Padre Oaks

2 stars
1278 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
41 reviews
Great room for the price!

Small room with micro-fridge and coffee maker. Very clean, towels were not threadbare. Area VERY... See full review

  • SuthernKiwi
  • May 11, 2013
Affordable and cute

Perfect place to stay when you are looking for an affordable room to stay in Monterey. Room are... See full review

  • YNGS
  • Oct 17, 2014
Monterey budget hotel with picturesque landscaping

Padre Oaks is named for the grand 180-year-old Coast Live Oak tree situated at the heart of this little cluster of cozy rooms. Padre Oaks offers 20 guest rooms and free breakfast, all within minutes of Fisherman's Wharf, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Charming Carmel-by-the-Sea, the 17-Mile-Drive and famous Pebble Beach Golf Links are also near the Padre Oaks hotel. Shoppers enjoy being close to the Del Monte Shopping Center, with upmarket shops like Banana Republic and White House Black Market.

Highlights
  • Free outdoor parking
  • Within walking distance of the Del Monte Shopping Center
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Attractive landscaped grounds
Location

Just a few minutes from Padre Oaks, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view. Make a date at Abalonetti Seafood, Cafe Fina, Old Fisherman's Grotto or any number of the fine restaurants at Fisherman's Wharf for a dining experience that's distinctly Monterey. 

Rooms

A cozy cluster of well-maintained buildings at the AAA-rated Padre Oaks hotel includes 20 drive-up guest rooms, all fronted by white picket fences and decorated with colorful hanging baskets. A grove of trees behind the property creates a picturesque setting. Rooms include king, queen or double beds. Two-bedroom units and nonsmoking rooms are available at Padre Oaks.


Padre Oaks guests take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls, coffee-makers and cable television with HBO and ESPN. Microwaves, refrigerators, wake-up calls, hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards are also available.

Features

Start the day with complimentary continental breakfast on site. Avoid the crowds at the Monterey Bay Aquarium ticket window by purchasing tickets at the Padre Oaks front desk.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (54.1 mi/87.1 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services available (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • PLEASE NOTE: $0.50 USD per room per night payable directly to property. Not included in prepaid booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Padre Oaks Rooms

Queen
Queen includes: 1 Queen Bed, Cable TV with HBO, Complimentary Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, Microwave,Coffee Maker,Hair dryers, Makeup Mirror, Window opens, free local calls. Iron/Ironing Board on Request. Non Smoking Only. No Pets Allowed. Credit Card or Cash Deposit Required Upon Check In. Photo ID Required.
Two Doubles
Two Doubles includes: 2 Double Beds, Cable TV with HBO, Complimentary Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, Microwave,Coffee Maker, Hair dryers,Makeup Mirror, Window opens, free local calls.Iron/Ironing Board on Request. Non Smoking Only. No Pets Allowed. Credit Card or Cash Deposit Required Upon Check In. Photo ID Required.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre Oaks also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5871 -121.9
Area served
Monterey, CA
Nearby airports
Monterey, CA (MRY-Monterey Peninsula)
Area description
Set in the heart of the Monterey Peninsula, this hotel is within a mile of Pebble Beach, Monterey Downtown, and Fisherman's Wharf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Padre Oaks

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Monterey Visitor
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 13, 2009

Less Than Expected

I am a frequent Monterey visitor and I would not consider ever staying at the Padre Oaks again. And you shouldn't either. Although the room was 'affordable' for the area, I was expecting more. The staff, when available, was unfriendly and unhelpful. The advertised "continental breakfast" consisted of Costco muffins cut into quarters and small mouthwash sized cups of orange juice. Although we pre-paid on-line they attempted to over charge us for the room. Apparently we were not alone in our experience, as we witnessed another couple arguing with the motel owners, shortly followed buy the arrival of the local police to mediate. The heater in the room did not have thermostat control. So we either roasted or froze. The toilet was loosely mounted which made for some fun moments in the night. There was only warm water available in the mostly broken shower. The beds, pillows and bedding are worse than I can describe. Others have complained about the parking, but we did not find that a problem. The motel location is good, near most Monterey attractions and restaurants, and is across the street from a major shopping center. There. Those are the only nice things I can say about our stay. Stay at the Downtown Travel Lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jan 22, 2010

Lie and Cheat

They made an unauthorized charge to my credit card, claiming I had stolen a coffee cup when I denined it they then sid it was a coffee jug???? This is an outright lie. They had not made proper battery maintaince on the smoke alarm which awakened me at three AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento ca
Nov 30, 2009

terrible

I arrived very late, I know it was inconvenient, the service was very rude! I had recieved a key to the room. I then left the location to go to the gas station. I arrived back to the hotel and my key did not work in the door. So at that point I did have to wake up the managers again, and felt badly for it. I was then told I was not to stay there because I had extra people with me and that I lied to them. I said I was the only person staying there and I just gave the key back to find another hotel, as it was very late and I wanted to rest. My friends were very kind to give me a ride to the hotel,they were not staying with me. The assumption was very rude and also the way I was treated! I will never recommend any one to stay at such a place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, ca
Feb 28, 2010

Monterey trip

Not that great. And also the key card didn't work the next morning BEFORE our checkout time. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Micah0130
Business
San Luis Obispo, California
Mar 10, 2014

A place to sleep in a pinch

The hotel staff wasn't very friendly or welcoming, the outside of the hotel looks a bit better than the inside, the room we stayed in was very outdated. The bed was average, I noticed the box spring was second hand and it even had a tag on it that said so and that kind of makes me wonder about Bed Bugs, the tv is an old boob tube, the table was old and wobbly, the chairs were old and uncomfortable, the bathroom was ok but the shower had a buildup of comet cleanser in the grout of the tiles. I wouldn't recommend staying here to anyone. If you were in a pinch maybe. There are plenty other Hotels on Munras Avenue to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The only perk to this hotel is it's proximity to Del Monte Shopping Center.

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave870
Business
Sydney, Australia
Apr 6, 2014

Good value for money

Had a booking at very short notice. A good value for money hotel. However, experience with stuffs were not helpful. Didnt pickup phones, refused to show the room saying they were busy doing somehting inside (where is loud laughs were heard from inside the reception), someone (very rude) started knocking in all the room doors warning the checkout time etc..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from Monterey and Carmel area

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 10, 2009

So-So

Only used it for sleep, but room was small, internet spotty at times, almost no space to put anything down in the room. Extremely tight parking, but it did work if you were careful. Considering this is one of the main drags for hotels/motels (at least 6+ hotels immediately adjacent), I think I'll try something else if I ever do this again in Monterey, CA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Del Monte Shopping Center right across the street with Whole Foods, many other shopping stores and some other eating places, too.

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oceanside Ca.
May 11, 2009

a little miss leading

I will not say here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area
Jun 2, 2009

Good location for the Golfer

The location was close to everything for me Nice and quite and away from the road as I had a room in the back just fine for what I paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall across the street will keep wife busy all day while your golfing

Review of Padre Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawrence of Arabia
Business
Bakersfield
Dec 29, 2012

Room for cheap

The room was very inexpensive. It was small, but acceptable. It was old fashioned. It wasn't as clean as one might want. If you can get an additional deal on the pricing, this place is fairly ideal for the frugal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tillie Gort's is a really great vegan cafe in the area.

Back to menu Return to top