Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 9, 2016

Bahia Resort Hotel

3 stars
View map of 998 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
41 reviews
Wouldn't stay anywhere else in SD

Great hotel, great rooms perfect location. Second stay there and would not want to stay anywhere... See full review

  • DanT
  • Oct 14, 2015
Nice vacation spot

Great location. Resort was amazing. Would recommend the Bahia to anyone visiting San Diego. See full review

  • James K.
  • Sep 21, 2015
The Bahia Resort Hotel is secluded on a sun-splashed 14-acre peninsula on the shores of Mission Bay just one block from Mission Beach and a short ride from Pacific Beach, a truly unique location for any San Diego hotel. The waterfront location, coupled with picture-postcard views and endless outdoor recreational activities, make the Bahia Resort Hotel the ideal escape for business travelers and vacationers alike. Friendly service and gentle ocean breezes bring a sense of tranquility not experienced anywhere else in Americas Finest City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bahia Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7721 -117.2486
Area served
Mission Bay, San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Balboa Park, La Jolla, Mexico two blocks from the Pacific Ocean/Mission Beach area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 41
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James K.
Couples
N/A
Sep 21, 2015

Nice vacation spot

Great location. Resort was amazing. Would recommend the Bahia to anyone visiting San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emanuele M.
Couples
N/A
Sep 9, 2015

Anniversary

The first approach with the hotel wasn't great: room wasn't ready (we were early). so they geave us a pool pass, but the pool has no locker room, just the bathrooms, so I had to change in there. Also, they charge your card an extra $50 per day as safety deposit (I find it a bit unwelcoming and somewhat unprofessional). From there on, though, the stay was awesome: we got a room with the most beautiful view on mission bay although we originally reserved a garden view room ( major upgrade for no charge). Rooms are very spaciouse and clean, very comfortable. We had a terrace with 2 lounge chairs overlooking the ocean. The private beach is quaint and calm, perfect for families with little children, and the water was really clean. We were about 10 minutes from everything we wanted to do. The stay includes a complimentary 1 hour boat ride on a Paddlewheeler with all the original interiors. You can enjoy a drink or dance on the first deck. A very nice extra. Suggested location,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gary W.
Couples
N/A
Sep 4, 2015

Great trip

Liked everything at the hotel . Only thing I didn't like was window unit air conditioner leaked onto balcony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lillyprincess
Couples
Temecula California
Oct 22, 2014

Very pleased!!

The from desk staff was very helpful and very friendly, I've stayed in hotels before and had never been treated with such respect. My fiancé and I just came to town for a night and we both regret not being able to stay for a second night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pliz
Couples
Ontario,canada
Sep 20, 2014

Anniversary vacation

Absolutely wonderful. Alex and many others at check in are great, gave us an upgrade both times we stayed at this lovely resort with awesome views of the sunset and Bay Area. At night we could look out from our bed and see the lovely lights across the bay, almost like it was Christmas. 20 mins drive or less to airport making it an easy place to get to and just slightly hearing some noise from the planes but it never bothered our sleep. Free parking, great pool and loungers and NO resort fees also made this resort extremely desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and rout door restaurants close by. And amusement area close by. I would recommend Mexican food on mission bay just before the beach.

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reavolver
Couples
Seattle, Washington
Mar 15, 2013

Comfortable and scenic

This place is in a great location and has it's own little compound on it's a little island in the bay. Very close to the beach and the bay, great heated pool and hot tub. great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap Rentals is the best bike and surf rentals in town. super friendly and cheap

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Issaquah, WA
Mar 8, 2011

Not what I expected

My husband and I traveled to San Diego to find some Sun and celebrate our one year anniversary. Everything I saw on the website for this hotel looked to be perfect. It was not perfect. We were supposed to have a garden view, but the view we got was of a parking lot. I didn't feel comfortable keeping our curtains open because anybody could look into our room. The bed was uncomfortable, the pillows were flat and the ceilings had large bumps that looked like they were holding water. The showers were horrible, they were meant for people under 5ft. The water would randomly turn extremly hot or cold. The only cool thing about the hotel were the seals and that we got free HBO. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Woodchip
Couples
Michigan
Feb 25, 2011

Spring Break 2011

The rooms were in need of remodeling. Bathtub was repainted and paint was chipping off. Tile in the bathroom was old and the grout was dirty. Room had an odor. Drinking glasses in the room were not clean. Some had old lipstick on the rim. NOT OURS!When the heater was turned on a burning smell came from the unit. Location to the beach was great. Food at the hotel was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Staff was very friendly and the food was great. A little expensive.

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
papaalley
Couples
corpus christ, texas
Jan 19, 2011

great classic hotel

We had a great view... nice folks in the hotel.. easy to get to... loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

eat breakfast by Crystal Pier ... Konos... super

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAN MAKE IT WORK
Couples
LA MESA
May 25, 2010

not purfect but good

THE HOTEL WAS OK. BUT THE FIRST ROOM WE RECIEVED WAS SAID TO BE AN UPGRADE AND SHARED OUR BALCONY WITH OUR NEIGHBOR. IT DID HAVE A NICE OCEAN VIEW, THE ROOM WAS VERY OUTDATED. WE WERE MOVED TO A MORE UP TO DATE ROOM BUT LOST 100% OF THE VIEW. NOW WE ARE LOOKING AT THE MAINTENANCE BUILDING. BUT WE MADE THE BEST OF IT AND THE POOL WAS NICE. THE STAFF WAS AS NICE AS POSSIBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A LOT OF GOOD RESTURAUNTS OFFER FREE PARKING IN THE HARD TO FIND PARKING AREAS.CAN SEE FIREWORKS FROM RESORT EACH NIGHT

Back to menu Return to top