Rate based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
126 reviews
great spot

we were surprised friendly staff, very clean comfy large room. Close to beach ! great pool we will... See full review

  • Stevy D
  • Sep 22, 2014
San Diego Party Weekend

Nice hotel, but had to pay to park there, great location but so are all of the other hotels in... See full review

  • nightmarejack304
  • Aug 4, 2014
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7612 -117.1835
Nearby airports
Montgomery Field Airport, (MYF), 6.70, MI; San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 5.50, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

The Islands Restaurant
The Islands Restaurant is a casual, family friendly restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seating is available inside or out on our patio overlooking the tropical poolside area.
Islands Sushi & PuPu Bar
Set in an exotic atmosphere of tropical surroundings, salt-water fish tanks and cascading waterfalls, The Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar in the Crowne Plaza San Diego is the place to be. Both local and hotel patrons can enjoy the fantastic and delicious array o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 126
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nightmarejack304
Business
Northridge, CA
Aug 4, 2014

San Diego Party Weekend

Nice hotel, but had to pay to park there, great location but so are all of the other hotels in hotel circle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christa Adventure Taker
Business
Connecticut
Jul 21, 2014

Great trip for two

The location, right between Sea World and The Zoo, offers a great place to stay for trips like that. There are free shuttles to both attractions daily and the staff is wonderful. Not in the classiest of locations, but not in sketchville either. Two things I would have liked are a fridge in the room and a shuttle to the airport, but there could have been way worse things lacking. On site restaurants are good, but a bit on the expensive side, and not a lot you can walk to because of the highway. Overall, I liked it, and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Free shuttle to the mall offers great food options, plus there's a few stores there where you can stock up on drinks and snacks for cheaper than the on site store.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WriteforLife
Business
CA
Feb 20, 2012

Loved the Hawaiian feel!

I will come right out and say it, I HATED where this hotel was located. But I was staying there with a group and had no choice, so there I was and I had to make the best of it. Trying to find something to eat around there isn't easy and the closest restaurants are about 2 miles away at a shopping mall. That being said, location aside, I was very happy with this hotel. Yes, it's old, but it's clean and well-maintained. My experiences with everyone on staff, from housekeeping, front desk, to the parking attendants were very pleasant. The ambiance of the hotel is also really nice. It has a Hawaiian theme and they actually do a very good job of capturing that "feel" throughout the property. If I had to be back in that area for some reason again, I would certainly stay at that property again. Note: As others have said, there is a $12 fee for parking every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall is down the road on Hotel Circle North. You make a left out of the hotel and then turn left on Fashion Valley Road.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megan11111
Business
Orange County
Aug 29, 2011

Quick Trip

Room was clean, a lot of space. No TV remote when we checked in at 9pm, but the front desk sent one up quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nucmed0330
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Great location and service!!!

The staff at the front desk as well as the bell-men were absolutely friendly and informative. The shuttle even provided service to the gaslamp district as well at a shuttle station that we took to Qualcomm Stadium. Customer service is huge whenever traveling and they did a superb job. Even though it's part of their job, it was still very genuine! The rooms were great and we wish we could've jumped in the pool, but the evenings were a little chilly. Overall, everything was great and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's so nice to have a hotel that provides such great customer service as well as complimentary shuttle service to nearby areas.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
disappointed and tired
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 24, 2010

Crowne Plaza Mission Valley

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza while looking for a place to live. We're relocating to San Diego. First impression were quite positive. Very attractive facility and the staff were friendly and warm. The room was nice and the beds comfy. The next morning we noticed bugs on one of the beds. I called the Front Desk and they sent up keys for a new room. It was all handled quickly and professionally but I was a little disappointed that nobody helped us move rooms and no supervisor or manager came up to discuss the problem. The next night in the second room, we found a tick crawling across the desk. Instead of freaking out, we carefully checked the bedding and the rest of the room and found no other signs of insects. Parking was $12.00 per day and the internet was $9.95 per day in spite of it being listed as an AT&T Hot Spot. Cell phones were useless in the hotel. Making or receiving calls was virtually impossible in spite of strong signal strength indicators. Charges for calls through the hotel were outrageous so we dealt with the cell phone problem as best we could. Data usage on the smart phones was as bad. We relied on the laptop and $9.95 per day internet to conduct our housing search. The Front Office Manager finally called me on the fifth day of our stay to apologize for the insect problem. He was very nice but it seemed a little too late. Overall, the friendly staff and attractive facility were overshadowed by the data and voice communications problems and insect issues. Housekeeping did an excellent job in the room but the bathtubs in both rooms were worn and slow draining. Maintenance issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel is mediocre and overpriced. You can find such great food in San Diego, it's worth a short drive somewhere to get some great food.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flex
Business
Galway, Ireland
Apr 15, 2010

Excellent room price, very accomodating

great bellmen, bring you anywhere. housekeeping also very accomadating esp as we were up late every day! v near city centre but far from pacific beach. we got a great deal on the net for the room price. you could do a lot worse than here, though i found the food average. nowhere near to eat either and public transport is poor. you will rely heavily on the courtesy bus for lifts but if you tip well they will bring you anywhere. v near airport also. pool nice and outdorr jacuzzi v relaxing. room service swift also. overall, v good despite location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Mar 7, 2010

Affordable luxury hotel

Staff at hotel were extremely helpful in getting us to where we wanted to go and explaining the things to do in San Diego. Never had to wait long for any service we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel staff told us about the trolley system in San Diego, how it works and how much it cost. Very cost-saving, reliable and safe, and you got to see all the most important sites in the city.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Sep 19, 2009

good room for the money

vacation..rested saw the sites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fountain Valley, CA
Jul 12, 2009

Crowne Plaza Hotel - San Diego

The check in and out was quick. The rooms were nice and well maintained. The pool was clean and the area was active but orderly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very close to shopping restaurants, entertainment and recreational activities.

Back to menu Return to top