Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
206 reviews
Great :)

Its was a great location because there are alot restaurant around. See full review

  • kiki882
  • Jul 9, 2014
excellent location

The hotel is clean and nice with lots of restaurants around. Metro station is nearby. I like this... See full review

  • Global traveler Hiromi
  • Jun 18, 2014
Modern comfort meets exotic style at prime downtown Los Angeles hotel

This distinctive Asian-inspired downtown hotel offers convenience, leisure and ample comforts. Prime L.A. destinations are within easy reach thanks to local Metro and freeway access. Guests can unwind at the hotel's luxury spa, enjoy first-class fusion cuisine at the in-house sushi restaurant and chill at the premium coffee bar or at the dazzling in-house karaoke lounge. Rooms offer complimentary comforts amidst uniquely elegant East-West decor.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location near fashion and financial districts and Metro Stations
  • Exciting in-house nightlife and dining options
  • Luxurious, full-service spa
Location

The city's financial and fashion districts as well as museums, Metro Stations and Union Station are all just blocks away. The Metro and convenient nearby freeway link-ups offer smooth access to Universal Studios, Miracle Mile, Hollywood and beyond.

Rooms

A blend of elegant modern and Japanese decor welcomes guests to each of the hotel's 174 rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, cable TV with premium channels and DVD players provide comfort and entertainment. All rooms come with two double beds, while the deluxe and Tokyo executive rooms add luxurious duvets, executive work stations and modern Japanese bathroom amenities.

Features

Guests have a luxury spa at their disposal, with Shiatsu massage, dry and steam saunas, private Jacuzzis available. The hotel's Cafe Take 5 serves up a health-conscious selection of coffees, teas and juices, while dazzling Asian and Japanese fusions are on the menu at Tamon Restaurant. Ohjah Lounge mixes exciting cocktails with classic karaoke action in a sexy, elegant setting.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (1 mi/2 km) and Union Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/31 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Japanese American Museum (less than one block)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/2 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (7 mi/12 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/12 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (9.5 mi/15 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (12 mi/20 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Business
  • Business center (fee applies)
  • Meeting room and banquet facility
  • On-site event specialists
Polices and fees
  • Check-in time is 3 p.m. and check out time is 12 p.m. Spa hours are Mon-Fri from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m., Sat-Sun from 12 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m.
  • Valet parking rate is $18.00 USD + tax for hotel registered guests. $2.00 USD each 20 minutes for visitors.
  • $5.00 USD up to 3 hours max with validation for Spa & Restaurant; after 3 hours, $2.00 USD each 20 min.
  • For late checkout after 2pm, guests will be charged $2.00 USD each 20 min up to $18.00 USD. The hours of operation are 6 a.m.-3 a.m.
  • The spa is being renovated from May 16 through September 1, 2011. During this time, all spa areas, including the exercise room, will be closed. The only spa amenity offered will be the massage room, available at the following times: Monday to Friday (3:30 pm-11 pm); Saturday and Sunday (1 pm-11 pm); last admission: 10 pm.
  • Please be informed of the following street closures:

    06 August (LAPD 30th National Night Out) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM: First street between San Pedro and Alameda streets
     
    11 August (73rd Nisei Week Parade) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM and 18 August (73rd Nisei Week Closing Ceremonies) at 11:00 AM to 7:30 PM: Few streets in Little Tokyo area including First Street where Miyako Hotel is located
     
    Guests need to inform the hotel in advance if cars need to be taken in/out during these times.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Room
Our Standard Rooms are handsomely appointed with two double beds. Each room is spacious and features all the comforts and conveniences to ensure a satisfying and relaxing stay. Rooms are newly equipped with complimentary DSL Internet connection, TV (featuring channels such as CNN, HBO/HBO2, ESPN/EPSN2, Weather Channel and TV Japan), mini refrigerators, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, electronic in-room safety box, work desk, in-room guest voice mail and hairdryer. We have installed DVD machines in all of our rooms. Executive rooms have both DVD and VHS machines.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0496 -118.2403
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
LAX - Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in Downtown Los Angeles in the Historic District of Little Tokyo. The Miyako Hotel Los Angeles is next to the Japanese Village Plaza and right across the street from the Japanese American National Museum, the Go For Broke Monument, MOCA, LAPDs Headquarter (Parker Center). We are also only three blocks south of Amtrac/Union Station. Walking distance to many Government offices, The JACCC (Japanese Cultural Community Center), The Japanese American Theatre, East West Players, The Music Center and The Walt Disney Concert Hall. We are also one of many hotels near the Los Angeles Convention Center, Staples Center and Dodger Stadium.

