Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattbreso123
Business
san rafael
Feb 13, 2014

need to fix the tvr

Pool sucks, TV sucks, service is ok. They really need to fix these things. The location is convenient though. Also, the buttercup cafe needs to offer. Ore health conscious fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book the waterfront hotel instead if you can

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oaklander
Business
East Bay, Ca
Jan 30, 2014

nice place to stay in downtown Oakland

I stay at this hotel a few times a year. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and there is a decent restaurant attached. The grounds are nice and Ive never had any issues with safety. My only issue is with the hotel staff--very hot and cold. Some folks are lovely and sweet, others rude, short tempered, or simply slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orbitzer kibitzer
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Dec 20, 2013

Good affordable choice

The Inn at Jack London Square is a perfectly good place for an overnight stop: clean, comfortable room, stable free wireless, safe parking, and right on the Square with walking distance to restaurants. There's a hotel with a similar name nearby which apparently is not a good place to stay. But this place -- The Inn at JLS -- is fine. Most of the rooms on the second floor were undergoing renovation while I was there, so the hotel is clearly investing in itself. The rooms surround a very large pool deck and a nice-sized pool that kids would love (though I was there on a mid-week overnight in December and there were no families that day). There's a restaurant in the same parking lot -- the Buttercup -- with a diner-style menu. My corned beef hash breakfast was good and the service was friendly. Honestly, if you need a no-frills but comfortable room for the night, you can't go wrong here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetgrl
Business
Riverside, CA
Oct 8, 2013

Fun weekend!

For the price the room was great, very clean, staff was very friendly. Lots to do at Jack London Square, and lots of places to eat also.. They have the Farmer's Market on Sunday's, lots of great things to get buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney Boyfriend
Business
Oregon
Sep 9, 2013

Just fine, good central location

A little bit shabby, but functional (except when the fuses blew while I was ironing). Helpful staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Juice
Business
oakland
Aug 12, 2013

Hidden tresure

It is in a great location. I was able to book a room last minute with no problems. There was a little eerie feel walking through the parking lot. Maybe some more lights, signs, or staff to give more of a welcoming environment. I was also very fustrated with the shower head. Overall I slept well and had a decent room. The staff was polite and quickly to sum up any questions. I will be going back. It is truely a oakland treasure that needs a little dusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tuesday and Sunday are 5 dollar movie nights at the Jack London movie theater

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, California
Aug 6, 2013

Enjoyed our Stay

We were confused between The Inn at Jack London and the Jack London Inn. Good thing we BOOKED HERE. The hotel was near the downtown area in Oakland and not a far drive from San Francisco. Parking was a bit pricey and should have been included with our stay, but overall the hotel did us well. The rooms were pretty small, but the beds were comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lina B.
Business
California
Jul 8, 2013

Ordinary hotel

Clean, although small and quite old, room, Nice pool and gym. Unattentive front desk personnel. Close to Bay Bridge. Buttercup café next to the hotel. Expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Francisco and Berkeley

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super GDO
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 11, 2013

Trains, trains, trains

Take your ear plugs. There are trains that run continuously just one block so take your ear plugs! Also, the king size mattress needs to be replaced as both sides of the bed have a HUGE indentation where your butt goes; you can only sleep in the middle of the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5-6 restaurants. New pizza joint called the Forge, GREAT pizza!

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mack54
Business
Sacramento
Feb 22, 2013

Not the greatest but not the worst

The walls are little thin and the staff are a little too lethargic it seems like. But the hotel is comfortable for the most part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top