Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Citizen Hotel

4 stars
926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Made for a great trip

Loved the hotel. The political comics and undertones were wonderful, and it honestly had the... See full review

  • Jaimita
  • Aug 18, 2014
Treated like royalty

The hotel had a charming decor, room design, furnishings and view. The staff was first class. Great... See full review

  • chris12
  • May 15, 2014
Jazz era cool in Sacramento for the modern day politico
The eternal glamour of politics feels downright marvelous at this stylish full-service hotel. The Citizen Hotel opened in fall 2008 in a historic 14-story, 83-year-old brick building, retaining hand-carved stair railings, vintage elevators and vaulted ceilings. This walkable location in the heart of downtown Sacramento is two blocks to the State Capitol and three to the Sacramento Convention Center.
Highlights:
  • Green Certified by the state of California
  • Complimentary wine tasting nightly
  • Apple Mac Mini in all guest rooms
  • On-site restaurant Grange is one of Sacramento's contemporary dining stars
Rooms

Custom design expresses the Citizen Hotel's distinctive 1920s tone. Stately bedding, window treatments and furniture vary in all 198 rooms. Expect quality hand-carved wood, 300-thread count sheets and marble fixtures. Easily join the modern world with in-room Apple Mac Mini computers, iPod docking stations, State Capitol feed channels free on HD LCD TVs and a video library of political movie titles. Most rooms have cityscape views. Refrigerators are available (fees apply). Penthouse suites on the 14th floor have Jacuzzis and share a 400-square-foot balcony. Room service is available. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Early California is re-imagined in bold marble, brass, leather and velvet in the old world lobby and lofted bar The Scandal, best enjoyed during complimentary weeknight wine tastings. Framed political quips provide a dash of whimsy for classy clientele of this Joie de Vivre property. The Citizen Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Dining

On-site American brasserie-style Grange Restaurant and Bar is a star in the contemporary Sacramento dining scene. Seasonal fare is direct from California's nearby Central Valley. The wine list is entirely from California.

Recreation

A workout room is available. Get fresh air at Cesar Chavez Park across the street or nearby State Capitol building's 40-acre park.

Transportation
  • Sacramento International Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (99 mi/159 km)
  • Amtrak station Sacramento (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Attractions
  • California State Capitol (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sacramento Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town Sacramento (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • California State University Sacramento (4.9 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 11,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Roof deck
  • Historic ballroom
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Citizen Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King Guest Room
The room offers 1 king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Deluxe Double-Double Guest Room
The room offers two double beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 king bed and seperate sitting, with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Citizen Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

38.5801 -121.4939
Area served
Sacramento.
Nearby airports
Sacramento International Airport.
Area description
This California hotel is located in the center of downtown Sacramento, 3 blocks from Downtown Plaza, 2 blocks from the State Capitol, and 2 blocks from the Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hornet Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Sleep Train Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Arco Arena: 5 mi
  • Folsom: 19.6 mi
  • Hughes Stadium: 881.3 mi

Dining

Scandal
At Scandal bar and lounge, the hotel staff creates "culinary" cocktails with local ingredients. The perfect place to unwind with friends or enjoy desserts and California inspired collection of cognacs, ports and liqueurs, bar and lounge has it all.
Grange
Grange is a culinary expression of all things local, reflecting the authentic essence and soul of its community. Service is warm, friendly. With an intimate atmosphere of urban sophistication. Grange restaurant mirrors the classic and eclectic atmosphere of the Citizen Hotel. From the grand, two-story wine vault, to the intimate bar and lounge; Grange offers a unique experience to satisfy the melange of citizens who visit both hotel and restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for The Citizen Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Golf
Business
Seattle, Wa
Feb 22, 2010

Noise overshadows the good

I was very unhappy with the level of quiet in the rooms. The music and activities from the banquet area was easily heard in guest rooms. I didn't mind on Friday and Saturday night, but on Sunday night when I needed to get up at 4:00 AM on Monday to catch my plane, it was VERY annoying. I called down to the front desk and was told the loud music was scheduled to last until 11PM that night. I asked about a reduction in my fee paid but was told I needed to go back through the booking company. I have a very important business schedule today and am not rested at all. But I guess when you go into the bathroom and there are earplugs as an amenity, you know it's not going to be good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Desifer
Business
Manteca, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Told one thing by the front desk and another by management

