Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

The Citizen Hotel

4 stars
926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Awesome

Fantastic place to stay. Staff was extremely friendly. See full review

  • SamDiana
  • Dec 9, 2013
A night in Sac

After making my way through the one -way streets everything was fine. Classy hotel with classy... See full review

  • Slamr23
  • Nov 24, 2013
Jazz era cool in Sacramento for the modern day politico
The eternal glamour of politics feels downright marvelous at this stylish full-service hotel. The Citizen Hotel opened in fall 2008 in a historic 14-story, 83-year-old brick building, retaining hand-carved stair railings, vintage elevators and vaulted ceilings. This walkable location in the heart of downtown Sacramento is two blocks to the State Capitol and three to the Sacramento Convention Center.
Highlights:
  • Green Certified by the state of California
  • Complimentary wine tasting nightly
  • Apple Mac Mini in all guest rooms
  • On-site restaurant Grange is one of Sacramento's contemporary dining stars
Rooms

Custom design expresses the Citizen Hotel's distinctive 1920s tone. Stately bedding, window treatments and furniture vary in all 198 rooms. Expect quality hand-carved wood, 300-thread count sheets and marble fixtures. Easily join the modern world with in-room Apple Mac Mini computers, iPod docking stations, State Capitol feed channels free on HD LCD TVs and a video library of political movie titles. Most rooms have cityscape views. Refrigerators are available (fees apply). Penthouse suites on the 14th floor have Jacuzzis and share a 400-square-foot balcony. Room service is available. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Early California is re-imagined in bold marble, brass, leather and velvet in the old world lobby and lofted bar The Scandal, best enjoyed during complimentary weeknight wine tastings. Framed political quips provide a dash of whimsy for classy clientele of this Joie de Vivre property. The Citizen Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Dining

On-site American brasserie-style Grange Restaurant and Bar is a star in the contemporary Sacramento dining scene. Seasonal fare is direct from California's nearby Central Valley. The wine list is entirely from California.

Recreation

A workout room is available. Get fresh air at Cesar Chavez Park across the street or nearby State Capitol building's 40-acre park.

Transportation
  • Sacramento International Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (99 mi/159 km)
  • Amtrak station Sacramento (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Attractions
  • California State Capitol (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sacramento Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town Sacramento (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • California State University Sacramento (4.9 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 11,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Roof deck
  • Historic ballroom
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Citizen Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Deluxe King Guest Room
The room offers 1 king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Deluxe Double-Double Guest Room
The room offers two double beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 king bed and seperate sitting, with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Citizen Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

38.5801 -121.4939
Area served
Sacramento.
Nearby airports
Sacramento International Airport.
Area description
This California hotel is located in the center of downtown Sacramento, 3 blocks from Downtown Plaza, 2 blocks from the State Capitol, and 2 blocks from the Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hornet Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Sleep Train Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Arco Arena: 5 mi
  • Folsom: 19.6 mi
  • Hughes Stadium: 881.3 mi

Dining

Grange
Grange is a culinary expression of all things local, reflecting the authentic essence and soul of its community. Service is warm, friendly. With an intimate atmosphere of urban sophistication. Grange restaurant mirrors the classic and eclectic atmosphere of the Citizen Hotel. From the grand, two-story wine vault, to the intimate bar and lounge; Grange offers a unique experience to satisfy the melange of citizens who visit both hotel and restaurant.
Scandal
At Scandal bar and lounge, the hotel staff creates "culinary" cocktails with local ingredients. The perfect place to unwind with friends or enjoy desserts and California inspired collection of cognacs, ports and liqueurs, bar and lounge has it all.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Citizen Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Golf
Business
Seattle, Wa
Feb 22, 2010

Noise overshadows the good

I was very unhappy with the level of quiet in the rooms. The music and activities from the banquet area was easily heard in guest rooms. I didn't mind on Friday and Saturday night, but on Sunday night when I needed to get up at 4:00 AM on Monday to catch my plane, it was VERY annoying. I called down to the front desk and was told the loud music was scheduled to last until 11PM that night. I asked about a reduction in my fee paid but was told I needed to go back through the booking company. I have a very important business schedule today and am not rested at all. But I guess when you go into the bathroom and there are earplugs as an amenity, you know it's not going to be good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Desifer
Manteca, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Told one thing by the front desk and another by management

