Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Cliffs Resort

4 stars
2757 Shell Beach Rd., Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
The Mission Trip

Great place to stay with a good restaurant to eat in after a hard day of traveling on a road trip. See full review

  • Dr. D. E.
  • Jan 7, 2014
Great hotel by the beach!

Partial view of ocean and very comfortable beds!! Enjoyed our stay! See full review

  • Pam Beach Lover
  • Oct 23, 2013
Elegant hotel overlooking Shell Beach in Central California

Cliffs Resort, overlooking Shell Beach, is a literal high point on California's Central Coast. The five-story hotel offers a sense of elegance to go with the beachside location. Cliffs Resort underwent a major renovation in 2009 and is equipped to host weddings, business meetings, and family reunions and other gatherings. In addition to a stunning setting, Cliffs Resort features a spa, 24-hour fitness center, and heated outdoor pool with ocean views. Restaurant Marisol offers elegant dining.

Highlights
  • Overlooks Shell Beach
  • Pets allowed
  • Complimentary weekend manager's wine reception
  • Complimentary shuttle service to and from San Luis Obispo Regional Airport and the local Amtrak stations
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas and guest rooms
Rooms

Each of the hotel's 160 rooms comes with a private patio, an Italian marble bath, and a comfortable workstation with free Wi-Fi access. Other features adding to guest comfort include 42-inch HD flat-screen television, clock radio with MP3 player, telephone with voicemail, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea, hairdryer, and iron and ironing board. Every room has a view of the ocean, coast, or mountains.

Features

Cliffs Resort offers a pampering experience, from the smart service at Marisol restaurant to the 84-degree water in the oceanside pool to the views from the stylish, comfortable rooms.

 

Restaurant Marisol serves contemporary Latin cuisine and an award-winning Sunday champagne brunch and offers live entertainment.

 

Spa at the Cliffs provides relaxing therapeutic massage and other treatments by the sea. The 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space includes nine individual spaces, from small meeting rooms to a dividable 3,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo Municipal Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • San Luis Obispo Children's Museum (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Morro Bay Natural History Museum (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Hearst Castle (53 mi/85.3 km)
Business
  • Conference space accommodating up to 350 people
  • Free Wi-Fi service

The Cliffs Resort Rooms

Deluxe Non-ocean View
New oversized deluxe room with private balcony or patio, Italian marble bathroom with premium bath amenities, premium cable with pay movies, 42" flat screen televisions, complimentary wireless high speed Internet, voice mail, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, new "Heavenly Beds" (made famous by Westin Hotels & Resorts), clock radio. Most feature two queens; some with king. Desk & sitting area.
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
New oversized king or two queen deluxe room with Italian marble bathroom and premium amenities. Private balcony or patio for beautiful ocean views. Hair dryer, coffee/tea maker, iron/ironing board, voice mail, wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" flat screen television with premium cable, HBO, pay movies. Desk & sitting area. New "Heavenly Beds" (made famous by Westin Hotels & Resorts).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cliffs Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1654 -120.6895
Area served
Oceanfront beach resort. Pismo Beach, Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, Morro Bay, Arroyo Grande, Grover Beach, Avila Beach, Santa Maria, Nipomo, Cayucos.
Nearby airports
SBP; San Luis Obispo Regional Airport SMX; Santa Maria SBA; Santa Barbara
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Luis Obispo Airport - 10 miles Nearby Areas * Fresno, CA - 124 miles * Lompoc, CA - 36 miles * Los Angeles, CA - 200 miles * San Francisco, CA - 200 miles. Santa Barbara - 80 miles.

Dining

Room Service
7 AM - 9 PM Seasonal. Extensive menu.
Cliffs Lounge
Live entertainment. Dancing. Lunch, dinner, and appetizers. Mid-week happy hour from 4-6 PM. Large wrap-around deck for stunning ocean views.
Marisol Restaurant
Oceanfront. California cuisine with modern Latin flavors. Breakfast buffet daily, Champagne Sunday Brunch. Extensive wine list. Seats 130. Breakfast: 7-11 AM; Lunch 11 A-4 PM; Dinner: 4-9:30 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2944-sf Grand Ballroom, divisible into 8 sections 616 Zinfandel 1112-sf Syrah Lower Lobby 600-sf Meeting Suite 100 654-sf Sunset oceanfront room 324-sf Pacific View Boardroom 1500-sf SeaCliffs Room 5000-sf Pool Terrace (outdoor) 15,000-sf Oceanfront Lawn 5600-sf Oceanfront Tent

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for The Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Discovery Bay, CA
Apr 18, 2011

