Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
256 reviews
Can't go wrong!

I enjoyed staying here. A grocery store and shops are near by and also a bowling alley. Excellent... See full review

  • MizAbigail
  • Nov 26, 2013
Good Airport Hotel

Chic modern hotel with a great pool and deck bar. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • fun times traveller
  • Aug 14, 2013
Mixing 60?s style with modern comforts near LA beaches

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is a chic haven in Los Angeles that provides tastefully designed rooms and near LAX. The six social lounges on site with unique concepts and appointments are perfect spots to unwind and relax, play Xbox and Wii, enjoy drinks and snacks, or admire art collections. Custom Hotel also has heated outdoor pool for leisure. Several stylish meeting rooms are available for corporate or social functions of up to 400 people. The pet-friendly hotel offers airport shuttle service free of charge.

Highlights
  • Close to LAX
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All rooms and suites at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature with contemporary charm and custom LED lighting system for personalized color scheme. Each guestroom offers up-to-date amenities such as 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, iPod docking station with stereo, on-demand movies and music, safe deposit box, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Most rooms have work desk.

Features

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, located just four miles from the famous Venice Beach in Los Angeles, offers complimentary airport shuttle service, secure valet parking and laundry and dry cleaning. A business center with printing service is also on offer.

 

Adjacent to the stadium-style sun deck and pool, DECK33 Bar Restaurant serves diners an array of Pacific Rim-inspired cuisines and various beers, cocktails and wines. Guests at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel can lounge at the stadium-style sun deck, take a dip in the heated outdoor pool, and exercise at the two fitness centers during free time.

Transportation
  • LAX airport shuttle
  • Los Angeles International Airport (1.3 mi/2.2 km
Attractions
  • Promenade at Howard Hughes Parkway Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Westfield Culver City Shopping Center (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Venice Ocean Front Walk (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Venice Beach (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Los Angeles Forum (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Hollywood Park Casino (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Eight individually decorated meeting spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
Policies and fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

Know Before You Go:

There are no room charges for children 17 years old and old and younger who occupy the same room as their parents or guardians, using existing bedding.

Policies:

  • Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.
  • Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
  • Dog Friendly
  • No pet fee
  • Check-in time starts at 3PM
  • Check-out time is Noon
  • Rollaway beds available upon request and availability ($25.00 fee per rollaway bed)
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Fees:

  • The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

                - Valet parking fee: US$ 20 per night (unlimited in/out privileges)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Rooms

Renovated Two Double Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.
Renovated King Room
Renovated in June 2011, renovated Deluxe King Rooms are 337 sq ft featuring one king bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, , 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.
Renovated View Deluxe Queen Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated View Queen Rooms are located on floors 10-12 and include extra amenities: 37inch TV, working desk with ergonomic chair, and -best of all-guaranteed panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Malibu, Hollywood, Downtown Los Angeles or the LAX runway through new soundproof windows.
Deluxe
Double rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Deluxe Queen
Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring one queen bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King Rooms are 337 sq ft featuring one king bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, , 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Renovated Queen Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.959 -118.4201
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) Long Beach (LGB) Burbank Airport - BUR
Area description
Custom Hotel is nestled 1 mile from commercial and retail space of the newly developed Playa Vista community and Marina Del Rey and adjacent to the Los Angeles International Airport and within reach of Santa Monica Venice, Manhattan Beach and Century City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 9.1 mi
  • Koreatown: 9.7 mi
  • Getty Villa: 10.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 10.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 10.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 10.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 10.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 10.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 11 mi
  • Pershing Square: 11.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 11.6 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 11.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 11.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 11.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 11.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 11.8 mi
  • Music Center: 12 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 12.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 12.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 13 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 13.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 13.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 13.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 13.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 15.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 15.3 mi

Dining

Deck 33 Bar and Restaurant
Casual bar and dining space featuring cuisine and drinks with a Pacific Rim influence and overlooking the stadium-style sun deck and pool.
Transonic
Gaming lounge equipped with Xbox Kinect and Wii, 55"TV and surround sound system.
Layover Lounge
Layover Lounge. Located in the main lobby and featuring communal tables with power outlets and seating hubs. Do not forget wine hour from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Custom Hotel features 5 exclusive conference suites for small, intimate meetings of up to 50 people and hosts outdoor or private events for up to 400 people. Catered breakfast, lunch and dinner is also available in the conference suites or poolside.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nfkfhjknnkjvh
Business
Petaluma CA
May 31, 2010

