Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2016 Check-out: Feb 8, 2016

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
52 reviews
great trip!

Good location to Hollywood and good price!The hotel provide the good breakfast .I will recommend to... See full review

  • Xuechen Z.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Convenient and very comfortable yet practical stay

My wife and I came here with the main purpose of visiting our uncle who recently had a stroke so we... See full review

  • ARMIN L.
  • Jan 12, 2015
THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOTEL of HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS provides affordable luxury in the heart of Hollywood. This 100% NONSMOKING hotel is near all major Los Angeles attractions and Hollywood studios and clubs. THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOTEL of HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS multi-lingual staff serves a varied and colorful international clientele. Recipient of the prestigious Three Diamond AAA Award 1995-2008 from the American Automobile Association, this hotel has been recognized for demonstrating high levels of excellence in every area.

THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS centrally located with West Hollywood and Beverly Hills to the west, Burbank, Pasadena and Glendale to the northeast, Downtown Los Angeles to the south, and North Hollywood and Studio City to the north. THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS is on Vermont Ave between Santa Monica, and Sunset and Hollywood Boulevards. The hotel is just south of Los Feliz Village which boasts trendy restaurants, shops, and cinema, and is also just south of Griffith Park, Griffith Observatory and the Greek Theatre. Kaiser Permanente Hospital, Children's Hospital of Los Angeles, Hollywood Presbyterian Hospital, and Ronald McDonald House are all nearby. Church of Scientology and Self Realization Fellowship also have facilities near the hotel.

At THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS Studies all rooms feature a coffeemaker, free Wireless HSIA, microwave and refrigerator and the Sealy Posturepedic Plush Bed. Bathrooms are all equipped with the curved shower with Moen Revolution Showerhead, and Citrus Ginger Spa Amenities. In room safes are available in some rooms.

Our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am - 10:30am in the Dining Room. Please note: The restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner. However, there are many fine restaurants within walking distance or short drive. 1160 Bar and Lounge open from 6:00pm - 11:00pm. Hours can vary for special events.

The sparkling New Pool Area with surrounding garden, is typically open year-round, however hours of operation or closures vary according to season, weather or maintenance. Please contact the hotel directly for updates on the pool area status.

39 channel Satellite TV, with Encore, CNN, FOX NEWS, Classic ESPN, CNBC and more. Hundreds of Pay Per View movies, music, WEB TV, selections are available for a fee.

There is also 5000 square feet of Beautiful Banquet and Meeting space with A/V equipment and internet access. The central courtyard is adorned by a meditative atrium garden and fountain which is also available for wedding ceremonies. Concierge and Guideline Tours desk on Site, Fitness center with Nautilus Fitness Machines and Free Weights, Property Accepts Pets (Dogs and Cats only) under 50 pounds, Daily pet fee = $35.00 per day per pet, Pets must be leashed at all times in public spaces. Ample gated parking. Parking fee is $24.00 per day for guest cars; $29 per day for guest trucks and/or RV's and $59 per day for buses. Half a block from the Metro Redline Subway station. City buses stop at the corner in front of the hotel.

121 beautifully appointed guest rooms with one or two queen size beds, Six suites with King Size Beds, All beds are Sealy Posturepedic Plush, Coffeemaker in all rooms, All guest rooms are designated as Non Smoking, Smoking is permitted on guest room outdoor balconies, Wired and/or Wireless High Speed Internet access available in all Guest Rooms, WebTV is also available in Guest Rooms for a fee, Refrigerators and Microwaves in all rooms, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet for all guests, Hundreds of Hollywood latest movies available via the On Command Pay-per-view movie system, On Command also provides WebTV Music Workout Videos and much more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
fl
Jun 3, 2009

old and carpets smell very bad

the hotel is very bad, and had to pay for parking for $15 a day , is a hotel so it should include the parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed LA traveller
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2009

Ramada Hollywood is all talk

When we booked the Ramada online, it sounded as if you could see the Hollywood sign from the hotel, which you absolutely cannot. When being dropped off by a cab driver from downtown Hollywood Blvd, the driver asked, "Why are you staying here?" He also told us not to walk outside at night where our hotel was located. The location is terrible. It is in the ghetto and there is a lot of gang violence and prostitution going on in that neighborhood according to many people we talked to. The service was terrible - they forgot to clean our room two days in a row and then did not comp us at all for forgetting. The parking fee is outrageous at sixteen dollars a night to park your car. The single queen bedroom is so small that when you open the bathroom door, you pull the curtains to the side. The only thing good about this place is that it was a place to stay during the night. I do not recommend anyone to stay here. Stay somewhere nice, like in Pasadena. Do your research, because we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
los angeles, ca
Jul 8, 2010

mother

the room was small room, the bed was more like a full size instead of queen, the bathtub didn't drain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOTSOPICKY
Couples
RANCHO CUCAMONGA,CA
Oct 26, 2009

Terrible with a capital T

Upon arrival the staff was very rude, so rude in fact that people cancelled their reservations as they arrived. First of all aside from the ignorant and unhospitable staff, you have to pay $16.50 aside from the cost of the room to park in the parking lot that the hotel obviously doesn't own. This dump especially the location where it wasn't a surprise that we saw prostitutes roaming the streets. One guest that I conversed with on the elevator, by the way the main elevator wasn't working, said he would rather stay at Motel 6 and that's pretty sad. The only reason we stayed there is because the show we had bought tickets for was going to start in an hour otherwise we would have gladly relocated. Last but not least we had to look at 3 differnt rooms before staying in the one we chose. The other two rooms smelled like paint as the painters were still on site painting the room and the other one smelled like someone died in it. There are too many other hotels around the area to not have to deal with this place. It definately put a dark cloud over our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Over Price
Family
Sorry
Jan 29, 2010

Dump

Horrable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CONCERNED CUSTOMER
Couples
RAMADA HOLLYWOOD
Feb 22, 2010

THE UNFORGETABLE EXPERIENCE

Every morning I wake up very upset, the toilet bowl was wiggling when you sit, the room was hot we even request for electric fan but according to the staff they dont have, no A/C only heater was working so, we sleep naked and no blanket at all but still uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 27, 2010

Affordable, really?

This hotel does not state in advance that they charge $16.00 to park your rental car. The phone charges are at a rate of operated assisted, not just to dial out. I feel that this is hidden charges that should be stated up front. It is not a $63 room, but a $79 room, as you can not get around LA without a car. The spaces were tiny and did not allow for the car door to open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
florida
Feb 17, 2010

Juat ok

The room was just okay. Very small. Not dirty but not the cleanest. Staff was OK. BREAKFAST WAS REALLY GOOD FOR COMPLIMENTARY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New Hampshire
Apr 10, 2010

Disappointed

It was noisy. The room was small. The staff was not friendly. Staf was either not knowledgeable or could not be bothered. No resturant for lunch & dinner. Given the location, I did not feel safe going out after dark. Having room service or a resturant would be nice. There were ants in the bathroom. You need to look at the Guest Notebook and read what one of your employees has written about working there. I would not go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NJ Fireman
Couples
Hamilton, NJ
Jan 31, 2010

Rude staff great room other then no AC

The staff was very rude and short upon checking. The room was beautiful, update and very clean. When asking a question instead of taking the time to answer it for me the staff member turned a sign my way and pointed at it acting as if it was to hard to answer. Other then the rude staff and lack of attention to details such as paying 16$ a day for parking on the premises I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Great places to eat

Back to menu Return to top