Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Cliffs Resort

4 stars
View map of 2757 Shell Beach Rd., Pismo Beach, CA 93449

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Dec 6, 2010

Great place

close to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 20, 2010

The Cliffs has hidden costs

The location is beautiful. THe hotel room was fine. Most troubling was the fact that they hit me with hidden costs on checkout that were not identified in the [...]reservation process or at check in. They charged an additional $12/day for amenities like the pool and fitness center regardless of whether or not you used them. I was on business, not vacation. Had I known this up-front. I would have chosen another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pineapple Mama
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful family get-away w/ pet

The hotel was better than I expected. My daughter who loves to swim had a great time. Duke our Samoyed was equally happy as was the husband. They brought a bed, a bowl and a doggy menu that just adorable. They gave us a room on the 1st floor, on the side of the building, which lead to a pathway to the beach, conducive to letting the dog out at any time. The location was fabulous as were the grounds. The late afternoon walk on the beach was refreshing. We're looking forward to coming back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, Ca
Jul 26, 2010

Fabulous getaway!!

We planned this last minute getaway and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to our hotel! Great staff clean rooms! Super comfy beds!! Plush comforter! Great views! Loved our stay! They even brought out a smoors cart by the fire pit near the pool for kids. Loved it!! Can't wait to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bikeman
Business
Sacramento Ca
Jul 15, 2010

Staff was very curtius and prompt.

This was our third trip to The Cliffs for the following reasons, first and formost is the great service we receive at the hotel next is the location for day trips and the cleanleness of the rooms and also the assistance at the front desk staff with what ever you need help with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gflo1978
Business
Hanford, Ca.
Jun 27, 2010

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was not too far from Pismo Beach. The Continental Breakfast provided by the hotel was very impressive considering the fact that in most restaurants you are only provided with coffee and a pastry. The only thing that was wrong is that the staff at the pool were very unfriendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

About 5-10 minutes from downtown Pismo area. Other than that there are a few liqour stores close by and restaurants.

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 17, 2010

The Cliffs Resort - May 16

I was unpleasantly surprised that I was assessed an $11 "Facilities Fee" upon checkout. All we did was use the room, and did not use any other "facilities". My understanding is that what I paid to [...] covered everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chick-mama
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 25, 2010

All the things we needed!

Lovely hotel right on the beach. My only complaint is that there is no on-premises dining. You can go next door but it was pretty crowded. Other than that, it was a bulls-eye!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great breakfast down the road at a place called Zorro's.

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merced, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Shell Beach trip

I have to say that the fact that we were far from Pismo was a drag. Also the fact that their restaurant was over priced and hardly 4 star. $90 dollars for some marinara sauce over egg noodles with 3 shrimp? Dive food would have been better than that, however the scenic cliff views were gorgeous. All in all probably wouldn't recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a drive into Pismo only 5 minutes away will save your palate as well as your wallet!

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 9, 2010

Great Beach Get Away

Relaxed, Hiked along the rocks on the beach. went to the outlet malls.. Just enjoyed some gorgeous beach weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top