Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Cliffs Resort

4 stars
View map of 2757 Shell Beach Rd., Pismo Beach, CA 93449

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise
Dec 25, 2010

Average accomodations.

Hotel was alright, pismo location is good. Good View of the beach from the main area, but not from the side rooms. Pool side views also have ocean views. The workout area was clean, but the equipment is older and in need of an update. Pool/jacuzzi were very nice.If we had made the reservation directly with the hotel, instead of going through [...], the breakfast would have been included in the price. Because we made the reservation through [...], we had to pay 14 dollars, per person, for breakfast. We felt mislead, as the website and agent we spoke to said that the breakfast was included when we made the reservation. Looking at the other hotels in the area, it appears that many offer the same amenities, include the breakfast, with better views of the ocean, for 40-80 dollars less per night. We will look for better place to stay next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Dec 6, 2010

Great place

close to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 20, 2010

The Cliffs has hidden costs

The location is beautiful. THe hotel room was fine. Most troubling was the fact that they hit me with hidden costs on checkout that were not identified in the [...]reservation process or at check in. They charged an additional $12/day for amenities like the pool and fitness center regardless of whether or not you used them. I was on business, not vacation. Had I known this up-front. I would have chosen another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pineapple Mama
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful family get-away w/ pet

The hotel was better than I expected. My daughter who loves to swim had a great time. Duke our Samoyed was equally happy as was the husband. They brought a bed, a bowl and a doggy menu that just adorable. They gave us a room on the 1st floor, on the side of the building, which lead to a pathway to the beach, conducive to letting the dog out at any time. The location was fabulous as were the grounds. The late afternoon walk on the beach was refreshing. We're looking forward to coming back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, Ca
Jul 26, 2010

Fabulous getaway!!

We planned this last minute getaway and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to our hotel! Great staff clean rooms! Super comfy beds!! Plush comforter! Great views! Loved our stay! They even brought out a smoors cart by the fire pit near the pool for kids. Loved it!! Can't wait to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bikeman
Business
Sacramento Ca
Jul 15, 2010

Staff was very curtius and prompt.

This was our third trip to The Cliffs for the following reasons, first and formost is the great service we receive at the hotel next is the location for day trips and the cleanleness of the rooms and also the assistance at the front desk staff with what ever you need help with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bikeman
Business
Sacramento Ca
Jul 15, 2010

Staff was very curtius and prompt.

This was our third trip to The Cliffs for the following reasons, first and formost is the great service we receive at the hotel next is the location for day trips and the cleanleness of the rooms and also the assistance at the front desk staff with what ever you need help with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gflo1978
Business
Hanford, Ca.
Jun 27, 2010

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was not too far from Pismo Beach. The Continental Breakfast provided by the hotel was very impressive considering the fact that in most restaurants you are only provided with coffee and a pastry. The only thing that was wrong is that the staff at the pool were very unfriendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

About 5-10 minutes from downtown Pismo area. Other than that there are a few liqour stores close by and restaurants.

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 17, 2010

The Cliffs Resort - May 16

I was unpleasantly surprised that I was assessed an $11 "Facilities Fee" upon checkout. All we did was use the room, and did not use any other "facilities". My understanding is that what I paid to [...] covered everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chick-mama
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 25, 2010

All the things we needed!

Lovely hotel right on the beach. My only complaint is that there is no on-premises dining. You can go next door but it was pretty crowded. Other than that, it was a bulls-eye!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great breakfast down the road at a place called Zorro's.

Back to menu Return to top