Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Millennium Biltmore Hotel

4 stars
506 South Grand Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
300 reviews
A classy hotel

Welcoming staff. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Bar a pleasant place to spend time. See full review

  • nicknamenever
  • Jan 21, 2014
Historic Biltmore in LA

We chose this hotel for it's history and location, despite several negative reviews about room... See full review

  • SkipMSP
  • Jan 1, 2014
Enjoy Old-World elegance at this famed downtown L.A. landmark

Built in 1923 and designed along Continental motifs, Millennium Biltmore Hotel's gilded, ornate architecture is an immersion into a classic, bygone era. From the stately guest rooms and the elegant Rendezvous Court to the landmark Gallery Bar and Cognac Room, the hotel speaks to Los Angeles heritage by way of Old European charm. A Roman-style pool and health club adds to the allure of the hotel.

Highlights
  • Historic venue that's hosted kings, presidents and celebrities
  • Exceptional nightlife and dining options include Gallery Bar and La Bisteca Italian steakhouse
  • Roman-style pool and health club
Location

The Millennium Biltmore Hotel's downtown location means L.A.'s vibrant cultural and financial districts are just blocks away. Nearby freeway access puts major business and tourist destinations within easy reach.

Rooms

Tones of warm gold, ivory and cream, accented by rich woods and plush drapery highlight each room. The stately furnishings, plantation shutters and marbled bathrooms complete the rooms' impeccable European decor. Each of the hotel's 683 guest rooms come either with a king bed or two double beds, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and satellite TV with on-demand movies. Upgraded business-class rooms include 42-inch flat screen TVs, radios with MP3 docking stations and wider work desks and credenzas.

Features

All Millennium Biltmore Hotel guests have complimentary access to the Roman-style indoor pool and health club. For lively Continental dining, try the acclaimed Smeraldi's, and for succulent Italian-style steaks and fresh seafood, La Bisteca is hard to resist. Sai Sai offers exceptional Asian cuisine.

 

Take a seat at the legendary Gallery Bar or retire to the Cognac Room, with its lovingly preserved early-20th century memorabilia, for world-class cocktails. Groove to terrific jazz and blues standards on Friday and Saturday nights.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Station: Pershing Square (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (9 minutes)
  • Bob Hope Airport (23 minutes)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 minutes)
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (10 mi/17 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/17 km)
Business
  • 24-hour full-service business center
  • 70,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Five ballrooms, nine breakout rooms, exhibit hall and executive boardroom
  • On-site audio-visual specialists

Millennium Biltmore Hotel Rooms

Standard King - 1 king bed
Elegantly furnished standard king room with Standard accommodations feature color schemes of warm gold, cream and ivory accented by rich woods, plush drapery, stately furnishings, plantation shutters, and marbled bathrooms. Room features High speed internet access at a charge, air conditioning, satellite TV, pay movies, work desk, iron and board, hairdryer and tea and coffeemaker. Complimentary use of full-service Health Club.
Double - 2 double bed
Elegantly furnished standard double room with 2 full size beds. Standard double accommodations feature color schemes of warm gold, cream and ivory accented by rich woods, plush drapery, stately furnishings, plantation shutters, and marbled bathrooms. Room features High speed internet access at a charge, air conditioning, satellite TV, pay movies, work desk, iron and board, hairdryer and tea and coffeemaker. Complimentary use of full-service Health Club.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Biltmore Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0493 -118.2537
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport - 18 miles Northeast. Ground transportation services are available at the airport 24 hours a day: Super Shuttle - $15USD one way; taxi - $42.00USD one way.
Area description
Hotel close to popular leisure destinations such as Museum of Contemporary Art, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Music Center, Ahmanson Theater, Shrine Auditorium, Staples Center, Dodger Stadium, Universal Studios, Fashion and Jewelry Districts, and a short ride to shopping in Beverly Hills, sightseeing in Hollywood and relaxing at the beaches (Santa Monica, Malibu, etc.); golf courses and spas within 15 minutes; concierge happy to make arrangements for tours, restaurant, etc.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • The Grove: 6.1 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.3 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 7.7 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.5 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.8 mi
  • University of California: 10.8 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.2 mi
  • UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.8 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.9 mi

