Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

The Island Hotel Newport Beach

5 stars
690 Newport Center Dr., Newport Beach, CA 92660
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
112 reviews
Very nice stay

Great furnishings, large room, incredibly comfortable bed and pillows. See full review

  • Star Manifest
  • Jun 7, 2014
Fantastic Location

Fantastic location, comfortable and clean rooms. Good quality beds. Polite and helpful personnel See full review

  • Visitor Too
  • Jan 14, 2014
Elegance in a prime location at this Newport Beach luxury hotel
The Island Hotel Newport Beach delivers a sumptuous guest experience, complete with lavish amenities, a prime location and stunning views. Many of the spacious guest rooms in this AAA Five Diamond hotel offer panoramic views of Newport Harbor and the Pacific Ocean, the pool terrace or Newport Back Bay.
Highlights
  • Located close to Newport Harbor, Fashion Island and Balboa Island
  • Spacious guest rooms with stunning views
  • In the center of the "California Riviera" area
Rooms

The Island Hotel Newport Beach features 64 executive suites, 19 luxury suites, and nearly 300 guest rooms. Every room is appointed with oversized bath towels, uniquely designed mattresses, Italian linens and goose down duvets. Lavish bath amenities, thick bathrobes and free Wi-Fi help guests feel pampered.

Features

From casual to elegant, The Island Hotel Newport Beach serves tantalizing dishes for every taste.

The Island Hotel Newport Beach is situated close to Fashion Island, a renowned shopping area filled with luxury shops and specialty stores. Visual and performing arts in the area include the Laguna Art Museum, the Pacific Symphony and the Irvine Barclay Theater.

The Island Hotel Newport Beach offers a "stay and play" golf package that includes two rounds of golf at Pelican Hill Golf Club, on courses designed by Tom Fazio. Also available (fees apply) are day trips that feature whale watching, fishing and wildlife tours.

Guests play tennis, unwind in whirlpools and jog through surrounding tropical gardens. The Island Hotel Newport Beach's fitness center includes Lifecycles, Stairmasters and Life Fitness strength equipment.

After all that activity, guests can find blissful relaxation at The Island Hotel Newport Beach's spa, which offers massages, body treatments and facials.

Transportation
  • John Wayne International Airport (5 mi/8 km)
  • Limousine available for airport pickups and drop-offs (fees apply
Attractions
  • Anaheim Convention Center (12 mi/20 km)
  • Anaheim Hills Golf Course (16 mi/26 km)
  • Dad Miller Golf Course (15 mi/25 km)
  • Disneyland (13 mi/21 km)
  • Honda Center (12 mi/20 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space of up to to 30,000 square feet
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies & fees
  • Lobby Lounge and Cafe218 are open daily while the hotel’s new culinary reinvestment is in progress.
  • The pool and fitness center are closed until mid-April.
  • Dogs under 50 pounds are welcome for a non-refundable pet fee of $150.00, payable upon check-in.
  • A $32 USD valet fee will be added for parking per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Island Hotel Newport Beach Rooms

Superior King Includes Free Wireless
435 sq. ft room offers 1 King bed along with marble bathroom with lighted makeup mirrors, custom Lather bath amenities, 100% cotton oversized towels, thick terry bath robes, luxurious bed linens and goose down pillows, Bose alarm clock radio, in-room safes, dual line telephones with voice mail, Remote control television with movie channels, On Command movies, Playstation, and video cassette and DVD players, private refrigerated mini bar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Executive Suite Includes Free Wireless
600 sq. ft suite offers bedroom with 1 King bed separated from living room by French double doors, oversized marble bathroom with separate tub and glass enclosed shower, dressing area with vanity, step-out balcony and furnished patio; Queen sized sofa sleeper, custom Lather bath amenities, 100% cotton oversized towels, thick terry bath robes, luxurious bed linens and goose down pillows, Bose alarm clock radio, In-room safes, Dual line telephones with voice mail, remote control television with movie channels, On Command movies, Playstation, and video cassette and DVD players, private refrigerated mini bar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Premier Two Doubles Includes Free Wireless
Spacious 600 sq. ft. room offers 2 Double beds along with marble bathroom with lighted makeup mirrors, custom Lather bath amenities, 100% cotton oversized towels, thick terry bath robes, luxurious bed linens and goose down pillows, Bose alarm clock radio, in-room safes, dual line telephones with voice mail, remote control television with movie channels, On Command movies, Playstation, and video cassette and DVD players, Private refrigerated mini bar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Island Hotel Newport Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.62 -117.875
Area served
Newport Beach, CA
Nearby airports
(SNA)John Wayne International Airport is 5 miles away.
Area description
Newport Beach, founded in 1892, is located in the heart of the "California Riviera" in Orange County, California. It is home to the largest pleasure craft harbor in the United States, with over 12,000 yachts and boats. Newport Beach offers miles of uninterrupted sand and surf, with a climate similar to its sister city of Antibes, France, located on the Mediterranean in the French Riviera. The Hotel is located in the heart of Newport Center/Fashion Island.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With 30,000 square feet of meeting facilities on-site and spectacular venues nearby - it is one of the most versatile and most desirable settings for business and social gatherings.

