Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2014 Check-out: May 9, 2014

The Cliffs Resort

4 stars
2757 Shell Beach Rd., Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
84 reviews
The Mission Trip

Great place to stay with a good restaurant to eat in after a hard day of traveling on a road trip. See full review

  • Dr. D. E.
  • Jan 7, 2014
Great hotel by the beach!

Partial view of ocean and very comfortable beds!! Enjoyed our stay! See full review

  • Pam Beach Lover
  • Oct 23, 2013
Elegant hotel overlooking Shell Beach in Central California

Cliffs Resort, overlooking Shell Beach, is a literal high point on California's Central Coast. The five-story hotel offers a sense of elegance to go with the beachside location. Cliffs Resort underwent a major renovation in 2009 and is equipped to host weddings, business meetings, and family reunions and other gatherings. In addition to a stunning setting, Cliffs Resort features a spa, 24-hour fitness center, and heated outdoor pool with ocean views. Restaurant Marisol offers elegant dining.

Highlights
  • Overlooks Shell Beach
  • Pets allowed
  • Complimentary weekend manager's wine reception
  • Complimentary shuttle service to and from San Luis Obispo Regional Airport and the local Amtrak stations
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas and guest rooms
Rooms

Each of the hotel's 160 rooms comes with a private patio, an Italian marble bath, and a comfortable workstation with free Wi-Fi access. Other features adding to guest comfort include 42-inch HD flat-screen television, clock radio with MP3 player, telephone with voicemail, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea, hairdryer, and iron and ironing board. Every room has a view of the ocean, coast, or mountains.

Features

Cliffs Resort offers a pampering experience, from the smart service at Marisol restaurant to the 84-degree water in the oceanside pool to the views from the stylish, comfortable rooms.

 

Restaurant Marisol serves contemporary Latin cuisine and an award-winning Sunday champagne brunch and offers live entertainment.

 

Spa at the Cliffs provides relaxing therapeutic massage and other treatments by the sea. The 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space includes nine individual spaces, from small meeting rooms to a dividable 3,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Morro Bay Natural History Museum (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (53 mi/85.3 km)
Business
  • Conference space accommodating up to 350 people
  • Free Wi-Fi service

The Cliffs Resort Rooms

Deluxe Non-ocean View
New oversized deluxe room with private balcony or patio, Italian marble bathroom with premium bath amenities, premium cable with pay movies, 42" flat screen televisions, complimentary wireless high speed Internet, voice mail, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, new "Heavenly Beds" (made famous by Westin Hotels & Resorts), clock radio. Most feature two queens; some with king. Desk & sitting area.
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
New oversized king or two queen deluxe room with Italian marble bathroom and premium amenities. Private balcony or patio for beautiful ocean views. Hair dryer, coffee/tea maker, iron/ironing board, voice mail, wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" flat screen television with premium cable, HBO, pay movies. Desk & sitting area. New "Heavenly Beds" (made famous by Westin Hotels & Resorts).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cliffs Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1654 -120.6895
Area served
Oceanfront beach resort. Pismo Beach, Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, Morro Bay, Arroyo Grande, Grover Beach, Avila Beach, Santa Maria, Nipomo, Cayucos.
Nearby airports
SBP; San Luis Obispo Regional Airport SMX; Santa Maria SBA; Santa Barbara
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Luis Obispo Airport - 10 miles Nearby Areas * Fresno, CA - 124 miles * Lompoc, CA - 36 miles * Los Angeles, CA - 200 miles * San Francisco, CA - 200 miles. Santa Barbara - 80 miles.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2944-sf Grand Ballroom, divisible into 8 sections 616 Zinfandel 1112-sf Syrah Lower Lobby 600-sf Meeting Suite 100 654-sf Sunset oceanfront room 324-sf Pacific View Boardroom 1500-sf SeaCliffs Room 5000-sf Pool Terrace (outdoor) 15,000-sf Oceanfront Lawn 5600-sf Oceanfront Tent

