Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

4 stars
1230 J Street, 1230 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
48 reviews
great location, great staff

Perfect location for walking to all the restaurants and bars and shops in mid town/ downtown. Great... See full review

  • Rugby RN
  • Nov 24, 2014
Reasonably priced & surprisingly nice

Really big, luxurious rooms. A cool bar to unwind after hitting up the bars around here. Perfect... See full review

  • nikkikat3
  • Sep 29, 2014
Historic California building with modern touches in downtown Sacramento
The Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel offers a rare chance to stay in a 1920s-era Beaux-Arts building. A preserved facade at the corner of two of Sacramento's most vibrant streets, 13th and J, is the entrance to a vaulted-ceiling atrium that was once the Public Market Building. This conference-friendly hotel was restored and opened in 2001.
Highlights:
  • Walk to State Capitol and Sacramento Convention Center
  • Large meeting and banquet facilities
  • Non-smoking property
  • Free high-speed Internet in lobby business center
Rooms

In tune with the historic flair of the building itself, rooms are timeless in understated brown leather, suede upholstery and white Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. City views are available from the hotel's 26 stories. Refrigerators are available in a select number of the Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel's more than 500 rooms and suites (fees apply). High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Order room service from the on-site restaurant. Rooms on preferred-guest club floors are more recently renovated.

Features

Self and valet parking are off the ground level (fees apply). Fitness facilities include a 24/7 workout room and outdoor lap pool. An art deco club lounge offers refreshments and upgraded services to Sheraton Club members.

Dining

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served to a mostly-business clientele at on-site California cuisine Morgan's Central Valley Bistro restaurant. Mid-day diners get Wi-Fi with their Dungeness crab salad or seared salmon lunch. Coffee, espresso bar, sandwiches and salads are also available on-site at Glides Market Café throughout the day. Soft piano music and a California wine list set the evening ambiance for Morgan's "California Fusion" dining. The on-site lounge at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, Public Market Bar, serves bites and cocktails until midnight.

Transportation
  • Sacramento International Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (99 mi/159 km)
  • Amtrak station Sacramento (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Airport shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Sacramento Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km))
  • California State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 m)
  • Old Town Sacramento (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • California State University Sacramento (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Cal Expo California State Fairgrounds (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Computer use and free high-speed Internet in lobby business center
  • Free copying, faxing and printing in club lounge
  • High-speed wireless Internet in all rooms and public spaces (fees apply)
  • 19 meeting spaces
  • 10,500-square-foot ballroom
  • Event staff and catering
Policies and fees

This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.579 -121.4899
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Sacramento Metropolitan Airport, (SMF), 19.31, KM;
Area description
City Center, City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Hornet Stadium: 4 mi
  • Sleep Train Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Arco Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Folsom: 19.4 mi
  • Hughes Stadium: 881.1 mi

Dining

Morgan's Restaurant
Morgan’s Restaurant offers a relaxed setting for breakfast in an open atrium environment. We specialize in seasonal California cuisine with a farm-to-table approach, available both at the buffet and à la carte.
Public Market Bar
With plush couches and overstuffed chairs, the Public Market Bar is a great place to gather with friends or network over a light lunch and drinks. At night, it transforms into an elegant restaurant with a fine dining menu and an extensive wine list.
Glides Market
Glides Market helps you jumpstart your day with a freshly brewed cup of coffee or espresso, plus breakfast pastries, oatmeal, and yogurt. It’s the perfect place to read the morning paper or check email with our wireless High Speed Internet Access.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrsmiller
Business
Rocklin, ca
Jul 16, 2012

Overnight escape

This hotel is beautiful! Very clean rooms! We had a beautiful view from the 20th floor! The staff was awesome! They had no problem storing our cruiser bikes, they comped the valet, and brought chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne up to our room for my husbands birthday! That was a really nice touch! We will definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VKFlyer
Business
Groveland, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Very nice hotel

This was a very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable rooms with luxurious bedding. Well situated in Old Sacramento. Close to Sacramento Executive Airport. A good value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo
Jul 5, 2011

