Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

3 stars
View map of 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110-2866

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mara lyn
central Minnesota
Apr 12, 2012

an enjoyable california vacation

Hotel was very nice. The grounds were pretty with pots of plants and beautiful flowers and well maintained. The location in old town was convenient for choices in dining and public transportation. we had an awesome view from our room at the 600 building at the top of the hill. We would recommend hotel, it is a great choice for anyone who does not care to rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the old town mining cafe had good breakfast specials.Cafe Coyote was always busy. A good choice of mexican restaurants.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seeker of Sunshine
Business
Oregon
Jan 22, 2014

Long weekend getaway

The hotel structure is impressive- 5 acres of traditional stucco buildings on a hill overlooking Old Town. The location is walking distance to everything in Old Town and easily accessible to the airport and downtown. The hotel grounds, rooms, and pool were all very clean and maintained. Everything was amazing here; however, I would not recommend dining or room service from the attached restaurant. There are many better options just a few feet away in Old Town. Overall, an A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harney Sushi

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gramma Nene
Business
Big Island of Hawaii
Jan 15, 2014

Wonderful night in Old Town!

Lovely stay at one of my favorite properties. Flew the next morning to Maui, so I did not get to sample the food at the hotel restaurant but I will go again, hopefully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evelyn traveling Mom
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Excellent location!

Awesome family getaway experience in this hotel while staying there for New Years Eve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Old Town San Diego. Lots of good places to eat.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tutu the Moon
Business
San Diego
Nov 7, 2013

Noisy! No Elevator

10 hours of driving and exhausted, we arrived, not told our room was a three floor walk up and no elevator, nor offered help with bags, which had we known we would have asked for a different room. The walls are thin, considering the price, you expect better. Once here we found out they forgot to restock our room with coffee...another disappointment. Nice room, and great location, customer service lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StevenE
Business
Princeton jct, NJ
Oct 29, 2013

excellent

Great staff and large clean rooms. Free shuttle to down town and back was very nice. Restaurant brunch and lunch was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Randy Dandy
Business
Boston
Oct 18, 2013

Got noise?

The BWH is located in Old Town and may be the best hotel there. We stayed there to attend a wedding nearby. The room itself is fine. Check in went quickly though we weren't offered the complimentary breakfast vouchers. I only found out about them because my sister was also staying there and she had one. While we did not hear the normal comings and goings of Old Town. We did learn there is a 2:45AM train that blows its horn while leaving the local transit center. We could also hear the beep beep beep of garbage trucks that come by and empty the various dumpsters starting about 4:30AM. My sister was on the other side of the complex and did not hear any of it, he could, however, hear the people walking above her. We also heard the neighbors alarm go off at 5AM. They must be a sound sleeper as it took about five minutes for them to turn it off. Thought maybe he was dead. OT is great if you like Mexican food. The are dozens of choices for it. Want something else, we'll there is one overpriced Italian joint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perry's cafe is about a half mile away and has great breakfast. Not open for dinner and has limited lunch offerings but you can't beat its breakfast.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KimberlyM
Business
San Diego
Sep 23, 2013

Old Town Hacienda

I was not informed of the "amenity fee" until checkout.....I did not appreciate the surprise charge added to my bill at the end. If I had known I was being charged for coffee and water I might have actually used it! I was told there was nothing they could do about it and was told "it must have been a new staff member that checked you in". Also, everyone else in our family received several restaurant vouchers except us......was that also because a new person checked us in?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janie BoopsHane
Business
Reno, Nv
Sep 1, 2013

Good for MCRD families

Had 1 bad experience. On Thursday we had to wait for the shuttle for 2.5 hours. We kept calling them and were told different excuses each time as to why they were late. in a nutshell we spoke to the manager and he was very rude to us which was surprising as all his staff were very nice. He did say that he would not charge us for one nights stay. Not sure how that works with You guys as we prepaid?? We found out the next day from another one of their drivers that there was a new guy that day and he wasn't told which gate to go into on the base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amtrac mom
Business
Upstate NY
Jul 1, 2013

old town

Beautiful setting, walking distance to everything Old Town - room was clean and spacious - awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coyote Cafe

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Relia Art
Business
Corvallis, OR
Jun 16, 2013

Not Up To Date Amenities

Room was OK but many drawbacks: Elevators go only to some rooms; stairs required for others. Lamp in room was shorted and made arching sounds. When using this way of reservations, no breakfast coupons were given resulting in 25 dollar morning bill. TV used analog signal, no digital, making the picture snowy and blurry. Long walk required from rooms to front desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants in Old Town San Diego. Always busy and within a short walk to other restaurants in the area.

Back to menu Return to top