Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

3 stars
View map of 443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
53 reviews
Family Trip

This was the second time staying at this hotel. It's nice being able to park here and then walk to... See full review

  • Jason A.
  • Jan 8, 2015
great stay

The staff is friendly, we were able to get early check in, the complimentary breakfast was great... See full review

  • LamFam
  • Oct 5, 2014
Business smart and eco-friendly one block from the Pacific Ocean

Renovated and all nonsmoking, the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row offers clean, quiet accommodations on the Monterey/Carmel Peninsula. Just a block from the ocean, the hotel presents a free breakfast bar in the sunny breakfast room to start each morning. A hosted wine and cheese reception welcomes guests back from around town each evening. Walk one block to Cannery Row, three to Monterey Bay Aquarium or less than 15 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and the conference center. Rest and chat on the landscaped deck or in the outdoor hot tub.

Highlights

  • Outdoor hot tub and landscaped deck
  • Free breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese reception daily
  • Eco-friendly renovated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi
  • Free underground parking at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row
  • A block from the ocean and Cannery Row, close to restaurants and the aquarium

Rooms

The 43 stylish and spacious guest rooms at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row have been refurbished to be both comfortable and eco-friendly. Recycled eco-quartz sparkles on vanities and tub surrounds, eco-friendly recycled tile and carpet feel fresh underfoot, and new furnishings and bedding pair with low-VOC paint for a clean, green experience. Enjoy a flat-screen LCD TV, refrigerator and complimentary wireless Internet access from the desk with an ergonomic chair.

Features
Underground parking is free at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. The business-friendly hotel features dry cleaning services (fees apply), a business center, in-room laptop safes, free copies of USA Today and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast, find a complimentary selection of fruit, juice, cereal, breads and pastries, hardboiled eggs and signature coffee. Stop by the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row lobby for wine and cheese evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Take a short drive to nearby Pebble Beach, the 17-Mile Drive or Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.4 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.9 mi/51.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.3 mi/71.3 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.7 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with printer, copier and fax machine

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.6126 -121.8989
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.00, MI, NW; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 110.00, MI, S; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 75.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort, resort

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clovis, CA
Feb 7, 2011

Convenient, Clean and Spacious

Easy to find, convenient location with free parking and breakfast. Rooms were very spacious and clean and quiet. Perfect, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 4, 2011

Quiet and Convenient

We went to Monterey for the night while my son attended an honor band rehearsal. He says he slept better at the hotel than at home! I enjoyed walking along Cannery Row and a long run past Lovers Point to Asilomar beach all with ease right out the hotels front door. They were also very nice about allowing me to leave my car parked in the garage after check out time. The room was clean and quiet and had free wireless internet. The price was right and I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Gumps

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento ca
Jan 24, 2011

Short Trip To Meet Friends

The hotel was awesome. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The breakfast was great and alot to choose from. I liked being able to walk to cannery row and the antique store was right next store. I would recommend this hotel. It was very clean. And big bathrooms. The only draw back was the hot tub outside was not very hot. But that would not stop me from staying agian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little cafe around the corner. If leaving the hotel turn right and at the stop sign turn right and its right accross the st. They have all kinds of meal deals and food. Very reasonable. I had there clam chowder which is homemade and in a bread bowl. so very good.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbi W
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Big King Room

I enjoyed the evening wine and cheese and the great breakfast. Suited my pocketbook post Christmas holiday. Had access to wi-fi and found local tv great and favorite cable stations. Loved the comfy king size bed. Was able to adjust the heat to remain comfortable through the two night stay! The hotel was so close to cannery row and the aquarium and great vista look out points of the Monterey shoreline! Walking was great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Come ready to get your 15 minute a day walk in at a pleasant spot and walk path near the hotel!

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammy Marsell
Business
Visalia, CA
Jul 31, 2010

Great getaway.

The hotel is in a great location centrally located on Cannary Row. You're within walking distance of the Aquarium and the shopping and relatively close to Fisherman's Wharf (about 10 min walking). The rooms were clean and well maintained. There's a nice courtyard area where you can sit and enjoy the weather or read. The staff was really helpful when I was trying to locate a shop to work on my brakes even taking the time to help me find one. The only negative and I don't really consider it a negative is that breakfast is wrapped up right on time. Don't doddle and also pickins can get a little slim near the end. My husband's not an early riser so it was a challenge for us. Just eat early. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk, 3 min or so. Fabulous food and view. They serve dinner only during the week and add lunch on the weekend.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peaceful at home
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 5, 2010

Great service

When my 91 year old mother accidentally left her nightgown under a pile of towels, the hotel staff tracked it down for her, washed it, and sent it back with a note of apology. At any other hotel I have ever stayed at, anything lost in the laundry was lost forever. The staff took very good care of us in every detail. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is only one block off Cannery Row, close to shopping, wine tasting and excellent restaurants. Very centrally located and also very quiet -- not noisy at all.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marzoo
Business
Dublin, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Super Deal

Terrific location for all events around the Cannery. Easy parking, large clean rooms and friendly staff. A goo deal all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chart House had a great view and good food

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pinole California
Apr 18, 2010

Great Price Great Location

We enjoyed our stay. Our room was recently redone and it was extremely clean. The service and employees at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Although we knew the hotel had no pool and our daughters wished they had, everything else was great. It was a very easy walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium which was one reason we chose the hotel. We would stay there again without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Apr 18, 2010

Good family value

Good hotel, great locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrMean58
Business
Auburn
Apr 17, 2010

Easy Location

Location is great and easy to walk to everything. Week end was great. facilities are clean and quiet. parking is a challenge as the facility appears to be going thru some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top