Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
181 reviews
Good for the Price

We had a one night stay at the hotel. The location is good, being near Jack London Square. The... See full review

  • FKKoe
  • Apr 27, 2014
nice place to stay in downtown Oakland

I stay at this hotel a few times a year. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and there... See full review

  • Oaklander
  • Jan 30, 2014
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7965 -122.2762
Area served
Oakland
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport
Area description
Just outside our door step we are nestled in the middle of a mix of restaurants and specialty stores, local farmers market, and the world renowned Yoshi's Jazz Club. For the business traveler, our hotel is just minutes from the newly renovated City Hall, Federal and General Services Administration buildings and the downtown Oakland financial district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
banshee123
Business
DC
Jan 26, 2013

business trip

decent hotel with good diner/restaurant connected. Downside: far away from BART station and 20 minute wait for a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Portland gal
Portland OR
Jan 21, 2013

Past it's prime

Staff friendly; shower worn (sliding glass door fell off track, shower head looks like it used to have variable stream but adjuster broke off, soap holder so tilted that can't hold soap); safety chain on door inoperable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
widj
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 17, 2013

OK business trip

Overall it is a pleasant stay. I may come back for my business trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSWT
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 14, 2013

Great leisurely getaway

I booked this hotel because of the close proximity to a business venue that I was attending, and because of the fine dining area near the port and view of the bay. The room was very quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very curteous and the ease of parking for patrons made so simple to come and go as necessary. I definitelyplan to return for a weekend of pure leisure and dining devoid of business. Thanks to the staff for all you do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kerry McG
Yucaipa, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Scary and noisy!

Area is scary at night. Train doesn't run at night but starts at 6 am and goes off and on all day only a block away. The police and ambulance sirens are even noisier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kraftygram
Sacramento, California
Dec 29, 2012

Oakland Experience

Good location right at Jack London Square and near great restaurants. Rooms were clean and comfortable. A short, easy drive to BART or take the shuttle. $14.00/day parking fee is not mentioned on the website!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom of nine.
oakland ca
Oct 16, 2012

leasure

Room was small and smelled of cigarettes. Sheets did not have a fresh clean smell. Location was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sling4ever
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 15, 2012

Good for Location in Oakland, but...

The Inn itself was between Jack London Square, downtown Oakland and Old Oakland. It was great as far as the location goes. A little bit of a ways from the BART, but there was a shuttle along the main road. The room itself was middle of the road, just enough to have clean set of sheets, quiet time and a roof over my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evv126
Whittier california
Aug 29, 2012

Family vacation

I really was amazed at this hotel it was good a little overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant next to the hotel had great service.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Rob
Buffalo, NY
Aug 8, 2012

"9YO says: wow.. it's much bigger than it looks at first!"

We were looking for a hotel to stay at while visiting San Francisco, and chose the "Inn at Jack London Square" because the Oakland location would avoid traffic and parking problems, be nearby the BART and hopefully a better value than a similar hotel near the tourist spots we knew we'd be visiting. Although we were a little nervous because of mixed reviews we saw online, as well as an aweful review (we heard after booking) from a friend who had stayed here years ago, we stuck it out -- and I'm glad we did. Here's what we found: - tiny check-in area.. no big deal, right? - ample parking (yay!) @ $12/day - coffee shop 1 block away (yay!) - attached restaurant provides room service, and it was pretty darned tasty with large variety, at below-average prices for a hotel (yay!) - although you can indeed hear train whistles coming from across the other side of the hotel it was really *NOT* a problem for us.. we stayed on the 3rd street side, facing in towards the pool, and unless you're used to the silence of country living, it really was no big deal. - we slept better here than anywhere along our travels this trip so far.. two double-beds were clean (as was the rest of the room) and comfy. WiFi worked great (if you're reading this :-) ) and all was in working order. (our tub did drip slightly, but that didn't cause a problem for us). Windows open and A/C / heating was newer and quiet. - Free shuttle took us to the BART which took us to San Francisco for $3.15, and coming back we just walked from the BART to the hotel.. an easy walk - Tomorrow we check out the good-sized pool which upon my initial toe-dip yesterday felt to be about 65 degrees (maybe warmer.. my toe-mometer isn't 100% accurate ;-) Overall: this place was an OK value for the $$$. We paid about $110/night... I think it's probably closer to a $89/night hotel, but I'm unfamiliar with this market so can't really say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top