Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

5 stars
100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
50 reviews
Awesome location

Beautiful resort, great service, good restaurants and spa See full review

  • BLUI
  • Aug 2, 2014
Heaven

If there was a heaven on earth Terranea is it, this place has everything you dont ever need to... See full review

  • TonyBaloney
  • Jul 28, 2014
Family-friendly Los Angeles upscale beachfront destination resort hotel

Sea breezes flows naturally at the Terranea Resort located on the uncrowded tip of the Los Angeles Palos Verdes peninsula, recalling a time of wild coastal bluffs dotted with haciendas. This large-scale luxury destination resort channels this in grand style on the singular spot of untamed coastline between L.A. and Orange counties. Unlike California of the 1800s, the Terranea Resort guests spend hours under the calming rapture of aromatic massages, delighting kids with the saltwater pool and indulging in menus designed for 21st century families.

Highlights
  • 102-acre bluff with seaside trails and private beach cove
  • 9-hole golf course 
  • Every meal is oceanfront 
  • Pets welcome
  • Spa
Location
Stay just 20 miles south of Los Angeles far from city life at the Terranea Resort. The Rancho Palos Verdes prestigious neighborhood offers quiet surroundings and the nearest view of Catalina Island.
Rooms
Sunny, unpretentious d├ęcor uses sand and seashell tones with orange terra cotta and blonde wood at the Terranea Resort. Stone double-sink bathrooms are accented by the color of seaglass. Fixtures include 37-inch flat-screens, iPod docks, in-room safes and Wi-Fi (fees apply). French doors lead to furnished balconies with outdoor fireplaces. Families like the outlying residential casitas and multi-bedroom golf course villas with washer/dryers and full kitchens. Couples enjoy quiet hotel rooms or luxe bungalows adjacent to the spa at the Terranea Resort. 
Features
Sprawling Mediterranean architecture provides outdoor patios, poolside cabanas and warm firepit terraces all over the Terranea Resort. See the Pacific Ocean from every vantage point, whether teeing up on The Links at Terranea or kicking back with a craft beer at Nelson's beach shack during sunset.
Dining
A large herb garden at the Terranea Resort guarantees on-site Mar'sel European-California cuisine is flavorful and fresh. Other eateries at the Terranea Resort include a poolside grill, Sunday brunch and scenic lobby terrace for California wines by the glass.
Recreation
Kids visit tidepools, make sand castles and find the secret cave along the rocky shore at the Terranea Resort. Have a homemade gelato and learn gardening. Adults enjoy golf instruction or cocktails at the 18-and-over infinity pool. Book a natural spa treatment at the Terranea Resort to access a lap pool, fitness center and yoga studio. 
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Attractions
  • Trump National Golf Club (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Redondo Beach (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Queen Mary (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Downtown L.A. (30 mi/48.4 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier (37 mi/59.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space for 1,000
  • Huge event lawn
  • Discreet meeting suites 
  • Catering

Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts Rooms

Ocean View King
Ocean View Guest Room with luxurious king bed, features 4-fixture beautiful stone bathroom with separate tub and shower, pillow-top bed with goose-down pillows and luxurious linens. This room also features a 37-inch LCD flatscreen television, two dual-line telephones with voicemail, in-room safe, available wireless internet, iron and ironing board, and private balcony or patio.
Ocean View Suite
Spacious 900 square foot Ocean View Suite with luxurious pillow-top king bed featuring goose-down pillows and luxurious linens. This generous suite offers a separate living room, 5-fixture beautiful stone master bathroom with separate tub and shower, guest bathroom, 2 42-inch LCD flatscreen television, three dual-line telephones with voicemail, in-room safe, available wireless internet, iron and ironing board, and a private balcony or patio. For family travelers, the suite can be expanded to a two-bedroom suite. Additional reservation charges will apply.
Ocean View Bungalow Suite
1,100 sq ft Bungalow Suite with views of the Pacific and Catalina, master bedroom with pillow-top king bed, separate living room, kitchen, laundry facilities, fireplace, and large private balcony.
2 Bedroom Ocean View Bungalow
1,660 sq ft Bungalow Home with views of the Pacific and Catalina Island, two full bedrooms and bathrooms, living room, kichen, laundry facilities, indoor/outdoor fireplaces, and large private balcony.
3 Bedroom Ocean View Casita
2,040 sq ft Residential 3 Bedroom Casita Home with views of the Pacific and Catalina, large separate living room, kitchen, laundry, indoor/outdoor fireplaces, and a large private balcony or patio.
2 Bedroom Ocean Villa
1,850 sq ft Ocean Villa with 2 bedrooms and a den, master bedroom with a king, second bedroom with two double beds, full kitchen, living room, fireplaces, large private balconies, and private garage.
3 Bedroom Ocean Villa
2,360 sq ft Ocean Villa with three bedrooms, 2 king rooms, 1 room with two doubles, den, living room full kitchen, laundry facilities, fireplaces, large balconies, and a private garage.
Resort View King Room
Resort View Guest Room with luxurious king bed, features 4-fixture beautiful stone bathroom with separate tub and shower, pillow-top bed with goose-down pillows and luxurious linens. This room also features a 37-inch LCD flatscreen television, two dual-line telephones with voicemail, in-room safe, available wireless internet, iron and ironing board, and private balcony or patio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

33.7603 -118.3632
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport - LAX
Area description
Poised along one of Southern California's most scenic and coveted coastlines, Terranea is set on the spectacular Palos Verdes Peninsula, a stunning and irreplaceable site with unobstructed views overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island.

Dining

Nelson's
With a view of the Point Vicente Lighthouse and Catalina Island, this Southern California restaurant is one of the most scenic locations in Palos Verdes. Chef Andrew Vaughan offers California comfort cuisine paired with an extensive microbrew beer list, signature cocktails and spectacular sunsets. Open daily for lunch and dinner.
sea beans - Gourmet Cafe
Settle under the shade of a coral tree with a caramel latte or a freshly baked chocolate croissant at Terranea's gourmet cafe. Superb quality coffee, espresso drinks, organic teas, smoothies, pressed sandwiches, wraps, ice cream and specialty desserts by Master Pastry Chef Perry are available throughout the day. Open daily for breakfast and lunch.
Spa Cafe
This tranquil and serene restaurant setting invites you to relax and enjoy our spa-inspired cuisine featuring salads, sandwiches, fresh juices and smoothies. Stop and relax at the Spa Cafe after your treatment or workout and enjoy Spa Cafe service by the pool, by the fire pit or in a cabana. Open daily for breakfast and lunch.
bashi
Celebrate different cultures in a lively setting with a lunch or dinner menu filled with contemporary blends of Asian flavors from acclaimed Chef Bruce Nguyen. Sit back and sip artisanal concoctions, sample from an extensive sake list, and enjoy soju and an unrivaled selection of Asian beers. Open daily for lunch and dinner.
Catalina Kitchen
There's a culinary adventure waiting for you at Catalina Kitchen. Explore southern California cuisine with Chef David Tarrin as he puts his own spin on California market/Mediterranean cuisine with elements of Spanish, French Riviera, Greek and Southern Italian flavors. Grab a table with your family, friends or colleagues and indulge in a must-have breakfast, market-style lunch or exquisite dinner. Don't forget to try the specialty pizzas, the Friday Seafood Buffet or the extraordinary Sunday Brunch. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
mar'sel
Enjoy inventive twists on California farm-to-table cuisine from Chef Rebecca Merhej. With a focus on local and seasonal ingredients, elegant dinners, relaxed late-night bites or chic weekend brunches are made to perfection. Sip an artisan cocktail, distinctive wine or local microbrew while overlooking stunning views. Open for daily dinners and weekend brunches.
Cielo Point - Adult Pool Bar
This full-service bar with quintessential poolside fare serves guests at the Cielo Point adult pool in style. Take in the views of the Palos Verdes resort and Catalina Island while you enjoy your meal or drink in a relaxing Cielo Point beach chair or cabana. Open seasonally for lunch and afternoon cocktails.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar is the perfect place to enjoy hand-crafted, classic cocktails with a modern twist, unique spirits, and California wines by the glass, microbrews and international beer varieties. A bar bites menu is offered nightly, and musical performances are featured every Friday and Saturday evening. Open afternoon weekends and evenings daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeByr
Montclair, NJ, USA
May 1, 2012