I have no experience to tell of because when I, my wife, and 3 year old daughter showed up there were no rooms available even though I booked a room online. My wife was really excited to stay there because of friends stating it was a very nice hotel and the historical archeticture was beautiful, so I booked a room for her birthday. Joe at the front desk informed me that the hotel was over booked and that he would compensate us by putting us up in a room at The Sheraton, giving us $50 cash and refunding us our original fee of $174.30. He said it would take about 2 weeks for management to take care of the refund because it was booked through a 3rd party. I waited the 2 weeks and called the hotel. I was told that they don't issue refunds and that getting a refund back from a 3rd party is extrememly difficult. They told me that Joe 'their employee' had given me false information and after repeating to me that it is difficult to get a refund from a 3rd party, apparently they didn't want to do the leg work of getting the refund, I agreed to a comped nights stay at the hotel because my wife does want to experience a night at The Citizen Hotel. They connected me with the front desk manager Ben who informed me that he would be sending a voucher to my email for the comped nights stay. 1 month later I'm still waiting, guess they told me that to get me off the phone. I Guess I wasn't aggressive enough but it shouldn't take that from such a supposed professional staff. I will not be booking anymore rooms through 3rd party web sites to try and save a few bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you get the right information from the front desk. Front desk and management don't seem to communicate what the proper protocol is.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IB Worker
Business
San Francisco
Dec 16, 2013

Pretty but impractical.

This hotel is lovely to look at -- with wonderful art, fixtures and linens, but difficult to function in. I had to move the coffee pot because there was no plug anywhere near where they had set it up, no counter at all in the bathroom, and tight space in the room. I could hear conversation from next door! Bugs me when the only fridge is the minibar -- some of us like half-and-half with morning coffee rather than the chemical creamer provided. My room lacked the "go green" card, which I would have used for my first night. Neighborhood is dicey for walking back from convention center at night (and I live in an urban environment). Restaurant slow in the morning, which is odd for a business hotel. Again, very pretty, but not so practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeJOES
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 29, 2013

Not impressed

I was expecting more with the high price. Although the hotel had character, it was not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Road Warrior C2C
Business
NYC
Jul 3, 2014

Nice Place

I would probably give this hotel 3 1/2 stars if allowed but I think it falls just a notch below 4. My room was very nice and I enjoyed the brand name toiletries and political cartoons that decorated my room. I generally liked the 1920s styling of the hotel. Staff was very nice but I think lacked a little attention to detail - particularly at the hotel restaurant - where there was something wrong with both meals we had there. Also the hotel was not as lively as I hoped but I did stay on a Tuesday night so it is understandable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some of the wines didn't taste right. Ask to taste the wine if you order a glass. If you like, get a full pour.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pam and Rick
Business
South Pasadena, CA
Jul 17, 2014

Fairly good business traveler's hotel

The building itself has great character, but the neighborhood is seedy and probably unsafe at night. The staff, although pleasant, was unable to answer even the simplest questions about local attractions, local geography, or where to rent a car, and showed no willingness to find out the answers. Finally, because Sacramento is very hot in summer, the cold water taps produce hot water for the first ten minutes of use--a tremendous waste in a drought-stricken area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the guided tour of the state capitol. It's a magnificent building, full of hidden treasures you won't see if you don't take the tour.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocklin, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Comfort, Class, & Style

We arrived late in the evening, the parking and front desk staff was extremely helpful and got us checked in very quickly. Upon arrival at our room the staff showed us how to use the latest technology, two flat screen TV's equipped with Apple TV. Over all very friendly helpful staff, room was very comfortable, and the room service was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel A Lot
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

We Would Stay Again...

The rooms are small, but CLEAN! Hotel has a true European feel. Staff isn't always friendly, just depends on who is working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harriett11
Business
Seattle
Dec 9, 2011

Great find

best place to stay in sacramento - good restaurant as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pico
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel

The room on the 11th floor had great views. The room was well decorated and the bed was great. The staff members were warm and welcoming. The hotel restaurant has a great menu. I really liked their selection for Brunch. They also have bartenders that know how to make a great drink!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top