Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
44 reviews
Prefect LAX Overnight Stay

I was very happy with my stay at Custom. Was in town for job interview and this was perfect... See full review

  • Champ
  • Feb 3, 2015
great pre/post LAX rest

My girlfriend and I often stay here on the way out or back from LAX international trips. We drive 2... See full review

  • Jeffrey c.
  • Apr 6, 2015

A hip, contemporary Los Angeles boutique hotel within minutes of LAX.

Custom Hotel's LA Boutique hotel offers a contemporary design aesthetic at affordable rates for the international business traveler staying for one night as well as the leisure guest escaping for an extended weekend retreat. Our LA boutique hotel was originally built by mid-century architect Welton Beckett, designer of the world-famous Capitol Records building, and the Custom Hotel tower has been transformed with the California lifestyle in mind. Custom Hotel is a place where design is accessible and playfully refreshing, and a warm sense of hospitality and community prevails in this LA boutique hotel.

Custom Hotel is conveniently located close to Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) in the residential neighborhood of Westchester, a short drive from the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, Malibu and Manhattan Beach. Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 20-30 minutes from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. For travelers flying into Los Angeles on their way to destinations within Southern California-whether a trip to Disneyland in Anaheim, Universal Studios in Hollywood, or a road excursion to Santa Barbara or San Diego along the world-famous Pacific Coast Highway-Custom Hotel is an ideal stopover.

Custom Hotel's services and amenities include:

  • LAX shuttle service
  • Valet parking, $22.00 per night
  • Espresso check-in
  • Multilingual staff
  • Concierge services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Private dining and catering services
  • Laundry, dry-cleaning and pressing services
  • Pet friendly

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

33.959 -118.4201
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) Long Beach (LGB) Burbank Airport - BUR
Area description
Custom Hotel is nestled 1 mile from commercial and retail space of the newly developed Playa Vista community and Marina Del Rey and adjacent to the Los Angeles International Airport and within reach of Santa Monica Venice, Manhattan Beach and Century City.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nfkfhjknnkjvh
Business
Petaluma CA
May 31, 2010

To freaken weird

We will NEVER go there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Sep 28, 2010

Not happy,Refrig was missing ,no alarm

Not so hot hotel because it was missing refig ,but the spot was there for one.Iron, but no iron board.No alarm clock ,and I thought I read this hotel was supposed to have all of these items.Lighting was none.All there was in room was a small light and room was dark above bed.Walls were white boring.Not happy.And once I got home My visa was charged an additional $22.oo for parking.NOWHERE was this explained in advance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Sep 28, 2010

Not happy,Refrig was missing ,no alarm

Not so hot hotel because it was missing refig ,but the spot was there for one.Iron, but no iron board.No alarm clock ,and I thought I read this hotel was supposed to have all of these items.Lighting was none.All there was in room was a small light and room was dark above bed.Walls were white boring.Not happy.And once I got home My visa was charged an additional $22.oo for parking.NOWHERE was this explained in advance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nfkfhjknnkjvh
Business
Petaluma CA
May 31, 2010

To freaken weird

We will NEVER go there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busy lady
Business
San Diego, CA
May 4, 2009

Nice

I entered a women's volleyball tournament and was looking for an affordable and clean place to stay to cut down on travel time, and this hotel worked out. It would not be my first choice for a long visit, but for two nights it worked. Think japanese, and going green less is more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katelyn M
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 22, 2009

Cool decor, relaxing stay

I stayed at the Custom Hotel this past weekend while visiting my boyfriend in LA. He's living in a small apartment with a bunch of other guys so we treated this as a bit of a vacation for both of us. I chose the Custom Hotel because it was close to the airport and his apartment, it looked like it had a lot of character, and the Cheaptickets rate was very reasonable. When I first drove up, I was unsure of where to go; the main entrance to the hotel is in the back, and the roadway to the parking area is apparently two ways but is barely wider than a single lane. I quickly learned that parking was valet only, and was an extra daily charge on top of the hotel rate. While the valet attendants were friendly, I would have preferred having the option to self-park. I only really interacted with the staff upon checking in and out. They were courteous enough, although they didn't strike me as especially friendly, and I don't know how helpful they would have been had I required extra assistance with anything. We slept a bit late and didn't end up leaving the room until after the maid service, so I can't comment on housekeeping. The room itself was comfortable, although the layout was a bit weird. The bed faced the windows and the television was mounted on the wall to the side. Our window was directly over the pool and restaurant area, which was a bit noisy at night but nothing the A/C couldn't drown out. In general, we were out and about most of the trip, so we pretty much just wanted a quiet, comfortable place to sleep and relax in. I'd say we got that, and the fact that it was nicer than your average chain hotel was a bonus in my eyes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ronk
Business
aiea, hi
Mar 17, 2010

My review of Custom Hotel

Valet parking led to more expense for a budget trip. Our friends and relitives had to pay for parking for their couple of 3 hoursor so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gys
Business
Copenhagen, Denmark
May 11, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

A good hotel compared to the price, and a nice location when you are going to LAX

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janita
Business
Victoria
Jan 6, 2013

Good people, great location

Minutes away from LAX, the Custom Hotel offers great value. Left too early in the morning so I missed the breakfast that starts at 0700.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friday13
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 15, 2014

There's better

The rooms are very simple . No bells or whistles at all . Good for a nights sleep that's it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top