Great Hotel

My husband and I really loved it here. We paid $300/night, and for that it deserves 5 stars. Everything we wanted. So many restaurant options. Love that there is not only an adult pool, but an even quieter pool at the spa. Beautiful views. The staff are soooooooooo friendly. The shop at the hotel, Marea, has amazing stuff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAT13
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 29, 2013

Couple Trip

Hotel is beautiful and overall experience was amazing. The adult pool was great, scenery was so nice...my wife loved the spa. Only issues were restaurants both messed up our reservations. That said, they did the right thing at both and made up for it through discounts, etc. Also, the weather was ok...cloudy most of the time, but I would still go back in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Underhills
Business
Orange County, CA
May 28, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

Hotel grounds are beautiful and, although it was less than an hour's drive away from our starting point, it felt like a destination getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Law Lord
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 29, 2013

Great weekend getaway

This coast resort is off the beaten path, hidden away behind the Palos Verdes mountains, which is a good thing - the hills shield it from the parts of Los Angeles that I wanted to get away from. The ocean view is spectacular, the spa is expensive but worth it, and the hiking trails provide easy outdoor exercise and great views of the hills and the water. When the checkin line got a little long (four people) the manager came out and passed out champagne flutes. No one complained about the wait. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. Only one spot on the carpet detracted from the overall impression. The HVAC was quiet and effective. The breakfast buffet was pricey but lavish - good value if you have seconds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Servus
Business
New York, NY
Nov 20, 2012

GOOD STUFF EXCEPT...

Great hotel, great location but the "nickel and diming" is a little much. In addition to the room rate expect a parking charge and a resort fee. Come on guys another 50$ for room night?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt of bride
Business
Northern California
Sep 3, 2012

wedding stay

We went to this location for my neice's wedding. It is a beautiful location. Her wedding was off site. there were three other weddings at this location, per day! When we arrived they gave us a glass of champagne, a wonderful gift after a somewhat harried traveler. It was not great quality champagne, I would have expected a little higher quality for the cost and atmoshpere attempted to creat. But it was cold and a nice gesture. However, our room was not ready when we arrived and we had to wait about an hour. This was problematic since we were on a time schedule to get to the wedding. They attempted to accomodate us by getting us a changing room but when we went there the room was already occupied. When an employee opened it for us we found there was someone else there. But I will say this, their customer service is EXCELLENT. A manager came out, bought us our drinks in the bar we had gone to get while waiting and they did all they could to get us in our room in the most timely fashion they could. In all fairness, they had alot going on. But they were always helpful, courteous and polite. And if you have the time to wait, it is a beautiful location to do so. Ocean views and many walking paths to enjoy. And brides galore! They also had a great band in the lobby, outside the bar area, that was fantastic, but they had to stop by 11:30pm for some reason. That was a mistake. People really enjoying it and appreciating the music and they pulled the plug. Great vocals and great musical selection. Ended too soon. Also, this is in the middle of just about no where. You have to travel to get to anything. No shopping, no restaurants, no other entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john doc
Business
whittier
Aug 20, 2012

getaway

Great experience. Enjoyed my stay. Staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother May
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 21, 2012

Girls Getaway

This hotel is wonderful and extremely comfortable and clean. The only thing missing are tennis courts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You must have the pasta at Catalina Kitchen!!

