Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

5 stars
View map of 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeByr
Montclair, NJ, USA
May 1, 2012

Great Hotel

My husband and I really loved it here. We paid $300/night, and for that it deserves 5 stars. Everything we wanted. So many restaurant options. Love that there is not only an adult pool, but an even quieter pool at the spa. Beautiful views. The staff are soooooooooo friendly. The shop at the hotel, Marea, has amazing stuff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BLUI
Business
Marion, IL
Aug 2, 2014

Awesome location

Beautiful resort, great service, good restaurants and spa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get two bedroom suit with a well equipped kitchen for a family and you can save a bunch.

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyBaloney
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 28, 2014

Heaven

If there was a heaven on earth Terranea is it, this place has everything you dont ever need to leave while here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johanna Traveller
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 29, 2014

Love this place!

Customer service is exceptional. Food is the best. Incredible views of the oceans. Great spa pool. And close to the airport!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Servus
Business
new york, ny
Feb 6, 2014

Resort on the ocean

Great hotel and the staff is terrific. I regularly stay here. My major complaint is the frequent guest program which doesn't exist. I stay at the hotel at least 6 times a year. I have yet had the front desk acknowledge this nor is this taken into account by reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food at hotel is a little pricey but plenty of option down the hill in redonda beach.

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JC Globetrotter
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 27, 2014

Relaxing Staycation

I went to the Terranea to celebrate my anniversary with my girlfriend. It's a beautiful hotel on a bluff looking out over the water. You can't get a better view than this. The amenities are great and can really accommodate anyone. The adult pool was closed, so we were able to use the spa pool. It was like swimming in bath water. To top it off, you're overlooking the water. The trails around the hotel are great and lead to a small rocky beach. The food at the hotel was kind of mediocre, considering how expensive it was. We had a decent brunch at Catalina Kitchen and a bad dinner at Nelson. Considering we went in January, the weather was great (mid 70s). I would absolutely recommend this hotel to people looking to escape LA and find relaxation for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

My experience at Nelson was just okay. We chose the restaurant because of it's ocean front view. I also read a review about how amazing the salted caramel mousse was (it's my favorite dessert and I thought it was mediocre) The food was pretty fried, unhealthy and extremely overpriced for what it was. The wait staff was slow and I often had to ask for basic things (such as a glass of water) twice. I would recommend eating at one of the other restaurants on the property.

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
savvytrvlr
Business
ok
Dec 31, 2013

Terranea

Lovely place. Good restaurants. Friendly staff. Nice fitness center. Unexpected daily "resort fee" and expensive parking fee. Adult pool not open despite crowded other pool. Staff at coffee place and shops seemed overwhelmed. Rooms ok but bathroom dark. Make up mirror needs more light We liked the location because it was central to the places we were going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hiro pagey
Business
minnesota
Dec 26, 2013

fabulous winter getaway

We stayed at one of the ocenview casitas for five nights. It had a really cute entry with private seating area and fireplace. The floor plan was nice and spacious with great.views from every room. Every room also had a walkout patio with an ocenview. We had great views of the sunset everyday. A lookout point was just a short walk from our room. We saw great sunsets and also got to see migrating whales from there. We ate at several of the resort restaurants and they were all great. The resort is nice and quite but its not far from civilization. there were plenty of good dining options within 5 mile.radius. The service was great. Housekeeping came in pretty much when it was most convinient for us. We had a wonderful time there and will surely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Besides many dining options there is a trader Joe's just a couple of miles away if you get tired of eating out

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phillyphil
Business
South Jersey
Aug 23, 2013

The view is extraordinary everything else co$t

The view is worth a million dollars and you better have several if you want to enjoy yourself. Everything cost $$$. The restaurants are expensive but not exceptional. The carpet in our room needed to be cleaned, radio didn't work, and there was no ventilation in the bathroom (no window or fan). For an ocean-front resort to not have a real beach is disappointing. There are things to do but the fees are substantial. The adult pool rents cabanas for $250.00. Somehow, I find that funny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Spa Cafe for areasonable breakfast and an awesome burrito

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E and S
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 11, 2013

Anniversary on the ocean

The location is incomparable. Amazing views and trails. The hotel is comfortable and clean. It is possibly a little too big. Entrances to some locations were difficult to locate. We were placed on the 1st floor which is apparently so hard to get to an employee we encountered on the way told us there is no such thing as the first floor and we must be wrong about our room number. We eventually found it and loved the place. Our only complaint would be the staff. We saw them giving 5 star treatment to pretty much everyone else, but for the most part we felt they were wasting their time with us. We don't appear to fit the rich, middle aged, white profile they are used to there, as we often felt more like intruders the way staff talked to and looked at us, and skipped past us in line multiple times to help those who fit the profile of their normal guest. We did have amazing service by one waitress in Bashi there who was honest, efficient, and extremely pleasant. Not sure we would go back despite the breathtaking views- we'd have to be up to rubbing elbows with arrogant guests and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Terranea Resort - Destination Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAT13
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 29, 2013

Couple Trip

Hotel is beautiful and overall experience was amazing. The adult pool was great, scenery was so nice...my wife loved the spa. Only issues were restaurants both messed up our reservations. That said, they did the right thing at both and made up for it through discounts, etc. Also, the weather was ok...cloudy most of the time, but I would still go back in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top