Rate based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Citizen Hotel

3 stars
View map of 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
79 reviews
Great Place to Stay

Citizen Hotel is highly recommended. It is in close vicinity to nice restaurants and bars. They... See full review

  • Stevo
  • Mar 19, 2015
Great weekend getaway

Great hotel in a good location in downtown Sacramento. Close to bars & nice restaurants. Highly... See full review

  • Stevo
  • Mar 3, 2015
Jazz era cool in Sacramento for the modern day politico
The eternal glamour of politics feels downright marvelous at this stylish full-service hotel. The Citizen Hotel opened in fall 2008 in a historic 14-story, 83-year-old brick building, retaining hand-carved stair railings, vintage elevators and vaulted ceilings. This walkable location in the heart of downtown Sacramento is two blocks to the State Capitol and three to the Sacramento Convention Center.
Highlights:
  • Green Certified by the state of California
  • Complimentary wine tasting nightly
  • Apple Mac Mini in all guest rooms
  • On-site restaurant Grange is one of Sacramento's contemporary dining stars
Rooms

Custom design expresses the Citizen Hotel's distinctive 1920s tone. Stately bedding, window treatments and furniture vary in all 198 rooms. Expect quality hand-carved wood, 300-thread count sheets and marble fixtures. Easily join the modern world with in-room Apple Mac Mini computers, iPod docking stations, State Capitol feed channels free on HD LCD TVs and a video library of political movie titles. Most rooms have cityscape views. Refrigerators are available (fees apply). Penthouse suites on the 14th floor have Jacuzzis and share a 400-square-foot balcony. Room service is available. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Early California is re-imagined in bold marble, brass, leather and velvet in the old world lobby and lofted bar The Scandal, best enjoyed during complimentary weeknight wine tastings. Framed political quips provide a dash of whimsy for classy clientele of this Joie de Vivre property. The Citizen Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Dining

On-site American brasserie-style Grange Restaurant and Bar is a star in the contemporary Sacramento dining scene. Seasonal fare is direct from California's nearby Central Valley. The wine list is entirely from California.

Recreation

A workout room is available. Get fresh air at Cesar Chavez Park across the street or nearby State Capitol building's 40-acre park.

Transportation
  • Sacramento International Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (99 mi/159 km)
  • Amtrak station Sacramento (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Attractions
  • California State Capitol (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sacramento Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town Sacramento (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • California State University Sacramento (4.9 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 11,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Roof deck
  • Historic ballroom
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Citizen Hotel Rooms

Executive King - Accessible
City View 300 Sq. Ft. iPod Docking Station High-Definition LCD TV
Deluxe Two Double Beds
DLX 2 DBLS CITY OR CAPITOL VIEW 300SQ-LUXURY BED-SOFT ITALIAN LINENS-KEURIG HDTV EXPND CBLE
Deluxe Queen Bed - Accessible
DLUX ADA 1 Q-CITY-CAPITOL VIEW-225SQFT-LUXURY BED-SOFT ITALIAN LINENS-KEURIG-HDTV EXPND CBLE
Deluxe Queen Bed
Deluxe 1Q-City or Capitol View-225sqft-Luxury Bed Italian Linens-Keurig-HDTV-Expanded Cable
Deluxe King Bed
DELUXE 1 K-CITY OR CAPITOL VIEW-300SQFT-LUXURY BED-SOFT ITALIAN LINENS-KEURIG-HDTV EXPND CBLE
Penthouse Suite - King Bed
City View 575 Sq. Ft. 14th Floor - Private Balcony Jetted Tub
One Bedroom Suite - King Bed
1K-LIVING RM-COUCH-400SQ-DEEP SOAK TUB-LUX BED-SOFT ITALIAN LINEN-KEURIG-2HDTV EXPD CBL
Junior Suite - King
City View - 350 Sq. Ft. iPod Docking Station - High-Definition LCD TV

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Citizen Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.5801 -121.4939
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 92.00, MI, SW; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 99.00, MI, SW; Sacramento International Airport, (SMF), 11.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Hornet Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Sleep Train Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Arco Arena: 5 mi
  • Folsom: 19.6 mi
  • Hughes Stadium: 881.3 mi

Dining

Grange Restaurant and Bar
Grange is a culinary expression of all things local reflecting the authentic essence and soul of its community.
Mulvaneys B and L
The Culinary Specialists at Mulvaneys B and L bring handcrafted new American cuisine to your table. Our relationship with the food and where it comes from is the driving force of the way we do business.
Bandera
American Cooking.
Moxie Restaurant
For over 17 years Moxie has offered an unparalleled dining experience and earning its place as a top destination restaurant in Northern California. Located in a very secluded neighborhood Moxie provides the feel of a casual yet classically elegant enviro
Lemon Grass Restaurant
At Lemon Grass Restaurant we present authentic Southeast Asian flavors and signature dishes expressively created by Chef Mai Pham. She draws from the bold and spicy flavors of Thailand and the bright and fresh flavors of Vietnam. These irresistible flavor

