Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
443 reviews
Great Gaslamp Hotel

Hotel was great. Very modern. Clean and comfortable. If you're they're to party and have a good... See full review

  • chriogenix
  • Jun 23, 2014
Perfect location!

Had so much fun celebrating my 30th here! Right in the heart of Gaslamp! Staff was so nice! See full review

  • Nachonikki
  • Jun 16, 2014
Hip hotel with nightlife and music history

Situated at the official entrance to the Gaslamp Quarter, the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego is hip, cool and anything but ordinary. The rooftop bar has been voted the best in San Diego. Views from rooms below the bar aren't too bad either--most offering views of San Diego Bay. The hotel boasts a rooftop pool with cabanas, a full-service spa and two choices for unbeatable nightlife. Even the on-site sushi restaurant, Nobu San Diego, is chic.

Highlights
  • Two choices for unbeatable nightlife
  • Stellar views from the rooftop pool deck
  • Relax in the full-service spa
  • Nobu San Diego serves fresh sushi seven days a week
Rooms

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego offers 420 rooms, including 16 suites varying in size and configuration. Each rooms boasts cantilevered furniture, rock posters and memorabilia. Basic rooms include a flat-screen TV, ceiling-mounted rain shower, refreshment center and in-room safe. Suites add sitting areas, coffee tables and mini-kitchenettes. All guests receive two VIP passes to the two on-site clubs, 207 and Float. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego has received AAA's four diamond award, as well as numerous accolades for its environmental programs.

Guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the heated rooftop pool. Visitors also receive VIP treatment at 207 and Float, the two clubs onsite. The hotel boasts a modest fitness center with Cybex equipment and offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The real highlights of the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego are the restaurants onsite. Nobu San Diego serves some of the freshest sushi around, while Maryjane's is a trusted, upscale diner that specializes in comfort food.
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 block)
  • Petco Park (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/12 km)
  • Sea World (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Parking fee is $40 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego Rooms

Rock Star Suite
Rock Star Suite with 1 king bed, separate living room and pool views. Fully integrated multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player. Sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Studio with Two Queen Bed
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Hard Rock Suite with Two Queen Beds
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Studio King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HISA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Hard Rock King Suite
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hard Rock Hotel San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7075 -117.16
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport 3 miles
Area description
The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Gaslamp, in walking distance to the convention center, PETCO Park, San Diego Trolley and all of Gaslamp nightlife and shopping. The San Diego International Airport is only 3 miles away and freeway access is also very close.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.8 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.6 mi
  • Legoland: 30.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's 40,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Highlights include an expansive urban garden with bird's-eye views of the Gaslamp Quarter, a boardroom with 16-foot floor-to-ceiling glass walls, a 750 square foot glass-enclosed boardroom that overlooks a 5,000 square foot live concert venue and a stylish 9,100 square foot main event room capable of accommodating up to 1,000 guests. Meeting planners receive extreme Rock Star service including a backstage pass that allows them uninhibited 'back of the house' access anytime during events. And from the moment groups arrive to the second the last limo leaves, our staff will be on hand to anticipate and fulfill every need.

Dining

207
Located in the lobby. Decor features a wood bar with black leather accents and padded bar stools upholstered with white crocodile. Specially designed tables include individual beer taps, allowing beer aficionados to choose their own brand and serve themselves. Open late afternoon to late night.
Nobu
Japanese cuisine with Peruvian influences. The menu includes signature dishes such as Fresh Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno and Broiled Black Cod with Miso. Dinner is served each evening in the sushi bar or the dining room; drinks are available in the lounge.
Maryjane's Coffee Shop
Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a laid-back atmosphere. Menu includes American and regional dishes, such as L.A. Sticky Buns, Chopped Cobb Salad, and Chicken Pot Pie. Indoor and outdoor dining available. Open early morning to late evening; late-night hours available on the weekend.
Float
Rooftop pool bar with private poolside cabanas and outdoor leather lounge seating. Flat-screen TVs and minibars. Fire pits are surrounded by sectional seating and opium beds. Open late afternoon to late night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Costa Mesa
Nov 29, 2008

Hotel Hard Rock sucks

Hotel Hard Rock San Diego is a very good location and close to shopping and restaurants. However, our experience was not very good. We had to wait 45-50 minutes to valet park our car. The check in line was long and at the 4:00 pm check in time they didn't have all the service stations open. They gave us the worst room they could find which was right next to the elevator. We could here the music from the night club unit it closed. When we were ready to check out we had to wait 1 hour to get our car from the valet people. The valet guy told us that he would take care of the $30 valet charge and the next day the charge was on our credit card. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maryjane cafe has good breakfast.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westlake Village, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Bad bad attitudes!!!!

