Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

4 stars
550 South Flower at 6th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
89 reviews
the perfect location

The Standard in downtown LA is a sleek hotel located just 2 blocks from a subway station. Giving... See full review

  • Bunkermonk
  • Apr 5, 2014
Business trip

Excellent hotel, location, staff was really helpful. Will stay there again. See full review

  • Pincetikom
  • Mar 16, 2014
Trendy L.A. landmark is a downtown home for exploring the city

This hotel really does set the standard for "urban cool" in L.A. Cutting-edge design and a dynamic vibe fill every inch of the hotel, from the swank lobby to the ultra-stylish rooms. Guests are dazzled by the super-cool Rooftop Bar, trendy 24/7 brasserie, and sexy, artful decor. Los Angeles cultural and recreational destinations, such as the Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, the Museum of Contemporary Art, The Staples Center and more are just blocks away.

Highlights
  • Rooftop Bar offers spectacular downtown views and chic design
  • Stylish guest rooms with glass-encased showers and platform beds
  • Ultra-convenient downtown location near major cultural destinations
Rooms

Guest rooms vary in size from 300 to 1,000 square feet. Designed with bright, post-modern style, these spaces are sure to delight guests. All rooms come with either queen- or king-size platform beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, large-screen TVs with DVD players, iPod stereos and oversized work desks. Bathrooms come furnished with glass-enclosed walk-in showers or soaking bathtubs, earth-friendly bath amenities and plush bath towels.

Features

The grand lobby's dazzling 125-foot fuchsia Omnibus sofa by designer Vladimir Kagan is only one detail in the visual feasts that fill this hotel. The lobby also includes a conceptual Jenny Holzer art installation, an Alexander Calder-inspired mobile, billiards table, a 15-time zone clock encased in stainless steel, and, of course, a full-service bar and lounge.

 

Business travelers take advantage of the free Wi-Fi, fully equipped business center and state-of-the-meeting rooms. Unwind at the heated outdoor pool and the fitness center in between shopping, sightseeing and nightlife adventures.

Dining

The hotel's 24/7 Restaurant serves fabulous New American cuisine in a vibrant, retro-diner interior and an outdoor patio alongside a delightful fountain. At the Rooftop Bar, DJ's spin the hippest grooves, guests sip tempting cocktails in a sexy lounge setting, and L.A.'s downtown skyline is laid out for view.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (0.5 mi/less than 1 km), 7th/Metro Center (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)               
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Customizable sound systems
  • In-room fax machines
Polices & Fees

At the time of check-in, the hotel takes an authorization to cover incidental charges. Please be aware that if a debit or check card is presented at check-in, your bank may place a hold on your account for that amount for up to two weeks after departure. Cash deposits for the incidental charges will not be taken. Overnight valet parking is available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Standard, Downtown LA Rooms

WOW
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, voicemail, flat screen TV's with local HD programming, I-home.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard, Downtown LA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0504 -118.2563
Area served
Los Angeles.
Nearby airports
LAX International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Los Angeles, The Standard, Downtown LA is situated midway between Bunker Hill and the Staples Center/LA Live. In close proximity are Wells Fargo, AON, Citicorp, the Paul Hastings Building, The Los Angeles Convention Center, The Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the US Bank Tower and abundant cultural amenities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.3 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.4 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Kitson: 7.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.6 mi
  • University of California: 10.7 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.7 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11 mi
  • UCLA: 11.4 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.2 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The rooftop pool and lounge offer panoramic views of the city. Live DJs play nightly. The sundeck features red Astroturf and waterbed cabanas. The Restaurant is open 24 hours a day, with indoor and outdoor seating, and room service is available 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.7 / 5
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 7, 2010

The Standard Hotel Downtown

It was a great business trip! Great to sleep well & be ready in the morning! Discovered a restaurant downtown called, Luigi. So close to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Long Beach, CA
Sep 14, 2010

The Standard, downtown LA. 5th visit

I've stayed here multiple times and it's hit and miss at the front desk, as far as sweetness is concerned. No complaints, tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

best pool-top parties in LA.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York
Jun 15, 2010

Great Stay at the Standard

In June 2010 we stayed five nights at The Standard in downtown LA and enjoyed our visit very much. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, and our room, [...], was spacious, impressively decorated, and kept very clean. Although we are seniors, we thoroughly enjoyed the young vibe on the weekend at The Standard. Also, we liked very much this hotel's central downtown location. We easily walked to places and events in the downtown area.I would stay there again and would recommend The Standard to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Delray beach fl
Jun 14, 2010

Treated well cool place to party

My first choice was standard at sunset but everything was booked so ended up in the downtown standard I got upgraded which was brilliant huge room. Gr8 restaurant and a fun roof top pool in the evening it explodes to party central....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
XXX HIP XXX
Chicago, IL
May 18, 2010

It's a extra hip hotel!!!

