Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
256 reviews
Can't go wrong!

I enjoyed staying here. A grocery store and shops are near by and also a bowling alley. Excellent... See full review

  • MizAbigail
  • Nov 26, 2013
Good Airport Hotel

Chic modern hotel with a great pool and deck bar. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • fun times traveller
  • Aug 14, 2013
Mixing 60?s style with modern comforts near LA beaches

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is a chic haven in Los Angeles that provides tastefully designed rooms and near LAX. The six social lounges on site with unique concepts and appointments are perfect spots to unwind and relax, play Xbox and Wii, enjoy drinks and snacks, or admire art collections. Custom Hotel also has heated outdoor pool for leisure. Several stylish meeting rooms are available for corporate or social functions of up to 400 people. The pet-friendly hotel offers airport shuttle service free of charge.

Highlights
  • Close to LAX
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All rooms and suites at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature with contemporary charm and custom LED lighting system for personalized color scheme. Each guestroom offers up-to-date amenities such as 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, iPod docking station with stereo, on-demand movies and music, safe deposit box, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Most rooms have work desk.

Features

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, located just four miles from the famous Venice Beach in Los Angeles, offers complimentary airport shuttle service, secure valet parking and laundry and dry cleaning. A business center with printing service is also on offer.

 

Adjacent to the stadium-style sun deck and pool, DECK33 Bar Restaurant serves diners an array of Pacific Rim-inspired cuisines and various beers, cocktails and wines. Guests at Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel can lounge at the stadium-style sun deck, take a dip in the heated outdoor pool, and exercise at the two fitness centers during free time.

Transportation
  • LAX airport shuttle
  • Los Angeles International Airport (1.3 mi/2.2 km
Attractions
  • Promenade at Howard Hughes Parkway Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Westfield Culver City Shopping Center (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Venice Ocean Front Walk (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Venice Beach (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Los Angeles Forum (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Hollywood Park Casino (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Eight individually decorated meeting spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
Policies and fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

Know Before You Go:

There are no room charges for children 17 years old and old and younger who occupy the same room as their parents or guardians, using existing bedding.

Policies:

  • Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.
  • Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
  • Dog Friendly
  • No pet fee
  • Check-in time starts at 3PM
  • Check-out time is Noon
  • Rollaway beds available upon request and availability ($25.00 fee per rollaway bed)
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Fees:

  • The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

                - Valet parking fee: US$ 20 per night (unlimited in/out privileges)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Rooms

Renovated Two Double Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.
Renovated King Room
Renovated in June 2011, renovated Deluxe King Rooms are 337 sq ft featuring one king bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, , 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.
Renovated View Deluxe Queen Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated View Queen Rooms are located on floors 10-12 and include extra amenities: 37inch TV, working desk with ergonomic chair, and -best of all-guaranteed panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Malibu, Hollywood, Downtown Los Angeles or the LAX runway through new soundproof windows.
Deluxe
Double rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Deluxe Queen
Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring one queen bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King Rooms are 337 sq ft featuring one king bed and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, working desk, 26 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, , 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes. All rooms and suites are smoke-free.
Renovated Queen Room
Renovated in June 2011, Renovated Queen rooms are 264 sq ft featuring two double beds and are located on floors 2-9. All guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet, 37 inch flat screen LCD TV's, stereo with iPod docking station, 300 thread-count cotton linens, On Demand movies and laptop accommodating safes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.959 -118.4201
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) Long Beach (LGB) Burbank Airport - BUR
Area description
Custom Hotel is nestled 1 mile from commercial and retail space of the newly developed Playa Vista community and Marina Del Rey and adjacent to the Los Angeles International Airport and within reach of Santa Monica Venice, Manhattan Beach and Century City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7 mi
  • University of California: 7.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 8.1 mi
  • UCLA: 8.2 mi
  • Kitson: 8.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 8.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 8.6 mi
  • The Grove: 8.6 mi
  • California Science Center: 8.7 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 8.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 9.1 mi
  • Koreatown: 9.7 mi
  • Getty Villa: 10.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 10.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 10.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 10.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 10.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 10.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 11 mi
  • Pershing Square: 11.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 11.6 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 11.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 11.7 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 11.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 11.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 11.8 mi
  • Music Center: 12 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 12.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 12.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 13 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 13.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 13.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 13.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 13.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 15.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 15.3 mi

