Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
2270 HOTEL CIRCLE NORTH, SAN DIEGO, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
122 reviews
Good getaway

We loved the lush scenery at the hotel and enjoyed the sushi bar as well! I don't like that they... See full review

  • Nena traveler
  • Jul 1, 2013
Quick stay

We loved the beautiful garden area, pool and hot tub. However, having to pay for wi-fi should be a... See full review

  • Ghudd
  • Apr 2, 2013
Family-friendly hotel in heart of Mission Valley
Situated just minutes from Sea World, Old Town and a number of other San Diego attractions, the 8-story Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley is conveniently located for multiple sightseeing opportunities. The family-friendly hotel features a heated outdoor pool, outdoor waterfall and discount tickets to local attractions. The on-site restaurant serves sushi and pupus, invoking a tropical theme present throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Close to Sea World and Old Town
  • Discount tickets to area attractions
  • Dine on sushi and pupus at on-site restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley offers 417 rooms (including 12 suites) in varying size. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, CD player, coffee-maker and spacious work desk. Suites and executive club-level rooms also boast a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley completed an exhaustive renovation in 2009. It was during these improvements the hotel adopted a Polynesian theme.

Currently, all guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also have access to a heated outdoor swimming pool, as well as a complimentary on-site fitness center and free shuttle that takes guests anywhere within one mile of the hotel. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). There's also a beauty salon on-site (fees apply).

The Islands Restaurant serves sushi and Hawaiian-inspired cuisine that invokes the tropics.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
  • Old Town (8 mi/13 km)
  • Point Loma (9 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 26,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Catering services
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7612 -117.1835
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 5.50, MI; Montgomery Field Airport, (MYF), 6.70, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

The Islands Restaurant
The Islands Restaurant is a casual, family friendly restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seating is available inside or out on our patio overlooking the tropical poolside area.
Islands Sushi & PuPu Bar
Set in an exotic atmosphere of tropical surroundings, salt-water fish tanks and cascading waterfalls, The Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar in the Crowne Plaza San Diego is the place to be. Both local and hotel patrons can enjoy the fantastic and delicious array o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

1
Macbelle
Wisconsin, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Terrible experience

Nasty dirty carpet in the room.The room smelled,furnishings very old and run down.The pool was cold! It was midnight on arrival so we stuck it out...I am very angry and disappointed in your recommendation. I have booked another hotel for my next trip there with you and if I have similar experience it will be the last with Orbiitz. I expect a response from you Sharon Mizialko

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
Dec 2, 2007

Quite noisy

I only stayed for one night and couldn't get a good night's rest. There was a band playing in the pavillion adjacent to the hotel until late. The wall are very thin which caused me to hear people talking in the next room as well as when they turn on the shower and when the flush their toilet. I was dissapointed for the price I paid since the hotel felt very much like a motel (you enter the room from the outside-open air rather than other normal hotels where the hallways are inside. However, the front desk employees were nice and cordial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
Unhappy Cory
Lancaster, Ca
Aug 7, 2009

NOT PLEASED

We arrived and our room key did not work. We had to wait for maintenance. Room not very clean. Our guest coffee machine was missing the coffee. The athletic center was very poor, not well equipped. Our room was adjacent to the maintenance room so the maids were coming and going all day. We were looking for a hotel to call our own, because my daughter is attending SDSU starting this year so we will be using a hotel numerous times over the next for years. We will not be going back to this hotel. It is too bad, because the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
peeved
Redondo Beach, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Not Good

My biggest pet peeve is poor customer service and unfortunately that's what we experienced with this hotel. First off, they ding you for all the extras like parking and internet (why would a hotel not have free wi-fi in this day?). The service at the restaurant was really bad -- they seemed very unorganized and it took forever to get a simple breakfast. We also got woken by a false fire alarm at 1 am (not their fault) and started evacuating the family. The topper was when I was asked at check out, "How was your stay?" I told them. There were no apologies or offers to try and resolve the issues. It left me wondering why they even bother asking. The room was a good size and clean, but a little dated. It had very poor lighting and limited amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave and the single serve coffee maker was sub par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 13, 2011

Disappointed overall

Have stayed there many times previously. Foliage is very overgrown, making it difficult to see the pool area. Just over all, the hotel appeared run-down and it was always one of my favorite places to stay when visiting San Diego - I won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
Easy Rider
Utah
Mar 28, 2011

Not very happy at all

This is not a family place at all. Also if I were on a business trip I would not stay at this hotel ! To pay $9.95 per day for internet is ridiculous. I had to chase down the maid service every day for items not left in the room. I would never stay or recommend any friends to stay here!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
Tennessee Traveler
Murfreesboro, TN
May 29, 2009

High hopes, but disappointed

My husband and I went to San Diego for our ten year anniversary. The city was wonderful, the Crowne Plaza not so much. To begin, there is an unadvertised $12 a night parking fee, which was ridiculous considering our car was rarely parked at the hotel. The housekeeping staff cleaned our room but failed to leave ANY towels on one occasion and left the cleaning towels in our room on another occasion. There is no continental breakfast, but you can eat at their buffet for $16.95 per person. HA! Near the end of our four nights, the hotel room felt dirty. It was time to go. We will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Tucson
Jan 5, 2011

Not quite as expected.

Helpfull and friendly personell. Temperature control in our room was defective made our stay unplesant and unconfortable. We decided not to move to another room because of other friends staying there reporting the same problem in their room. $3 dollars for a glass of milk was to much, other food also expensive for gests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
ny
Sep 23, 2010

Ok thought it would be better

My phone did not work the internet was not connected. No wireless in the rooms. Bed was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
aaron rodgers
Green Bay, WI, USA
Nov 14, 2011

GREEN BAY PACKER / CHARGER GAME

we arrived @ the front desk everything was pretty smooth until we went to our 1st room, it smelt so dingy,musty. i dont think the room has been in use for a while , we let the front desk kno. they swapped rooms for us no big deal right , well the next room no a/c . now i want to leave but i call front desk they move ud the next day , they gave us breakfast coupons to make ud feel better. i think the hotekl needs a face lidt everything id late 70s early 80s .toilets are terrible we needed a plunger several times it was quite experience never again until theyrenovate. and dont wake up too early cuz nothing is open no coffee nothing untill afte 6am pst ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

a 2 minute drive to the mall and old town is a few minutes away

Back to menu Return to top