Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

3 stars
4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110-2866
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
85 reviews
San Diego for a Retirement Ceremony

The Hacienda Hotel truly was the perfect choice for our 3 day trip to San Diego. We were returning... See full review

  • Noodler
  • Aug 25, 2014
Training for work

This hotel was a welcome relief after my flight! The beds were comfortable, the hot water actually... See full review

  • Spyderling
  • Feb 14, 2014
The perfect hotel in San Diego awaits! Full of charm and located right in the heart of Old Town San Diego -- the birthplace of California. Service, amenities and location make this the perfect hotel in San Diego. Hotel guests will be centrally located to many of San Diego's most popular attractions including SeaWorld®, San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo®. Sports fans will be a short drive away from downtown where they can take in a game at Petco Park or at the Chargers Qualcomm Stadium. Other favorite attractions include the University of San Diego®, Coronado Island, the San Diego Convention Center and the Marine Corps Recruit Depot. Travelers often stay at this San Diego hotel for the Rock N Roll Marathon, Comic-Con® events or just to be close to great local beaches. Plus guests can enjoy the hotel's onsite coffee shop and cocktail lounge or great dining and shopping options within walking distance in the Old Town area. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town offer spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Each guest room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. This Mission-style hotel also offers a fitness center, outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, guest laundry and a complimentary shuttle to the San Diego International Airport. Corporate travelers will appreciate the onsite business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome with restrictions. For the best location in San Diego that is full of unique charm, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,MICROWV,REFRIG,COFFEEMAKER
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OVRSZD,NOSOFABED,SAFE,MICRFG,COFMKR
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABED,SAFE,MICRFG,HISPD,COFMKR
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,CITYBAYVW,SOFABD,FLTTV,MICRFG,HISPD
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,WDFLR,SHWRONLY,PETITE,FLATTV,MICRFG
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,ELPRES,FRE BRKFAST,2CKTAILS,DINNER,LAUND
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,ELPRES,FRE BRKFAST,2CKTAILS,DINNER,LAUND
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2RMS,MINSTE,LIVING,2FLTTV,MICRFG
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NO SMOKING,MICROWV,REFRIG,COFFEEMAKER
SUITE-2 ROOMS 1 BED
SUITE-2 ROOMS 1 BED,NO SMOKING,MICROWV,REFRIG,COFFEEMAKER
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,2TVS,KITCHENETTE,SOFABD,SAFE
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,SOFABED,SAFE,MICRFG,HISPD,COFMKR
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SAFE,MICRFG,HISPD,COFMKR
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,2TVS,WETBAR,SOFABED,SAFE
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,CITYBAYVW,SOFABD,SAFE,MICRFG,COFMKR
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,CITYBAYVW,SOFABD,SAFE,MICRFG,COFMKR

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7534 -117.1944
Area served
Chula Vista, La Jolla, La Mesa, Escondido, Tijuana, Mexico, El Cajon, Del Mar, Carlsbad
Nearby airports
(SAN), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Sea World: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Sea World: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.9 mi
  • Legoland: 26.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119 mi

Dining

Old Town Tequila Factory
Old Town Tequila Factory, on premises, full service, Mexican, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, full service restaurant, 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mara lyn
central Minnesota
Apr 12, 2012

an enjoyable california vacation

Hotel was very nice. The grounds were pretty with pots of plants and beautiful flowers and well maintained. The location in old town was convenient for choices in dining and public transportation. we had an awesome view from our room at the 600 building at the top of the hill. We would recommend hotel, it is a great choice for anyone who does not care to rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the old town mining cafe had good breakfast specials.Cafe Coyote was always busy. A good choice of mexican restaurants.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evelyn traveling Mom
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Excellent location!

Awesome family getaway experience in this hotel while staying there for New Years Eve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Old Town San Diego. Lots of good places to eat.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tutu the Moon
San Diego
Nov 7, 2013

Noisy! No Elevator

10 hours of driving and exhausted, we arrived, not told our room was a three floor walk up and no elevator, nor offered help with bags, which had we known we would have asked for a different room. The walls are thin, considering the price, you expect better. Once here we found out they forgot to restock our room with coffee...another disappointment. Nice room, and great location, customer service lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StevenE
Business
Princeton jct, NJ
Oct 29, 2013

excellent

Great staff and large clean rooms. Free shuttle to down town and back was very nice. Restaurant brunch and lunch was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Randy Dandy
Boston
Oct 18, 2013

Got noise?

The BWH is located in Old Town and may be the best hotel there. We stayed there to attend a wedding nearby. The room itself is fine. Check in went quickly though we weren't offered the complimentary breakfast vouchers. I only found out about them because my sister was also staying there and she had one. While we did not hear the normal comings and goings of Old Town. We did learn there is a 2:45AM train that blows its horn while leaving the local transit center. We could also hear the beep beep beep of garbage trucks that come by and empty the various dumpsters starting about 4:30AM. My sister was on the other side of the complex and did not hear any of it, he could, however, hear the people walking above her. We also heard the neighbors alarm go off at 5AM. They must be a sound sleeper as it took about five minutes for them to turn it off. Thought maybe he was dead. OT is great if you like Mexican food. The are dozens of choices for it. Want something else, we'll there is one overpriced Italian joint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perry's cafe is about a half mile away and has great breakfast. Not open for dinner and has limited lunch offerings but you can't beat its breakfast.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KimberlyM
San Diego
Sep 23, 2013

Old Town Hacienda

I was not informed of the "amenity fee" until checkout.....I did not appreciate the surprise charge added to my bill at the end. If I had known I was being charged for coffee and water I might have actually used it! I was told there was nothing they could do about it and was told "it must have been a new staff member that checked you in". Also, everyone else in our family received several restaurant vouchers except us......was that also because a new person checked us in?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janie BoopsHane
Reno, Nv
Sep 1, 2013

Good for MCRD families

Had 1 bad experience. On Thursday we had to wait for the shuttle for 2.5 hours. We kept calling them and were told different excuses each time as to why they were late. in a nutshell we spoke to the manager and he was very rude to us which was surprising as all his staff were very nice. He did say that he would not charge us for one nights stay. Not sure how that works with You guys as we prepaid?? We found out the next day from another one of their drivers that there was a new guy that day and he wasn't told which gate to go into on the base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amtrac mom
Upstate NY
Jul 1, 2013

old town

Beautiful setting, walking distance to everything Old Town - room was clean and spacious - awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coyote Cafe

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Relia Art
Corvallis, OR
Jun 16, 2013

Not Up To Date Amenities

Room was OK but many drawbacks: Elevators go only to some rooms; stairs required for others. Lamp in room was shorted and made arching sounds. When using this way of reservations, no breakfast coupons were given resulting in 25 dollar morning bill. TV used analog signal, no digital, making the picture snowy and blurry. Long walk required from rooms to front desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants in Old Town San Diego. Always busy and within a short walk to other restaurants in the area.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Banana Bob
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 12, 2013

An Excellent Choice

The location is perfect. Situated on the hill overlooking Old Town San Diego. The hotel is beautiful. It's hard to believe it's a Best Western. Excellent restaurant. Close to ALL transportation--AmTrak, trolley, bus, airport, etc. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic Old Town San Diego where the Spanish first settled. Shopping daily. Entertainment nightly.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
catraveller
san francisco
May 27, 2013

Great location, but lacks some amenities...

Situated in old town San Diego, but all other guests got breakfast vouchers, and they gave me a room far away from parking lot, where I had to carry my suitcases over serveral stairs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top