I have no experience to tell of because when I, my wife, and 3 year old daughter showed up there were no rooms available even though I booked a room online. My wife was really excited to stay there because of friends stating it was a very nice hotel and the historical archeticture was beautiful, so I booked a room for her birthday. Joe at the front desk informed me that the hotel was over booked and that he would compensate us by putting us up in a room at The Sheraton, giving us $50 cash and refunding us our original fee of $174.30. He said it would take about 2 weeks for management to take care of the refund because it was booked through a 3rd party. I waited the 2 weeks and called the hotel. I was told that they don't issue refunds and that getting a refund back from a 3rd party is extrememly difficult. They told me that Joe 'their employee' had given me false information and after repeating to me that it is difficult to get a refund from a 3rd party, apparently they didn't want to do the leg work of getting the refund, I agreed to a comped nights stay at the hotel because my wife does want to experience a night at The Citizen Hotel. They connected me with the front desk manager Ben who informed me that he would be sending a voucher to my email for the comped nights stay. 1 month later I'm still waiting, guess they told me that to get me off the phone. I Guess I wasn't aggressive enough but it shouldn't take that from such a supposed professional staff. I will not be booking anymore rooms through 3rd party web sites to try and save a few bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you get the right information from the front desk. Front desk and management don't seem to communicate what the proper protocol is.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
JoeJOES
Las Vegas
Dec 29, 2013

Not impressed

I was expecting more with the high price. Although the hotel had character, it was not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
IB Worker
Business
San Francisco
Dec 16, 2013

Pretty but impractical.

This hotel is lovely to look at -- with wonderful art, fixtures and linens, but difficult to function in. I had to move the coffee pot because there was no plug anywhere near where they had set it up, no counter at all in the bathroom, and tight space in the room. I could hear conversation from next door! Bugs me when the only fridge is the minibar -- some of us like half-and-half with morning coffee rather than the chemical creamer provided. My room lacked the "go green" card, which I would have used for my first night. Neighborhood is dicey for walking back from convention center at night (and I live in an urban environment). Restaurant slow in the morning, which is odd for a business hotel. Again, very pretty, but not so practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
A Couple
Business
San Francisco, California
May 6, 2013

All good but a bit pricey

I have been to Citizen hotel for last 3 weeks for a one-night stay every time. Their staff is courteous and accommodating. Rooms are clean and OK size. The only thing that I am not too happy about is the price. More than $300 for a night's stay in Sacramento is a kill. I paid that much to stay in a 4 star hotel in New York, walking distance from Times Square. For me, It was paid by my company but still it's not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Grange - Breakfast portions are so huge. I could hardly finish half of my order which was just one b'fast dish.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Harriett11
Seattle
Dec 9, 2011

Great find

best place to stay in sacramento - good restaurant as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sandra Teacher Lady
Los Angeles
Mar 27, 2013

Vintage charm & comfory

I enjoyed the look & feel of the hotel. It was gracious & comfortable. I DIDn't like the surcharge for the slow-ish wifi, but otherwise, all was fine. The area is a bit iffy - lots of closed businesses, & rather deserted at night - but that is simply the trend in many cities, with a struggling downtown area. Nice bars, restaurants within easy walking distance, the bar/redtsursnt in the hotel is good, & it wasveasy to get to & from my conference at the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great happy hour @ McCormick & Schmick, in a beautiful historic building!

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jun 13, 2011

Just Ok

This was my first time at this hotel. All went smooth until check-in when I was told my check in was for the day before I arrived and I missed it. Of all the times I was happy to have the [...] confirmation on my phone. For scaring me and their error, they gave me a $20 credit to their bar and a small room upgrade to a corner room. The size of the corner room upgrade was normal, but I can see how their normal size rooms can be small. The hotel is in a very old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
California Marathoner
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2010

Sacramento boutique hotel

I visited Sacramento to run a marathon. The hotel was conveniently located to the finish area and Expo. The hotel is also in a walking distance from Amtrak station, Westfield mall and Capitol building. Hotel staff is very nice and helpful. The room is not large but clean and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
ALF74
Sacramento
Mar 17, 2014

Nice but a little noisy

Very nice hotel but the 5th floor was a little noisy from street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top