Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
109 reviews
nice place to stay in downtown Oakland

I stay at this hotel a few times a year. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and there... See full review

  • Oaklander
  • Jan 30, 2014
Fun weekend!

For the price the room was great, very clean, staff was very friendly. Lots to do at Jack London... See full review

  • Sweetgrl
  • Oct 8, 2013
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7965 -122.2762
Area served
Oakland
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport
Area description
Just outside our door step we are nestled in the middle of a mix of restaurants and specialty stores, local farmers market, and the world renowned Yoshi's Jazz Club. For the business traveler, our hotel is just minutes from the newly renovated City Hall, Federal and General Services Administration buildings and the downtown Oakland financial district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
Mom of nine.
oakland ca
Oct 16, 2012

leasure

Room was small and smelled of cigarettes. Sheets did not have a fresh clean smell. Location was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
sling4ever
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 15, 2012

Good for Location in Oakland, but...

The Inn itself was between Jack London Square, downtown Oakland and Old Oakland. It was great as far as the location goes. A little bit of a ways from the BART, but there was a shuttle along the main road. The room itself was middle of the road, just enough to have clean set of sheets, quiet time and a roof over my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
Evv126
Whittier california
Aug 29, 2012

Family vacation

I really was amazed at this hotel it was good a little overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant next to the hotel had great service.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
Red Rob
Buffalo, NY
Aug 8, 2012

"9YO says: wow.. it's much bigger than it looks at first!"

We were looking for a hotel to stay at while visiting San Francisco, and chose the "Inn at Jack London Square" because the Oakland location would avoid traffic and parking problems, be nearby the BART and hopefully a better value than a similar hotel near the tourist spots we knew we'd be visiting. Although we were a little nervous because of mixed reviews we saw online, as well as an aweful review (we heard after booking) from a friend who had stayed here years ago, we stuck it out -- and I'm glad we did. Here's what we found: - tiny check-in area.. no big deal, right? - ample parking (yay!) @ $12/day - coffee shop 1 block away (yay!) - attached restaurant provides room service, and it was pretty darned tasty with large variety, at below-average prices for a hotel (yay!) - although you can indeed hear train whistles coming from across the other side of the hotel it was really *NOT* a problem for us.. we stayed on the 3rd street side, facing in towards the pool, and unless you're used to the silence of country living, it really was no big deal. - we slept better here than anywhere along our travels this trip so far.. two double-beds were clean (as was the rest of the room) and comfy. WiFi worked great (if you're reading this :-) ) and all was in working order. (our tub did drip slightly, but that didn't cause a problem for us). Windows open and A/C / heating was newer and quiet. - Free shuttle took us to the BART which took us to San Francisco for $3.15, and coming back we just walked from the BART to the hotel.. an easy walk - Tomorrow we check out the good-sized pool which upon my initial toe-dip yesterday felt to be about 65 degrees (maybe warmer.. my toe-mometer isn't 100% accurate ;-) Overall: this place was an OK value for the $$$. We paid about $110/night... I think it's probably closer to a $89/night hotel, but I'm unfamiliar with this market so can't really say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
MoDono
New York, NY
Aug 7, 2012

Great Oakland stay

Last year we needed somewhere for my parents to stay for a last minute situation. We enjoyed the location and pool, so this year when we needed somewhere to go with them and some nephews, we opted to come back. A couple breakfasts at the Buttercup Grill, delicious dinner across the street at Everett and Jones BBQ, Jack London Sq., Old Oakland, Chinatown (Mom's favorite), running to and around Lake Merritt! All wonderful. The cleaning staff where very helpful and friendly. We used the exercise room quite a bit too. Great value. Last year we had free parking though - otherwise would have given it a 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown! Old Oakland Farmer's Market.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
lzrchk
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Could've been better

Was glad to get a room in the Bay Area this weekend as all my usual hotel choices were sold out. We were greeted by the smell of urine in the lobby, not sure what that was about. The gal at check-in wasn't friendly and when I asked her about the waivers I was signing she wasn't helpful or informed. The room was basic and clean. A plus was the free wi-fi. This hotel is a Motel 6 in disguise. Won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zachary's Pizza! Be prepared to wait 30 minutes or more, but definitely wirth it.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
MissMarni
South of San Jose
Jul 27, 2012

Icy cold pool & parking not included

We went with this hotel instead of the nearby, and slightly more expensive, other hotel. Why? Because this site noted a heated pool and parking fee included in the price. Neither was true. In June, the pool was too cold to use. Parking cost $12 per day. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
Jessica335
Fort Bragg, CA
Jul 23, 2012

Great but hiking involved.

Awesome but 3rd floor was hot and our room was the hardest to get to. We loved the cleanliness, the pool, the locale. Might not go back again but that doesn't mean you shouldn't!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
Starshine712
Cheektowaga, NY
Jul 6, 2012

Great location for a overnight stay

We stayed at the Inn overnight so that we can tour San Francisco the next day. The room was very clean and the staff were great. The room was a little dated and the train ran about every five minutes during the night. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buttercup Inn

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

5
kawther
oakland, california
Jun 1, 2012

hotel revie

it was great. didn't like the surroundings very much but the hotel itself was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top