Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

The Inn at Jack London Square

3 stars
233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
120 reviews
Easy access to Jack London Square

We had wonderful experience. Pool area was well kept. Everything was clean and the service top notch. See full review

  • Hammer55
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great Location

We stayed here due to its proximity to the Ferry Building. We take the Ferry to Giants games. It is... See full review

  • DonnaLerow
  • Jul 28, 2014
Convenient downtown Oakland hotel with outdoor pool and local shuttle

The Inn at Jack London Square sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering a respite from the bustle of the city. Step off the street and into a tranquil setting, complete with an outdoor heated pool and gardens. The Inn at Jack London Square's 100 bright, relaxing guest rooms offer plush pillow-top mattresses, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Guests enjoy a fitness room to stay in shape. Guests can also take advantage of the free early-morning and late-afternoon shuttle.

Highlights
  • In the heart of downtown Oakland
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Heated outdoor pool, gardens and fitness center
  • Complimentary local shuttle
  • Pillow-top mattresses in the guest rooms
Rooms

Guests at the Inn at Jack London Square can cozy up in one of the 100 guest rooms, each with pillow-top mattresses (kings and queens) and numerous fluffy pillows. Creams and taupes accent the room, while granite-top vanities allow guests to feel at home, especially with upscale bath products and bow shower rod, affording extra space. All rooms offer a 32-inch flat-screen satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room movies. Rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing boards and a coffee maker. Workstations feature ergonomic chairs and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Features

Close to many great attractions in downtown Oakland, like the farmer's market and the world-famous Yoshi's jazz club, the Inn and Jack London Square offers many perks.  The hotel has an outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens and a courtyard. Guests can take advantage of the on-site fitness room with cardio and weights. A free shuttle takes guests to destinations within two miles of the hotel in the morning and early evening. Complimentary Wi-Fi allows guests to connect to the Web anywhere in the hotel.

Transportation
  • Oakland International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street BART (8 blocks)
Attractions
  • Alameda/Oakland Ferry (1 block)
  • Yoshi's Jazz Club (1 block)
  • UC Berkeley (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Oakland Zoo (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
Business
  • 1,100-plus square feet of meeting space for up to 60 people
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Overnight parking is charged $15 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Inn at Jack London Square Rooms

Double Room
The comfort of two plush pillow top queen beds are the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 3 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered
King Room
The comfort of the plush pillow top king bed is the centerpiece of this well appointed non-smoking room. Lie back on the 5 jumbo pillows and flip through the multi-channel cable TV. Or if you must work, do so at the large desk with complimentary high speed wireless internet access. The bathroom has enough vanity space to spread out and make yourself at home. Combed cotton terry, the popular bow shower rod and bath products will make you feel further pampered.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at Jack London Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7965 -122.2762
Area served
Oakland
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport
Area description
Just outside our door step we are nestled in the middle of a mix of restaurants and specialty stores, local farmers market, and the world renowned Yoshi's Jazz Club. For the business traveler, our hotel is just minutes from the newly renovated City Hall, Federal and General Services Administration buildings and the downtown Oakland financial district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.1 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The California Room 826 Square footage 60 person maximum Call (510) 444-2976 for pricing and availability The Jack London Room (Currently in Renovation) 300 Square footage 10 person maximum Call (510) 452-4565 for pricing and availability

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Jack London Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaUku
Hawaii
Dec 19, 2011

Inn at Jack London Square

First off, both rooms we occupied were well kept and clean. The only small, incidental item is the tub on the 2nd visit had fibergalss peeling and there was no refrigerator The staff were quite helpful and friendly. Someone in the office 24/7, so felt safe. The Buttercup Cafe on property had very down-home cooked meals with local clientelle...that tells me they have good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hammer55
oakland, CA, USA
Jul 30, 2014

Easy access to Jack London Square

We had wonderful experience. Pool area was well kept. Everything was clean and the service top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

First Chance Lance Chance Saloon, great local history from bartender and patrons.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonnaLerow
Camp Connell, CA
Jul 28, 2014

Great Location

We stayed here due to its proximity to the Ferry Building. We take the Ferry to Giants games. It is a great location and walking distance to everything you might need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EABrin
Saint Louis, MO
Jul 28, 2014

Pleasant

The room was clean and comfortable, and the area was nice to walk around.The bed was comfortable. Parking was secure and convenient. The downsides are that the hotel does not have breakfast on-site, the shower was a little low for my husband's taste (he's 6'2"), and there are train tracks nearby. If you're a light sleeper, it might be a problem, but it didn't bother us. Overall, we'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clovis Giants fan
Clovis, Ca
Jun 29, 2014

good location but hotel old

Great location for ferry ride to Giants game, but not very nice accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sangiovese9
Norman, OK
Jun 26, 2014

Good value near downtown

The reception at midnight was very pleasant and helpful. For its age and use, the hotel has been adequately updated. I thought the $15 8-hour parking was a bit steep especially since the garage was not nearly full. This hotel served its purpose for good value so near downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
monarcaruiz
Chicago
Jun 23, 2014

Nice place in Oakland

The hotel offer a good experience. The staff was caring and offered advice on best attractions. Many have mentioned the train near by, but we did not find it loud. The lack of transportation to the San Francisco airport in the early morning was the only thing to consider when booking this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Los Moles in Emeryville

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oaklander
East Bay, Ca
Jun 6, 2014

simple comfort

This is the right place to stay if you want a comfortable, clean experience without having to pay a couple hundred dollars to stay at the Waterfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

I suggest getting some pie from Buttercup Grill, which is adjacent to the hotel. Their coconut creme pie is to die for.

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RolMe
Santa Barbara, CA
May 23, 2014

Motel Where you pay for parking

Expensive for location. My wife would not walk around at night. A glorified motel where you pay for parking. Felt like locked in fortress in bad neighborhood. A good value at half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FKKoe
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2014

Good for the Price

We had a one night stay at the hotel. The location is good, being near Jack London Square. The hotel is nothing fancy, but we found it clean and quiet. An overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buttercup

Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay from Illinois
Business
Oakland, Calif
Mar 29, 2014

Wonderful Experience

Recently my job re located me to the Oakland area. While seeking permanent living quarters I stayed in this hotel for over a month and loved every moment. The hotel housekeeping was excellent! Management and the staff was absolutely wonderful. The price is very reasonable. The hotel is centrally located to all types of very nice restaurants, theatres, clubs, waterfront, shopping, etc. I felt safe and secured. Close to rapid transit systems, freeways, etc. The restaurant next to the hotel was ideal as well (i.e., good tasty food, variety menu & reasonably priced). I highly recommend the hotel to anyone that's seeking a hotel to stay inn while visiting the bay area. By the way, I must admit I'm a very picky individual when it comes to where I stay and the food I choose to eat!!l

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top