Dining

Deck 33 Bar and Restaurant
Casual bar and dining space featuring cuisine and drinks with a Pacific Rim influence and overlooking the stadium-style sun deck and pool.
Transonic
Gaming lounge equipped with Xbox Kinect and Wii, 55"TV and surround sound system.
Layover Lounge
Layover Lounge. Located in the main lobby and featuring communal tables with power outlets and seating hubs. Do not forget wine hour from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Custom Hotel features 5 exclusive conference suites for small, intimate meetings of up to 50 people and hosts outdoor or private events for up to 400 people. Catered breakfast, lunch and dinner is also available in the conference suites or poolside.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finesse the Future
Business
Clio, CA
May 17, 2012

Convienent, Contemporary Hotel

Hotel was in a convenient location, trendy decor. Rooms were small, somewhat dark, color scheme was dark blue/white. That said, the bed was comfortable and everything worked well including the free wifi. $20/day valet was a surprise. Nice casual dining/bar next door. Staff were polite and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice diner attached to bowling alley about 500 ft N of hotel on Lincoln. Lots of mexican on the menu. Good and cheap.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERok
Business
Dumfries, VA
May 15, 2012

Great time

Friendly and knowledgeable staff with a hip room, I only wish they'd bring the DJ back to the poolside :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a decent diner next to the Ralph's food store if you want to save some cash.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sylwedydd
Business
Madison NJ
May 8, 2012

All in all very good.

Only thing missing was a chair in the room. Mind you the bed was comfortable but I like a chair for reading and lap topping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Soccer Dad
Business
Hawaii, USA
May 1, 2012

Convenient Location

Great place if you have businees at the LMU campus. Short drive from the airport, walking distance to LMU. Real bummer there's no desk to do paperwork or place your PC. Upon closer inspection, one can see a very old old hotel was given a sloppy makeover to make it look contemporary, -old rattling A/C, painted over tiles in the bathroom, & sloppy re-paint all around - turned me off. I will stay again because of the proximity to LMU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralphs grovery store is next door

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NLNLN
Business
Colorado
Apr 11, 2012

Weekend visit

Great value and convenient location to Venice. The hotel is more of being trendy vs family atmosphere. The rooms are somewhat smaller with a platform bed and small bathroom. This is more for those under age of 25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Next to Ralph's grocery store. You can buy bottle water/snacks at normal prices. 2) If you're willing to walk 2 blocks, you can park on side street without paying $20 for valet. Be sure you read the parking signs because some streets have no overnight parking from 10pm-2am.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WADA
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

5 Day Getaway

Upon check-in, we were not aware that the hotel would authorize an "additional" $50 per nightly stay onto our credit card. Since our entire trip was prepaid months in advance, we were excited that we wouldn't have any additional costs. We recommend a complimentary hotel parking lot! $20/day for valet parking was just ridiculous to us; We are paying a lot of money to stay at the hotel, and parking isn't included? Aside from that, we can't really comment on the staff, since we never saw anybody other than the person who checked us in. We stayed on the 12th floor, which got quite noisy at nights; we assume that people in the Stratosphere (relaxation room) was causing all the noise - loud voices and screaming. The outlet by the bed did not work, the mattress was too small for the bed frame (I noticed the space, which had been covered up with scraps of carpet), and the mattress was too soft/not comfortable. Aside from the hotel, we had a great vacation; it's FORTUNATE that we spent little time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Venice Beach is just a short drive away from the hotel; visit the cafes and shops on Abbot Kinney, Venice Canals and boardwalk, and the shops along Washington.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAgirl1978
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 22, 2012

HIP YOUNG VIBE!

I love this place, But i do have to say they need room services or a place that you can eat thats open befor 5 pm! other then that BOMB spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Millions
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Does the trick

Stayed here with my crew for a 24 hour shoot. Decent hotel, reasonable value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vgejde
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Mar 21, 2012

Not so nice as it looks

It has a nice pool, but that is it! Very well located, near the airport. Rooms are ok in size but the beds are AWFUL! They seem old an of poor quality. Also, be prepared to pay 20 USD for parking each day. Would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Gratitude Café in West LA. Just wonderful!!!

Back to menu Return to top