Even Good for Families

I've stayed at the Hyatt for business before and wanted to stay there again because I knew the area well. It was the first time my family was in Sacramento with me. The room we were given was great and the kids loved it. We stayed on the 19th floor and had fabulous views-we even watched the fireworks at Raley Field. The room had two big window seats and my 6year old son used one for his bed. The convenience of the proximity to the Capital Park, great restaurants in Midtown and Old Town was perfect for my family so we were able to let the kids walk around and get out some energy. They also loved the swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My favorite restaurant is Paisanos on Capital Ave. in Midtown. The food is fabulous and reasonably priced. They gave the kids balls of pizza dough to play with. Zocalo across the street is also good.If you want an early inexpensive breakfast, Steamers in Old Town is the place and the you can walk around from there. Also, Trailmix across from the train museum if a great store for kids who like science and nature stuff.

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 15, 2007

Great hotel & location!

This was our first stay at this hotel, we usually stay at the Westin St. Francis in Union Square. If I had to choose between the two I would pick this hotel, it was in a great location, within walking distance to the mall and all other kind of shops the rooms were great and as always you have gotta love their beds............ I think our only complaint would be that they should serve breakfast until 11 a.m. not 10:30 a.m. and on Sundays they should have a brunch..... But other than that we loved it there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

My husband and I are always on a mission to find great places to eat. We found a wonderful Chinese restaurant in China town called The Empress of China. The food was incredible,the service was impecable! We will definately be back!

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Investing Mom
Business
LA, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Everything is fantastic in the hotel.

very convenient location, quick cheking-in, very clean room, bed, & bathroom, very good dinner and breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2007

Nice hotel, great location

My 11-year-old daughter and I stayed overnight and found everything very attractive and comfortable. The hotel had a great list of restaurants nearby, so we could order food by phone and then go pick it up. The hotel is right downtown, within walking distance of the capitol building, many stores, and a lovely old cathedral, and not far from Old Sacramento, which is a great place for children (train museum, history museum, old-fashioned train ride, etc.). We were on an upper floor, so we had a beautiful view of the city (and a free continental breakfast).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a look at the state capitol, Old Sacramento, the downtown shopping mall, and the Crocker Art Museum (in a lovely old mansion, with a great collection of paintings and a lovely small, arty museum store).

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 16, 2007

Very comfortable beds and very quiet rooms

My husband and I took a 2 day getaway to Sacramento and our stay at the Sheraton was so comfy we almost didn't want to leave our room. It is in a nice neighborhood, within walking distance to the capitol and many restaurants. Next time we go to Sac we will definitely be staying at the Sheraton Grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Melting Pot fondue restaurant is on 15th and it was one of the best dining experiences my husband and I have ever had. Great place for 2 but they are family friendly as well....

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north holywood, ca
Nov 16, 2010

fabulous hotel for the price

The staff was very helpful and attentive to us. My husband and I needed to get around town and they provided us with detail maps to our destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nevada City
Sep 26, 2010

Great Romantic Stay

Great place to stay and relax. Morgans was a great place to eat. The piano playing in the back ground while we ate was fantastic and the service was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BecINtravel
Business
New Rochelle, NY
Dec 27, 2010

Great Support and Helped for Disabled

In town for a conference at a diffferent hotel, I choose the Sheraton due to better price. I was instantly given support for my needs (physical limitations)and meet staff who went above and beyond what was needed. The room was wonderful and was easy to move around in. The staff were able to meet my needs and help whenever I needed it. I was happy to find the green trend had come to the Sheraton. I received a free meal after accumlaing coupons for not getting new towels or my room cleaned every night. The restaurant had delicous (but very rich) food, too. Excellent computer area for travelers to print there tickets and spend time on the internet. Overall, I had a wonderful experience and can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are getting a rental car from Enterprise there are two different locations. There is one at the airport and another 5 minutes from the hotel. If you are paying for mileage (I was not), you could save some cash by taking the shuttle to the hotel and getting the car from that location.

Back to menu Return to top