Food was really good!!! Stuff were very helpfull & friendly. Amazing roof top pool & lounge. ULTRA HIP!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Roof top was awesome day & night!!! MUST GO!!! You don't have to leave the hotel. It's a great great great party hotel!!! I had such a great time during the day at roof top swimming pool and night at lounge on the roof top.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

2
bond girl 3000
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2010

Night life yes, comfort NO!

I've been there several times with coworkers for Happy Hour on their rooftop bar which is fun and has an awesome view of Los Angeles, so I thought it would be a fabulous place to stay...NOT SO!!!! THE ROOMS ARE INCREDIBLY UNCOMFORTABLE AND DISGUSTING! It seems like the hotel was going for a contemporary look which was compromised of inexpensive nouveau furniture and the bed mattress was 6 inches off the floor on a mattress box. You may as well sleep on the ground. It also seemed quite disgusting that the sheets and comforter were tucked under the mattress and landed on top of the box where people can step on since the box extends beyond the width of the mattress. The bathroom had its issues as well. The bathroom looked like a gym locker room that hadn't been cleaned and had no room for my toiletries. I felt like I needed to have my shoes on the entire time. The faucet water smelled like a sewer and the scent from complimentary bar soap made me nauseous. Don't bother getting room service here either because the food was not very tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

1
Ad Lady
San Francisco, CA
May 16, 2010

Why stay here?

Honestly I was shocked and appalled at the rooms at the Standard. The hotel rooms are akin to what I would imagine staying in a Motel 6 would be like. They have a mattress on a platform--no real comfortable bed with an army blanket on top no comforter. The room is extremely sparse with cheap plastic chair and table. The shower is completely see through so if you are a family or staying with friends you probably do not want someone watching or in the room while you take a shower. Privacy anyone? The pool area is cool but the lounge chairs are ridiculously uncomfortable. I would NEVER stay at the Standard again and I highly highly caution you from staying there. The only thing the Standard is worth is the party at night. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else and party there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Orange, CA
Apr 27, 2010

Security RUINED my whole trip!

When we got there the Valet was nice...when we got to the front desk the hotel staff ruined the whole 2 minute experience so far by their rudeness and unprofessional actions. not one time do they look at you nor answer your question untill you ask atleast twice.... i ignored that and me n my friend both checlked in along with my other friend checking in to his room... we had 3 rooms there oh and they messed up on my room too.... right before we were going to the club, the Female security/lady that gives wrist bands was completely rude and started yelling so we were rude back and she basically refused to let the birthday person up to the rooftop along with his 3 friends. BUT, we had given them business of over 30 people already paid and waiting for us upstairs! so we talked to the manager and yet, he was completely unprofessional and rude....he would videotape us when we spoke our minds and not record himself when he is cursing or being completely unprofessional/"tough"....he did not allow us up and or nor ANYTHING! so the birthday boy spent it in his room and the 30 plus people waited for him for nothing upstairs! alll because of the UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF! I would love a refund for everything and am gunna take this a lot further!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
jayny
Business
newyork. NY
Apr 16, 2010

nice roof top lounge

since the holtel was located closed to where i was supposed to work during my trip, it was kinda convenient to move. other than that. i didn't really enjoyed it. maybe i could have stayed much nicer hotel with the price. overall the hotel looks old but seemed that they tried to look hip. yes the roof top lounge was kinda cool but that's the only thing i liked. room was small and not comfortable at all. the restaurant in the lobby was ok. you can try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

roof top.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Annandale, VA
Apr 4, 2010

Great spot.

Went to LA for class reunion at the superior university in Los Angeles, which is closer to downtown than Westwood. Standard is close to some of the newer hot spots. Bottega Louie, LA Live, etc. The hotel building has great history and the outdoor dining area is great for an urban setting. Only negative on the trip was that key to my room was given to someone else who checked in later. At about 2am, this person tried to get into the room. Luckily we had put the security bar on the door, otherwise this would have been ugly. Hotel comp'd parking to make up for it. All in, this was a good property and you get access to the rooftop bar, which is still happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit Bottega Louie, which is just a few blocks away. Very cool scene and great food and drink.

Back to menu Return to top