Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladybug
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

historic surronudings

the inn at jack london square was a welcome respite after traveling for 18 hours. it is clean and spacious with a lovely swimming pool area, including a cabana! it has a great restaurant right next door, which makes it a very easy vacation harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tommy1235
Business
Fresno, California, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Not a good place if you want to sleep

This is a horrible place to stay if you plan to sleep. The railraod tracks are right outside the window. The entire night the train horn was blowing. Shower head is made for people less that 5'5. I'm 5'11 and had to crouch down to wash my hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 27, 2011

Good Value

Nice place, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 27, 2011

Jacks Oakland

Great hotel and great location. The paint and decor in the halls are a bit dated but the rooms are great. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I have two suggestions. If you want good food and lots of it at a reasonable price go to the Buttercup next door to the hotel. Only bad thing is they aren't open 24 hours anymore. If you plan to drive anywhere in Oakland especially to the stadium then leave hours in advance or just take public transportation. Took three hours to drive to the stadium which is only four miles from the hotel.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cuttlefishdoom
Business
La Verne,CA
Jun 3, 2011

Noisy

Railway is near.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA,Ca
May 29, 2011

very good one

the management is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Apr 18, 2011

Good Value!

I had three rooms booked at the Inn and Jack London Square. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, everything worked in the room and the staff was very helpful whenever we had a question. Overall - I will stay here again when in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fat Lady is just behind the hotel and the food and service is a good value!

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent road warrier for business
Business
Minneapolis
Feb 26, 2011

Not so good

Hotel has seen better days and was a bit creepy; somewhat smelly; and cheap. I had flight problems and ended up paying for a night i didn't stay, yet when i called to tell them i'd be late, they were just rude--place had that desserted past prime feel. Room itself was mostly clean, although the carpet was scary to walk barefoot on, towels and sheets seemed good. Very cheap on the incidentals--despite asking for extra coffeee (they provide ONE cup!), it was never provided; etc. would not stay here again. Internet did NOT work and that is a main reason for picking hotels for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 13, 2010

Ok place

This hotel is in downtown Oakland and a couple of minutes from Jack London Square. Although the hotel interior is decent, I would not return here. We did not spend any time in the hotel during the day; and in the evenings when we would return, we would occasionally see questionable looking people sitting in the hotel hallway - not exactly a warm thought when returning to your hotel. Walls are thin; however, if you're using this place to just sleep the night only, the place serves its purpose. Otherwise, if you're planning to hang out in the hotel, I would look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 17, 2010

Inn at Jack London Square

Great place in older building with character. Convenient to Amtrak and the airport. Comfortable bed, clean. A not noisy before 8pm but quiet afterward. It was perfect stop over for my trip to Southern Cal the next day. Extension cords were a little scary but otherwise A-OK. I would return to the Inn at Jack London Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short walk if you are not disabled to the Amtrak station. The Inn has handicap accessible rooms with short cab ride or drive to both OAK and to Amtrak. Wheel chair might be a little dicey to maneuver in the elevator at the Inn

Back to menu Return to top