Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
513 out of 513
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South San Francisco, CA
Jul 12, 2010

very friendly, helpful, nice rooms,

Great location, beautiful views, very helpful and cheerful employees. No grouches there. Rooms were okay, nothing spectacular but nice, clean, roomy. Went to the zoo, embarcadero, seaport village. All within a few minutes in a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Humphrey's Restaurant.....good drink, food and music, prices right except on concert nights.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EwokontheIsland
Business
Alameda, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Hawaii in San Diego

Staff was friendly and helpful. Our original room was located next to the loading dock and had a water bug in it. They graciously moved us to a nicer part of the motel which while small was a much nicer room. Beautiful to be in surrounded by water and next to the Marina. Convenient location to everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a terrific meal at the Brigatine which was a 5 minute drive away from the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Know 4 next time
Business
Chicago
Jul 10, 2010

Nice Location

The room was clean and cosy, but it could have been great if we had been given a King size bed without a loud adjoining room where we could hear everything. Upon arriving, we asked for a King, but nothing was available for the time we would be there. Good thing is we were there to visit our son and out much of the time. The location was terrific and beautiful. Pool was just the right size and a convenient short walk. We would come back again, but only now I know what to ask for ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything you want to do is a short drive. Great place for a vacation. Plenty of unique shops.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson , Az
Jul 7, 2010

Excellent Hotel

We enjoyed the Hotel very much,also they monitored the parking situation, since we stayed on the 4th of July weekend, and that was great,wasnt alot of traffic,in and out of the Island! All around it was very nice and the Beds are very comfortable, and the scenery is very nice and relaxing,great location, can get around easily to where ever needed. We will certainly stay there again,and tell others as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy D'
Business
Denver, Co.
Jul 6, 2010

Great Hotel

Found hotel online and was very pleased with complete package. Able to tour island by bike and walking. Very safe enviroment. Would highly reccomend to others, as a matter of fact I have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayShay
Business
Alb, NM
Jul 6, 2010

Great hotel at a great location

The hotel was no more than 10 minutes away from everywhere we wanted to visit: beaches, Sea World, Balboa Park. It was right on the bay with beautiful views and it was very peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy D'
Business
Denver, Co.
Jul 6, 2010

Great Hotel

Found hotel online and was very pleased with complete package. Able to tour island by bike and walking. Very safe enviroment. Would highly reccomend to others, as a matter of fact I have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwood Village, CO
Jul 4, 2010

Enjoyed our stay

Handy location for Sea World and Zoo. Fun watching Navy ships and planes come and go. A little noisy on the Bay side where we stayed. Next time I would request the Marina side. Also, not enough parking on the older section where we stayed - more rooms than parking spaces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at the Fish Market Restaurant next to the Midway ship museum. Get there early, though, because it is very popular and there can be quite a wait. We got there at 5:30 and got right in on a Friday night, but by the time we left the line was out the door. It was the best meal of the whole trip!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa
Jul 4, 2010

Lives up to its hype!

Great location, beautiful surroundings, good resturant, near most major attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jul 2, 2010

Good location

The hotel room, grounds and staff were very nice. While there was plenty of parking, after 7 pm you could count on a walk to your room. Shelter Island is beautiful, but my room facing the water was very noisy - both "thin walls" and outside noise from a fishing pier across the street, starting as early as 6 am. Nearly every morning I awoke to car alarms going off as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurant park at Harbor and Nimitz - Oggi's Pizza and Sports Bar, Sushiya (sushi), Subway, Starbucks and a mexican restaurant I didn't have the chance to try. I'd pass on the chinese resturant at Scott and Shelter Island.

Back to menu Return to top