To freaken weird

We will NEVER go there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Sep 28, 2010

Not happy,Refrig was missing ,no alarm

Not so hot hotel because it was missing refig ,but the spot was there for one.Iron, but no iron board.No alarm clock ,and I thought I read this hotel was supposed to have all of these items.Lighting was none.All there was in room was a small light and room was dark above bed.Walls were white boring.Not happy.And once I got home My visa was charged an additional $22.oo for parking.NOWHERE was this explained in advance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marttch
Business
Denver, CO.
Aug 30, 2012

Is this the 3rd World or LA?

Unbelievable how for a 4 day stay that there was no air conditioning at all with room temperatures well above 80 degrees. We asked for fans for the room and were provided with a single small fan that provided little if any relief. Only a small single window could open so circulating and eliminating the stale air was impossible. The desk staff daily promised it would be fixed by that evening but it never happened. We learned other patrons were given gratis breakfasts and parking for the inconvenience, but not us. We had stayed at this property before and really thought it was good value. However this unpleasant experience soured us for good and a great value in the past, became valueless. One star because of location and cleanliness. That might even be kind on our part!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FrequentTraveler 888
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 18, 2013

Strange Vibe

If you are looking for a hotel close to the airport I would stay somewhere else. It seems as if the hotel was "redone" to become a trendy LA hotel but corners were cut so instead it seems cheap and a bit tacky. We arrived late at night and found it strange that the front desk person had to radio to make sure our room was clean - especially considering that the hotel was by no means full. The elevator and hallway had a strange smell and our room smelled terribly like smoke - also strange since the front desk person made a point to tell us it was a non-smoking hotel. While the room looked clean, I couldn't shake the feeling of it being dirty; I could hardly sleep and was glad to check out the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L, A Boy
Business
louisville
Nov 18, 2010

bad experience

no good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Mar 8, 2011

Just a normal hotel

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel ambiance was dull. Valet parking was only option with a fee. Not much of option for dining. Gym was close. Very few visitor seen. Housekeeping threw our tupperware lunch boxes without our knowledge. Did not get it back. Nothing complimentary at this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington state
Mar 10, 2011

run down undergoing renovation

very dark and worn was undergoing renovation, checked in dropped off bags told valet we we wouild be back monentarily then would returnto take car back to rental place. next morning they wanted to charge us for a whole days parking. When we booked no one told us that it was under renovation. hvac was extremely loud and annoying. I would hold off on this one. Did not furnish us a receipt when we left, couldnt wait to argue had to catch a shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italian Kitchen was good,

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Desert, CA
May 15, 2010

Custom Not Custom

The room was clean and neat. The bed just as well had been on the floor it was so low to the floor. The restaurant was something out of a worst possible situation book. We asked for a Pinot Noir or a Zinfendal and the waiter (???) brought us a chardonay and a rose'. We decided not to eat there and went across the street to a terrific Italian restaurant. I'll not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel!!!

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 4, 2011

Not our best experience.

We specifically stayed there because there was a pool, but it was out of service due to the construction. There was no signage to direct us to the second floor lobby. 3 of the ice machines were out of order & the hallway fire alarm too. The keyboard to the tv didn't work and nobody answered the phones when we called to get another one. We had to leave the bathroom door open or else parts of the overhang would break off. When we called for valet, no answer again and nobody downstairs to get our car. All and all, not what we expected and don't think we would stay there again.The only pleasant part of our trip was [...]at the front desk, he was extremely helpful and apologetic. It seemed like he was used to getting a lot of complaints, but still treated us as if ours mattered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sbud51
Business
Saskatoon, Sk Canada
Apr 22, 2009

Bad news hotel

It was quite simply put a nightmare. This hotel sold our room out from underneath us even though we had pre-paid. They laid everything on orbits, and in general were total jerks. No concept what so ever of custmer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park at the Ralphs next door.

Back to menu Return to top