Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
183 reviews
Great Location

We stayed here due to its proximity to the Ferry Building. We take the Ferry to Giants games. It is... See full review

  • DonnaLerow
  • Jul 28, 2014
Pleasant

The room was clean and comfortable, and the area was nice to walk around.The bed was comfortable.... See full review

  • EABrin
  • Jul 28, 2014
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7965 -122.2762
Area served
Oakland
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport
Area description
Just outside our door step we are nestled in the middle of a mix of restaurants and specialty stores, local farmers market, and the world renowned Yoshi's Jazz Club. For the business traveler, our hotel is just minutes from the newly renovated City Hall, Federal and General Services Administration buildings and the downtown Oakland financial district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA,Ca
May 29, 2011

very good one

the management is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Apr 18, 2011

Good Value!

I had three rooms booked at the Inn and Jack London Square. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, everything worked in the room and the staff was very helpful whenever we had a question. Overall - I will stay here again when in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fat Lady is just behind the hotel and the food and service is a good value!

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Apr 18, 2011

Good Value!

I had three rooms booked at the Inn and Jack London Square. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, everything worked in the room and the staff was very helpful whenever we had a question. Overall - I will stay here again when in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fat Lady is just behind the hotel and the food and service is a good value!

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent road warrier for business
Business
Minneapolis
Feb 26, 2011

Not so good

Hotel has seen better days and was a bit creepy; somewhat smelly; and cheap. I had flight problems and ended up paying for a night i didn't stay, yet when i called to tell them i'd be late, they were just rude--place had that desserted past prime feel. Room itself was mostly clean, although the carpet was scary to walk barefoot on, towels and sheets seemed good. Very cheap on the incidentals--despite asking for extra coffeee (they provide ONE cup!), it was never provided; etc. would not stay here again. Internet did NOT work and that is a main reason for picking hotels for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent road warrier for business
Business
Minneapolis
Feb 26, 2011

Not so good

Hotel has seen better days and was a bit creepy; somewhat smelly; and cheap. I had flight problems and ended up paying for a night i didn't stay, yet when i called to tell them i'd be late, they were just rude--place had that desserted past prime feel. Room itself was mostly clean, although the carpet was scary to walk barefoot on, towels and sheets seemed good. Very cheap on the incidentals--despite asking for extra coffeee (they provide ONE cup!), it was never provided; etc. would not stay here again. Internet did NOT work and that is a main reason for picking hotels for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Dec 13, 2010

Ok place

This hotel is in downtown Oakland and a couple of minutes from Jack London Square. Although the hotel interior is decent, I would not return here. We did not spend any time in the hotel during the day; and in the evenings when we would return, we would occasionally see questionable looking people sitting in the hotel hallway - not exactly a warm thought when returning to your hotel. Walls are thin; however, if you're using this place to just sleep the night only, the place serves its purpose. Otherwise, if you're planning to hang out in the hotel, I would look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Dec 13, 2010

Ok place

This hotel is in downtown Oakland and a couple of minutes from Jack London Square. Although the hotel interior is decent, I would not return here. We did not spend any time in the hotel during the day; and in the evenings when we would return, we would occasionally see questionable looking people sitting in the hotel hallway - not exactly a warm thought when returning to your hotel. Walls are thin; however, if you're using this place to just sleep the night only, the place serves its purpose. Otherwise, if you're planning to hang out in the hotel, I would look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 17, 2010

Inn at Jack London Square

Great place in older building with character. Convenient to Amtrak and the airport. Comfortable bed, clean. A not noisy before 8pm but quiet afterward. It was perfect stop over for my trip to Southern Cal the next day. Extension cords were a little scary but otherwise A-OK. I would return to the Inn at Jack London Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short walk if you are not disabled to the Amtrak station. The Inn has handicap accessible rooms with short cab ride or drive to both OAK and to Amtrak. Wheel chair might be a little dicey to maneuver in the elevator at the Inn

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 17, 2010

Inn at Jack London Square

Great place in older building with character. Convenient to Amtrak and the airport. Comfortable bed, clean. A not noisy before 8pm but quiet afterward. It was perfect stop over for my trip to Southern Cal the next day. Extension cords were a little scary but otherwise A-OK. I would return to the Inn at Jack London Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short walk if you are not disabled to the Amtrak station. The Inn has handicap accessible rooms with short cab ride or drive to both OAK and to Amtrak. Wheel chair might be a little dicey to maneuver in the elevator at the Inn

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
mountain view ca
Nov 1, 2010

good stay over all

good but they dont put shampoo in the room and u have to ask for those

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top