Dining

Oak Grill
Oak Grill is a true Newport Beach original. This exciting new dining destination combines California cuisine with influences from around the globe and the American south. Specifically curated wine, beer and spirits programs, along with a polished and knowledgeable service teams attention to detail make Oak Grill the center of relaxed coastal luxury. Guests and locales may dine alfresco on the restaurants wooden deck where sleek lanterns, heaters and mature trees create an alluring ambiance on one of the largest decks in the area. Or lounge fireside under the stars, sharing small bites and cocktails as the evening lingers. For more intimate group occasions, one of two private dining rooms are available to reserve for a more personal dining experience for groups from 4 to 16 people. Indulge in this true, homegrown original, full of casual elegance and modern flair for an inspired taste you cannot miss.
Aqua Lounge
Aqua Lounge is the newest way to play in Newport Beach. Tableside mixology, a unique ice program, freshly squeezed juices and an imaginative approach to craft cocktails, make each sip memorable. While shareable bits, a trendy late night menu and attentive service whet your appetite for a leisurely afternoon, an evening out or a late night rendezvous. The entertainment scene is vibrant with live DJs, pop-up performances and special events making the lounge a sophisticated yet unpretentious social scene that's always fun, flirtatious and engaging. Tuck your entourage into a large booth for cocktails or snag an open table for two and watch the new see and be scene unfold.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 112
Amenities:
4.9
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nin1
Orange County
Jun 15, 2014

Great business and leisure hotel

Excellent service nice views great location clean comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBSjr
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Weekend Getaway!!!

It was the Perfect Weekend!! Once I arrived the staff was Eager to Great me, My room was Ready at the time given and was Perfectly clean! Not to mention the bed was Super Comfortable which is a Huge Plus when I'm not sleeping in my own bed!! The pool side service was Impecable!! They make a Skinny Margaritta and a Killer Quesadilla!! I would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sp close to the most Beautiful outdoor shopping Mall, Fashion Island!

Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBSjr
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Weekend Getaway!!!

It was the Perfect Weekend!! Once I arrived the staff was Eager to Great me, My room was Ready at the time given and was Perfectly clean! Not to mention the bed was Super Comfortable which is a Huge Plus when I'm not sleeping in my own bed!! The pool side service was Impecable!! They make a Skinny Margaritta and a Killer Quesadilla!! I would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sp close to the most Beautiful outdoor shopping Mall, Fashion Island!

Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco the spa seeker
Santa Barbara. CA
Dec 28, 2010

I was not disappointed

I came down to Newport to celebrate my daughters birthday and as her present we spent the day in the hotels spa. It was wonderful. We each had 3 treatments with a light lunch brought to us in the comfort room. The spa was very clean with the relaxing smell of Eucalyptus. I think though that if the hotel had been busy and the spa was running full then that very small comfort room would have been jammed full and not so comfortable. The staff throughout the hotel and in the spa were so exceptionaly nice,friendly and very courteous. The rooms were large,roomy and tastefuly decorated Large flat screen tv's with Bose speaker systems were a really nice treat. The beds with their fluffy comforters,soft linens and fabulous mattresses made me feel like I was sleeping in a cloud. I felt right at home. The bathrooms large enough to comfortably move around. I would definitley stay there again! It met my comfort standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You could'nt get any closer to Fashion Island. I could look out my window and stare down at Bloomingdales and Neiman's. Wow!

Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco the spa seeker
Santa Barbara. CA
Dec 28, 2010

I was not disappointed

I came down to Newport to celebrate my daughters birthday and as her present we spent the day in the hotels spa. It was wonderful. We each had 3 treatments with a light lunch brought to us in the comfort room. The spa was very clean with the relaxing smell of Eucalyptus. I think though that if the hotel had been busy and the spa was running full then that very small comfort room would have been jammed full and not so comfortable. The staff throughout the hotel and in the spa were so exceptionaly nice,friendly and very courteous. The rooms were large,roomy and tastefuly decorated Large flat screen tv's with Bose speaker systems were a really nice treat. The beds with their fluffy comforters,soft linens and fabulous mattresses made me feel like I was sleeping in a cloud. I felt right at home. The bathrooms large enough to comfortably move around. I would definitley stay there again! It met my comfort standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You could'nt get any closer to Fashion Island. I could look out my window and stare down at Bloomingdales and Neiman's. Wow!

Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport beach ca
Oct 12, 2010

great hotel

The service was great. Was treated like royalty. Rooms were nice. The restaurant had great food and excellent service. On Sunday we received a 50 percent discount on all our food and drinks. It was truly a special occasion for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Top class food/service

Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport beach ca
Oct 12, 2010

great hotel

The service was great. Was treated like royalty. Rooms were nice. The restaurant had great food and excellent service. On Sunday we received a 50 percent discount on all our food and drinks. It was truly a special occasion for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Top class food/service

Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancytravels
Scottsdale, AZ
May 12, 2010

Wonderful customer service

The staff went above and beyond to make sure the guests needs were taken care of. The rooms weren't as plush nor as large as I expected. The location, lobby and grounds are awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Island Hotel Newport Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancytravels
Scottsdale, AZ
May 12, 2010

Wonderful customer service

The staff went above and beyond to make sure the guests needs were taken care of. The rooms weren't as plush nor as large as I expected. The location, lobby and grounds are awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top