Dining

Full Service Restaurant
Casual dining in a relaxed Mediterranean ambiance featuring California Cuisine. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sai Sai
Sai Sai Modern Asian Cuisine and Sushi Bar uses fresh ingredients to create modern, innovative cuisine. Our extensive menus feature light, vibrant dishes that are tasteful, clean and simple, including our popular series of perfectly proportioned lunchtime bento boxes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (300)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
300 out of 300
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sean San Diego
San Diego
Sep 5, 2012

One of the accessible place in LA Downtown

Was short walking distance form few attractions. The hotel staff was SUPER friendly and willing to help all the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Disney Walt Theater

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Austin H
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 4, 2012

A Premium hotel with motel cheap standard rooms

My girlfriend and I decided to chose the Millennium Biltmore Hotel (MBH) as a romantic labor day weekend getaway. Hotel Description: The MBH in the description was noted to be unique in the hotel market of downtown LA. It described it's amenities as first class and it's rooms as a perfect romantic getaway. The pictures included we beautiful as it showed it's rooms as picturesque. Hotel Grounds: When we arrived at the MBH, I was taken away by the romantic style of the hotel. The high vaulted ceilings, the greeco/romanesque planes, and orate fixtures. As I walked around and I was very impressed with the hotel grounds. Standard Room: When my girlfriend and I arrived at the room, I found that the description/picture of the room that was advertised was very different. Instead of a plush Napoleonic style bed, it was a standard king size and the room had an assortment of furniture, that seemed to be placed there for use. It that the hotel spent so much time with the physical attraction to the rest of the hotel, but left the standard rooms with spartan settings. The shower and bathroom was that of what I can find at a motel and I had trouble figuring out the settings on the shower dial. Hotel Staff: Here is where I give the hotel top credit. The staff were very helpful in helping me find transportation, and would try to go above and beyond in helping guests out. For example, when I needed to find transportation and print tickets to Disneyland, the staff not only gave me great advice and produced maps of how to get there, they even printed out my tickets and told me of great deals to look out for. Lastly, the hotel food, in both the restaurant and room service was excellent. The staff were were very observant and helpful. Although I wish I had time to sample their Afternoon Tea, from what I observed it was excellent. Conclusion: Overall the hotel itself was pretty good. The staff, location, and price was excellent. My only gripe is that I wish they would upgrade the standard rooms to being more on par with the rest of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go to Hollywood, take the Metro for $1.50 for a short 10-15 min ride.

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
SandyKAugust2012
Business
Jakarta, Indonesia
Aug 28, 2012

Theft of personal items

I typically do not write reviews, however, due to the theft / hotel staff's feigned inability to find my iPad, iPod and associated charger, and a MacBook charger, I felt compelled to write this review. I stayed at the Biltmore on the nights of the 21st and 22nd of August for work purposes. I was rushed as I was checking out on the 23rd and I mistakenly left those items charging on the floor next to the bed. I admit that leaving the items behind was my fault, however, in the past week, I have been repeatedly calling about these missing items and on multiple occasions, the security staff have acted as if they had never heard of my case, failed to return phone calls, claim that names of supervisors that I had been given do not actually work at the hotel, and in one call, put me on hold a minimum of 6 times in order to take calls from other people also complaining about missing items. Their security staff have done very little, if anything at all, to investigate the missing items when it is clear that someone from the cleaning or valet staff must have stolen my things. Usually, the Millennium chain of hotels is a respected and reputable chain. However, in my case, their staff have stolen close to $1000 worth of my property and the security and management staff have done little more than tell me that it is not in their lost and found. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber and I urge you not to stay here if this is how the management treats its guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
DANDREA
SAP PAULO, BRAZIL
Aug 19, 2012

Great place to stay

We were not really well treated at reception desk - they make us to wait over 1 hour since according to the desk attendant the roon was not ready and our check in just should be available 03:00 p.m. I was kack at 03:00 p.m and the guy told me in my computer is stil 02:58 p.m - room was not ready and I had accepted a different room category -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Hope the Superwoman
Business
Greater New Bedford MA
Aug 17, 2012

