's Café has the best hash browns around. I could not have asked for a better hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Sevilla has amazing spanish food and live entertainment (Flamenco).

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
May 20, 2009

Awesome!

The Hard Rock is definitely one of the 'coolest' hotels that I've ever been to. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel bars and pool nicely done. Was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top