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeByr
Business
Montclair, NJ, USA
May 1, 2012

Great Hotel

My husband and I really loved it here. We paid $300/night, and for that it deserves 5 stars. Everything we wanted. So many restaurant options. Love that there is not only an adult pool, but an even quieter pool at the spa. Beautiful views. The staff are soooooooooo friendly. The shop at the hotel, Marea, has amazing stuff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WinniferC
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

A DUD: Disappointed, Underwhelmed, Dissatisfied

First let me put my review into perspective with the facts: 1) I stay at several hotels/resorts several times a year, ranging from 3 stars to 5 stars. 2) While I read them and take them serious, I typically never write reviews - I was so disappointed I was compelled to do so here. There are certain expectations when you are staying at a 5 star anything. Think Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, Beverly Wilshire - all less expensively! 3) We stayed for a week - this is our final day and I can't wait for my vacation to be over. This was the first vacation that I've taken in a while where I was able to completely check-out of the office - total waste. Off to a good start: We arrived about 2 p.m. We were greeted with a glass of champagne. Nice touch. I was eligible for an upgrade, but the front desk man talked me out of it. The bellman transported our luggage to our room. The room was smallish, with smallish double beds. The carpet had spots - not expected at a 5 star hotel/resort. I felt I could live with it. Our room was overlooking the pool - with tons of very loud, happy children swimming about. As a parent, if my kids were still small, this would have been fine, but I explicitly said that I was looking forward to relaxing on the patio. That couldn't happen. Even when I would get up early before everyone arrived to the pool, my next door neighbor chain smoked cigarettes the entire time. So far, not the 5 star experience I've had at true 5 star establishments. The room: The room was covered in dust. It looked as if it had never been dusted. I asked that the room please be dusted. You go on vacation to escape the worries of daily chores, not to pay top dollar to spend a week at a place that is more unkempt than your home. When we returned to our room, nothing was different, still dust everywhere. I left a very big tip, with a note to 'please dust'. When I returned to the room, tip gone, still not dusted, and not vacuumed either, crumbs and hair from the morning still on the floor in the sleeping area and the bathroom, so I just did it. They also didn't leave any fresh towels. None. So, I had to wait 15 minutes before I could shower in the evening. Really wanted to soak in the tub (as advertised) - room only had a shower - no tub. Disappointed. The amenities: If you plan to do anything other than take the kids to the pool, prepare to pay dearly on top of the '5-star' nightly rate. All I truly wanted to do was use the gym. I prefer to workout at night. The fitness center closes at 8 p.m. Disappointed again. Went to the concierge to arrange for spa services and discuss outdoor activities. I had to wait 20 minutes for him to complete a personal call. Want to know how I knew it was personal? He said several times: "Oh, yeah, I have that paperwork at home." So, I just left to figure it out on my own. 5-Star? None like I've ever experienced. No overview of the property, no information on the restaurants, no overview of the amenities. We are spending our final night on vacation at the Ritz Carlton. I hoping to have a least one night of this stay feeling like I'm truly on vacation. If you are want to bring the kids to play in the pool, this may be fine for you. If you are coming for a short stay (2-3 days), this may be fine for you. If you are truly accustomed to 5 - Star service, accommodations, and amenities - stick to the proven 5 -Star establishments. I can't tell you how disappointed I am. Very, very, very disappointed. If this is your first '5 Star' experience, they may be able to trick you into thinking you are truly getting a 5 Star experience. If you have experienced 5 Star before, you are sure to be disappointed, so manage your expectations appropriately. I know I sound "high maintenance", but it truly isn't the case. But, I certainly didn't get what I paid for. And, if you're like me - work hard and truly need the luxury of 5 Star, I don't want you to be disappointed like me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arthurrbest
Business
Seattle
Mar 17, 2012

Outstanding!

Better than some of the 5 star Ritz Carlton;s I have stayed at. Very good restaurants, Superb friendly staff, and beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try them all

Back to menu Return to top