Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
127 reviews
San Diego Party Weekend

Nice hotel, but had to pay to park there, great location but so are all of the other hotels in... See full review

  • nightmarejack304
  • Aug 4, 2014
Great trip for two

The location, right between Sea World and The Zoo, offers a great place to stay for trips like... See full review

  • Christa Adventure Taker
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in heart of Mission Valley
Situated just minutes from Sea World, Old Town and a number of other San Diego attractions, the 8-story Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley is conveniently located for multiple sightseeing opportunities. The family-friendly hotel features a heated outdoor pool, outdoor waterfall and discount tickets to local attractions. The on-site restaurant serves sushi and pupus, invoking a tropical theme present throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Close to Sea World and Old Town
  • Discount tickets to area attractions
  • Dine on sushi and pupus at on-site restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley offers 417 rooms (including 12 suites) in varying size. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, CD player, coffee-maker and spacious work desk. Suites and executive club-level rooms also boast a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley completed an exhaustive renovation in 2009. It was during these improvements the hotel adopted a Polynesian theme.

Currently, all guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also have access to a heated outdoor swimming pool, as well as a complimentary on-site fitness center and free shuttle that takes guests anywhere within one mile of the hotel. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). There's also a beauty salon on-site (fees apply).

The Islands Restaurant serves sushi and Hawaiian-inspired cuisine that invokes the tropics.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
  • Old Town (8 mi/13 km)
  • Point Loma (9 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 26,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Catering services
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7612 -117.1835
Nearby airports
Montgomery Field Airport, (MYF), 6.70, MI; San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 5.50, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

The Islands Restaurant
The Islands Restaurant is a casual, family friendly restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seating is available inside or out on our patio overlooking the tropical poolside area.
Islands Sushi & PuPu Bar
Set in an exotic atmosphere of tropical surroundings, salt-water fish tanks and cascading waterfalls, The Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar in the Crowne Plaza San Diego is the place to be. Both local and hotel patrons can enjoy the fantastic and delicious array o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 127
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nightmarejack304
Northridge, CA
Aug 4, 2014

San Diego Party Weekend

Nice hotel, but had to pay to park there, great location but so are all of the other hotels in hotel circle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christa Adventure Taker
Connecticut
Jul 21, 2014

Great trip for two

The location, right between Sea World and The Zoo, offers a great place to stay for trips like that. There are free shuttles to both attractions daily and the staff is wonderful. Not in the classiest of locations, but not in sketchville either. Two things I would have liked are a fridge in the room and a shuttle to the airport, but there could have been way worse things lacking. On site restaurants are good, but a bit on the expensive side, and not a lot you can walk to because of the highway. Overall, I liked it, and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Free shuttle to the mall offers great food options, plus there's a few stores there where you can stock up on drinks and snacks for cheaper than the on site store.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WriteforLife
CA
Feb 20, 2012

Loved the Hawaiian feel!

I will come right out and say it, I HATED where this hotel was located. But I was staying there with a group and had no choice, so there I was and I had to make the best of it. Trying to find something to eat around there isn't easy and the closest restaurants are about 2 miles away at a shopping mall. That being said, location aside, I was very happy with this hotel. Yes, it's old, but it's clean and well-maintained. My experiences with everyone on staff, from housekeeping, front desk, to the parking attendants were very pleasant. The ambiance of the hotel is also really nice. It has a Hawaiian theme and they actually do a very good job of capturing that "feel" throughout the property. If I had to be back in that area for some reason again, I would certainly stay at that property again. Note: As others have said, there is a $12 fee for parking every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall is down the road on Hotel Circle North. You make a left out of the hotel and then turn left on Fashion Valley Road.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megan11111
Orange County
Aug 29, 2011

Quick Trip

Room was clean, a lot of space. No TV remote when we checked in at 9pm, but the front desk sent one up quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nucmed0330
San Diego, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Great location and service!!!

The staff at the front desk as well as the bell-men were absolutely friendly and informative. The shuttle even provided service to the gaslamp district as well at a shuttle station that we took to Qualcomm Stadium. Customer service is huge whenever traveling and they did a superb job. Even though it's part of their job, it was still very genuine! The rooms were great and we wish we could've jumped in the pool, but the evenings were a little chilly. Overall, everything was great and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's so nice to have a hotel that provides such great customer service as well as complimentary shuttle service to nearby areas.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
disappointed and tired
Seattle, WA
Oct 24, 2010

Crowne Plaza Mission Valley

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza while looking for a place to live. We're relocating to San Diego. First impression were quite positive. Very attractive facility and the staff were friendly and warm. The room was nice and the beds comfy. The next morning we noticed bugs on one of the beds. I called the Front Desk and they sent up keys for a new room. It was all handled quickly and professionally but I was a little disappointed that nobody helped us move rooms and no supervisor or manager came up to discuss the problem. The next night in the second room, we found a tick crawling across the desk. Instead of freaking out, we carefully checked the bedding and the rest of the room and found no other signs of insects. Parking was $12.00 per day and the internet was $9.95 per day in spite of it being listed as an AT&T Hot Spot. Cell phones were useless in the hotel. Making or receiving calls was virtually impossible in spite of strong signal strength indicators. Charges for calls through the hotel were outrageous so we dealt with the cell phone problem as best we could. Data usage on the smart phones was as bad. We relied on the laptop and $9.95 per day internet to conduct our housing search. The Front Office Manager finally called me on the fifth day of our stay to apologize for the insect problem. He was very nice but it seemed a little too late. Overall, the friendly staff and attractive facility were overshadowed by the data and voice communications problems and insect issues. Housekeeping did an excellent job in the room but the bathtubs in both rooms were worn and slow draining. Maintenance issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel is mediocre and overpriced. You can find such great food in San Diego, it's worth a short drive somewhere to get some great food.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flex
Galway, Ireland
Apr 15, 2010

Excellent room price, very accomodating

great bellmen, bring you anywhere. housekeeping also very accomadating esp as we were up late every day! v near city centre but far from pacific beach. we got a great deal on the net for the room price. you could do a lot worse than here, though i found the food average. nowhere near to eat either and public transport is poor. you will rely heavily on the courtesy bus for lifts but if you tip well they will bring you anywhere. v near airport also. pool nice and outdorr jacuzzi v relaxing. room service swift also. overall, v good despite location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 7, 2010

Affordable luxury hotel

Staff at hotel were extremely helpful in getting us to where we wanted to go and explaining the things to do in San Diego. Never had to wait long for any service we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel staff told us about the trolley system in San Diego, how it works and how much it cost. Very cost-saving, reliable and safe, and you got to see all the most important sites in the city.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Sep 19, 2009

good room for the money

vacation..rested saw the sites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fountain Valley, CA
Jul 12, 2009

Crowne Plaza Hotel - San Diego

The check in and out was quick. The rooms were nice and well maintained. The pool was clean and the area was active but orderly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very close to shopping restaurants, entertainment and recreational activities.

Back to menu Return to top