Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
248 reviews
Can't go wrong!

I enjoyed staying here. A grocery store and shops are near by and also a bowling alley. Excellent... See full review

  • MizAbigail
  • Nov 26, 2013
Good Airport Hotel

Chic modern hotel with a great pool and deck bar. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • fun times traveller
  • Aug 14, 2013
Mixing 60?s style with modern comforts near LA beaches

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is a chic haven in Los Angeles that provides tastefully designed rooms and near LAX. The six social lounges on site with unique concepts and appointments are perfect spots to unwind and relax, play Xbox and Wii, enjoy drinks and snacks, or admire art collections. Custom Hotel also has heated outdoor pool for leisure. Several stylish meeting rooms are available for corporate or social functions of up to 400 people. The pet-friendly hotel offers airport shuttle service free of charge.

Highlights
  • Close to LAX
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All rooms and suites at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature with contemporary charm and custom LED lighting system for personalized color scheme. Each guestroom offers up-to-date amenities such as 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, iPod docking station with stereo, on-demand movies and music, safe deposit box, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Most rooms have work desk.

Features

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, located just four miles from the famous Venice Beach in Los Angeles, offers complimentary airport shuttle service, secure valet parking and laundry and dry cleaning. A business center with printing service is also on offer.

 

Adjacent to the stadium-style sun deck and pool, DECK33 Bar Restaurant serves diners an array of Pacific Rim-inspired cuisines and various beers, cocktails and wines. Guests at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel can lounge at the stadium-style sun deck, take a dip in the heated outdoor pool, and exercise at the two fitness centers during free time.

Transportation
  • LAX airport shuttle
  • Los Angeles International Airport (1.3 mi/2.2 km
Attractions
  • Promenade at Howard Hughes Parkway Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Westfield Culver City Shopping Center (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Venice Ocean Front Walk (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Venice Beach (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Los Angeles Forum (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Hollywood Park Casino (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Eight individually decorated meeting spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
Policies and fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

Know Before You Go:

There are no room charges for children 17 years old and old and younger who occupy the same room as their parents or guardians, using existing bedding.

Policies:

  • Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.
  • Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
  • Dog Friendly
  • No pet fee
  • Check-in time starts at 3PM
  • Check-out time is Noon
  • Rollaway beds available upon request and availability ($25.00 fee per rollaway bed)
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Fees:

  • The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

                - Valet parking fee: US$ 20 per night (unlimited in/out privileges)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Rooms

Renovated Two Double Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.
Renovated King Room
Renovated in June 2011, renovated Deluxe King Rooms are 337 sq ft featuring one king bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, , 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.
Renovated View Deluxe Queen Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated View Queen Rooms are located on floors 10-12 and include extra amenities: 37inch TV, working desk with ergonomic chair, and -best of all-guaranteed panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Malibu, Hollywood, Downtown Los Angeles or the LAX runway through new soundproof windows.
Deluxe
Double rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Deluxe Queen
Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring one queen bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King Rooms are 337 sq ft featuring one king bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, , 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Renovated Queen Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.959 -118.4201
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) Long Beach (LGB) Burbank Airport - BUR
Area description
Custom Hotel is nestled 1 mile from commercial and retail space of the newly developed Playa Vista community and Marina Del Rey and adjacent to the Los Angeles International Airport and within reach of Santa Monica Venice, Manhattan Beach and Century City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 9.1 mi
  • Koreatown: 9.7 mi
  • Getty Villa: 10.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 10.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 10.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 10.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 10.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 10.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 11 mi
  • Pershing Square: 11.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 11.6 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 11.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 11.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 11.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 11.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 11.8 mi
  • Music Center: 12 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 12.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 12.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 13 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 13.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 13.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 13.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 13.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 15.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 15.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Custom Hotel features 5 exclusive conference suites for small, intimate meetings of up to 50 people and hosts outdoor or private events for up to 400 people. Catered breakfast, lunch and dinner is also available in the conference suites or poolside.

Dining

Deck 33 Bar and Restaurant
Casual bar and dining space featuring cuisine and drinks with a Pacific Rim influence and overlooking the stadium-style sun deck and pool.
Transonic
Gaming lounge equipped with Xbox Kinect and Wii, 55"TV and surround sound system.
Layover Lounge
Layover Lounge. Located in the main lobby and featuring communal tables with power outlets and seating hubs. Do not forget wine hour from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
27 out of 248
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Portland, OR
May 27, 2009

Hated it!

I was sorely dissappointed with the huge parties, lines of people, small rooms, no fridge, no micro. could not adjust the AC. Drunken partiers all hours and vomit and noisy hallways. You would expect that in Vegas. Won't recommend it, also won't use Orbitz-can NOT get a refund. paid for 4 nights, stayed 2 and paid to go somewhere else. No second exit if you wanted to avoid the lines to get in or out. It was a gift for my daughter who had moved from the East Coast. We both were dissapointed-Chris S PDX

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralphs next door, you can get the 4 or 8 dollar bottled water at Ralphs for less than 4 dollars.....for both! But there is nothing to keep it cool in.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
San Jose,CA
May 11, 2010

Didn't honor the [...] reservation

I was told when I checked in that they didn't have to honor my reservation with [...] and that they had a room for me with only one bed (I had requested 2 double beds) I had to take it because I needed to move my daughter out of her dorm). Very disappointing. I don't know if its the hotel's fault or [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Palm Desert, CA
May 15, 2010

Custom Not Custom

The room was clean and neat. The bed just as well had been on the floor it was so low to the floor. The restaurant was something out of a worst possible situation book. We asked for a Pinot Noir or a Zinfendal and the waiter (???) brought us a chardonay and a rose'. We decided not to eat there and went across the street to a terrific Italian restaurant. I'll not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel!!!

