Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Monterey Marriott

4 stars
350 Calle Principal, 350 CALLE PRINCIPAL, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
41 reviews
Great hotel in great location

Perfect hotel, just a walk away from fisherman's wharf and downtown monterey. Also, has a great... See full review

  • MnishanB
  • Feb 18, 2014
Everything is good but the price

Room was clean, service was great but I think the room was not worth for $300 per night. See full review

  • DGupta
  • Jul 6, 2014
Business class with plenty of amenities in historic Monterey

Explore Monterey Peninsula by foot, bike and car from the beautifully maintained Monterey Marriott in the heart of historic downtown. Two on-site restaurants and a day spa distinguish this hotel from others in the area. Lounge by the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool in the courtyard, stop by the fitness center that is open 24 hours or walk to restaurants, shops and nightlife. Take a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf or a longer stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium. The hotel connects to the convention center for business convenience.

Highlights

  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby at Monterey Marriott
  • Two restaurants and a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks coffee
  • Heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, on-site day spa and 24/7 fitness center
  • Extensive meeting space and connected to the Monterey Convention Center

Rooms
Artwork of area beaches and cypress trees join a carnival of crisp stripes and warm colors at the Monterey Marriott. Choose from 319 guest rooms or upgrade to a standard, junior, presidential or executive suite. Fully renovated, smoke-free rooms with pillow-top mattresses and duvets face the courtyard swimming pool, the city or look out to the bay. Balcony rooms may be available upon request. Guests at Monterey Marriott find convenience in a desk with wired Internet access (fees apply), pay-per-view movies, video checkout, a coffee-maker and room service.
Features
Contemporary artwork by a local artist adds to the classy factor at Monterey Marriott. Take advantage of valet or off-site parking (fees apply), free newspapers and an ATM. In the fitness center, cardiovascular equipment offers personal LCD screens. Book a pedicure, massage or scrub at on-site Escape Day Spa. Once fully refreshed, spend a day at the beach, on the golf course, biking, horseback riding, shopping, boating or wine tasting, all within several miles.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.5 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (101 mi/163 km)

Attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (across the street)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (4.9 mi/7.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31 mi/49.8 km)
  • Santa Cruz (43.3 mi/69.7 km)
  • Hearst Castle (93.7 mi/151 km)

Business

  • Wi-Fi in lobby and some other public areas, wired Internet access in guest rooms (fees apply)
  • Full-service business center
  • Offers 27 meeting rooms with more than 50,000 square feet of space to accommodate up to 1,000 people

Policies and fees
The hotel is currently undergoing renovation of guestroom bathrooms from October 28, 2012 to January 22, 2013. Construction is scheduled from 8AM to 6PM daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.6003 -121.895
Area served
Monterey
Nearby airports
Monterey Regional Airport, (MRY), 5.00, MI, W; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 70.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 100.00, MI, S;
Area description
Oceanfront

Dining

Three Flags Cafe
Enjoy dining in Monterey at this casual all-American restaurant. Three Flags Café serves breakfast a la carte as well as a cook-to-order breakfast buffet. The restaurant is also open for lunch Monday through Friday.
Characters Sports Bar & Grill
Our Monterey, CA restaurant's charming sports bar atmosphere makes it the perfect spot for a casual dinner and cocktails.
Lobby Coffee Bar
Our Lobby Coffee Bar serves Starbucks specialty coffees, pastries and fruits for those looking for grab-and-go Monterey dining options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Marriott

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Syed Mubeen
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Dec 18, 2012

Romantic Monterey

Hotel room, staff and surroundings are all excellent. We keep coming back to the Marriott in Monterey year after year after year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head down to Carmel (via the 17 mile drive) for a nice dinner after watching the sunset at Sunset Beach in Carmel. It is one of my most favorite places in the world.

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tony the Reaper
tracy
Nov 14, 2012

Great family stay

Best hotel i ever stayed in geart rooms and great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Charter house

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGC TRAVELER
ROSEVILLE, CA
Nov 12, 2012

parking overcharge

only problem with stay is hotel billed me 3 nights of parking when I stayed two nights. I called to correct this and the person to help me would not be in for four days. I had to leave message.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

FISH HOPPER ON CANNERY ROW HAS GREAT FOOD.

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mharger
Business
New York City
Nov 6, 2012

Golf Trip

Great hotel and location. Perfect base for our golf trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonyx135
Fresno, CA
Nov 6, 2012

Great couple getaway

The hotel was really nice and clean. The only thing we didn't like is that there was a lot of door slamming all thru the night and it was hard to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The wharf is really close by

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nffffffffffffffffffffffff
Business
CA
Oct 5, 2012

The rooms are ok, but for the price payed...

The rooms are ok, but for the price payed... WiFi is not included local phone calls - $5 no parking, only valet or a payed parking two blocks away the hotel is hosting meetings and conferences, so if you try to get to your room at the 6th floor during a lunch break time - you will wait for an elevator for 10 mins no water in a lobby for the exhibition rooms - projector/screen settings cut slides on their edges (yes, I prep my ppt taking this in account, but it's disappointing to find a "professional" conference venue in such a poor shape) - a projector in the largest auditorium screws colors to an unreadable bleached mess and eliminates fine details as chart axes - air conditioning is poorly regulated - can be desert-hot in the morning and then freezing in the afternoon this was my first review for the hotel, but now I have a few things to add. 1. they have charge me for water that we did not use. I talked to my colleagues, and they had been charged too. 2. My credit card was used for some I-net purchases, and the only time I left it in my bag unattended was in the hotel. Bottom lines: - Marriott amenities are very poor for the price they charge - check well their charges - things might be added - watch your credit cards and documents, don't trust the staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J J J
Pleasant Hill, CA
Sep 17, 2012

Location! Location! Location!

I had searched for a while trying to find a decent hotel that is located within walking distance to shops and restaurants in downtown Monteray. I knew the Marriott would have decent standards, good prices and availability. Our was a little funky the way the sink area was in a separate cubicle but it made the room nicer. One bad note: the 90's era wallpaper was peeling off the bathroom wall. The best part of this hotel being located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Alvarado St. which is full of shops, restaurants and bars. We also ran along the coastal trail to the Aquarium and back. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch dinner at Fisherman's Wharf and get seating with a view of the marina. There is a lot of sea life to watch while you eat. Sea Lions, Pelican's, otters. Plus a nice sunset!

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annabelle7
Madison, Wisconsin
Jul 17, 2012

Nice weekend getaway

I stayed here with my boyfriend for the weekend. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. It was a bit on the expensive side, especially considering the parking fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Trailside Cafe and Coffee House has fabulous food and a guava mimosa to die for!

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isaac Rodriguez
Fresno, CA, USA
Jun 18, 2012

Good Stay

We enjoyed the location and convenience of the hotel and the excellent customer service. Two Queen beds would have been better than the two doubles but over all our stay was very nice would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Monterey so everything is walking distance of 1 to 2 blocks.

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg's
Sacramento, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Monterey

Great location. Staff was friendly and on the ball with service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top