Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
450 reviews
Vacation getaway

Perfect hotel for week getaway with the significant other. Beautiful and convenient location with... See full review

  • Midwest Guy1
  • Mar 8, 2014
Great ocean view

It was just what I was looking for with the bay on both sides of you, and a pleasant boardwalk on a... See full review

  • love the ocean
  • Feb 22, 2014
Convenient hotel on Shelter Island with free bike rentals
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
  • Complimentary shuttle to San Diego Airport and Amtrak
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

All guests receive complimentary transfers to the airport or cruise ship terminal, as well as complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to San Diego Airport and Amtrak
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Policies and Fees

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.
Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7145 -117.2279
Area served
San Diego. The Island Palms Hotel & Marina is ideally located on Shelter Island, surrounded by San Diego Bay and our private, mega-yacht marina. We take pride in providing excellent service in a tranquil, casual, California setting
Nearby airports
Lindburgh Field 3 miles, San Diego International Airport 3 miles
Area description
Mexican border is just 20 minutes away, San Diego Zoo - 13 miles, Sea World - 5.7 miles, Legoland - 38 miles, Birch Aquarium at Scripps - 13.7 miles, Balboa Park - 5.6 miles, Del Mar Race Track / Fairgrounds - 21.2 miles, Gaslamp Quarter - 5 miles, Seaport Village - 5 miles, La Jolla - 12 miles, Tijuana - 21 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (450)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
450 out of 450
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Attleboro, Ma.
May 22, 2010

beautiful location, can't beat it

[...] at the front deck, very professional, friendly and helpful. He made sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. I would recommend The Island Palms to my frinds and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Hutchinson, KS
May 21, 2010

best vacation ever

Hotel was in a great location, not too far from downtown and just minutes away from all the popular beaches. staff was VERY friendly, and the service was great. Very peaceful setting, absolutely zero complaints about this hotel! Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is a very short drive to most attractions around city.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2010

"Shamu, Shamu.!!!!"

After a long drive from Las Vegas to Seaworld and after getting soaked, we were able to check in early to change clothes. The staff was great and helpful. the Free internet in the rooms was great. The view from the rooms was great. Only minutes from Shamu....The beds were super comfortable. Working for a big Las Vegas resort, this was to this date the best stay in a California hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Minutes from Seaworld and the San Diego Zoo

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
Hassle Free Travel Seeker
Metro DC
May 14, 2010

Great Stay!

Very clean and professional staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near airport, but first class accomodation

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
May 14, 2010

Great experience

I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The decor was also copacetic. Once in a while I heard some military helicopters nearby, but it was infrequent, and I did not experience any noise at night. The view from my room was excellent (overlooking San Diego Bay), the staff was friendly and helpful, and the facilities were very nice.My only minor complaint was that the shower drain was somewhat backed-up, and drained slowly. I mentioned this to the front desk, but it wasn't corrected by maintenance. The front desk did follow-up that night to see if the problem was corrected, but I didn't notice that it wasn't fixed until my shower the next morning (which was the morning I checked out - I only stayed 3 nights.)Overall, I really liked this hotel, and especially with the discount deal I got through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Palm Springs
May 13, 2010

good hotel not great

fine hotel,,,was expecting more from all the great reviews....nice room but not much of a view....paid for the ocean view upgrade and had a nice view of the p[arking lot and some water in the distance...the hotel is spread out we were in the last building 2nd floor of 3...had the feeling this was the "bargain" building...staff was friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
new london ohio
May 12, 2010

home away from home

this hotel was very nice i didnt get a chanced to enjoy it but when i come back to san diego i will do my best to stay here again.very nice quiet and right on the water.what more could you ask for.oh by the way the resturant was out of this world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
black barbie
pasadena ca
May 11, 2010

will not stay there again

This hotel left ALOT to be desired. The location was across the harbor and a good 15min drive from the supposed "right near" distance to downtown. It was not possible to get to the gaslamp without a car. When i checked in my reservation (which I had done online) was not in the system even 7hours later. So they had me sit in the lobby for over 30min just to get my information. The hotel never addressed this inconvenience or said anything to me. The rooms are small and the bathroom is far from luxurious. The lights take about 5min to warm up so the lights are dim when you first turn them on. The stand up shower has no light at all so you shower in the dark. The drain of the shower also came loose while I was showering so I had to replace the grimy drain myself. I will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Central Coast, CA
May 9, 2010

Anniversary Get-A-Way

Good location for a get-away. Very easy to find and a beautiful view of the Marina and bay. Room was a little noisy from the guest over us, but with A/C unit on fan, noise was blocked very well. Enjoyed our stay although for us it was a little expensive. The restaurant was very good as we enjoyed their dessert one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoyed going to the USS Midway about a 15 minute drive from the Hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Claremont, CA
May 9, 2010

San Diego Mother'[s Day weekend 2010

We enjoyed the pool and spa just outside our building and the very comfortable bed. Our room had a pleasant balcony with 2 chairs. The air conditioner kept the room at just the right temperature and was easy to adjust for lower temp at bedtime. The place was quiet. The restaurant served good food and had an attractive view of the marina and Point Loma. The park along the entire length of Shelter Island was just across the street. Except for the long walk to the ice machine, which was hard to find, everything was very satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bali Hai restaurant, which has the best view of the bay and city, has received poor reviews in recent years, but it's been refurbished and recently opened with a new chef. It's a 10-minute walk away at the NE end of Shelter Island. Make a reservation for a window table.

Back to menu Return to top