Enchanting Elegant historical decore/filmimg CSI when I was there

Enchanting elegant historical decore....gorgeous hallways and rendezvous settings area......Was filming CSI when I was there...pool warmer than others with awesome tile work; which I appreciated...good size closet...Smermaldis restaurant located inside has excellent selections; their Italian salad with sirloin & tiramisu for dessert plus great roomservice...near music/performimg arts area of city..definitely will stay again when I am in town & told my friends & family the same/good value... view their video..no complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

performing arts & opera house ...Ahmunson perfomance theater just up the street..with outside dining near fountain and view of city

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
IMNXLAR
Los Angeles, California
Aug 13, 2012

Back @ the Biltmore

Our second time @ the Biltmore (if you don't count that we were married there 34 years ago!). Normally a well run hotel, it let us down this time. The line for check-in was out the door (took over 20 minutes to get to a clerk). The concierge apologized for the wait and explained that the hotel was understaffed but that she could not access the reservations system herself. The water urn left out for guests (keeping in mind it was 105 degrees outside) was empty and the concierge told me that the "water service" had ended for the day and they were waiting for a service person to take it away and we could not get more water. Once into the room, though, we were pleased with the furnishings and amenities. The housestaff personnel were friendly and efficient. We would like to give the Biltmore another opportunity to accommodate us however this experience left a bitter taste in our mouths. As noted earlier, our ties run deep with the Biltmore - in fact, my wife worked for the ad agency Chiat/Day in the 1970's, which was the second floor of the Biltmore Hotel! Thank you for giving me the opportunity to express my views and concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

3
MeTravelOnWork
Business
Washington DC
Aug 2, 2012

One night on Business..

Location Location Location - couldn't get better if you need to be in downtown LA. The lobby / the restaurants / the service is impeccable and you feel like a King walking in - until you reach your room. For a $250 - $300 plus per night hotel - the room was small / bathroom was small / iron was OLD / ironing board was stained / bathroom fixtures and shower were super OLD and cruddy. The bed was AWESOME though. I would pick a newer Marriott / Hilton in my next trip to LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
THE PORTERS
Los Angeles, California
Jul 15, 2012

Horrible getaway

This hotel is horrible the staff was great in friendly , but the overall hotel itself HORRIBLE!!!!! I don't even write reviews but this I had to tell. First thing we checked in and our room was on the fourth floor as we were walking towards the room in I notice the carpet is burgundy with burgundy tape to match then we get to our room is basically in the dungeon no nice view or nothing so I call down in ask can our room be switched and they said yes. So I'm thinking ok this should be better by looking at the carpet in the new room on the third floor. But no it wasn't so once in the room we look around of course until I find a lifestyle (condom) behind the desk area then the remote batteries hadn't been changed in ages if ur looking for ammenties their aren't any the bath tub and the bathroom sink takes water forever to go down the hotel need to be updated it's still stuck in the 1920's I will never stay there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Rue Wife
Portland, OR
Jul 12, 2012

Great Stay for the Value!

My husband and I loved the decor of this hotel. We really enjoyed the hotel bar as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Tinkerfry
PA
Jun 27, 2012

Razor blade in my bed

I stayed here once before and loved it I never had a single problem. This stay however was very different and I don't think I would like to return. The first night I was there I made sure as to check in early. This was because I knew I wasn't going to get back until late and wanted to go straight up to my room. I went up to my room to find out that the room was occupied by another person and the keys didn't work. I wasn't to mad so I went back to the lobby to advise the staff of the mistake. They insisted I had a guest there when I was traveling alone so I was weary. Finally after an hour of checking in for the second time, they made a mistake because the other guest had same last name as me. Thinking to my self the verified my name had my license and my credit card all with my full name and still made this mistake. Anyway I was very tired and not in the mood for arguing so I took the sencond room and went up to the hotel to sleep. The next day I went out earily and room service had fixed up my room. When I climbed into the bed to lay down as crazy as it sounds there was a razor blade in the bed. I was shocked I picked it up and put it on the end table next to the bed. I checked all around for where it could have come from and i could not find the source. My only explaination was that during cleaning it came from some equipment they used. Just be forwarnd about this hotel there service is very spotty to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top