Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
View map of 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
132 reviews
Trip to San Francisco

My sister and I stayed at this hotel while were checking a school out in San Francisco. The room... See full review

  • Sarah B.
  • May 6, 2015
One night only

I had a nice stay. In the photos, there are pictures of the pool. While I was there it was being... See full review

  • Hope
  • Apr 6, 2015
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7965 -122.2762
Area served
Oakland
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport
Area description
Just outside our door step we are nestled in the middle of a mix of restaurants and specialty stores, local farmers market, and the world renowned Yoshi's Jazz Club. For the business traveler, our hotel is just minutes from the newly renovated City Hall, Federal and General Services Administration buildings and the downtown Oakland financial district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaUku
Hawaii
Dec 19, 2011

Inn at Jack London Square

First off, both rooms we occupied were well kept and clean. The only small, incidental item is the tub on the 2nd visit had fibergalss peeling and there was no refrigerator The staff were quite helpful and friendly. Someone in the office 24/7, so felt safe. The Buttercup Cafe on property had very down-home cooked meals with local clientelle...that tells me they have good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
noose
Business
Northbrook
May 17, 2015

it hurts

The staff was so nice it hurts to write this. My wife nicknamed me Vinny from movie my cousin Vinny because of train whistles. On line info stated free parking, which was true unless you parked overnight duh, which cost $18. Of course, was told I could park on street overnight and came out to a $66 ticket. The hot water took about 2-3 minutes at least to turn from cold. Not enough and inconveniently located electric outlets. toilet paper was like sandpaper. Threw out wife's almost full bottle of water. Needless to say there were 16.9 oz of water in room for sale $2.75.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah B.
Business
Layton
May 6, 2015

Trip to San Francisco

My sister and I stayed at this hotel while were checking a school out in San Francisco. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Everyone that worked that was friendly and helpful. We had to pay for parking, but as it was rather secure we didn't mind. The restaurant next to the hotel was absolutely amazing! Neither of us wanted to drive in downtown San Francisco and since this hotel is within walking distance of the ferry we didn't have to. Overall we had a wonderful experience here and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hope
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

One night only

I had a nice stay. In the photos, there are pictures of the pool. While I was there it was being worked on. But I can wait to go for a dip once the finishing touches are done. I'm a dancer and was looking for a place to stay for a good night out on the town. This really provides me with clarity before getting ready. The only down fall about my stay was that the clurk couldn't find my name in the system even though I am a prepayed client. But luckily someone provided her with assistance and got me checked into my room. P. S. Oh yeah the showers could have been a tad bit hotter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Mar 22, 2015

Decent hotel

This is a no frills hotel in downtown Oakland. Don't expect anything extra like a mini-bar or a remote control that works, but do expect a bed and a bathroom. There is a really yummy vegan restaurant nearby, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travis D.
Business
Sherman Oaks
Jan 9, 2015

Standard

It was a great location. Close to everything. It was by the dock's which was cool. Close to lots of shopping. But there was no food around at late times and no room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't leave anything in your car.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meatball Mpls
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Fun vacation!

The hotel was great! We couldn't stay in SF due to several conferences booking up all affordable hotels, but this was a great alternative! We enjoyed a ferry ride in the mornings and evenings to get ti San Francisco. A great place to stay if you don't mind being away from the action and like a quiet hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Plank is a restaurant/arcade just a couple of blocks from the hotel. The food is a little overpriced during regular mealtimes but the happy hour deals are great! And there's arcade games/bowling/bocce!

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah B.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Good value for the $$$

My family has stayed at this hotel many times. It's a good deal and great for kids, especially as they can eat well at the neighboring Buttercup restaurant. My main issue is that the workout room had several broken machines the last time we were there. Furthermore, the location of the room has changed to a glass-enclosed space so it's like working out in a fishbowl and extremely hot if the sun is still up. I really hope the management repairs and updates the cardio machines soon. Also, venetian blinds on the windows to block out the sun and the lookey-loos would be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah B.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Good value, no frills

I've been coming to this place for about seven years. It was a great deal seven years ago and is still a decent deal today, except for holiday weekends when the prices are jacked up unreasonably high. Parking used to be free but now it's $17.00/ day. That can really add up. The fitness center used to be nice but now the machines are old and have been relocated to a small glass-enclosed space....kind of like working out in a fishbowl and a heated one when the sun beats down. Last time I was there, three of the five machines were broken and no one on staff seemed capable of fixing them. That was a huge disappointment. The Buttercup Restaurant is right next door. It's a nice place but could use some renovating, as could the Inn itself. The interior courtyard with the pool is very nice, especially when the flowers are in bloom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wish big
Business
Fremont, California
Nov 26, 2014

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at! Motel 6 is nicer than this place!

I believe it was a towel rack that was missing and we could see the holes in the wall where the rack used to hang. Caulking in bathtub was dirty. They had bell boy racks and the hotel staff just watched as my mom and I struggled to get our luggage to and from the room. Tiny elevator that only the rack would fit in and 1 person. This hotel deserves no stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only plus about our stay was The Fat Lady dining. Great service and excellent food & drinks!

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sctraveler2014
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Nov 17, 2014

Great value

I stayed here for a business related trip. It was well located, clean, quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top