Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Bahia Resort Hotel

3 stars
998 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
271 reviews
Fantastic Family get away

My experience at the resort was tremendously excellent. My daughters birthday the staff surprised... See full review

  • Clarydottie
  • Sep 7, 2014
great hotel

a room was clean and spacious and the location is really good. See full review

  • Y's mom
  • Sep 6, 2014
Luxury Mission Bay hotel on private peninsula with seal pool
Situated on its own 14-acre peninsula in Mission Bay, the Bahia Resort Hotel exudes privacy. The hotel dates back to the 1950s. Today it features a tropical garden and a seal pool with two seals on loan from the San Diego Zoological Society. The hotel also owns and operates the Bahia Bell, an authentic 19th-century sternwheeler. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The on-site Mediterranean restaurant, Café Bahia, serves three meals a day.
Highlights
  • Private location away from other resorts
  • Marvel at seals in the seal pool or relax in a tropical garden
  • 19th-century sternwheeler, a great option for special events
Rooms

The Bahia Resort Hotel's 314 rooms, including 26 suites feature views of Mission Bay or the Pacific Ocean. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, hair dryer and signature bath products. Suites vary in size and feature sitting areas and kitchenettes. There also are a handful of beachfront cottages. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. High-speed Internet access also is available (fees apply).

Features

The Bahia Resort Hotel dates back to 1953, when the property opened with 52 rooms. It has grown gradually since then.

Today, the property features a tropical garden and a seal pool with two seals on loan from the San Diego Zoological Society. The hotel also owns and operates the Bahia Belle, an authentic 19th-century sternwheeler that circles Mission Bay on a regular boat cruise.

All guests have complimentary access to the on-site heated outdoor pool, as well as a fitness center with LifeCardio and LifeFitness equipment. There's also a video arcade on property. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the Mediterranean-style Café Bahia, which boasts an outdoor patio for al fresco meals. The on-site lounge, Tangier Bar, offers Happy Hour seven days a week.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Point Loma (4 mi/6 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Bahia Bell, a 19th-century sternwheeler, available for special events
  • 24-hour business center
  • Mission Bay Ballroom has views of Pacific Ocean
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bahia Resort Hotel Rooms

Suite Room
One queen or two double beds and a full sofa bed in the living area, located in one- or two-story buildings with private balconies or patios overlooking Mission Bay. Kitchenettes with refrigerator and cookware. Two TVs and multi-line phones. (Request for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed).
Bay View Studio
Bay View Studio offers an impressive bay view, 460 square feet of living room space, complete with a full kitchen. Each studio has one king bed or two full beds and a pull out sofa bed (request for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed), Free Parking, with a Maximum number of occupants 6.
Garden View Studio
These rooms offer an impressive 460 square feet of living room space, complete with a full kitchen. Each studio has one king bed or two full beds and a pull out sofa bed (requests for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed). Free Parking, with a Maximum number of occupants 6.
Garden Room
One queen or two double beds, located in one-or two-story buildings around the center of the property, surrounded by rare and unique palm gardens. Large working space and sitting area. Coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer. (Request for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bahia Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7721 -117.2486
Area served
Mission Bay, San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Balboa Park, La Jolla, Mexico two blocks from the Pacific Ocean/Mission Beach area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.2 mi
  • Sea World: 1.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.2 mi
  • Sea World: 1.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.6 mi
  • Legoland: 25 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.3 mi

Dining

Tangier Lounge
Cocktail lounge open daily with nightly entertainment.
Bahia Cafe
Casual restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast buffet served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 271
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnCa84
Business
Virginia
Sep 22, 2014

Nice location

Location is perfect if you are planning to stay in Mission Beach (I suggest Pacifc Beach however). The rooms were a little bit old-looking and dusty although very big. Private beach on the laguna is definitely a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pliz
Business
Ontario,canada
Sep 20, 2014

Anniversary vacation

Absolutely wonderful. Alex and many others at check in are great, gave us an upgrade both times we stayed at this lovely resort with awesome views of the sunset and Bay Area. At night we could look out from our bed and see the lovely lights across the bay, almost like it was Christmas. 20 mins drive or less to airport making it an easy place to get to and just slightly hearing some noise from the planes but it never bothered our sleep. Free parking, great pool and loungers and NO resort fees also made this resort extremely desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and rout door restaurants close by. And amusement area close by. I would recommend Mexican food on mission bay just before the beach.

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Disappointmen
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 6, 2014

Not Resort Quality

Overall, I was disappointed with our stay. The hotel/property description did not hold up to expectations. Room service was terrible-forgot to deliver and then when it did arrive it was wrong. There were dirty towels hanging in the bathroom on arrival. The restaurant food was not good and poor service. The complimentary boat cruise in the bay was a shuttle service to their sister property-not quite how it was advertised. It was not worth the price we paid. The only positive was the large room size with kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KathyB2
Business
Springville, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Very nice hotel

The room was exceptionally clean & comfy. The driving directions made it hard to find but once there it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marmaduke Bunny Rabbit
Business
Boston
Nov 14, 2013

This place was awesome!

I was very pleasantly surprised to check into our room. Not only was it huge, but our private deck overlooked the bay - what a great view to wake up to. A great value and great location. I would highly recommend and definitely return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not rested
Business
Mesa, Arizona
Nov 13, 2013

Staff lodging

I think we were set up in staff lodging quarters. We would receive communications under our door addressed to staff. There was out of place furniture in our room that appeared to be there as storage. The couch had several tears in it. The bathroom was dirty. The location of our room was right outside of the elevator and above the garbage dumpster. There was no such thing as a restful sleep. There was another guests dirty dishes from room service outside of our door from the time we arrived on our first day until the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bumbsky
Business
San Diego CA
Jul 8, 2013

Staycation

Love the Bahia! Even though I live in San Diego I love having a getaway weekend down near the beach. The Bahia is so close to everything and the rooms are always clean and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaniThri03
Business
MN
Jun 9, 2013

ROMANTIC

NIce hotel good food in the cafe, and the free boat cruise was romanic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Wave House

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Older romantics
Business
Denver, CO
May 17, 2013

Beautiful setting

The people at the Bahia were helpful and positive to work with whenever we talked with them.The view from our room was absolutely fabulous. It was delightful to have an immediately accessible beach that was available from every room. It was a great choice for our stay and we would visit there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the seal reserve that is on the ocean side just up the road in La Jolla. It is amazing

Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomasi k
Business
Plymouth mass
Mar 25, 2013

Great trip

The Bahia hotel was very good. The only thing I would have asked or was a bigger bathroom. Over all the place was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top