Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bull Durham Traveler
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 25, 2013

Stylish, Comfortable and Convenient

On a brief overnight layover, the Custom was comfortable and easily accessible from LAX with it's curtesy shuttle. The room was spacious and well laid-out--in the style of Ian Schrager's Public in Chicago. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hockeydad900
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 12, 2013

Not the usual meaning of "boutique"

This hotel is advertised as a "boutique" hotel. Not quite. It is a refurbished older hotel. But most of the renovation seems to have been a quick (and cheap) coat of paint, that is already peeling in places. It is in a good location, near LAX but not too close, and in a nice neighborhood. But it really needed a more thorough renovation. And the amenities (gym, business center) are minimal and not well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janita
Business
Victoria
Jan 6, 2013

Good people, great location

Minutes away from LAX, the Custom Hotel offers great value. Left too early in the morning so I missed the breakfast that starts at 0700.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local losangelino
Business
Los Angeles, Calufornia
Dec 2, 2012

Good value

I booked this room through a special value, and I believe I got a good deal. Clean rooms, great staff. Was able to take a cab to local areas like Santa Monica and LAX with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancelynn
Business
McKinney, Texas
Dec 1, 2012

Nice and contemporary

Stayed here on my last visit to LA. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a contemporary feel to it. Some of the amenities i.e. bathtub and sink are a little old or have cracked surfaces. But nothing too alarming and not a safety issue. Great, tasty breakfast buffet. Close to LAX and pacific hwy. I would definititely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dawnd
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Nov 30, 2012

Um, seemed cooler than it really was....

We had very high expectations of this hotel as staying at other Joie de Vivre brand hotels numerous times, so, possibly our expectations were too high. We arrived late at night and had an easy enough check in. Upon arriving to the room, fine/good/clean. There were a lot of information about the trendy lights in the room (there's a 6" stick of lights that change color via remote), and cheeky-wanna-be information. For sure, they were/are trying too hard. The writings weren't even funny....But, we did notice there is a photo booth in the lobby and a "Transonic lounge, staff favorite" on the 3rd floor, along w/ "not your average vending" on the 4th floor. Ok, great--we'll check it out in the AM. The photo booth (aka: mac computer that takes pictures): broken/out of commission. The transonic lounge, locked, but from what we could see: a room w/ a bunch of brightly colored bean bag chairs, and the vending--just plain old vending machines. Nothing exciting or out of the norm at all. Overall, hotel is clean and was quiet enough. Tries wayyyyyyy too hard to be cool & trendy and comes up very short. Just a hotel. The End.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Northern California trave
Business
Sonoma County
Oct 22, 2012

Good value

Hotel was perfect for what I needed; ie: location, price. Room a little run down, no blow dryer, kleenex box only had one sheet left upon check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
superduper mom
Business
NJ
Oct 9, 2012

evaluation

experience was satisfactory except no coffee maker in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marttch
Business
Denver, CO.
Aug 30, 2012

Is this the 3rd World or LA?

Unbelievable how for a 4 day stay that there was no air conditioning at all with room temperatures well above 80 degrees. We asked for fans for the room and were provided with a single small fan that provided little if any relief. Only a small single window could open so circulating and eliminating the stale air was impossible. The desk staff daily promised it would be fixed by that evening but it never happened. We learned other patrons were given gratis breakfasts and parking for the inconvenience, but not us. We had stayed at this property before and really thought it was good value. However this unpleasant experience soured us for good and a great value in the past, became valueless. One star because of location and cleanliness. That might even be kind on our part!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pter
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jul 18, 2012

Great product, poor people !

I love this place because it helps me keep visitors close to home and its a straight shot between LAX and home. But the personell service wasnt great this time. They always had a tone like I owed them something. I have personally stayed here and dont remember it being like that. I also wanted to send a SHOUT-OUT to the mangers, there should be more "little things" for customer. How do you guys NOT HAVE a map of L.A ? Or tourist guides ? Or anything that is helpful for that matter. This is still a great value for the $$ but please dont slip into comformity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top