Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

2 stars
1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
79 reviews
Excellent

Everything was excellent. I ended up booking the room twice but the man at the front desk was more... See full review

  • Magoo's
  • Jun 26, 2014
Big room, good location

The room I had had two beds and was quite large. The breakfast food, consisting of boiled eggs and... See full review

  • Loner Luke
  • Oct 7, 2014
Economy hotel offers free continental breakfast and a great location

The Americas Best Value Presidents Inn offers budget accommodation in a great location on Munras Avenue, with quick, convenient access to the area's top attractions. Monterey Bay Aquarium - widely considered one of the best in the United States - is two miles from the hotel. Additional nearby attractions include Monterey State Historic Park, the Del Monte Shopping Center, the Presidio of Monterey and Monterey Museum of Art. Take advantage of free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Less than a mile from the beach
  • Free on-site parking accommodates large vehicles
  • Seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub
Rooms

Guest rooms at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn feature free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and cable TV. A side table and chairs are perfect for dining or getting work done. Some rooms include a balcony or patio. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds.

Features

Take advantage of free continental breakfast at the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn, served in a dining room that features a fireplace and wall-mounted TV. A seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub are surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. In the evening, warm up by the fire in the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn lobby.

Dining

Free breakfast at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn gets guests going for a full day of sightseeing or business meetings. When it's time for lunch and dinner, Monterey won't disappoint - fresh, farm-to-table cuisine, always-popular chain restaurants and rich international flavors are all nearby. To get started, try the tapas dinner menu at Spanish-inspired Est├ęban, just down the street.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center
  • Two meeting rooms
  • Less than a mile from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Heated pool is temporarily closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Rooms

1 King Bed Non-Smoking
1 King Bed-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking
2 Queen Beds-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
1 King Bed Suite NS
1 King Bed-Suite-Kitchenette-Sofa Bed- NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave-MiniFridge-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5897 -121.8971
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 108.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.10, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 73.80, MI, S; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 107.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Jack in the Box Burgers
0.3 mi.
Subway
0.8 mi.
Lalla Grill
0.8 mi.
Full Moon Mandarin Cuisine
1 mi.
Crystal Fish
2 mi.
Islands Fine Burgers and Grill
0.5 mi.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
0.5 mi.
Taco Bell
1.2 mi.
Ambrosia Indian Cuisine
0.6 mi.
Pizza My Heart
0.7 mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Aug 28, 2010

cypress

I was very disappointed in this hotel. There were ants in bathroom TV did not work.Fan in room with no cover.Hot tub not functioning.. Manager was rude when I went to talk to him about issues. Told me if I wanted perfection I should stay in 5 star hotel.I got what I paid for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

small breakfast and lunch place called Kathy's

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't like mice crawling on me at night
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 3, 2011

Overrun with MICE!

On 2 occasions mice ran over me while I was falling asleep. The second time there were 2 mice. We could hear them scratching around on the floor. The only one who slept was our 2 year old - between us. In the morning we found mice droppings on the sheets & blankets. When I told the front desk person about it the next morning he was shocked & said he had never had this problem before, however he said he had lots of mouse traps in the back room & he could have given us one of those for our room. Hmmmm. He did say he could have changed our room, however, this was already around 11pm (we had a 2 year old) and how were we to know that the other rooms weren't worse?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

Cypress Gardens

You could not use the pool and didn't want to because it was filthy dirty. The hot tub was open, but I never saw any one in it. You had to use your room key to get a cup of ice, and once you used your key in the ice machine it would lock you out of your room.The bathroom was not very clean either. After all of this planning for a special get-a-way weekend for the 2 of us we were both disappointed and left extremly early for home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The only thing close to this hotel was other hotels. It is located downtown and a few minutes from Canery row.

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
May 18, 2010

Americas Best Value Cypress Garden Inn

BAD!!!!! My child cried and begged me not to stay there. Locks on doors broke and wouldnt lock, heater in room when turned on put strong smelling fumes into the entire room, staff didn't seem to care, cracks in the front door, property is dark, creepy and dead looking..... I demanded my money back. I had to pay one night which was worth getting out of that dump. Went to the Clarion down the street that was INCREDIBLE for close to the same price as Cypress. DO NOT STAY AT CYPRESS!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Dec 30, 2010

Bad stay not worth 50.00, worth 20.00

bad hotel, wet carpets. not worth staying there at all.the place is worth 20.00 a night. bad services, room looks like bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

hello

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roy, WA
May 29, 2011

Not so great

Our room was in need of repairs: screen door broken, bathroom window didn't lock, and the tub did not drain (filled 3/4 full during shower and didn't drain for next persons shower - gross) It was nice to have a fridge and microwave and the continental breakfast was okay. Lots of other hotels on this block we would try if we visited again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Liquor store 3 blocks away

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZHJOT
Business
north county
Jul 16, 2014

Pass this place

Hair still in the tub (not from us), hot tub green water, half used shampoo bottle, heater did not work, hot water was absent, hair dryer didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mel Kay
Business
temecula,ca 92589
Aug 17, 2014

great town horrible hotel

Due to car show/auction room prices were double and triple average rates ,this place was clean but other than that a complete Rip off but that's all we could locate for 3 couples -3 rooms and we paid dearly -no air ,1950 wall style heaters worn out stained carpet, just a rip off and they knew it ,I told them I would not had rented the rooms if I knew there was no a/c and they simply replied the rooms don't need I ,no one's fault but mine for waiting so long,that's what you get when their rated 2 star and that's being liberal!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

parking really bad, take taxi Mecum Car Show was fantastic

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NopeNoName
Business
Long Beach
Aug 15, 2014

Nope

Floor was dirty, walls paper-thin, no AC, rooms in desperate need of updating. Staff was nice enough, but nice staff doesn't make up for a grungy motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deenart
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

overview

The staff is super friendly! Hard to understand a little but great service. The rooms need a little remodeling but decent for the price. I'd come back again for that price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top