Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Oakland Marriott City Center

4 stars
1001 Broadway, 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
36 reviews
Great Hotel, totally worth it!

My boyfriend and I planned a trip to the Bay Area to catch a SF Giants game and the 49ers game. At... See full review

  • Dodger love
  • Sep 16, 2014
Great location!

We enjoyed everything about our stay. The staff was exceptional, the room was very comfortable, and... See full review

  • Leslee's on the road
  • Aug 6, 2013
Upscale hotel with modern appointments in downtown Oakland

The Oakland Marriott City Center, a AAA three diamond-rated property, sits in the heart of downtown Oakland near Jack London Square, Chinatown and Lake Merritt with BART directly across the street for easy travel into San Francisco. The Oakland Marriott City Center offers on-site parking (fees apply) and offers a fitness center and outdoor heated pool. With 89,000 square feet of meeting space, the Oakland Marriott City Center offers upscale accommodations perfect for any conference setting.

Highlights
  • AAA three diamond rating
  • Downtown Oakland location
  • Level Two restaurant for contemporary sharable plates
  • 89,000 square feet of meeting space and 37 meeting rooms
  • Fitness room and outdoor heated pool
Rooms

With 476 rooms (eight of which are suites), the Oakland Marriott City Center offers guests comfortable, upscale lodging in the heart of downtown Oakland. All rooms, featuring whitewashed walls with splashes of orange and red, have views of Lake Merritt or the San Francisco Bay. Guests sleep comfortably in the plush bedding with luxe linens and cozy duvets. Rooms feature 27-inch TVs with premium cable and pay-per-view movies. Connect wirelessly to the Internet (fees apply) while sitting in an oversized workstation with ergonomic chair. Guests on the concierge level enjoy free snacks between 6:30 a.m. and 10 p.m. on weekdays.

Features

The Oakland Marriott City Center sits in the heart of downtown Oakland, offering easy access to great attractions like Lake Merritt, Jack London Square, Berkeley and San Francisco. Dine at Level Two, a contemporary eatery featuring sharable small plates and an extensive wine list or have cocktails in Twelve Bars Lounge, where guests can also enjoy dinner. Swim in the heated outdoor pool or work out in the on-site fitness center. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and the hotel has 89,000 square feet of conference space.

Transportation
  • Nearest Train: 12th Street Oakland BART (across street)
  • Oakland International Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Oakland Chinatown (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Jack London Square (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Chez Panisse (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • UC Berkeley (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • 89,000 square feet of business space with 37 meeting rooms
  • Full-service business center
  • 5 concierge levels

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakland Marriott City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8016 -122.273
Area served
Oakland City Center
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 8.00, MI, N; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 26.00, MI, NE; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 43.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Oakland Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Oracle Arena: 5.2 mi
  • McAfee Coliseum: 5.2 mi
  • O.co Coliseum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Level Two
Level Two, our on-site restaurant in downtown Oakland, features a fresh take on shareable dishes, a comprehensive wine menu and delectable new menu options.
Twelve Bar Lounge
Unwind at this stunning lounge with flat screen televisions, serving dinner with light menu options, beverages and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Oakland Marriott City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Caldwell, ID, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Wouldn't stay again unless I had to

For the "special discounted rate" of $180/night, I was expecting something much nicer, but absolutely no frills came with this hotel. Tiny room, and no shuttle service to/from the airport. I didn't want a microwave for my room, but was told that if I did, it would be $30 extra. Internet service was $10/day extra (I haven't been in a hotel that charged for internet service since 2005). Even the cheapest motels offer complimentary breakfasts, but not here; you could order juice and toast for $14, not including tax and a mandatory 20% gratuity, and still had to go downstairs to pick it up yourself. Bottled water in the room had price tags of $3.75 on them. We were afraid to use the coffee pot for fear there would be some hidden charge associated with it. The best I can say is that the bed was extremely comfortable and our housekeeping person was very nice. It wasn't a bad hotel, but just a terrible value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're staying here, Pacific Coast Brewing Company is practically across the street. They have great beer, soup, and free wi-fi (unlike the hotel).

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarkG1
Portland
Oct 23, 2012

too loud and hot

Reserved a room for $189 per night 1 week in advance for a small vacation in the SF area. It was fairly obvious that the hotel was not full by any measure. But the staff insisted that the only rooms available were next to the elevator shaft. My wife and I were offered a double bed or a single queen. When we hesitated, he came up with a king, also on the elevator shaft. The room was LOUD and HOT, in mid october. As if they turn their central AC off. Wecould hear the elevator all night and the room ac unit was on the lowest temperature, 65deg, and it was still on 50% of. the night and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alex from Salt Lake City
Oakland, CA
Nov 20, 2012

Broken elevators for entirety of my trip

I've stayed at Marriott before but this was one of the worst experiences that I have ever had. The staff was nice and friendly and the room was clean but their elevators were broken. It was the worst feeling waiting for a long time to go down the lobby or to go up to your room. I've heard that they have had this issue at this hotel before. If you can stay at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bella Soy
San Diego
Aug 20, 2012

Good but needs improvement

Great location with restaurants within trendy walking distance. BART station across the street from hotel and Starbucks down the block. This hotel was by far the most convenient I've stayed in the area. However, the rooms do not have fridge or a microwave, additionally there is a fee for Wifi. The fees add up quick. Therefore, if you need a room to sleep in while you spend your time visiting and do not mind having all of your meals out... This is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Mediterranean restaurant next to hotel and Mexican trendy bar down one block.

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Farrukh
Business
Cranbury Township, NJ, USA
Jan 13, 2013

Nickle and dime you

I could not believe that in this time and age, in California, a hotel charges $12 per day for internet connection. This is unacceptable. Breakfast was also very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
berkeley
May 26, 2009

Oakland Marriott

The hotel is in a nice location and looks okay but the rooms need a lot of updating. Additionally, I am also very disappointed with the parking fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent mileage member
Business
alameda california
Jun 16, 2014

Good home away from home

Easy to communicate with staff. They offer enough personal attention for an average traveller. I cannot find anything wrong with them. Other than that, they are not eager to make them an exceptional hospitality operator. It is a job to them and they want to make it acceptable to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bloomingmom
Mid west
Aug 3, 2011

nice enough, close to bart

Comfortable, clean quiet hotel, might have a good view from the upper floors. We stayed here because it was less expensive than San Fran and had a BART station just across the street. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
May 22, 2010

Average

Quiet restful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SF, CA
Aug 2, 2009

Good value

Close to BART and good restaurants and bars. Enjoyed the stay. A value at it's cost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top