Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuckyNed Pepper
Business
Beaumont, CA
Apr 23, 2013

Nice stay

Simple and comfortable rooms. Things could use a bit of touching up but it was a nice stay and good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cooper's mommy
Business
Campbell, CA
Apr 8, 2013

Fun-filled weekend getaway.

Overall, I'm pretty happy with Custom Hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt and Haley
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 25, 2013

Wow

Very nice. Dana at the front desk was awesome!!!! Loved the outdoor pool and the free shuttle to LAX was a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GreatExperience
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 17, 2013

Amazing

This hotel was amazing..friendly staff..great rooms and great location. I will be staying here every time I visit LA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maletop
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 6, 2013

Great location

Really enjoyed the Custom Hotel - nice rooms and great location. It's very close to LAX and all around are stores, restaurants, gas stations, residences in a great neighborhood - and, all is not claustrophobic, like much of LA and those hotels right next to LAX. However, note that much at Custom Hotel is "extra," like parking ($20) and breakfast ($11.95). Staff is friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai Talay - great Thai food !

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bo55man
Business
Boston
Feb 28, 2013

Great quick stop!!!!!

Part of my road trip from Vegas to sf, need a place to crash for a few nights and do a little shopping, it's convenient located next to the air port and in and out burgers! Rooms are clean but you can tell it was an dorm with a great renovation. And you can't beat the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nya1
Business
LA
Feb 7, 2013

Not what I expected

Too much money for nothing. Rooms look like dorms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AliceJ
Business
ROchester, NY
Jan 29, 2013

good value

This is not a luxury hotel but it was great for the cost. The paint was peeling on the doors and the tiles in the bathroom were a little worse for wear but the room was clean, the bed was comfy, the staff was super nice, and the restaurant food was delish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bull Durham Traveler
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 25, 2013

Stylish, Comfortable and Convenient

On a brief overnight layover, the Custom was comfortable and easily accessible from LAX with it's curtesy shuttle. The room was spacious and well laid-out--in the style of Ian Schrager's Public in Chicago. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hockeydad900
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 12, 2013

Not the usual meaning of "boutique"

This hotel is advertised as a "boutique" hotel. Not quite. It is a refurbished older hotel. But most of the renovation seems to have been a quick (and cheap) coat of paint, that is already peeling in places. It is in a good location, near LAX but not too close, and in a nice neighborhood. But it really needed a more thorough renovation. And the amenities (gym, business center) are minimal and not well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top