Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NLNLN
Colorado
Apr 11, 2012

Weekend visit

Great value and convenient location to Venice. The hotel is more of being trendy vs family atmosphere. The rooms are somewhat smaller with a platform bed and small bathroom. This is more for those under age of 25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1) Next to Ralph's grocery store. You can buy bottle water/snacks at normal prices. 2) If you're willing to walk 2 blocks, you can park on side street without paying $20 for valet. Be sure you read the parking signs because some streets have no overnight parking from 10pm-2am.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TimothyA
Business
San Francisco
Jun 5, 2013

Excellent Airport Hotel

I've stayed at Custom Hotel twice now and have enjoyed my stay each time. Affordably priced but a high end boutique hotel vibe, this is the intimate hotel for near-the-airport lodging. Food and drink excellent, and a grocery store is across the street. I was happy to see the addition of a desk in my room this time, where the room did not have a desk one year ago. Happy to see Custom is listening to it's customers. I look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A grocery store within walking distance allows access to a healthy breakfest or lunch with yogurt and fresh fruit options.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flower5
Business
Tucson, Arizona
May 28, 2013

Convenience

Stayed there for an interview. Location was great, short drive to many different places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Political Junkie
Business
Los Angeles
May 23, 2013

Like any Joie deVivre hotel, it has a special charm

We really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back again. Has a very fun and hip vibe, and the room was comfortable and groovy in a sleak and cozy way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bextravels
Business
NC
May 22, 2013

One-of-a-kind!

What a great little quirky hotel! If you're tired of the same old boring hotel, Custom Hotel will definitely be a surprise. Rooms are small, but comfortable and unique. Platform beds, modern design. Interesting lounges and features on each guest floor, and the hotel definitely takes a tongue-in-cheek approach to business that is a delightful change from the ordinary. The restaurant is also good. Very convenient to LAX, and a very comfortable shuttle. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jim1
Business
sydney australia
May 20, 2013

custom hotel los angeles

Great hotel in los Angeles ...great rates service ...awesome bar restaurant ... rooms are clean spotless ..beds comfortable great TV 40inch quiet close to Venice beach Manhattan beach everything LA has to offer i love this place...always friendly staff and clientele

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park across road free and safe and saves you $20 a night valet costs ... bristol farms supermarket across road has breakfast for parking $5 it's great as well

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arigato
Business
CA
May 20, 2013

So disappointed

I chose Custom Hotel because it is close from LAX. At first, their service was great and room was pretty good too. However, I got a scar on my car after a ballet parking and I recognize it later because they didn't tell me anything about that accident. They even try to cheat their fault by painting some weird color on my rent car. I was so angry about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Umbarra
Business
Honolulu
May 17, 2013

Contemporary hip hotel

I stayed just two days, wish it were longer. I loved the design concept and follow-thru... More cb2 than some frilly pinky jcpenny look that most hotels have. Very comfortable bed and bedding, loved the simple but delightful shower, fabulous value. It's right next to Ralph's and Otis, has a view since there are no tall buildings around it, and a little window that can let in fresh air. Will def stay there again if I can remember the name. Odd name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glitzern
Business
Naples, Fl
May 5, 2013

I love this hotel

I've stayed at the Custom Hotel several times when visiting LA. It's the best value I've found. It's conveniently located, has nice rooms, a pool, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The only downside is the $20/day valet parking with no other parking options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PDX Slapshot
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 29, 2013

Adequate

Stayed here many times over the last few years. Good beds. Usually clean. I use this hotel as a serviceable back up to other LAX hotels when rates are up. No problem staying here and I'm particular when it comes to hotels. Doesn't hurt to have wifi included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skibunny1973
Business
Phoenix
Apr 25, 2013

The Custom

Girls weekend. We wanted to be closer to the beach towns. Turns out a cab was only $15 to Abbot Kinney in Venice beach so that was good. Nice clean modern and for $85 a night you can't beat it. Nice colored neon lights that change are awesome but the rest of the lighting was terrible...too dark! Otherwise nice decor and clean. We wished there was a hot tub but didn't make it over to the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top