Rate based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2016 Check-out: Feb 8, 2016

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

3 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
30 reviews
Fabulous getaway for the family.

From the moment we arrived we were treated incredibly. We were 5 hours early for check in. The... See full review

  • Johnna L.
  • Dec 1, 2015
Needed vacation

The hotel and location were amazing. All of the shops, restaurants, and go to places were minutes... See full review

  • Bria S.
  • Apr 10, 2015

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego mixes contemporary style with genuine Rock n' Roll. Deluxe accommodations include 17 uniquely designed suites that feature sleek furnishings and custom decor in a loft inspired atmosphere. Guests are treated to luxurious rooms complete with wet bars and an all-inclusive entertainment center.

Known for its VIP treatment, Rockstar Suite guests can spend their time in the Rock Royalty lounge, making use of a personal concierge and private car and limo services. Business travelers will appreciate high-speed Internet, complimentary morning coffee and free local and long-distance phone calls.

Highlights

Located across from the San Diego Convention Center, travelers have easy access to such world-famous attractions as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and the Gaslamp Quarter. Diners can enjoy sushi and other Asian flair dishes at Nobu restaurant, conveniently located in the hotel. Thirsty guests can also partake in both cocktails and incredible views of the city at Float, the lounge located on the hotel's rooftop.

Travelers desiring relaxation will want to indulge themselves at Rock Spa with massages and other body treatments. For those who wish to get in some exercise, the fitness center is open on a 24/7 basis.

For the adventure seekers, guests can see the sights of San Diego with the loan of an Electra Bicycle.

Fees
  • Valet parking fee is $45 USD per night.
  • Effective 01 January 2016, the fee for valet parking at the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego will increase to $47 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hard Rock Hotel San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7075 -117.16
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 4.00, MI, SE; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 120.00, MI, S; John Wayne/Orange County Airport, (SNA), 75.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gold stars pawn shop 888-465-3990
Friends
san diego ca
Jan 23, 2011

GET CHARGED MORE THEN A ROCK STAR

KIND OF A RIP OFF A TRAVEL LODGE IS ABOUT THE SAME 250.00 A NIGHT ROOM DEPOSIT NICE BIRTHDAY COUNTER PERSON WAS KINDA RUDE LIKE YOU ARE LUCKY BE BE HERE TOURISUM TAX WELL I LIVE HERE THEIRS IS AN EXTRA 32.00 PARKING 35.00 AND DONT FOR GET TO TIP YOU WILL BE TREATED RUDE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT PARTY THEIR GO DOWN THE GAS LAMP THEIR DRINKS ARE DOUBLE AND YOU ONCE AGAIN WILL BE LUCY TO BE THEIR NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luis M.
Friends
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

Friends get together

The location of the hotel is perfect for for a baseball game and Gaslamp experience. Conveniently located in from of train station. The valet staff was prompt and courteous. At check-in in the front desk staff seemed to rush my check in, being my first time there wish I would have been giving all amenities in hotel. The rooms vents were not working properly, the toilet needed a slight fix, and the noise level from hall way was loud. The housekeeping was excellent and on point when I needed supplies. For the price would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Night life
Business
Minnesota, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Not recomended for families

This was a high tech hotel. If you are looking for night life, this is the place. Good security. Not always accomodating for thier guests. Pool and hot tub was closed off to guests on one of the nicest evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WaynesGirl
Couples
Yuma, Arizona
Jul 13, 2012

Honeymoon Stay

Excellent service from all staff. When we mentioned we were there on our honeymoon, they sent up a complementary bottle of champagne with champagne flutes and a nice congrats card. some negatives: being from Arizona, where parking is FREE, we were taken a-back by the valet parking charges. These were not mentioned on the website when booking so came as a surprise. the only other alternative was meter parking. another negative was the room location. While it offered a spectacular view of Coronado Bridge and the bay, it was directly across from the train tracks crossing and the trains and trams run ALL DAY AND NIGHT!! The whistle from the train about knocked us out of bed. We chose The Hard Rock due to its location on the Gas Lamp District. We were able to walk to everything. Sea Port Village, Star of India ect. Highly suggest you forgo the hotel restaurants and visit The Broken Yolk (on 6th Ave) for breakfast and Fred's (on 5th Ave) for lunch or dinner. There are so many choices in the Gas Lamp District at reasonable prices, these were our personal favs. If you plan on driving around the Gas Lamp beware of the ONE WAY streets! We would stay at Hard Rock again, but would ask for a room away from the tracks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broken Yolk Cafe on 6th Ave (featured on Man v.s Food) best California Breakfast Burrito on Earth! Fred's Mexican Restaurant on 5th Ave. Awesome food and upbeat atmosphere. Both are very reasonably priced.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gatso
Business
Vlissingen, Nederland
Sep 29, 2012

great location

Rooms and pool with bar are great. The passings trains are very loud, need sleeping with earplugs. Do they need to blow there horn every time they're passing? In the hotel there is only a sushi and burger restaurant, but in the area plenty of options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Top of the market restaurant at the bay serving best seafood and fine wines with an incredible view on the bay.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vfraje
Business
Kfar Hamaccabi, Israel
Nov 6, 2012

Breakfast

Unnecessary expensive breakfast for the egg sandwich and the coffee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashok Traveller
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Dec 2, 2013

Good one and at very good location

Location is awesome. Right on downtown. Easy to hangout over the weekend and night. Thanks for complimentary pass for their awesome Night club. Staff were friendly and would visit back there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisbar
Single
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 9, 2014

Great place for young singles

Nice hotel. Very clean. Great location. Just a little too pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Decent place
Friends
N/A
Apr 1, 2015

Awesome conference trip

My friends and I stayed at this place this past week for 4 nights. The location was very convenient as most of out meets we're help at the SD convention center. Also, it was surrounded by great restaurents and coffee shops. Pool and rooftop bar was great but it was little over crowed as there was a pool party. Overall, it was a nice hotel with a decent customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Snob
Business
Denver, CO
May 31, 2009

Hard Rock Gaslamp

Fantastic location. Just off the Trolley, across from Convention Center, near night life and restaurants. Hip, trendy, luxury, young. A great way to make a business trip a little more fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top