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Citizen Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Golf
Business
Seattle, Wa
Feb 22, 2010

Noise overshadows the good

I was very unhappy with the level of quiet in the rooms. The music and activities from the banquet area was easily heard in guest rooms. I didn't mind on Friday and Saturday night, but on Sunday night when I needed to get up at 4:00 AM on Monday to catch my plane, it was VERY annoying. I called down to the front desk and was told the loud music was scheduled to last until 11PM that night. I asked about a reduction in my fee paid but was told I needed to go back through the booking company. I have a very important business schedule today and am not rested at all. But I guess when you go into the bathroom and there are earplugs as an amenity, you know it's not going to be good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Desifer
Business
Manteca, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Told one thing by the front desk and another by management

I have no experience to tell of because when I, my wife, and 3 year old daughter showed up there were no rooms available even though I booked a room online. My wife was really excited to stay there because of friends stating it was a very nice hotel and the historical archeticture was beautiful, so I booked a room for her birthday. Joe at the front desk informed me that the hotel was over booked and that he would compensate us by putting us up in a room at The Sheraton, giving us $50 cash and refunding us our original fee of $174.30. He said it would take about 2 weeks for management to take care of the refund because it was booked through a 3rd party. I waited the 2 weeks and called the hotel. I was told that they don't issue refunds and that getting a refund back from a 3rd party is extrememly difficult. They told me that Joe 'their employee' had given me false information and after repeating to me that it is difficult to get a refund from a 3rd party, apparently they didn't want to do the leg work of getting the refund, I agreed to a comped nights stay at the hotel because my wife does want to experience a night at The Citizen Hotel. They connected me with the front desk manager Ben who informed me that he would be sending a voucher to my email for the comped nights stay. 1 month later I'm still waiting, guess they told me that to get me off the phone. I Guess I wasn't aggressive enough but it shouldn't take that from such a supposed professional staff. I will not be booking anymore rooms through 3rd party web sites to try and save a few bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you get the right information from the front desk. Front desk and management don't seem to communicate what the proper protocol is.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeJOES
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 29, 2013

Not impressed

I was expecting more with the high price. Although the hotel had character, it was not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IB Worker
Business
San Francisco
Dec 16, 2013

Pretty but impractical.

This hotel is lovely to look at -- with wonderful art, fixtures and linens, but difficult to function in. I had to move the coffee pot because there was no plug anywhere near where they had set it up, no counter at all in the bathroom, and tight space in the room. I could hear conversation from next door! Bugs me when the only fridge is the minibar -- some of us like half-and-half with morning coffee rather than the chemical creamer provided. My room lacked the "go green" card, which I would have used for my first night. Neighborhood is dicey for walking back from convention center at night (and I live in an urban environment). Restaurant slow in the morning, which is odd for a business hotel. Again, very pretty, but not so practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Road Warrior C2C
Business
NYC
Jul 3, 2014

Nice Place

I would probably give this hotel 3 1/2 stars if allowed but I think it falls just a notch below 4. My room was very nice and I enjoyed the brand name toiletries and political cartoons that decorated my room. I generally liked the 1920s styling of the hotel. Staff was very nice but I think lacked a little attention to detail - particularly at the hotel restaurant - where there was something wrong with both meals we had there. Also the hotel was not as lively as I hoped but I did stay on a Tuesday night so it is understandable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some of the wines didn't taste right. Ask to taste the wine if you order a glass. If you like, get a full pour.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pam and Rick
Business
South Pasadena, CA
Jul 17, 2014

Fairly good business traveler's hotel

The building itself has great character, but the neighborhood is seedy and probably unsafe at night. The staff, although pleasant, was unable to answer even the simplest questions about local attractions, local geography, or where to rent a car, and showed no willingness to find out the answers. Finally, because Sacramento is very hot in summer, the cold water taps produce hot water for the first ten minutes of use--a tremendous waste in a drought-stricken area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the guided tour of the state capitol. It's a magnificent building, full of hidden treasures you won't see if you don't take the tour.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The planner87
Business
Fairfield
Jan 5, 2015

Couples outing

This was my first time staying at The Citzen. The room was pretty small and there was a lot of outside noise that you hear middle of the night. The staff was nice. Overall, The Citizen hotel is nice, but I don't think I will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALF74
Business
Sacramento
Mar 17, 2014

Nice but a little noisy

Very nice hotel but the 5th floor was a little noisy from street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocklin, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Comfort, Class, & Style

We arrived late in the evening, the parking and front desk staff was extremely helpful and got us checked in very quickly. Upon arrival at our room the staff showed us how to use the latest technology, two flat screen TV's equipped with Apple TV. Over all very friendly helpful staff, room was very comfortable, and the room service was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel A Lot
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

We Would Stay Again...

The rooms are small, but CLEAN! Hotel has a true European feel. Staff isn't always friendly, just depends on who is working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top