Nearby points of interest

  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 6 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 6.1 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.6 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.8 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.5 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.3 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 14 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.6 mi

Dining

Lounge Ohjah
Located on the Mezzanine level next to the "Tamon" Restaurant. It's a great place to meet with friends or business associates after a tough workday. Karaoke starts at 9:00 PM for guests to sing along.
CafeTake5
Located on the first floor lobby of the Miyako Hotel. Delectable selections of pastries, desserts, salad, sandwiches and breakfast to the aromatic morning coffee, cappuccino or lattes, the CafeTake5 satisfies your appetite.
Tamon
Located on the Mezzanine level of the Miyako Hotel. This unique fusion restaurant combines the Asian-inspiration of the East with the California Cuisine of the West from the simple to the sublime creations from Tamon's own "Chef Nobu".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 206
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kiki882
new york
Jul 9, 2014

Great :)

Its was a great location because there are alot restaurant around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SailorKissy
San Francisco, CA
Jul 6, 2014

I love my stay here!

This is the second time I've stayed here and I love it! The only downside is the public parking right next to the hotel; it curves and goes down hill so there's a slight blind spot. The pro does out way the con completely though! The staff is super nice, the rooms are always beautiful, and it's right next to Japantown! You can step right out to shop or EAT!!! We came down from San Francisco for the BAP Concert and had a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bakery around the corner has AMAZING curry doughnut! A MUST!

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aletinoco00
Denver co
Jun 4, 2014

Bad hotel dont stay here

They charge for valet parking, after the deposit they tried to charge my card again for the Parking when my check out day was 6/2/14 they couldn't but why would they even charge without my authorization and before I checked out?? They were bugging leaving messages on my door about the fee for the parking for 3 days like if I was going to leave without paying. Housekeeping didn't go one day n they were going like at 5pm Awful service I will never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dman84
Vancouver
Jun 3, 2014

3 Nights and 4 Days

Amazing location. In little tyoko.. A Great place to be. If I am to go back to LA I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Great restaurants and bars all around the place. safe and walkable distances to many places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lolo88
san jose, ca
May 27, 2014

Interesting location with Great Sushi spots

The hotel is located above the Little Tokyo mall which provides a lot of sushi and korean bbq spots. However there is no hotel parking except valet which is $20 per day. There is a parking garage for the mall behind the hotel but that costs $10 per day. It is conveniently located near the 110 and I-5 freeways and less than 2 miles from Santee Alleys. Be prepared to walk though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yawan Xiong
2821 E 8ST 204 A Tulsa
May 25, 2014

Good for business and travel

It was very good and it is a good value. I will choose next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Topher
Chapala, Mexico
Mar 22, 2014

I WANTED TO TAKE THE MATTRESS HOME WITH ME!

The air conditioner really worked. The bed was sooo comfortable and I slept "like a log". I was right in downtown LA and, though the blocks are long, I was able to walk to public transportation. The staff helped me to park at a different garage near the hotel to save me $10.00 a day. The TV had CNN as well as local LA stations and other cable channels. I had breakfast every morning at the Japanese mall just steps from the hotel. Prices in LA are outrageous--$4.00 for a cup of coffee in many places!!--but the deal I was able to snag was great. The room regularly cost around $190.00 a night--I tried to get a second room while I was there for a friend and couldn't get it because they were sold out. I'd definitely use Cheap Tickets again and if I was in LA I'd stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro. It beats traffic, it's fast but it costs $1.50 each ride. You need a "TAP CARD" to use it and that will cost a one time fee of $1.00. It's available in the Metro at one of the machines at each station. A week's pass--unlimited rides--is only $20.00. Just add money to the "TAP CARD" at the other station machines if you need to, so don't throw the card away.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RevUltraBlue
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 1, 2013

Wise Choice

The location of this hotel is in a very good location that is about within 30mins of so many places to visit in CA. Everyone that I dealt with on their staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was exactly as described and expected. Overall, it was a very nice experience and is recommended for anyone looking to stay in the Little Tokyo area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive into the shopping districts in the heart of L.A. rather than walking. The parking is around $5, but you get to be exactly where you want to be rather than walking around aimlessly through the lesser appealing areas of L.A.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hardstyle Traveler
Chicago Illinois
Oct 9, 2013

Great spot to stay in LA

Room was super clean. Super friendly staff. Karaoke bar service could be better, but had a blast. Easy location to hope on the highway. Lots of Korean places to eat in the area. Heated toilet seat and bidet was awesome. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Skid row

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amimosity
Little Rock, AR
Oct 2, 2013

Great Centrally Located Hotel

Hotel is located in Little Tokyo, central to the downtown area. The area felt very safe and walkable, although we weren't out too late at night. Hotel staff were excellent and extremely helpful. By the time we reached the hotel my friend was feeling ill and stiff. She visited the spa for a massage which was wonderful. Overall a great deal for the are and the amenities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top