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
avgandrew
Atlantic City, NJ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

hotel near lax

hotel hallways are painted a dark grey, kind of strange. no parking other than 20 dollar valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Vancouver, Canada
Dec 29, 2010

awesome service but okay hotel

the hotel itself was a bit plain in terms of what it offered e.g. no complimentary breakfast, no room service, 2 sets of toiletries supplied for 4 person rooms, and pricey food with little variety. we had major problems with the card keys for our rooms during the first night and had to switch to a different floor because they told us (after we tried replacing and swiping the keys a dozen times) that the rooms we stayed in had faulty sensors on the doors. the furnishing of the hotel was not the best either and it did not have many facilities. however, the hotel did offer free wifi and a gym to work out at. but in spite of all this, the staff was absolutely amazing. they were very friendly and helpful. they offered to book tours and shuttles for us immediately to get to disney/universal studios/hollywood/airport and even helped us look up when in-n-out would open/close. they picked up the phone promptly when we called and tried their best to help us and provided us with directions and even recommendations on where to go when we had problems finding transport. the tour/hotel shuttle was always on time and i think what pleased me the most was that the hotel offered complimentary baggage storage after we checked out, so that we could leave our luggage there and go shopping before we boarded our flight. overall, we had a wonderful time in LA. the tours recommended by the hotel were wonderful and convenient, the staff were excellent (friendly and helpful)and this held true even though we were unable to rent a single vehicle in LA during our stay. better quality less expensive food would have improved our stay. but overall, the experience was good. thumbs up again to the staff (front desk especially!), they made everything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

if you're willing to spend extra money and don't know where to go/can't find transport. ask the front desk for tours. the shuttles pick you up right at the front door of the hotel, take you to your destination and bring you back. GO TO KJ's restaurant it's a 3-5min walk from the hotel, almost next door? The food is cheap, lots of variety, and huge portions (steak for $15?! YES).

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Ika mom
West Bloomfield, MI
Jul 16, 2013

College visit

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel during her college visits and its convenient location was one of the factors of choice. The clean decor reminds of a loft. Maybe not good for a long stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Hollywood Buzz
Providence RI
Aug 29, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

I was on a 3 day vacation package to Disney & Universal studios. Its quite far from both the locations.Actually I booked for LA quanta inn & Suites but the orbitz people messed up my reservation and I ended up in Custom hotel. Its quite and good. Stingy in changing towels. Ok for the prices. Its next to Ralphs store I could pick up some soda & fruits till night 2.00 am. The Other plus point for the location is its short drive far to Beach(Palya del Rey).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

IHop is near and u can get nice pancakes. And there are couple of Indian Restaurents. I Dont recommend one thats close to beach it sucks. I just had coffee at the custom dinning I cant say much about it but they do have bf & dinner facility.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 9, 2009

Over Rated

No amenities such as bath soap, hair dryer, iron or fridge. Rooms apparently designed to be bland & basic with no art or dresser. Electrical outlets not convienently located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
stacyjo615
Spring, TX
Aug 14, 2009

Not as great as the pictures seem

We ended up having to change rooms because the door didn't lock and the telephone didn't work, then the second room we were put in had a broken light fixture that dangled from the wall and the television would lose sound every so often. You would have to turn the tv off and turn it back on again for the sound to work. The vending machines only have Mardi Grad type masks and party favors in them - no food or drinks. The front desk personnel told us to go to the grocery store next door if we wanted a drink. The night I checked in I asked the girl at the front desk to have someone fix the broken light in the second room we had to move to the next day, and 2 days later I had to go back and ask her again, and she told me that I told her I didn't want anyone to fix it that day, when I specifically asked for someone to come the next day when she tried to send them up to my room at 11pm to fix it. On the website it says there is street parking available, but when you get there they tell you it's valet only and it's $22 a night. When I talked to the valet guy he said you can park on the street, they just can't guarantee the safety of your vehicle. The pool is very small. The hotel isn't kept up well. There are a lot of things that are falling apart and need maintenence. The best part about this hotel is the comfortable bed, good water pressure in the shower, and the air conditioning worked great. The pictures definitely were better than the actual hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Traveling Soccer Dad
Hawaii, USA
May 1, 2012

Convenient Location

Great place if you have businees at the LMU campus. Short drive from the airport, walking distance to LMU. Real bummer there's no desk to do paperwork or place your PC. Upon closer inspection, one can see a very old old hotel was given a sloppy makeover to make it look contemporary, -old rattling A/C, painted over tiles in the bathroom, & sloppy re-paint all around - turned me off. I will stay again because of the proximity to LMU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralphs grovery store is next door

Back to menu Return to top