Dining

Room Service
7 AM - 9 PM Seasonal. Extensive menu.
Cliffs Lounge
Live entertainment. Dancing. Lunch, dinner, and appetizers. Mid-week happy hour from 4-6 PM. Large wrap-around deck for stunning ocean views.
Marisol Restaurant
Oceanfront. California cuisine with modern Latin flavors. Breakfast buffet daily, Champagne Sunday Brunch. Extensive wine list. Seats 130. Breakfast: 7-11 AM; Lunch 11 A-4 PM; Dinner: 4-9:30 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
Pineapple Mama
San Mateo, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful family get-away w/ pet

The hotel was better than I expected. My daughter who loves to swim had a great time. Duke our Samoyed was equally happy as was the husband. They brought a bed, a bowl and a doggy menu that just adorable. They gave us a room on the 1st floor, on the side of the building, which lead to a pathway to the beach, conducive to letting the dog out at any time. The location was fabulous as were the grounds. The late afternoon walk on the beach was refreshing. We're looking forward to coming back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Santa Rosa, Ca
Jul 26, 2010

Fabulous getaway!!

We planned this last minute getaway and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to our hotel! Great staff clean rooms! Super comfy beds!! Plush comforter! Great views! Loved our stay! They even brought out a smoors cart by the fire pit near the pool for kids. Loved it!! Can't wait to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
bikeman
Sacramento Ca
Jul 15, 2010

Staff was very curtius and prompt.

This was our third trip to The Cliffs for the following reasons, first and formost is the great service we receive at the hotel next is the location for day trips and the cleanleness of the rooms and also the assistance at the front desk staff with what ever you need help with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
Gflo1978
Hanford, Ca.
Jun 27, 2010

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was not too far from Pismo Beach. The Continental Breakfast provided by the hotel was very impressive considering the fact that in most restaurants you are only provided with coffee and a pastry. The only thing that was wrong is that the staff at the pool were very unfriendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

About 5-10 minutes from downtown Pismo area. Other than that there are a few liqour stores close by and restaurants.

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
May 17, 2010

The Cliffs Resort - May 16

I was unpleasantly surprised that I was assessed an $11 "Facilities Fee" upon checkout. All we did was use the room, and did not use any other "facilities". My understanding is that what I paid to [...] covered everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
Chick-mama
Los Angeles
Apr 25, 2010

All the things we needed!

Lovely hotel right on the beach. My only complaint is that there is no on-premises dining. You can go next door but it was pretty crowded. Other than that, it was a bulls-eye!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great breakfast down the road at a place called Zorro's.

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Merced, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Shell Beach trip

I have to say that the fact that we were far from Pismo was a drag. Also the fact that their restaurant was over priced and hardly 4 star. $90 dollars for some marinara sauce over egg noodles with 3 shrimp? Dive food would have been better than that, however the scenic cliff views were gorgeous. All in all probably wouldn't recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a drive into Pismo only 5 minutes away will save your palate as well as your wallet!

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 9, 2010

Great Beach Get Away

Relaxed, Hiked along the rocks on the beach. went to the outlet malls.. Just enjoyed some gorgeous beach weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
Eastern Sierra pair
Bishop, CA
Apr 5, 2010

Great stay!

Very nice place to stay. Staff was great and the location was perfect. Rooms were very clean and stocked. We had a "Partial Ocean View" room and it was just that. We could see the ocean nicely from the balcony. Will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to hit The Splash Cafe for their chowder. They serve a decent breakfast too. Not at all fancy, more of a beach dive, actually. Fun place!

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
San Jose, California
Feb 18, 2010

Cheap Tickets - stigma 2nd Class

I requested 2 queen beds via [...] This request was not honored. I called to confirm the day before our reservations. There was a attitude and comment made to the effect, well you reserved through [...] so what does that mean? Do we get substandards? I don't think $405 was cheap. cheap. First night, Room was noisy, sand bugs in the bed, the alarm clock went off every five minutes from 5:00 a.m. on. The neighbors were slamming their door, the water was cold after running it for 15 minutes. We were moved to another room on our second night, which was much better. However, the next day they starting setting off the fire alarm every few minutes from 10:00 a.m. onward. We did not receive any notice of this upon check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Deli next to the Shell Gas Station, which has outstanding choices of meats, cheeses and a great wine selection and is moderately priced. Great way to avoid expensive meals. It's a very short walk from the hotel. Breakfast is not included and is served in the adjacent building.

Back to menu Return to top