Hotel For Dogs

Do you want to visit Pismo Beach and stay in a nice hotel but don't want to leave Fido behind? Well look no further-this place is perfect. We brought our pooch Kaylee and she had a blast. She was able to play on the beach, located just a stair pathway from our room, sit with us on the restaurant veranda while we at brunch and looked at the spectacular view and chase balls with other dogs on the lawns. For those of you that are not "dog people" don't worry! During our stay all the other dogs were quiet, on leashes, and picked up after appropriately. (The hotel provides plastic baggies and garbage cans strategically placed around the grounds for puppy pick-up.) I would also recommend this as a family hotel. There were plenty of kids playing on the beach and at the pool. This really is a great (entire) family retreat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Discovery Bay, CA
Apr 18, 2011

Hotel For Dogs

Do you want to visit Pismo Beach and stay in a nice hotel but don't want to leave Fido behind? Well look no further-this place is perfect. We brought our pooch Kaylee and she had a blast. She was able to play on the beach, located just a stair pathway from our room, sit with us on the restaurant veranda while we at brunch and looked at the spectacular view and chase balls with other dogs on the lawns. For those of you that are not "dog people" don't worry! During our stay all the other dogs were quiet, on leashes, and picked up after appropriately. (The hotel provides plastic baggies and garbage cans strategically placed around the grounds for puppy pick-up.) I would also recommend this as a family hotel. There were plenty of kids playing on the beach and at the pool. This really is a great (entire) family retreat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wouldn'tyouliketoknow
Sacramento, CA
Mar 3, 2011

Great Place, will be staying there again

Stayed overnight and had a great time. Due to the weather, we were forced to stay indoors. Our room was very spacious and we enjoyed our view of the ocean (each room has a balcony). The beds were very comfortable and having a mini fridge and coffee maker was very convient. The hotel is located in Shell Beach, which is only minutes away from Pismo Beach- a great place to go from local resturants. The staff was very friendly and the checking in and out process was quick and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wouldn'tyouliketoknow
Sacramento, CA
Mar 3, 2011

Great Place, will be staying there again

Stayed overnight and had a great time. Due to the weather, we were forced to stay indoors. Our room was very spacious and we enjoyed our view of the ocean (each room has a balcony). The beds were very comfortable and having a mini fridge and coffee maker was very convient. The hotel is located in Shell Beach, which is only minutes away from Pismo Beach- a great place to go from local resturants. The staff was very friendly and the checking in and out process was quick and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise
Dec 25, 2010

Average accomodations.

Hotel was alright, pismo location is good. Good View of the beach from the main area, but not from the side rooms. Pool side views also have ocean views. The workout area was clean, but the equipment is older and in need of an update. Pool/jacuzzi were very nice.If we had made the reservation directly with the hotel, instead of going through [...], the breakfast would have been included in the price. Because we made the reservation through [...], we had to pay 14 dollars, per person, for breakfast. We felt mislead, as the website and agent we spoke to said that the breakfast was included when we made the reservation. Looking at the other hotels in the area, it appears that many offer the same amenities, include the breakfast, with better views of the ocean, for 40-80 dollars less per night. We will look for better place to stay next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise
Dec 25, 2010

Average accomodations.

Hotel was alright, pismo location is good. Good View of the beach from the main area, but not from the side rooms. Pool side views also have ocean views. The workout area was clean, but the equipment is older and in need of an update. Pool/jacuzzi were very nice.If we had made the reservation directly with the hotel, instead of going through [...], the breakfast would have been included in the price. Because we made the reservation through [...], we had to pay 14 dollars, per person, for breakfast. We felt mislead, as the website and agent we spoke to said that the breakfast was included when we made the reservation. Looking at the other hotels in the area, it appears that many offer the same amenities, include the breakfast, with better views of the ocean, for 40-80 dollars less per night. We will look for better place to stay next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Dec 6, 2010

Great place

close to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Dec 6, 2010

Great place

close to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 20, 2010

The Cliffs has hidden costs

The location is beautiful. THe hotel room was fine. Most troubling was the fact that they hit me with hidden costs on checkout that were not identified in the [...]reservation process or at check in. They charged an additional $12/day for amenities like the pool and fitness center regardless of whether or not you used them. I was on business, not vacation. Had I known this up-front. I would have chosen another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 20, 2010

The Cliffs has hidden costs

The location is beautiful. THe hotel room was fine. Most troubling was the fact that they hit me with hidden costs on checkout that were not identified in the [...]reservation process or at check in. They charged an additional $12/day for amenities like the pool and fitness center regardless of whether or not you used them. I was on business, not vacation. Had I known this up-front. I would have chosen another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top