Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jun 25, 2010

Restful and great location

This trip was simply an overnight to pick up my grandson in San Diego and take him to San Francisco where we live. The staff was exceedingly friendly and accomodating. The rooms are o.k., a bit dark but clean. The location is very nice and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We were tired and ate at the hotel. It was fine in a great setting

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fish Squeezer
Business
Springfield, MO
Jun 25, 2010

Good location, enjoyed the stay...

Nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Great location if you are visiting the downtown area, San Diego Zoo or Sea World. Relaxing location with nice opportunities for exercise, sight seeing and other outdoor recreation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World is a must-see during your stay...

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharyl
Business
Marysville, WA.
Jun 21, 2010

Awesome location!

We had been looking forward to this vacation and I had spent a lot of time looking for just the right hotel. Boy did I find it! What a great hotel, especially for the price. We can not wait to come back again. We also very much enjoyed the use of the free bicycles that the hotel provided to tour the island. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even suggesting places to eat and shop. The two pools and spas were very nice and not too crowded. Very close location to all the theme parks and area attractions. The food and the resturant was not good and very over priced, but plenty of other places to eat close by. We had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at the hotel. Their are lots of options close by that are a better value and better food. The front desk is very helpful to point you in the right direction. Some area pizza places will even deliver right to your room. If going to Seaworld, get the "dine all day deal" it's worth it. Especially if you have older kids.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The B clan
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 21, 2010

Great Hotel to get away from it all

Nice quiet hotel just minutes from all major attractions, I was amazed how quiet it was being so close to the airport. Two nice small pools, kids loved them, never crowded, free parking, we stayed in the newer section, huge flat screen TV, view of the bay, not super fancy, it just felt much better than your typical hotel feel. Beds were air adjustable, very comfy. Workout room was small, but adequate, empty at 6 AM!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 20, 2010

San Diego Trip - Best Western Isl Palms

Spectacular location. Lovely rooms. Very friendly staff. Provides a resort feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 18, 2010

Simply amazing!

This trip was very relaxing and leisurely for us making the Best Western an ideal vacation spot. We had one of the suites(I highly recommend paying the little extra for one)that was so big and relaxing it made us forget that home was over 2000 miles away. The room had a very "homey" style about it with a lot of ammenities. I was surprised that the staff even did our dishes every day!! I am most definitely staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the 5 mile trips up the road to La Jolla.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 17, 2010

Good Stay

I stayed at the hotel for a wedding that took place at the hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms were nice and very clean, but the walls are paper thin making for a noisy night since we had loud neighbors celebrating all night. There wasn't much to do within walking distance as far as shopping and dining go, but it was just right off the beautiful ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Humphreys is a nice nightlife spot that's only a 2 minute walk away.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna A.
Business
Somerville, Ma.
Jun 16, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

The hotel was very nice. The staff was friendly. They would say hi every time you walked by them. Room was cleaned everyday. We had a room in the front of the hotel on the first floor but because of the bushes around the patio it was blocking the view. Next time we would request the second floor Marina which was beauitful. We would stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Alamos, NM
Jun 16, 2010

Great Location, value.

Waterfront location. Very pleasant and lovely. Main area emphasis is yachting, boat maintenance, etc., so limited restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very good restaurants and not overly expensive but suggest you hit Trader Joe's or Von's for some breakfast/lunch time and money savers - maybe even some coffee and filters as motels never provide enough. Rooms have small refrigerators.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 14, 2010

Wonderful Hotel...I love Shelter Island!

Wonderful experience, super-friendly staff, best location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top