Even though the actual hotel was great. The staff killed our trip. it put us in a very bad mood from the min we got there till the sec we left. very poor customer sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ca
Nov 28, 2010

charge like a rockstar but don't produce

They greet you very nicely when you arrive. However, their service leaves a lot to be desired. We placed an order with room service that never materialized. When we went to the diner (MaryJanes), we saw our food sitting next to the heatlamps for 12 minutes before they finally brought it over. Worst of all, when we got home, we saw that the charges to my credit card didn't match the checkout bill. Instead of a single charge to the credit card (matching the checkout bill), we saw two separate charges, that totaled over $100 more than the checkout bill. Because I was getting the runaround about their charging discrepancy (they insisted that they only charged my card what my bill stated despite evidence to the contrary), I had to cancel my credit card. The Hard Rock Hotel was all show, with mediocre service and very questionable charging practices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mal T.
Omaha, NE
Jun 28, 2013

DO NOT RECOMEND

HUGE LET DOWN!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! My boyfriend and I attended their Intervention Sunday's Pool Party a couple weekends ago. I have been the the Hard Rock in Las Vegas and they know how to throw a pool party - unfortunately this one does NOT. We paid $40 each for a ticket in to a pool party, the pool is about 5' x 5' (notice there are no photos of the actual pool on the Intervention site page). IT SUCKS! We had an OK time due to meeting a fun couple there but otherwise the atmosphere were that of a cheap motel. We're 21 and 23 and were expecting a crazy/fun time. After an average day we came to find out that we had been charged for 15 shots that neither of us had taken- a bill of $300!! THEY WILL CHARGE EXTRA DRINKS/SHOTS TO YOUR CREDIT CARD. I asked to speak to a manager at which point we stood in the lobby for 20 minutes waiting. When a man came out he said he knew we took the shots and to pay or he would call the cops. I told him to call the cops then because there is no way my boyfriend and I would be able to stand had we taken 15 shots! He smiled and said, "I don't care if you did or not, you are paying for them." I will NEVER come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kailani
seattle, wa
Jul 14, 2009

San Diego

It would have been nice if when you call for information on all fees, that the hotel informs you instead of saying there arent any! It would have also been nice if we could have used the pool! and than still charging us for it upon checkout! the omni hotel should get the credit! they were nicer to us and we didnt even stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right up fifth!!! the best shopping!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
az25guy
phoenix az
Jul 20, 2009

i wouldnt stay here again

I did NOT like my stay here.... overly priced.. waaay to many hidden fees. come on 250 deposit a night??? i mean you get your money back after check out but if your not prepared for that as I was it is a problem. Parking is a pain from the begining valet parking that cost 32 a day, plus to park and to get your car the wait is way too long and does get annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right downtown. Everything is right there.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VaneBee
La
Apr 16, 2013

Never again!

Total nickel and dime place! I receommend staying at the Hilton bay front. They have fees too but at least the staff is not rude! I do not recommend this place at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Augie Next Door
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jun 6, 2009

Horrible Customer Service

Horrible concierge service where you are put on VIP or some sort of guest list for bar/restaurant/night club and when you get to the so-called bar/restaurant/night club you are made to stand in a long line and have to pay cover of $20/person although you are spending a lot of money staying at the rooms in their hotel and the so-called bar/restaurant/nite club are in their hotel! Hotel only appears to be interested in money and not service for the money you are spending! Avoid this hotel if you want to get your money's worth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Ivy Room where your money is appreciated with excellent service!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael Alf
Oxnard, California
Jul 8, 2013

HORRIBLE!!

I stayed here for a friend's birthday celebration in the Gaslamp District. We were club-hopping and I after careful research, determined that this was the best location in terms of value and distance from the nightclubs were were going to. The staff were polite and friendly. They even asked what type of music I wanted playing in the room. I stayed on the 4th floor, the same floor as Intervention. I was trying to take a mid-day nap before my nighttime festivities. I had multiple drunk party-goers knocking on my door thinking it was their room. I did not get to nap and it was truly unacceptable. I had no time to directly inform the staff since I was on a tight schedule. After my wild night of partying, I figured that everyone would have been passed out and partied out. I had more people knock and bang at my door, cursing at me to let me in. For $300+ a night, you would think you could sleep and be treated with respect while in your room. I've stayed in multiple Vegas hotels and have partied hard, but the guests at this hotel party and treat this hotel make Vegas look like a day care facility. NEVER AGAIN!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
az25guy
phoenix az
Jul 20, 2009

i wouldnt stay here again

I did NOT like my stay here.... overly priced.. waaay to many hidden fees. come on 250 deposit a night??? i mean you get your money back after check out but if your not prepared for that as I was it is a problem. Parking is a pain from the begining valet parking that cost 32 a day, plus to park and to get your car the wait is way too long and does get annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right downtown. Everything is right there.

Back to menu Return to top